DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to application number 18/715,562, amendment and remarks, dated on 07/31/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant in page 11 of remarks argues that “However, ZHANG is silent as to whether the first SSB (received from a first TRP) is of a first set of SSBs configured in a component carrier and the second SSB (received from a second TRP) is of a second set of SSBs configured in the component carrier”.
ZHANG in exemplary Fig. 4 and ¶72 discloses the first SSB (SSB1) received from a first TRP/serving cell/base station (Fig. 1, el. 101) is of a first set of SSBs configured in a component carrier (Fig. 4 shows configuring SSB1 401a and SSB2 401b in the UE in a component carrier) and the second SSB (SSB2 401b) received from a second TRP/neighbor cell (Fig. 1, el. 103) is of a second set of SSBs set of SSBs configured (configured set of SSB1 401a and SSB2 401b) in the component carrier (receiving the SSB1 and SSB2 in a component carrier from TRPs/Base stations 101 and 103 and being configured in the UE as shown in Fig. 4 and disclosed by the exemplary ¶72 that discloses “When an SSB is triggered, one or more RACH occasions associated with the triggered SSB can be used by the UE. In some examples, the SSB can be triggered using the SS/PBCH (SSB) index of the DCI signaling. In some examples, the index of the RACH occasion can be indicated by the PRACH mask index of the DCI signaling. In some examples, the RACH occasion indicates the time and frequency resource for the PRACH transmission. For example, SSB1 401a is associated with the serving cell (e.g., base station 101 of FIG. 1) and SSB2 401b is associated with the neighbor cell (e.g., base station 103 of FIG. 1). As illustrated in FIG. 4, RACH occasions 1-4 (403a-403d) are associated with SSB1 401a. Also, RACH occasions 5-8 (403e-403h) are associated with SSB2 401b. In this example, RACH occasion 5 associated with SSB2 is selected for PDCCH ordered PRACH associated with the neighbor cell”).
In regard to receiving SSB1 and SSB2 on the same component carrier. The instant application disclosure is silent about assignment of the SSBs of the different TRPs of the mTRPs via the component carries. The instant application disclosure does not disclose the assignment of the SSBs of the different TRPs via one component carrier vs, several component carrier and how the assignment of the SSBs via one component carrier would improve the prior art in order to be considered and enable the examiner to perform a thorough and complete search of subject matter.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a "component carrier" will be considered as the combination of the carriers of the SSB1 and SSB 2 or the combination of the component carriers of the SSB1 and SSB 2 as described in paragraphs of 39 and 97 of Zhang (¶97; "In some examples, some component carriers (CCs) in a group can share the same TA, which are configured in a TA group (TAG). In these examples, an identifier of the TAG (TAG-Id) can be configured in servingCellConfig").
Applicant in page 12 of remarks argues regarding dependent claim 16 that “ZHANG does not disclose at least "wherein the PRACH order [included in a DCI transmission] does not indicate either of a physical cell identity (PCI) identifier (ID) corresponding to the target TRP [of the first and second TRPs] or a TRP ID corresponding to the target TRP, and wherein the target TRP comprises a default TRP based at least in part on the PRACH order not indicating either of the PCI ID or the TRP ID," as recited in claim 16 ”.
Zhang discloses when the PRACH order [included in a DCI transmission] does not indicate either of the target TRP PCI-ID or the target TRP-ID, a default TRP is the target TRP (the target TRP comprises a default TRP) and the UE performs the RACH procedure with a default serving base station or performs synchronization with a default base station of the SSB index or the CORESETPoolIndex; (see the following exemplary paragraphs of Zhang; In some examples, base station 101 can trigger UE 105 to send the PRACH message, which is associated with a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB). Base station 101 can use DCI (e.g., DCI Format 1_0) and/or Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) as the PDCCH order. In response to receiving the PDCCH order (e.g., the PDCCH message), UE 105 can send the PRACH (e.g., the PRACH Preamble) to base station 101 and base station 101 can send a PRACH Response to UE 105; ¶40; ¶41; The one or more fields can also include Random Access Preamble index, which can have 6 bits, according to some examples. The Random Access Preamble index can be used for generating the PRACH message. The one or more fields can also include UL/SUL (Uplink/Supplemental UL) Indicator. The one or more fields can also include SS/PBCH (Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel) (SSB) index. The SS/PBCH (SSB) index can be used to indicate the SSB associated with the PRACH message. In some examples, if the value of the Random Access Preamble index field is not all zeros, SS/PBCH index field can indicate the SS/PBCH to be used to determine the RACH occasion for the PRACH transmission. Otherwise, SS/PBCH field is reserved; ¶43; In some examples, for the inter-cell multi-DCI operation (Case 2), the exemplary DCI signaling discussed above with respect to Case 1 (L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility) can be combined with the CORESETPoolIndex. In this examples, a default mode can be used to trigger the PRACH message corresponding to the cell associated with the CORESETPoolIndex; ¶89).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated or alternatively unpatentable, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0015793 A1).
