DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/31/2026 and 10/05/2026 were filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action on 06/02/2026. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 08/31/2026. The previous objections to the specification, the drawings, and claims have been withdrawn. Furthermore, the previous 35 USC 112 rejections and claim interpretations have also been withdrawn. Claims 1 and 3-22 remain pending for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 12-14, 16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meuth et al. (US 20230194140 A1, herein after referred to as Meuth), in view of Chaussy et al. (US 4063432, herein after referred to as Chaussy), and in further view of Ibrahim (US 4106305).
Regarding claim 1, Meuth teaches an automated grid based storage and retrieval system (the system illustrated in Fig. 3), comprising: a framework structure (storage structure 1 Fig. 1) comprising upright members (upright members 3 Fig. 1) and a grid of horizontal rails (horizontal members 5 and 7 Fig. 1) provided at upper ends of the upright members (Fig. 1), the framework structure defining at least one storage volume (corresponds to the volume that accommodates all stacks 11 Fig. 1) below the horizontal rails (Fig. 1), the at least one storage volume comprising: a plurality of storage columns (stacks 11 Fig. 1) arranged adjacent one another (Fig. 1); a first plenum (corresponds to the space covered by the disclosed “false floor” in paragraph [0042] which accommodates outbound ducting 53) extending horizontally beneath the storage columns (Fig. 7 and paragraph [0042]); a first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts (corresponds to the disclosed “outlets” of the upper branch of ducting 53 Fig. 7 as described in paragraph [0030]) connected to at least one fan (paragraph [0032]) adapted to draw air from outside the at least one storage volume (paragraphs [0028] and [0032] where the chilled air is drawn from chill plant 51 which is located outside of storage structure 1 Fig. 7), the first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts being positioned to distribute the air below the horizontal rails (Fig. 7); a cooling system (chill plant 51 Fig. 7) adapted to draw air from the first plenum (paragraph [0042]), cool the air (paragraph [0028]), and blow cooled air (disclosed “chilled air” in paragraph [0028]) from an output of the cooling system (corresponds to the inlet of ducting 53 Fig. 7 and paragraph [0028]) as a cooled airflow (paragraph [0028]); and a second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts (corresponds to the disclosed “outlets” of the lower branch of ducting 53 Fig. 7 as described in paragraph [0030]) adapted to receive the cooled airflow from the cooling system through a first air damper (corresponds to the “valve” associated with the lower branch of ducting 53 disclosed in paragraph [0034]), the second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts being positioned at a level (corresponds to the location of the lower branch of ducting 53 Fig. 7) below the first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts (Fig. 7) to distribute at least a first portion of the cooled airflow (corresponds to the portion of air that is distributed by the lower branch of ducting 53 Fig. 7 and paragraph [0030]).
Meuth teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the at least one storage volume comprising a plurality of walls surrounding an outer extent of the plurality of storage columns”.
However, Chaussy teaches at least one storage volume (the volume enclosed by outside cladding 4 Fig. 1 corresponds to the storage volume of Meuth) comprising a plurality of walls (outside cladding 4, insulating lining 2, and inside cladding 3 Figs. 1-2) surrounding an outer extent of a plurality of storage columns (Figs. 1-2 where compartments 16 correspond to the plurality of storage columns of Meuth) to provide thermal insulation (Col. 3 lines 14-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Meuth to include “the at least one storage volume comprising a plurality of walls surrounding an outer extent of the plurality of storage columns” in view of the teachings of Chaussy to provide thermal insulation.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts to distribute the air horizontally to provide a first horizontal air curtain; the second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts to distribute the first portion of the cooled airflow horizontally above an uppermost layer of the storage columns”.
However, Ibrahim teaches a first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts (grid 36 Fig. 1 corresponds to the first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts of Meuth) to distribute air horizontally (Col. 4 lines 52-62) to provide a first horizontal air curtain (air layer 44 Fig. 1); a second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts (grid 26 Fig. 1 corresponds to the second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts of Meuth) to distribute a first portion of cooled airflow horizontally (Col. 4 lines 52-62 and Fig. 1 where air layer 42 corresponds to the first portion of cooled airflow of Meuth) above an uppermost layer of storage columns (Fig. 1 where display space 14 corresponds to the storage columns of Meuth) to increase the velocity of air flow across the products (Col. 1 lines 37-39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts to distribute the air horizontally to provide a first horizontal air curtain; the second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts to distribute the first portion of the cooled airflow horizontally above an uppermost layer of the storage columns” in view of the teachings of Ibrahim to increase the velocity of air flow across the products.
