DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges pending claims 6-10.
Examiner acknowledges cancelled claims 1-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 is rendered indefinite because it is unclear where the fibers are oriented before impregnating with resin. It is unclear if the fibers are oriented in a mold or a carrier or a surface. For purposes of examination, Examiner is interpreting the claim to refer to the fibers being oriented in a mold prior to impregnating with resin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinoura et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2021/0002436.
Regarding claims 6 and 10, Shinoura discloses a sheet molding compound [SMC] [0051]. The abstract of Shinoura discloses that the composite molded article includes resin and fibers. See also [0206-0210]. It is disclosed in paragraph 0031 a SMC having high fiber orientation degree at end portions wherein in the composite molded article has excellent strength. Paragraph 0035 discloses region A as a distance between one point at each of edges of a surface. Paragraph 0193 discloses that the end portions are regions extending 1.0 mm or less [within 20 mm] from both ends is region A [see also Figure 2A]. Paragraph 0323 and Figure 18 disclose fiber tows 203 are oriented at an angle 30 º or less in a direction parallel to the surface of the molded substance wherein Figure 18 shows the fiber tows 203 at the edge of the SMC.
Shinoura is silent to the amount of fibers oriented at 30 º or less contained within 20 mm from an edge of the sheet in the amount of 29 to 90%. Paragraph 0031 discloses high fiber orientation degree at end portions provides excellent strength to the composite molded article. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would optimize the amount of the fibers oriented at 30 º or less contained within 20 mm from an edge of the sheet in the amount of 29 to 90% for the benefit of obtaining a sheet molding compound having enhanced strength.
Regarding claim 7, Figure 18 shows fiber tows 203. Paragraph 0323 discloses that fiber tows 203 are oriented at an angle 30 º or less in a direction parallel to the surface of the molded substance.
Shinoura is silent to wherein a proportion of reinforcing fibers oriented 30 º or less in a section exceeding 20 mm from the edge is 25 to 40%. Figure 18 shows the fiber tows 203 exceeding 22 mm. Paragraph 0030 discloses that the occurrence of warpage is inhibited in a specific portion of the of the composite molded article. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would optimize a proportion of reinforcing fibers oriented 30 º or less in a section exceeding 20 mm from the edge is 25 to 40% in order to have enhanced reduction of warpage in the area exceeding the edge of the SMC.
Regarding claim 8, paragraph 0052 discloses carbon fibers [0210].
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786