Claims 1, 27, Zhang discloses a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1, el. 105; Fig. 2, el. 200; ¶37) for wireless communication (Fig. 1), comprising:
one or more processors (Fig. 2, el. 210), and a memory (Fig. 2, el. 250) that stores code (operating system 252, application 254) for the one or more processors (Fig. 2; System 200 may be any of the electronic devices (e.g., base stations 101, 103, UE 105) of system 100. System 200 includes processor 210, one or more transceivers 220a-220n, communication infrastructure 240, memory 250, operating system 252, application 254, and antenna 260. Illustrated systems are provided as exemplary parts of system 200, and system 200 can include other circuit(s) and subsystem(s). Also, although the systems of system 200 are illustrated as separate components, the aspects of this disclosure can include any combination of these, less, or more components; ¶50), configured to cause the UE to:
receive, from a first transmit-receive-point (TRP) (serving cell base station; Fig. 1, el. 101), a first synchronization signal block (SSB) (SSB1; Fig. 4, el. 401a), of a first set of SSBs configured in a component carrier corresponding to a multi-downlink control information (DCI)-based (muli-DCI) multi-TRP (mTRP) configuration (a multi-downlink control information (DCI)-based (muli-DCI) multi-TRP (mTRP) configuration; Case 2: Inter-cell multi-TRP operation; ¶69; According to some aspects, one or more exemplary DCI signaling can be used for Case 2 (inter-cell multi-TRP operation). In some examples, for the inter-cell multi-DCI operation, the exemplary DCI signaling discussed above with respect to Case 1 (L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility) can be applied for PDCCH ordered neighbor cell PRACH; ¶85; In some examples, for the inter-cell multi-DCI operation (Case 2), the exemplary DCI signaling discussed above with respect to Case 1 (L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility) can be combined with the CORESETPoolIndex. In this examples, a default mode can be used to trigger the PRACH message corresponding to the cell associated with the CORESETPoolIndex; ¶89; In some examples, the exemplary DCI signaling discussed above with respect to Case 1 (L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility) and Case 2 (inter-cell multi-TRP operation) can be reused for Case 3 with the UE being able to maintain more than one RACH procedure. In this example, the network (e.g., the serving cell of network 302 of FIG. 3) can order multiple PRACH messages using multiple DCIs; ¶91), that is associated with a first physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion (UE receiving a first SSB, of a first set of SSBs configured in a component carrier, associated with a first PRACH occasion, is shown in Fig. 4. Fig. 4 shows the UE is configured with the SSB1 that is associated with the PRACH occasions 1-4; FIG. 4 illustrates an example mapping between RACH occasions and Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), according to some aspects of the disclosure. As discussed above, message 309 of FIG. 3 can include PDCCH ordered neighbor cell PRACH to trigger UE 305 to synchronize with one or more neighbor cells of network 302. In some examples, message 309 can include a DCI as the PDCCH ordered neighbor cell PRACH, which UE 305 can decode. According to some aspects, the DCI signaling to order neighbor cell PRACH may be different with regard to different use cases. In some examples, the use case can include: Case 1: L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility, Case 2: Inter-cell multi-TRP operation, Case 3: Both case 1 and case 2; ¶67-¶70; FIG. 4 illustrates an example PDCCH ordered PRACH associated with neighbor cell Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), according to some aspects. In this example, the serving cell (e.g., base station 101 of FIG. 1) can determine a mapping between RACH occasions and SSB. When an SSB is triggered, one or more RACH occasions associated with the triggered SSB can be used by the UE. In some examples, the SSB can be triggered using the SS/PBCH (SSB) index of the DCI signaling. In some examples, the index of the RACH occasion can be indicated by the PRACH mask index of the DCI signaling. In some examples, the RACH occasion indicates the time and frequency resource for the PRACH transmission. For example, SSB1 401a is associated with the serving cell (e.g., base station 101 of FIG. 1) and SSB2 401b is associated with the neighbor cell (e.g., base station 103 of FIG. 1). As illustrated in FIG. 4, RACH occasions 1-4 (403a-403d) are associated with SSB1 401a. Also, RACH occasions 5-8 (403e-403h) are associated with SSB2 401b. In this example, RACH occasion 5 associated with SSB2 is selected for PDCCH ordered PRACH associated with the neighbor cell; ¶72); and
receive, from a second TRP (neighboring cell base station; Fig. 1, el. 103), a second SSB (SSB2; Fig. 4, el. 401b), of a second set of SSBs configured in the component carrier, that is mapped to a second PRACH occasion (UE receiving a second SSB that is mapped to a second PRACH occasion, is shown in Fig. 4. Fig. 4 shows the UE configured with the SSB2 that is mapped to the PRACH occasions 5-8; For the above cases, UE 305 determines one or more corresponding RACH occasions associated with the SSB in the neighbor cell and determines one or more preamble indexes for sending the one or more PRACH messages, according to some aspects; ¶71; FIG. 4 illustrates an example PDCCH ordered PRACH associated with neighbor cell Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), according to some aspects. In this example, the serving cell (e.g., base station 101 of FIG. 1) can determine a mapping between RACH occasions and SSB. When an SSB is triggered, one or more RACH occasions associated with the triggered SSB can be used by the UE. In some examples, the SSB can be triggered using the SS/PBCH (SSB) index of the DCI signaling. In some examples, the index of the RACH occasion can be indicated by the PRACH mask index of the DCI signaling. In some examples, the RACH occasion indicates the time and frequency resource for the PRACH transmission. For example, SSB1 401a is associated with the serving cell (e.g., base station 101 of FIG. 1) and SSB2 401b is associated with the neighbor cell (e.g., base station 103 of FIG. 1). As illustrated in FIG. 4, RACH occasions 1-4 (403a-403d) are associated with SSB1 401a. Also, RACH occasions 5-8 (403e-403h) are associated with SSB2 401b. In this example, RACH occasion 5 associated with SSB2 is selected for PDCCH ordered PRACH associated with the neighbor cell; ¶72).