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach wherein the first plenum is configured to allow cooled air (disclosed “chilled air” in paragraph [0030] of Meuth) from the second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts to be drawn into the first plenum via the plurality of storage columns (paragraphs [0030] and [0042] of Meuth).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach wherein the first plenum is configured to allow cooled air (disclosed “chilled air” in paragraph [0030] of Meuth) from the second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts to be drawn into the first plenum via a plurality of ventilation apertures (disclosed “apertures” in paragraph [0042] of Meuth).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach comprising a raised floor (disclosed “false floor” in paragraph [0042] of Meuth) having a plurality of ventilation holes (disclosed “apertures” in paragraph [0042] of Meuth) provided between the first plenum and the plurality of storage columns (paragraph [0042] of Meuth).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach comprising a second plenum (vertical duct 21 Fig. 1 of Chaussy) extending downwardly between the outer extent of the plurality of storage columns and at least one of the plurality of walls (Fig. 1 of Chaussy).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach comprising a controller (paragraph [0062] of Meuth), the controller being adapted to control the air drawn from the first plenum through the cooling system (paragraphs [0042] and [0062] of Meuth) such that air in the first plenum is at a lower pressure (referring to paragraph [0032] of Meuth, a person skilled in the art would recognize that the disclosed “fan” associated with return ducting 55 would generate a low pressure in order to draw air in) than air above the storage columns (paragraphs [0032] and [0042] of Meuth).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach wherein the storage volume comprises at least one temperature sensor (temperature sensor 71 Fig. 7 of Meuth) and a controller (paragraph [0062] of Meuth), the controller being adapted to adjust airflow based on a temperature (the disclosed “measured” temperature in paragraph [0062] of Meuth) measured by the at least one temperature sensor (paragraph [0062] of Meuth).
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach wherein the controller is configured to lower a temperature of the cooled air (corresponds to the disclosed “temperature of a fluid output” disclosed in paragraph [0062] of Meuth) from the output of the cooling system (paragraph [0062] of Meuth), when a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 71 Fig. 7 of Meuth) registers a temperature (corresponds to the disclosed “measured” temperature in paragraph [0062] of Meuth) above a predetermined value (corresponds to the disclosed “desired temperatures” in paragraph [0062] of Meuth).
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings teach wherein at least portions of the cooled airflow (corresponds to the air forming layer 42 Fig. 1 of Ibrahim) from the cooling system (evaporator coil 18 Fig. 1 of Ibrahim corresponds to the cooling system of Meuth) through the second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts (Fig. 1 of Ibrahim) provide a second horizontal air curtain (layer 42 Fig. 1 of Ibrahim) below the first horizontal air curtain (Fig. 1 of Ibrahim).
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings teach wherein the cooling system comprises a chiller (chill plant 51 Fig. 7 of Meuth) to cool the air, and a fan (fan 24 Fig. 1 of Chaussy) to draw the air from the first plenum (Fig. 1 of Chaussy where lower duct 14 corresponds to the first plenum of Meuth).
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach wherein the system is adapted to hold a freezing storage volume temperature (disclosed “freezer temperature” in paragraph [0035] of Meuth) in the storage volume (paragraph [0035] of Meuth).
