DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims received on June 1st, 2026 have been entered. Claim 10 has been amended and claim 11 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 10 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues, regarding claim 10, that Brenner (US 8,496,858 B2) fails to disclose wherein both ends of the cable may be pulled from their respective outlets during an unwinding. While, Brenner does not necessarily describe the pulling of both ends of the cable during an unwinding, Brenner does mention a winding end 15 extends from opening 18 and a wind start end is unwound from opening 19 (see Col. 3, Ln. 4-23). One skilled in the art may understand the extension from both outlets as a pulling of sorts, however, said pulling is not directly stated. For this reason, the teachings of Yonechi (JP H01209284 A) is introduced, wherein both ends 1a, 1b are configured to be pulled from opposite outlets of the container. The Office Action has been updated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brenner (US 8,496,858 B2), in view of LaFontaine (US 2014/0263815 A1), and in further view of Yonechi (JP H01209284 A).
Regarding claim 10, Brenner discloses a cable accommodating body comprising one or more cable bundles made of a wound cable and not having any winding core (Fig. 1; Col. 3, Ln. 4-13, winding 12 corresponding to cable bundles), and one or more first containers accommodating the one or more cable bundles and having a first outlet through which a first end of the wound cable is pulled out from an inside of the one or more containers during unwinding of the wound cable, and a second outlet through which a second end of the wound cable is pulled out from the inside of the one or more first containers during unwinding of the wound cable (Fig. 1; Col. 3, Ln. 4-13, housing 17, corresponding to a container, and openings 18, 19 corresponding to first and second outlets), wherein two or more of the cable bundles are connected together (Col. 2, Ln. 27-33).
Brenner fails to disclose a second bundle positioned inside a first bundle. However, LaFontaine teaches wherein the two or more cable bundles include a first cable bundle having an inner diameter, and a second cable bundle having an outer diameter smaller than the inner diameter of the first cable bundle, the second cable bundle is accommodated inside the first cable bundle, and the first cable bundle is made of the wound cable continuously wound with the inner diameter, and the second cable bundle is made of the wound cable continuously wound with the outer diameter, and wherein the second cable bundle is accommodated inside the first cable bundle in a nested manner (Fig. 6 & Pg.4-5, ¶39, plurality of cable assemblies 608, corresponding to more than one cable bundles, which define an outer coil diameter 612 and an inner coil diameter 610). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a first bundle enclosing a second bundle within the container in order to provide a means for storing multiple bundles without utilizing a large amount of space.
Brenner further fails to disclose wherein both ends of the cables are pulled during unwinding. However, Yonechi teaches one or more cable bundles and having a first outlet through which a first end of the wound cable is pulled out from an inside of the one or more containers during unwinding of the wound cable, and a second outlet through which a second end of the wound cable is pulled out from the inside of the one or more first containers during unwinding of the wound cable (Fig. 3 & Pg. 1-2, ¶6, ends 1A and 1B being pulled from both ends during unwinding). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the pulling of both ends of the cable in order to provide means for a quick and efficient means for unwinding from more than one direction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3, 5, and 9 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 1, is allowable because it includes the limitation of a cable accommodating body comprising two or more first containers each accommodating two or more cable bundles respectively, and more specifically wherein the two or more first containers include an upper container and a lower container stacked on and being out of alignment with the upper container, and the first outlet or the second outlet of the lower container is exposed from the upper container, in combination with the other elements cited in claim 1. It should be noted that prior art references such as Brenner (US 8,496,858 B2), LaFontaine (US 2014/0263815 A1), and Phillips (US 3,722,825 A) disclose or teach in the claimed invention as well as the stacking of multiple containers. However, such references fail to describe the limitation above. It should be further added that the limitation of the misalignment is defined as an arrangement in which two or more things are not positioned correctly in a straight line or parallel to each other, and as such would not be obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate. Dependent claims 2-3, 5, and 9 have also been allowed for depending directly and/or indirectly to claim 1.
None of the cited references of the prior art disclose, teach, or suggest the elements of the device as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant’s specification, for modifying the device in the manner required by the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art references disclose containers for coreless cables which have the capability to be unwound for multiple outlets.
ERMIA E. MELIKA
Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/ERMIA E. MELIKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619