Claims 2, 19, Zhang discloses wherein the first set of SSBs (SSB1; Fig. 4) is associated with the first TRP (serving cell base station; Fig. 1, el. 101; Fig. 4) and the second set of SSBs (SSB2; Fig. 4) is associated with the second TRP (neighboring cell base station; Fig. 1, el. 103; Fig. 4) (FIG. 4 illustrates an example PDCCH ordered PRACH associated with neighbor cell Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), according to some aspects. In this example, the serving cell (e.g., base station 101 of FIG. 1) can determine a mapping between RACH occasions and SSB. When an SSB is triggered, one or more RACH occasions associated with the triggered SSB can be used by the UE. In some examples, the SSB can be triggered using the SS/PBCH (SSB) index of the DCI signaling. In some examples, the index of the RACH occasion can be indicated by the PRACH mask index of the DCI signaling. In some examples, the RACH occasion indicates the time and frequency resource for the PRACH transmission. For example, SSB1 401a is associated with the serving cell (e.g., base station 101 of FIG. 1) and SSB2 401b is associated with the neighbor cell (e.g., base station 103 of FIG. 1). As illustrated in FIG. 4, RACH occasions 1-4 (403a-403d) are associated with SSB1 401a. Also, RACH occasions 5-8 (403e-403h) are associated with SSB2 401b. In this example, RACH occasion 5 associated with SSB2 is selected for PDCCH ordered PRACH associated with the neighbor cell; ¶72; Although some examples are discussed with one serving cell and one neighbor cell, the aspects of this disclosure are not limited to these examples. The methods for communicating and using neighbor cell PRACH resource configuration and/or method for communicating and using DCI signaling can be used for more than one neighbor cell. For example, methods for Cases 1 and 3 discussed above (e.g., L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility) can be applied to a plurality of neighbor cells; ¶93).
Claim 3, Zhang discloses wherein the first TRP (serving cell base station; Fig. 1, el. 101; Fig. 4) is associated with a serving cell having a first physical cell identity (PCI) identifier (ID) (the first TRP/base station is associated with the serving cell; Fig. 4; For example, SSB1 401a is associated with the serving cell (e.g., base station 101 of FIG. 1) and SSB2 401b is associated with the neighbor cell (e.g., base station 103 of FIG. 1). As illustrated in FIG. 4, RACH occasions 1-4 (403a-403d) are associated with SSB1 401a. Also, RACH occasions 5-8 (403e-403h) are associated with SSB2 401b. In this example, RACH occasion 5 associated with SSB2 is selected for PDCCH ordered PRACH associated with the neighbor cell; ¶72; having a physical cell identity (PCI) identifier (ID); In some aspects, the second message incudes a DCI Format 1-0 including a neighbor cell index associated with the neighbor cell. The neighbor cell index includes a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) or an identifier (ID) associated with a higher layer configuration for the PRACH resource configuration; ¶8; According to some aspects, one or more exemplary DCI signaling can be used for Case 1 (L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility). In one example, message 309 of FIG. 3 can include a DCI Format 1_0 with some additional information to indicate neighbor cell index. For example, the DCI Format 1_0 can include a neighbor cell index to indicate the neighbor cell for which the UE is to send its PRACH message. In some examples, the neighbor cell index can be a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI); ¶73; ¶135).
Claim 4, Zhang discloses wherein the second TRP (neighboring cell base station; Fig. 1, el. 103) is associated with a non-serving cell having a second PCI ID (the second TRP/base station is associated with the non-serving cell, neighboring cell; Fig. 4; For example, SSB1 401a is associated with the serving cell (e.g., base station 101 of FIG. 1) and SSB2 401b is associated with the neighbor cell (e.g., base station 103 of FIG. 1). As illustrated in FIG. 4, RACH occasions 1-4 (403a-403d) are associated with SSB1 401a. Also, RACH occasions 5-8 (403e-403h) are associated with SSB2 401b. In this example, RACH occasion 5 associated with SSB2 is selected for PDCCH ordered PRACH associated with the neighbor cell; ¶72; having a physical cell identity (PCI) identifier (ID); In some aspects, the second message incudes a DCI Format 1-0 including a neighbor cell index associated with the neighbor cell. The neighbor cell index includes a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) or an identifier (ID) associated with a higher layer configuration for the PRACH resource configuration; ¶8; According to some aspects, one or more exemplary DCI signaling can be used for Case 1 (L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility). In one example, message 309 of FIG. 3 can include a DCI Format 1_0 with some additional information to indicate neighbor cell index. For example, the DCI Format 1_0 can include a neighbor cell index to indicate the neighbor cell for which the UE is to send its PRACH message. In some examples, the neighbor cell index can be a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI); ¶73; ¶135).
Claim 5, Zhang discloses wherein a first set of PRACH occasions (a first set of PRACH occasions; Fig. 4, els. 403a-403d) is mapped to the first set of SSBs (SS1; Fig. 4) based at least in part on a PCI ID order, and wherein a second set of PRACH occasions (a second set of PRACH occasions; Fig. 4, els. 403e-403h) is mapped to the second set of SSBs (SSB2) based at least in part on the PCI ID order (Fig. 4 shows the first set of PRACH occasions 1-4 is mapped to the SSB1 and the second set of PRACH occasions is mapped to the SSB1 based on at least in part on a PCI ID order; For example, SSB1 401a is associated with the serving cell (e.g., base station 101 of FIG. 1) and SSB2 401b is associated with the neighbor cell (e.g., base station 103 of FIG. 1). As illustrated in FIG. 4, RACH occasions 1-4 (403a-403d) are associated with SSB1 401a. Also, RACH occasions 5-8 (403e-403h) are associated with SSB2 401b. In this example, RACH occasion 5 associated with SSB2 is selected for PDCCH ordered PRACH associated with the neighbor cell; ¶72; having a physical cell identity (PCI) identifier (ID); In some aspects, the second message incudes a DCI Format 1-0 including a neighbor cell index associated with the neighbor cell. The neighbor cell index includes a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) or an identifier (ID) associated with a higher layer configuration for the PRACH resource configuration; ¶8; According to some aspects, one or more exemplary DCI signaling can be used for Case 1 (L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility). In one example, message 309 of FIG. 3 can include a DCI Format 1_0 with some additional information to indicate neighbor cell index. For example, the DCI Format 1_0 can include a neighbor cell index to indicate the neighbor cell for which the UE is to send its PRACH message. In some examples, the neighbor cell index can be a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI); ¶73; ¶135).