Regarding claim 19, Meuth teaches a method (paragraph [0004]) of controlling a storage volume temperature (corresponds to the temperature of the volume that accommodates all stacks 11 Fig. 1) in a storage and retrieval system (the system illustrated in Fig. 3) comprising: a framework structure (storage structure 1 Fig. 1) comprising upright members (upright members 3 Fig. 1) and a grid of horizontal rails (horizontal members 5 and 7 Fig. 1) provided at upper ends of the upright members (Fig. 1), the framework structure defining at least one storage volume (corresponds to the volume that accommodates all stacks 11 Fig. 1) below the horizontal rails (Fig. 1), the at least one storage volume comprising: a plurality of storage columns (stacks 11 Fig. 1) arranged adjacent one another (Fig. 1); a first plenum (corresponds to the space covered by the disclosed “false floor” in paragraph [0042] which accommodates outbound ducting 53) extending horizontally beneath the storage columns (Fig. 7 and paragraph [0042]); a first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts (corresponds to the disclosed “outlets” of the upper branch of ducting 53 Fig. 7 as described in paragraph [0030]) connected to at least one fan (paragraph [0032]) adapted to draw air from outside the at least one storage volume (paragraphs [0028] and [0032] where the chilled air is drawn from chill plant 51 which is located outside of storage structure 1 Fig. 7), the first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts being positioned to distribute the air below the horizontal rails (Fig. 7); a cooling system (chill plant 51 Fig. 7) adapted to draw air from the first plenum (paragraph [0042]), cool the air (paragraph [0028]), and blow cooled air (disclosed “chilled air” in paragraph [0028]) from an output of the cooling system (corresponds to the inlet of ducting 53 Fig. 7 and paragraph [0028]) as a cooled airflow (paragraph [0028]); and a second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts (corresponds to the disclosed “outlets” of the lower branch of ducting 53 Fig. 7 as described in paragraph [0030]) adapted to receive the cooled airflow from the cooling system through a first air damper (corresponds to the “valve” associated with the lower branch of ducting 53 disclosed in paragraph [0034]), the second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts being positioned at a level (corresponds to the location of the lower branch of ducting 53 Fig. 7) below the first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts (Fig. 7) to distribute at least a first portion of the cooled airflow (corresponds to the portion of air that is distributed by the lower branch of ducting 53 Fig. 7 and paragraph [0030]), the method comprising adjusting the cooling system to blow the cooled air from the output of the cooling system (paragraph [0062]) as the cooled airflow at a first temperature (disclosed “specified temperature” in paragraph [0028]); adjusting the first air damper to control the first portion of the cooled airflow (paragraphs [0034] and [0062]), thereby controlling a speed of the cooled airflow (paragraphs [0034] and [0062] where a person skilled in the art would recognize that varying the opening degree of the valve would affect the air flow rate which would result in varying the airflow speed) through the plurality of storage columns (paragraphs [0034] and [0062]), and controlling the storage volume temperature in the plurality of storage columns based on the first temperature and the speed of the cooled airflow through the plurality of storage columns (paragraphs [0034] and [0062]); and adjusting a speed of the at least one fan (paragraph [0062]) to draw air from outside the at least one storage volume (paragraphs [0028] and [0032] where the chilled air is drawn from chill plant 51 which is located outside of storage structure 1 Fig. 7), and distributing the air below the horizontal rails from the first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts (Fig. 7).
Meuth teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the at least one storage volume comprising a plurality of walls surrounding an outer extent of the plurality of storage columns”.
However, Chaussy teaches at least one storage volume (the volume enclosed by outside cladding 4 Fig. 1 corresponds to the storage volume of Meuth) comprising a plurality of walls (outside cladding 4, insulating lining 2, and inside cladding 3 Figs. 1-2) surrounding an outer extent of a plurality of storage columns (Figs. 1-2 where compartments 16 correspond to the plurality of storage columns of Meuth) to provide thermal insulation (Col. 3 lines 14-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of Meuth to include “the at least one storage volume comprising a plurality of walls surrounding an outer extent of the plurality of storage columns” in view of the teachings of Chaussy to provide thermal insulation.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts to distribute the air horizontally to provide a first horizontal air curtain; the second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts to distribute the first portion of the cooled airflow horizontally above an uppermost layer of the plurality of storage columns, the method comprising the air having a second temperature, and distributing the air horizontally from the first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts to provide the first horizontal air curtain”.