Claim 6, Zhang discloses wherein the first PRACH occasion (the first PRACH occasions; Fig. 4, els. 403a-403d) is mapped to the first SSB (SSB1; Fig. 4) based at least in part on an SSB index value corresponding to the first SSB (Fig. 4 shows the first PRACH occasions 1-4 is mapped to the SSB1 based on the SSB index value 1; The one or more fields can also include Random Access Preamble index, which can have 6 bits, according to some examples. The Random Access Preamble index can be used for generating the PRACH message. The one or more fields can also include UL/SUL (Uplink/Supplemental UL) Indicator. The one or more fields can also include SS/PBCH (Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel) (SSB) index. The SS/PBCH (SSB) index can be used to indicate the SSB associated with the PRACH message. In some examples, if the value of the Random Access Preamble index field is not all zeros, SS/PBCH index field can indicate the SS/PBCH to be used to determine the RACH occasion for the PRACH transmission. Otherwise, SS/PBCH field is reserved; ¶43; FIG. 4 illustrates an example PDCCH ordered PRACH associated with neighbor cell Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), according to some aspects. In this example, the serving cell (e.g., base station 101 of FIG. 1) can determine a mapping between RACH occasions and SSB. When an SSB is triggered, one or more RACH occasions associated with the triggered SSB can be used by the UE. In some examples, the SSB can be triggered using the SS/PBCH (SSB) index of the DCI signaling. In some examples, the index of the RACH occasion can be indicated by the PRACH mask index of the DCI signaling. In some examples, the RACH occasion indicates the time and frequency resource for the PRACH transmission. For example, SSB1 401a is associated with the serving cell (e.g., base station 101 of FIG. 1) and SSB2 401b is associated with the neighbor cell (e.g., base station 103 of FIG. 1). As illustrated in FIG. 4, RACH occasions 1-4 (403a-403d) are associated with SSB1 401a. Also, RACH occasions 5-8 (403e-403h) are associated with SSB2 401b. In this example, RACH occasion 5 associated with SSB2 is selected for PDCCH ordered PRACH associated with the neighbor cell; ¶72).
Claim 7, Zhang discloses wherein the SSB index value further corresponds to the second SSB (SSB index value corresponding to the SSB2 as shown in Fig. 4), and wherein the second PRACH occasion is the first PRACH occasion based at least in part on the SSB index value (Fig. 4 shows the second PRACH occasion (PRACH occasion 5) is the first PRACH occasion of the SSB2; FIG. 4 illustrates an example PDCCH ordered PRACH associated with neighbor cell Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), according to some aspects. In this example, the serving cell (e.g., base station 101 of FIG. 1) can determine a mapping between RACH occasions and SSB. When an SSB is triggered, one or more RACH occasions associated with the triggered SSB can be used by the UE. In some examples, the SSB can be triggered using the SS/PBCH (SSB) index of the DCI signaling. In some examples, the index of the RACH occasion can be indicated by the PRACH mask index of the DCI signaling. In some examples, the RACH occasion indicates the time and frequency resource for the PRACH transmission. For example, SSB1 401a is associated with the serving cell (e.g., base station 101 of FIG. 1) and SSB2 401b is associated with the neighbor cell (e.g., base station 103 of FIG. 1). As illustrated in FIG. 4, RACH occasions 1-4 (403a-403d) are associated with SSB1 401a. Also, RACH occasions 5-8 (403e-403h) are associated with SSB2 401b. In this example, RACH occasion 5 associated with SSB2 is selected for PDCCH ordered PRACH associated with the neighbor cell; ¶72).
Claim 8, Zhang discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to transmit, in the first PRACH occasion, a PRACH message to only the first TRP or the second TRP (transmission of the PRACH occasion 1-4 to serving cell and the PRACH occasion 5-8 to neighbor cell as shown in Fig. 4; In Rel-15 and Rel-16, base station 101 (e.g. the serving cell) can use PDCCH order (e.g., a PDCCH message) to trigger UE 105 to synchronize with base station 101. For example, after UE 105 connects to base station 101, a detection is made (by UE 105 and/or base station 101) that UE 105 and base station 101 are out of synchronization. In response to this determination (and/or receiving downlink (DL) data at base station 101 to be sent to UE 105), base station 101 can send a PDCCH order to UE 105 to trigger UE 105 to send a PRACH message (e.g., a PRACH Preamble). In some examples, base station 101 can trigger UE 105 to send the PRACH message, which is associated with a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB). Base station 101 can use DCI (e.g., DCI Format 1_0) and/or Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) as the PDCCH order. In response to receiving the PDCCH order (e.g., the PDCCH message), UE 105 can send the PRACH (e.g., the PRACH Preamble) to base station 101 and base station 101 can send a PRACH Response to UE 105; ¶40; Fig. 3, el. 313; After decoding the PDCCH ordered neighbor cell PRACH (e.g., message 309) and/or using configuration(s) from message 307, UE 305 can generate and send the PRACH message (e.g., PRACH Preamble) to the neighbor cell(s) of network 302. According to some aspects, generating and transmitting the PRACH message can be part of RACH procedure 313. In some examples, RACH procedure 313 can further include receiving a PRACH Response from the neighbor cell(s) of network 302. In some aspects, the PRACH Response can include a TA associated with UE 305 for communicating with the neighbor cell(s) of network 302. The neighbor cell(s) of network 302 can determine (e.g., measure) and transmit the TA based on the PRACH message (e.g., PRACH Preamble) received from UE 305; ¶66; In some examples, the RACH occasion indicates the time and frequency resource for the PRACH transmission. For example, SSB1 401a is associated with the serving cell (e.g., base station 101 of FIG. 1) and SSB2 401b is associated with the neighbor cell (e.g., base station 103 of FIG. 1). As illustrated in FIG. 4, RACH occasions 1-4 (403a-403d) are associated with SSB1 401a. Also, RACH occasions 5-8 (403e-403h) are associated with SSB2 401b. In this example, RACH occasion 5 associated with SSB2 is selected for PDCCH ordered PRACH associated with the neighbor cell; ¶72; When the serving cell triggers the PRACH message based on the first CORESETPoolIndex, the UE knows to send the PRACH message to the serving cell. If the serving cell triggers the PRACH message based on the second CORESETPoolIndex, the UE knows to send the PRACH message to the neighbor cell; ¶86; At 808, the generated PRACH message is transmitted to the neighbor cell. For example, the UE can send the PRACH message to the neighbor cell during RACH procedure 313 of FIG. 3. In some examples, the UE can send a plurality of PRACH messages to corresponding plurality of neighbor cells during operation 808 and RACH procedure 313 of FIG. 3; ¶139).
Claims 9, 20, Zhang discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive a DCI transmission that includes a PRACH order triggering a PRACH operation associated with a target TRP of the first and second TRPs (UE receiving a DCI including a PRACH order triggering a PRACH; For example, some aspects of this disclosure relate to designs for neighbor cell Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) resource configuration and to designs for Downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling to trigger the UE to obtain synchronization with a neighbor cell; ¶3; ¶8; According to some aspects, UE 105 and base stations 101 and 103 are configured to implement mechanisms for triggering UE 105 to synchronize with one or more neighbor cells. For example, base station 101 (e.g., the serving cell) can trigger UE 105 to synchronize with base station 103 (e.g., the neighbor cell). According to some aspects, triggering UE 105 to synchronize with base station 103 (e.g., the neighbor cell) can include setting and/or communicating neighbor cell PRACH resource configuration to UE 105. Additionally, or alternatively, triggering UE 105 to synchronize with base station 103 (e.g., the neighbor cell) can include communicating DCI signaling to UE 105 as PDCCH ordered neighbor cell PRACH (e.g., a PDCCH message to order a UE to generate and/or transmit a PRACH message to the neighbor cell); ¶38; In Rel-15 and Rel-16, base station 101 (e.g. the serving cell) can use PDCCH order (e.g., a PDCCH message) to trigger UE 105 to synchronize with base station 101. For example, after UE 105 connects to base station 101, a detection is made (by UE 105 and/or base station 101) that UE 105 and base station 101 are out of synchronization. In response to this determination (and/or receiving downlink (DL) data at base station 101 to be sent to UE 105), base station 101 can send a PDCCH order to UE 105 to trigger UE 105 to send a PRACH message (e.g., a PRACH Preamble). In some examples, base station 101 can trigger UE 105 to send the PRACH message, which is associated with a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB). Base station 101 can use DCI (e.g., DCI Format 1_0) and/or Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) as the PDCCH order. In response to receiving the PDCCH order (e.g., the PDCCH message), UE 105 can send the PRACH (e.g., the PRACH Preamble) to base station 101 and base station 101 can send a PRACH Response to UE 105; ¶40; In some examples, DCI Format 1_0 used as the PDCCH order can include one or more fields; ¶42; The one or more fields can also include reserved bits. The aspects of this disclosure are not limited to these examples, and DCI Format 1_0 used as the PDCCH order can include additional or less fields; ¶45; As discussed in more detail, to maintain the synchronization to the neighbor cell (e.g., base station 103) for L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility and inter-cell multi-TRP operation, the aspects of this disclosure provide methods for PDCCH ordered neighbor cell PRACH. According to some aspects, the PDCCH ordered neighbor cell PRACH includes neighbor cell RACH resource configuration and DCI signaling for PDCCH ordered neighbor cell PRACH; ¶49; After sending message 307, network 302 can send message 309 to UE 305 to trigger UE 305 to synchronize with one or more neighbor cells of network 302. In some examples, the serving cell of network 302 sends message 309. In some examples, message 309 can include PDCCH ordered neighbor cell PRACH to trigger UE 305 to synchronize with one or more neighbor cells of network 302. According to some aspects, synchronizing with one or more neighbor cells of network 302 can include UE 305 sending one or more PRACH messages to the one or more neighbor cells. In some examples, message 309 can include a DCI as the PDCCH ordered neighbor cell PRACH; ¶64; According to some aspects, the DCI signaling to order neighbor cell PRACH may be different with regard to different use cases. In some examples, the use case can include: Case 1: L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility, Case 2: Inter-cell multi-TRP operation, Case 3: Both case 1 and case 2; ¶67-¶70; In some examples, the SSB can be triggered using the SS/PBCH (SSB) index of the DCI signaling. In some examples, the index of the RACH occasion can be indicated by the PRACH mask index of the DCI signaling. In some examples, the RACH occasion indicates the time and frequency resource for the PRACH transmission; ¶72; ¶73; According to some aspects, for Case 1 (L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility), the DCI Format 1_0 can be used for TCI indication. In these examples, the triggered PRACH can be based on the configuration for the cell associated with the indicated TCI. The TCI can be associated with a neighbor cell to trigger PRACH message for the neighbor cell, according to some examples; ¶79).
Claims 10, 21, Zhang discloses wherein the PRACH order indicates at least one of a physical cell identity (PCI) identifier (ID) corresponding to the target TRP or a TRP ID corresponding to the target TRP (DCI/PRACH order identifying the target base station by the PCI; In some aspects, the second message incudes a DCI Format 1-0 including a neighbor cell index associated with the neighbor cell. The neighbor cell index includes a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) or an identifier (ID) associated with a higher layer configuration for the PRACH resource configuration; ¶8; ¶64; ¶67; According to some aspects, one or more exemplary DCI signaling can be used for Case 1 (L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility). In one example, message 309 of FIG. 3 can include a DCI Format 1_0 with some additional information to indicate neighbor cell index. For example, the DCI Format 1_0 can include a neighbor cell index to indicate the neighbor cell for which the UE is to send its PRACH message. In some examples, the neighbor cell index can be a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI); ¶73; In some examples, the second message can include a DCI Format 1_0 including a neighbor cell index associated with the neighbor cell. The neighbor cell index can include a PCI or an ID associated with a higher layer configuration for the PRACH resource configuration; ¶135).