However, Ibrahim teaches a first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts (grid 36 Fig. 1 corresponds to the first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts of Meuth) to distribute air horizontally (Col. 4 lines 52-62) to provide a first horizontal air curtain (air layer 44 Fig. 1); a second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts (grid 26 Fig. 1 corresponds to the second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts of Meuth) to distribute a first portion of cooled airflow horizontally (Col. 4 lines 52-62 and Fig. 1 where air layer 42 corresponds to the first portion of cooled airflow of Meuth) above an uppermost layer of the plurality of storage columns (Fig. 1 where display space 14 corresponds to the plurality of storage columns of Meuth), a method (the method disclosed in Col. 2 lines 18-55 corresponds to the method of Meuth) comprising air having a second temperature (air layer 44 Fig. 1 and Col. 5 lines 1-10), and distributing the air horizontally from the first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts to provide the first horizontal air curtain (Fig. 1) to dissipate radiant heat impinging on products (Col. 5 lines 1-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “the first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts to distribute the air horizontally to provide a first horizontal air curtain; the second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts to distribute the first portion of the cooled airflow horizontally above an uppermost layer of the plurality of storage columns, the method comprising the air having a second temperature, and distributing the air horizontally from the first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts to provide the first horizontal air curtain” in view of the teachings of Ibrahim to dissipate radiant heat impinging on products.
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meuth, Chaussy, and Ibrahim as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Sekine et al. (JP2006275326A, herein after referred to as Sekine).
Regarding claim 21, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the air drawn from outside the storage volume is heated before being distributed horizontally below the horizontal rails”.
However, Sekine teaches wherein air drawn from outside a storage volume (paragraph [0042] and Fig. 2 where storage chamber 6 corresponds to the storage volume of Meuth) is heated before being distributed horizontally (Fig. 2 where it is understood that the air is flowing horizontally in duct 5) below horizontal rails (Fig. 2 where the top surface of heat insulating box 2 corresponds to the horizontal rails of Meuth) to control the discharge temperature of the circulating air to a predetermined temperature (paragraph [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “wherein the air drawn from outside the storage volume is heated before being distributed horizontally below the horizontal rails” in view of the teachings of Sekine to control the discharge temperature of the circulating air to a predetermined temperature.
Regarding claim 22, the combined teachings teach wherein the air drawn from outside the storage volume is heated to a non-freezing temperature (paragraphs [0036] and [0037] of Sekine).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the non-freezing temperature is preferably in a range of 2-
10
0
C”.
However, Sekine does disclose heating the drawn outside air to a non-freezing temperature of
58
0
C (paragraph [0037]).
Thus, “the non-freezing temperature is preferably in a range of 2-
10
0
C” is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is a non-freezing temperature in “a range of 2-
10
0
C”.
Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. heating drawn outside air to a non-freezing temperature, was disclosed in the prior art by Sekine, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide “the non-freezing temperature is preferably in a range of 2-
10
0
C”.
Claims 7-10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meuth, Chaussy, and Ibrahim as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Serenari et al. (US 20240210048 A1, herein after referred to as Serenari).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “comprising: a plurality of downwardly directing air ducts connected to the output of the cooling system through a second air damper, the plurality of downwardly directing air ducts being positioned to distribute a second portion of the cooled airflow downwards into the second plenum”.
However, Serenari teaches comprising: a plurality of downwardly directing air ducts (apparatuses 1C Fig. 1A) connected to an output (the output of the disclosed “air handling unit” in paragraph [0169] corresponds to the output of the cooling system of Meuth) of a cooling system (paragraph [0171] and Fig. 1A where the disclosed “air handling unit” corresponds to the cooling system of Meuth) through a second air damper (dampers 15A located at the inlets of apparatuses 1C Fig. 1B), the plurality of downwardly directing air ducts being positioned to distribute a second portion of cooled airflow (corresponds to the downward arrows leaving apparatuses 1C Fig. 1A) downwards into a second plenum (Fig. 1A and paragraph [0177] where cooled air leaving apparatuses 1C is directed downwards to be collected in the disclosed “false ceiling” through lower air intakes 38A where the disclosed “false ceiling” corresponds to the second plenum of Chaussy) to compensate for the natural tendency of hot air to rise upwards and cold air to fall downwards (paragraph [0172]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “comprising: a plurality of downwardly directing air ducts connected to the output of the cooling system through a second air damper, the plurality of downwardly directing air ducts being positioned to distribute a second portion of the cooled airflow downwards into the second plenum” in view of the teachings of Serenari to compensate for the natural tendency of hot air to rise upwards and cold air to fall downwards.