Claims 11, 22, Zhang discloses wherein the DCI transmission comprises a dedicated information field that includes an indication of the PCI ID (DCI including a dedicated information field to indicate the PCI; In some aspects, the second message incudes a DCI Format 1-0 including a neighbor cell index associated with the neighbor cell. The neighbor cell index includes a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) or an identifier (ID) associated with a higher layer configuration for the PRACH resource configuration; ¶8; ¶64; ¶67; According to some aspects, one or more exemplary DCI signaling can be used for Case 1 (L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility). In one example, message 309 of FIG. 3 can include a DCI Format 1_0 with some additional information to indicate neighbor cell index. For example, the DCI Format 1_0 can include a neighbor cell index to indicate the neighbor cell for which the UE is to send its PRACH message. In some examples, the neighbor cell index can be a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI); ¶73; In some examples, the second message can include a DCI Format 1_0 including a neighbor cell index associated with the neighbor cell. The neighbor cell index can include a PCI or an ID associated with a higher layer configuration for the PRACH resource configuration; ¶135).
Claims 12, 23, Zhang discloses wherein the PRACH order implicitly indicates the at least one of the PCI ID or the TRP ID (DCI/PRACH order implicitly or explicitly indicating the base stations (PCI ID or TRP ID) in order to trigger the UE RACH procedure toward the identified target base station; For example, some aspects of this disclosure relate to designs for neighbor cell Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) resource configuration and to designs for Downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling to trigger the UE to obtain synchronization with a neighbor cell; ¶3; In some aspects, the second message incudes a DCI Format 1-0 including a neighbor cell index associated with the neighbor cell. The neighbor cell index includes a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) or an identifier (ID) associated with a higher layer configuration for the PRACH resource configuration; ¶8; ¶64; ¶67; According to some aspects, one or more exemplary DCI signaling can be used for Case 1 (L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility). In one example, message 309 of FIG. 3 can include a DCI Format 1_0 with some additional information to indicate neighbor cell index. For example, the DCI Format 1_0 can include a neighbor cell index to indicate the neighbor cell for which the UE is to send its PRACH message. In some examples, the neighbor cell index can be a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI); ¶73; In some examples, the second message can include a DCI Format 1_0 including a neighbor cell index associated with the neighbor cell. The neighbor cell index can include a PCI or an ID associated with a higher layer configuration for the PRACH resource configuration; ¶135; implicitly indicating the base stations (PCI ID or TRP ID) in order to trigger the UE RACH procedure; In some aspects, the second message includes one or more of DCI Format 1_0, DCI Format 1_1, or DCI Format 1_2 for indicating a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) associated with the neighbor cell; ¶10; In some aspects, the second message includes a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) message having a CORESETPoolIndex associated with the neighbor cell for triggering the UE to generate the PRACH. In some aspects, the second message includes a plurality of DCI signals to trigger the UE to generate a plurality of PRACH messages to transmit to a plurality of neighbor cells. In some aspects, the second message includes a PDCCH message to trigger the UE to generate a plurality of PRACH messages to transmit to a plurality of neighbor cells; ¶11-¶12; According to some aspects, for Case 1 (L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility), the DCI Format 1_0 can be used for TCI indication. In these examples, the triggered PRACH can be based on the configuration for the cell associated with the indicated TCI. The TCI can be associated with a neighbor cell to trigger PRACH message for the neighbor cell, according to some examples; ¶79; According to some aspects, for Case 1 (L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility), other DCI Formats (e.g. DCI Format 1_1/1_2) to indicate the TCI can be used to order the PRACH message. In other words, other DCI Formats that are used for TCI indication (e.g. DCI Format 1_1/1_2) can also be used for triggering the PRACH message. In some examples, the indicated TCI can be associated with a neighbor cell to trigger the PRACH message for the neighbor cell. According to some examples, when other DCI Format is used for TCI indication, the RACH occasion is selected based on the SSB, which is QCLed with the DL RS in the indicated TCI State and the SSB index of the DCI Format is not provided in the DCI; ¶83).
Claims 13, 24, Zhang discloses wherein the DCI transmission corresponds to a control resource set (CORESET) pool index value associated with the at least one of the PCI ID or the TRP ID (DCI transmission corresponding to the CORESET pool index associated with the base stations (PCI ID or TRP ID); In some aspects, the second message incudes a DCI Format 1-0 including a neighbor cell index associated with the neighbor cell. The neighbor cell index includes a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) or an identifier (ID) associated with a higher layer configuration for the PRACH resource configuration; ¶8; In some aspects, the second message includes a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) message having a CORESETPoolIndex associated with the neighbor cell for triggering the UE to generate the PRACH; ¶11; In some examples, the DCIs can be carried by Control Resource Set (CORESET) with different CORESETPoolIndex. CORESETs configured with different CORESETPoolIndex can be associated with different cells. In some examples, UE 105 can maintain synchronization to the two or more cells; ¶48; Additionally, or alternatively, other exemplary DCI signaling can be used for Case 2 (inter-cell multi-TRP operation). In one example, the network (e.g., the serving cell of network 302 of FIG. 3) can configure an association between CORESETPoolIndex and the neighbor cell by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC and/or MAC CE). In this example, the PDCCH message is used to trigger the PRACH message based on the RACH occasion and the SSB for the cell associated with the CORESETPoolIndex for the CORESET used to carry the PDCCH message. In a non-limiting example, a first CORESETPoolIndex is associated with the serving cell and a second CORESETPoolIndex is associated with the neighbor cell. When the serving cell triggers the PRACH message based on the first CORESETPoolIndex, the UE knows to send the PRACH message to the serving cell. If the serving cell triggers the PRACH message based on the second CORESETPoolIndex, the UE knows to send the PRACH message to the neighbor cell; ¶86; The RACH procedure associated with a CORESETPoolIndex can be independent. In other words, the RACH procedure associated with the CORESETPoolIndex of the serving cell can be independent of the RACH procedure associated with the CORESETPoolIndex of the neighbor cell. This example includes multi-RACH procedure, which includes one RACH procedure per cell. In one example, if there is an ongoing Random Access procedure that is triggered by a PDCCH order while the UE receives another PDCCH order associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex indicating the same Random Access Preamble index, PRACH mask index ,and uplink carrier, the Random Access procedure is considered as the same Random Access procedure as the ongoing one and not initialized again; ¶87; In addition, to support cross CORESETPoolIndex triggering, the DCI Format can include one or more additional fields to indicate whether this PRACH message is based on cell associated with current CORESETPoolIndex or another CORESETPoolIndex; ¶88; ¶92).
Claims 14, 25, Zhang discloses wherein the DCI transmission corresponds to a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state ID associated with the at least one of the PCI ID or the TRP ID (DCI transmission corresponding to the TCI state ID associated with the base stations (PCI ID or TRP ID); In some aspects, the second message includes one or more of DCI Format 1_0, DCI Format 1_1, or DCI Format 1_2 for indicating a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) associated with the neighbor cell; ¶10; According to some aspects, for Case 1 (L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility), the DCI Format 1_0 can be used for TCI indication. In these examples, the triggered PRACH can be based on the configuration for the cell associated with the indicated TCI. The TCI can be associated with a neighbor cell to trigger PRACH message for the neighbor cell, according to some examples; ¶79; According to some examples, if the network (e.g., the serving cell of network 302) indicates more than one TCI State, which one can be applied for RACH selection can be based on a predefined rule. In a non-limiting example, the TCI with lowest ID can be used for RACH selection. In another example, the TCI selected from the UL TCI pool or the TCI indicated by DCI can be used for RACH selection; ¶82; According to some aspects, for Case 1 (L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility), other DCI Formats (e.g. DCI Format 1_1/1_2) to indicate the TCI can be used to order the PRACH message. In other words, other DCI Formats that are used for TCI indication (e.g. DCI Format 1_1/1_2) can also be used for triggering the PRACH message. In some examples, the indicated TCI can be associated with a neighbor cell to trigger the PRACH message for the neighbor cell. According to some examples, when other DCI Format is used for TCI indication, the RACH occasion is selected based on the SSB, which is QCLed with the DL RS in the indicated TCI State and the SSB index of the DCI Format is not provided in the DCI. Additionally, or alternatively, the Preamble index and/or the PRACH mask index may be configured by higher layer signaling associated with each TCI or the indicated by DCI. In some examples, if the Preamble index and/or the PRACH mask index are not provided, the UE can select a Preamble index and/or a RACH occasion associated with the SSB randomly; ¶83).
Claims 15, 26, Zhang discloses wherein the PRACH order indicates an SSB ID corresponding to an SSB associated with the target TRP (DCI/ PRACH order indicating SSB index corresponding to the SSB associated with the base stations/target TRPs (Fig. 4, els. 101, 103); The one or more fields can also include SS/PBCH (Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel) (SSB) index. The SS/PBCH (SSB) index can be used to indicate the SSB associated with the PRACH message. In some examples, if the value of the Random Access Preamble index field is not all zeros, SS/PBCH index field can indicate the SS/PBCH to be used to determine the RACH occasion for the PRACH transmission. Otherwise, SS/PBCH field is reserved; ¶43; FIG. 4 illustrates an example PDCCH ordered PRACH associated with neighbor cell Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), according to some aspects. In this example, the serving cell (e.g., base station 101 of FIG. 1) can determine a mapping between RACH occasions and SSB. When an SSB is triggered, one or more RACH occasions associated with the triggered SSB can be used by the UE. In some examples, the SSB can be triggered using the SS/PBCH (SSB) index of the DCI signaling. In some examples, the index of the RACH occasion can be indicated by the PRACH mask index of the DCI signaling. In some examples, the RACH occasion indicates the time and frequency resource for the PRACH transmission. For example, SSB1 401a is associated with the serving cell (e.g., base station 101 of FIG. 1) and SSB2 401b is associated with the neighbor cell (e.g., base station 103 of FIG. 1). As illustrated in FIG. 4, RACH occasions 1-4 (403a-403d) are associated with SSB1 401a. Also, RACH occasions 5-8 (403e-403h) are associated with SSB2 401b. In this example, RACH occasion 5 associated with SSB2 is selected for PDCCH ordered PRACH associated with the neighbor cell; ¶72; According to some aspects, the additional information of the DCI Format 1_0 (e.g., the neighbor cell index) can be joined with the SSB index of the DCI Format 1_0. Additionally, or alternatively, the additional information of the DCI Format 1_0 (e.g., the neighbor cell index) can be carried in an independent field of the DCI Format 1_0 (e.g., using the reserved bits). According to some aspects, the indicated SSB index (used for indicating the additional information) in the DCI Format 1_0 can be selected based on the SSB configured for the corresponding neighbor cell; ¶75; According to some examples, when the DCI Format 1_0 can be used for TCI indication, the RACH occasion is selected based on the SSB, which is QCLed with the downlink (DL) RS in the indicated TCI State. For example, as shown in FIG. 4, RACH occasion 5 403e is selected based on SSB2 401b. In some examples, the SSB index of the DCI Format 1_0 is not provided in the DCI. Alternatively, the SSB index can still be provided and the RACH occasion can be counted based on the indicated SSB; ¶80; ¶83).