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach comprising a controller (disclosed “electronic regulation system” in paragraph [0192] of Serenari) adapted to adjust the first air damper (paragraphs [0189] to [0192] and Fig. 1B of Serenari where dampers 15A located at the inlets of apparatuses 1A correspond to the first damper of Meuth) and the second air damper to control a relative distribution (corresponds to the air distribution described in paragraphs [0189] to [0192] of Serenari) of the first portion of the cooled airflow and the second portion of the cooled airflow (paragraphs [0189] to [0192] and Fig. 1A of Serenari where the air leaving apparatuses 1A corresponds to the first portion of the cooled air of Meuth).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the plurality of downwardly directing air ducts is arranged below the second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “wherein the plurality of downwardly directing air ducts is arranged below the second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts” does anything more than produce the predictable result of generating both a vertical and horizontal cooling flow below the rails. Since it has been held that mere rearrangement of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 VI. C, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable results of generating both a vertical and horizontal cooling flow below the rails.
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the plurality of downwardly directing air ducts is arranged alongside the second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “wherein the plurality of downwardly directing air ducts is arranged alongside the second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts” does anything more than produce the predictable result of generating both a vertical and horizontal cooling flow below the rails. Since it has been held that mere rearrangement of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 VI. C, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable results of generating both a vertical and horizontal cooling flow below the rails.
Regarding claim 20, the combined teachings teach wherein the storage and retrieval system comprises a second plenum (vertical duct 21 Fig. 1 of Chaussy) extending downwardly between the outer extent of the plurality of storage columns and at least one of the plurality of walls (Fig. 1 of Chaussy).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the storage and retrieval system comprises a plurality of downwardly directing air ducts connected to the output of the cooling system through a second air damper, the plurality of downwardly directing air ducts being positioned to distribute a second portion of the cooled airflow downwards into the second plenum, wherein the adjusting of the first air damper to control the first portion of the cooled airflow further comprises: adjusting the second air damper to control a relative distribution of the first portion of the cooled airflow and the second portion of the cooled airflow”.
However, Serenari teaches wherein a storage and retrieval system (the system illustrated in Fig. 1A corresponds to the system of Meuth) comprises a plurality of downwardly directing air ducts (apparatuses 1C Fig. 1A) connected to an output (the output of the disclosed “air handling unit” in paragraph [0169] corresponds to the output of the cooling system of Meuth) of a cooling system (paragraph [0171] and Fig. 1A where the disclosed “air handling unit” corresponds to the cooling system of Meuth) through a second air damper (dampers 15A located at the inlets of apparatuses 1C Fig. 1B), the plurality of downwardly directing air ducts being positioned to distribute a second portion of cooled airflow (corresponds to the downward arrows leaving apparatuses 1C Fig. 1A) downwards into a second plenum (Fig. 1A and paragraph [0177] where cooled air leaving apparatuses 1C is directed downwards to be collected in the disclosed “false ceiling” through lower air intakes 38A where the disclosed “false ceiling” corresponds to the second plenum of Chaussy), wherein adjusting of a first air damper (paragraphs [0189] to [0192] and Fig. 1B where dampers 15A located at the inlets of apparatuses 1A correspond to the first damper of Meuth) to control a first portion of a cooled airflow (paragraphs [0189] to [0192] and Fig. 1A where the air leaving apparatuses 1A corresponds to the first portion of the cooled airflow of Meuth) further comprises: adjusting the second air damper to control a relative distribution (corresponds to the air distribution described in paragraphs [0189] to [0192]) of the first portion of the cooled airflow and the second portion of the cooled airflow (paragraphs [0189] to [0192] and Fig. 1A) to compensate for the natural tendency of hot air to rise upwards and cold air to fall downwards (paragraph [0172]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “wherein the storage and retrieval system comprises a plurality of downwardly directing air ducts connected to the output of the cooling system through a second air damper, the plurality of downwardly directing air ducts being positioned to distribute a second portion of the cooled airflow downwards into the second plenum, wherein the adjusting of the first air damper to control the first portion of the cooled airflow further comprises: adjusting the second air damper to control a relative distribution of the first portion of the cooled airflow and the second portion of the cooled airflow” in view of the teachings of Serenari to compensate for the natural tendency of hot air to rise upwards and cold air to fall downwards.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meuth, Chaussy, and Ibrahim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoo et al. (KR20170088537A, herein after referred to as Yoo) and Tatsumi et al. (US 20220214071 A1, herein after referred to as Tatsumi).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach comprising a controller (paragraph [0062] of Meuth) and a third air damper (corresponds to the “valve” associated with the upper branch of ducting 53 disclosed in paragraph [0034] of Meuth), the third air damper arranged between the at least one fan and the first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts (paragraphs [0032] and [0034] of Meuth), a sensor (paragraph [0061] of Meuth), and the controller is adapted to control a speed of the at least one fan (paragraph [0062] of Meuth).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the third air damper comprising a pressure sensor”.