Claim 16, Zhang discloses wherein the PRACH order does not indicate either of a physical cell identity (PCI) identifier (ID) corresponding to the target TRP or a TRP ID corresponding to the target TRP, and wherein the target TRP comprises a default TRP based at least in part on the PRACH order not indicating either of the PCI ID or the TRP ID (when the PRACH order does not indicate (PCI ID or the TRP ID) performing RACH procedure with a default serving base station; synchronizing with a default base station; In Rel-15 and Rel-16, base station 101 (e.g. the serving cell) can use PDCCH order (e.g., a PDCCH message) to trigger UE 105 to synchronize with base station 101. For example, after UE 105 connects to base station 101, a detection is made (by UE 105 and/or base station 101) that UE 105 and base station 101 are out of synchronization. In response to this determination (and/or receiving downlink (DL) data at base station 101 to be sent to UE 105), base station 101 can send a PDCCH order to UE 105 to trigger UE 105 to send a PRACH message (e.g., a PRACH Preamble). In some examples, base station 101 can trigger UE 105 to send the PRACH message, which is associated with a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB). Base station 101 can use DCI (e.g., DCI Format 1_0) and/or Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) as the PDCCH order. In response to receiving the PDCCH order (e.g., the PDCCH message), UE 105 can send the PRACH (e.g., the PRACH Preamble) to base station 101 and base station 101 can send a PRACH Response to UE 105; ¶40; ¶41; The one or more fields can also include Random Access Preamble index, which can have 6 bits, according to some examples. The Random Access Preamble index can be used for generating the PRACH message. The one or more fields can also include UL/SUL (Uplink/Supplemental UL) Indicator. The one or more fields can also include SS/PBCH (Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel) (SSB) index. The SS/PBCH (SSB) index can be used to indicate the SSB associated with the PRACH message. In some examples, if the value of the Random Access Preamble index field is not all zeros, SS/PBCH index field can indicate the SS/PBCH to be used to determine the RACH occasion for the PRACH transmission. Otherwise, SS/PBCH field is reserved; ¶43; In some examples, for the inter-cell multi-DCI operation (Case 2), the exemplary DCI signaling discussed above with respect to Case 1 (L1/L2 centric inter-cell mobility) can be combined with the CORESETPoolIndex. In this examples, a default mode can be used to trigger the PRACH message corresponding to the cell associated with the CORESETPoolIndex; ¶89).
Claim 17, Zhang discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to determine a timing advance (TA) value associated with the target TRP based at least in part on at least one of: a value of a TA command associated with at least one of a physical cell identity (PCI) identifier (ID) corresponding to the target TRP or a TRP ID corresponding to the target TRP, or a configured TA offset value associated with the at least one of the PCI ID corresponding to the target TRP or the TRP ID corresponding to the target TRP (determine a TA value associated with the base stations/TRP based on TA command associated with the base stations or a configured TA offset; In some aspects, the processor is further configured to receive, using the transceiver, a third message from the neighbor cell. The third message includes a Timing Advance (TA) determined by the neighbor cell; ¶13; In some aspects, the processor is further configured to receive, using the transceiver, a third message from the serving cell, where the third message includes an indication of a timing group identifier (ID). The processor is further configured to transmit, using the transceiver and to the serving cell, a plurality of uplink signals associated with the timing group ID having same Timing Advance (TA). In some aspects, the third message includes a TA command Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) including the indication of the timing group ID; ¶14; As mentioned above, base station 101 can use the PRACH message sent by UE 105 (e.g., the PRACH preamble) to determine (e.g., measure) the TA. Base station 101 can sent the determined TA to UE 105 in, for example, the PRACH Response and/or the RCC Connection Reconfiguration message; ¶46; In some examples, RACH procedure 313 can further include receiving a PRACH Response from the neighbor cell(s) of network 302. In some aspects, the PRACH Response can include a TA associated with UE 305 for communicating with the neighbor cell(s) of network 302. The neighbor cell(s) of network 302 can determine (e.g., measure) and transmit the TA based on the PRACH message (e.g., PRACH Preamble) received from UE 305; ¶66; In some examples, UE 105 can determine the time offset based on the TA received from the corresponding base station; ¶95; In some examples, the TA is communicated to UE 101 using a TA command indicated in MAC CE. Additionally, or alternatively, UE 105 can autonomously determine the time offset and adjust its transmission timing based on one or more downlink measurement(s); ¶96; FIG. 5A illustrates one exemplary timing diagram, according to some aspects of this disclosure. Timing 501 illustrates a network timing for a frame including symbol 505 and cyclic prefix (CP) 507. Timing 503 illustrates a UE timing to transmit the frame compared to network timing 501. In this example, the UE (e.g., UE 105 of FIG. 1) can use time offset 509 to adjust its transmission timing. As discussed above, time offset 509 can be determined based on the TA communicated by the base station. In a non-limiting example, time offset 509 can be 0.5*TA. However, time offset 509 can include other values. In another examples, the (e.g., UE 105) can autonomously determine time offset 509 based on one or more downlink measurement(s); ¶98; According to some aspects, the MAC CE for the TA command can be updated to include the timing group ID. FIGS. 6A-6D illustrate exemplary TA command MAC CEs for indicating one or more groups, according to some aspects of this disclosure. In some examples, a TA command MAC CE can be used to indicate the TA for all the groups. In another example, a TA command MAC CE can be used to indicate the TA for each group; ¶114; ¶115).
Claims 18, 29, analyzed with respect to claim 1 and claim 8, the further limitation of claim 18 disclosed by Zhang, a first transmit-receiving point (TRP) (serving cell base station; Fig. 1, el. 101) comprising, one or more processor (Fig. 2, el. 210) and a memory (Fig. 2, el. 250) to store code (operating system 252, application 254) for the one or more processor (Fig. 2; System 200 may be any of the electronic devices (e.g., base stations 101, 103, UE 105) of system 100. System 200 includes processor 210, one or more transceivers 220a-220n, communication infrastructure 240, memory 250, operating system 252, application 254, and antenna 260. Illustrated systems are provided as exemplary parts of system 200, and system 200 can include other circuit(s) and subsystem(s). Also, although the systems of system 200 are illustrated as separate components, the aspects of this disclosure can include any combination of these, less, or more components; ¶50).
Claims 28, 30, analyzed with respect to claims 2-5.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KOUROUSH MOHEBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471