However, Yoo teaches a third air damper (damper 30 Fig. 6 corresponds to the third damper of Meuth) comprising a pressure sensor (pressure sensing means 43 Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the third air damper comprising a pressure sensor” in view of the teachings of Yoo to provide a compact unit.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the controller is adapted to control the speed of the at least one fan based on a predetermined pressure level”.
However, Tatsumi teaches a controller (main controller 51 Fig. 5 corresponds to the controller of Meuth) is adapted to control a speed (the disclosed “rotation speed” of first fan 21 Fig. 5 and paragraph [0070] corresponds to the fan speed of Meuth) of at least one fan (first fan 21 Fig. 5 corresponds to the fan of Meuth) based on a predetermined pressure level (disclosed “predetermined range” in paragraph [0070]) to eliminate excess power consumption occurring in the fan (paragraph [0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the controller is adapted to control the speed of the at least one fan based on a predetermined pressure level” in view of the teachings of Tatsumi to eliminate excess power consumption occurring in the fan.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meuth, Chaussy, and Ibrahim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Neuhaus et al. (DE3405584C2, herein after referred to as Neuhaus).
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein a temperature of the air being drawn from outside the storage volume is in a range of
-
2
0
C to +
10
0
C”.
However, Neuhaus teaches wherein a temperature of the air (corresponds to the disclosed “outside air temperatures” of paragraph [5] of page 5) being drawn from outside a storage volume (the volume of the disclosed “room” in paragraph [4] of page 2 corresponds to the storage volume of Meuth) is in a range of
-
2
0
C to +
10
0
C (paragraph [5] of page 5 where it is disclosed that outside temperatures can be below
12
0
C) to provide a cooling unit that can operate with very low power consumption when the outside temperature is cold (paragraph [2] of page 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein a temperature of the air being drawn from outside the storage volume is in a range of
-
2
0
C to +
10
0
C” in view of the teachings of Neuhaus to provide a cooling unit that can operate with very low power consumption when the outside temperature is cold.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 12 that there is no teaching or disclosure in Meuth of “a cooling system adapted to draw air from a first plenum” as disclosed in claim 1, Examiner disagrees.
For clarity purposes, Meuth teaches a cooling system (chill plant 51 Fig. 7) adapted to draw air from a first plenum (corresponds to the space covered by the disclosed “false floor” in paragraph [0042] which accommodates outbound ducting 53).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the rejections are maintained.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 12 that the fan of Meuth is not disclosed or suggested “to draw air from outside the storage system” as disclosed in claim 1, Examiner disagrees.
Applicant is reminded that the disclosed “at least one fan adapted to draw air from outside the at least one storage volume” is given its broadest reasonable interpretation. In the case at hand, it is understood that the disclosed “fan” of claim 1 is pulling air which is located outside of the at least one storage volume and therefore not necessarily outdoor air. Referring to Figs. 6-7, the system of Meuth is understood to be pulling cooled air from chill plant 51 which is located outside of the storage volume and sending that cooled air to the storage volume (see paragraph [0032]).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the rejections are maintained.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 12 that Chaussy's walls “merely form an insulated envelope of a single cold room containing pallet racking” and “are not suitable for an automated grid-based storage and retrieval system with rail-mounted container-handling vehicles operating above the storage columns, requiring protection from freezing temperatures”, Examiner disagrees.
For clarity purposes, regarding claim 1, Chaussy teaches at least one storage volume (the volume enclosed by outside cladding 4 Fig. 1 corresponds to the storage volume) comprising a plurality of walls (outside cladding 4, insulating lining 2, and inside cladding 3 Figs. 1-2) surrounding an outer extent of a plurality of storage columns (Figs. 1-2 where compartments 16 correspond to the plurality of storage columns) to provide thermal insulation (Col. 3 lines 14-23).
Furthermore, Applicant discloses in page 14 of the specification that “The framework structure 100 comprises a plurality of walls 501 surrounding an outer extent of the plurality of storage columns to separate the at least one storage volume 500 from external conditions” which is essentially what the walls of Chaussy are designed to do (see Col. 3 lines 14-23). Further, Applicant has not provided any structural differences between Chaussy's walls and the disclosed “plurality of walls” of claim 1 that would result in the walls of Chaussy not being suitable for use.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the rejections are maintained.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 12 that a “PHOSITA would not have been motivated to combine Chaussy's wall construction with the apparatus of Meuth to arrive at claim 1 because both Meuth and Chaussy, separately and combined, fail to contemplate the specific problem of protecting rail-mounted vehicles from freezing temperatures”, Examiner disagrees.
Applicant is reminded that in order for a reference to be proper for use in an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, “the reference must be analogous art to the claimed invention. In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325, 72 USPQ2d 1209, 1212 (Fed. Cir. 2004). A reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem)” (see MPEP 214.01). And in the case at hand, both Meuth and Chaussy are related to the field of cold storage.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the rejections are maintained.
In response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually on pages 12-13, Applicant is reminded that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
For clarity, Meuth has been established in the rejection as the primary reference to teach an automated grid based storage and retrieval system (the system illustrated in Fig. 3), comprising a plurality of storage columns (stacks 11 Fig. 1), a first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts (corresponds to the disclosed “outlets” of the upper branch of ducting 53 Fig. 7 as described in paragraph [0030]), and a second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts (corresponds to the disclosed “outlets” of the lower branch of ducting 53 Fig. 7 as described in paragraph [0030]).
The teachings of Ibrahim have been relied upon for making it obvious to modify the system of Meuth to provide additional features. MPEP 2123 states "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned". Section 2123 goes on to state "A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonable suggestion to one having ordinary skill in the art".
Ibrahim has been therefore relied upon for making obvious a first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts (grid 36 Fig. 1) to distribute air horizontally (Col. 4 lines 52-62) to provide a first horizontal air curtain (air layer 44 Fig. 1); a second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts (grid 26 Fig. 1) to distribute a first portion of cooled airflow horizontally (Col. 4 lines 52-62 and Fig. 1 where air layer 42 corresponds to the first portion of cooled airflow) above an uppermost layer of storage columns (Fig. 1 where display space 14 corresponds to the storage columns).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would recognize that having “the first plurality of horizontally directing air ducts to distribute the air horizontally to provide a first horizontal air curtain; the second plurality of horizontally directing air ducts to distribute the first portion of the cooled airflow horizontally above an uppermost layer of the storage columns” would increase the velocity of air flow across the products resulting in effectively dissipating the effect of radiant energy and thus maintained the integrity of the stored product (Col. 1 lines 37-39). It has been held that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of one reference may be bodily incorporated into the other to produce the claimed subject matter but simply what the combination of references makes obvious to one of ordinary skill.
Therefore, Applicant's arguments are not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
In response to Applicant's arguments on page 14 that the Examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it is noted that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the Applicant' s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392; 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
The Examiner has met all requirements establishing a prima facie case: all factual findings required by Graham were supplied in the previous and present Actions; the references are related art, and Applicant has supplied no evidence that there is no reasonable expectation of success; all claim limitations were met in the previous and present Actions, and Applicant has merely made the allegation that the limitations are not met, and thus has not provided any evidence or argument directed to how the identified elements in the first action fail to meet the claimed limitations or to how the identified elements are otherwise distinguishable from the claimed limitations. Neither has Applicant supplied any evidence or argument addressing any failure of Examiner's application of the TSM test, pursuant to current governing law (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007)).
Further, motivation was provided in all present and previous combinations of references. Although a specific motivation may not have been explicitly stated within one of the references, the motivation was not improper and provided in accordance with the Teaching-Suggestion-Motivation Test (TSM). As such, Examiner's use of these facts as a motivation statement is in compliance with the requirements of the TSM test, since the Teaching-Suggestion-Motivation (TSM) test should be flexibly applied and the teaching, suggestion, or motivation need not be written within the reference. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (US 2007); Ortho-McNeil Pharm., Inc. v. Mylan Lab., Inc., 520 F.3d 1358, 86 U.S.P.Q.2d 1196 (Fed. Cir. 2008); Ex Parte Kubin, 83 USPQ2d 1410 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 2007).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763