DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 & 103
7. Claims 1-4, 7-10, 12-20, and 22-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2021/0028910 A1 (hereinafter “Cheng”)1 or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Cheng, in view of U.S. Publication No. 2025/0184040 A1 (hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claims 1, 14, 26, and 29: Cheng teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a transceiver; a memory configured to store instructions; and one or more processors communicatively coupled with the transceiver and the memory, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
receive, from a sidelink transmitting user equipment (UE), one or more first transmissions over a first set of sidelink resources; receive, from the sidelink transmitting UE, one or more second transmissions over a second set of sidelink resources (see, e.g., figures 1, 2, 4, [0008], [0040], [0058]; an RX UE 108 receives first and second transmissions over respective sidelink resources from a TX UE 106); and
transmit, to the sidelink transmitting UE, second feedback for the one or more second transmissions in a second set of feedback resources, wherein the second feedback also includes, a retransmission of at least a portion of the first feedback (see, e.g., figures 2-5, [0054]-[0063]; the RX UE transmits second feedback in second resources including at least a portion of a first feedback).
Cheng does not explicitly state “[transmitting the second feedback] based on a failure associated with first feedback for the one or more first transmissions to be transmitted over a first set of feedback resources.” To the extent this feature is not inherent or implied by Cheng (see, e.g., [0054], [0055]; note functionality based on failure to receive HARQ feedback), it is nevertheless taught in Chen (see, e.g., [0003], [0028]-[0033], [0039]-[0050]; note basis on feedback failure; note also overlapping teaching with respect to feedback resources, indication, and retransmission, figures 7-10). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Chen, such as the signaling and/or feedback functionality, within the system of Cheng, in order to improve sidelink signaling efficiency.
The rationale set forth above regarding the apparatus of claim 1 is applicable to the apparatus and methods of claims 14, 26, and 29, respectively.
Regarding claims 2, 15, 27, and 30: Cheng alternatively modified by Chen further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the sidelink transmitting UE, sidelink control information indicating at least a portion of the second set of sidelink resources, wherein the sidelink control information includes an indication of a request for feedback for multiple groups of sidelink resources, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit the second feedback with the retransmission of at least the portion of the first feedback based at least in part on the indication (see, e.g., Cheng [0008], [0037], [0040], [0051]; and/or Chen [0033], [0046], [0050]; note SCI indication(s) and corresponding feedback). The motivation for modification set forth in claim 1 is applicable to claim 2.
The rationale set forth above regarding the apparatus of claim 2 is applicable to the apparatus and methods of claims 15, 27, and 30, respectively.
Regarding claims 3, 16, and 28: Cheng alternatively modified by Chen further teaches wherein the sidelink control information further includes a new feedback indicator for at least one of the multiple groups of sidelink resources, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit the second feedback with the retransmission of at least the portion of the first feedback further based at least in part on the new feedback indicator (see, e.g., Cheng [0047]; and/or Chen [0046], [0067]-[0073]). The motivation for modification set forth in claim 1 is applicable to claim 3.
The rationale set forth above regarding the apparatus of claim 3 is applicable to the apparatus and method of claims 16 and 28, respectively.
Regarding claims 4 and 18: Cheng alternatively modified by Chen further teaches wherein the sidelink control information includes a group indicator indicating that the second feedback for the one or more second transmissions is associated with a second group, wherein the first feedback is indicated as associated with a first group (see, e.g., Cheng [0047]; and/or Chen [0046], [0067]-[0073]; note group indication). The motivation for modification set forth in claim 1 is applicable to claim 4.
The rationale set forth above regarding the apparatus of claim 4 is applicable to the apparatus of claim 18.
Regarding claims 7 and 20: Cheng alternatively modified by Chen further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the sidelink transmitting UE, sidelink control information indicating at least a portion of the second set of sidelink resources, wherein the sidelink control information includes an indication to trigger the retransmission in the second set of feedback resources, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit the second feedback with the retransmission of at least the portion of the first feedback based at least in part on the indication (see, e.g., Cheng [0008], [0037], [0040], [0051]; and/or Chen [0033], [0046], [0050]; note SCI indication(s) and corresponding feedback). The motivation for modification set forth in claim 1 is applicable to claim 7.
The rationale set forth above regarding the apparatus of claim 7 is applicable to the apparatus of claim 20.
Regarding claims 8 and 22: Cheng alternatively modified by Chen further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit the second feedback with the retransmission at least in part by appending at least the portion of the first feedback to the second feedback based on a codebook associated with the second set of feedback resources (see, e.g., Cheng [0047]; and/or Chen [0055]-[0057]; note codebook utilization for feedback resources). The motivation for modification set forth in claim 1 is applicable to claim 8.
The rationale set forth above regarding the apparatus of claim 8 is applicable to the apparatus of claim 22.
Regarding claims 9 and 23: Cheng alternatively modified by Chen further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the sidelink transmitting UE, sidelink control information indicating at least a portion of the second set of sidelink resources, wherein the sidelink control information includes an indication of whether feedback is received, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit the second feedback with the retransmission of at least the portion of the first feedback based at least in part on the indication not being set (see, e.g., Cheng [0046]-[0055]; and/or Chen [0046]-[0050]). The motivation for modification set forth in claim 1 is applicable to claim 9.
The rationale set forth above regarding the apparatus of claim 9 is applicable to the apparatus of claim 23.
Regarding claims 10 and 24: Cheng alternatively modified by Chen further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit the second feedback with the retransmission at least in part by appending at least the portion of the first feedback to the second feedback based on a codebook associated with the second set of feedback resources (see, e.g., Cheng [0046]-[0055]; and/or Chen [0046]-[0050]). The motivation for modification set forth in claim 1 is applicable to claim 10.
The rationale set forth above regarding the apparatus of claim 10 is applicable to the apparatus of claim 24.
Regarding claim 12: Cheng alternatively modified by Chen further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to detect whether the indication is set based on comparing the indication to a last received indication in sidelink control information for the first set of sidelink resources (see, e.g., Cheng [0008], [0037], [0040], [0051]; and/or Chen [0033], [0046], [0050]; note SCI indication(s) and corresponding feedback). The motivation for modification set forth in claim 1 is applicable to claim 12.
Regarding claims 13 and 25: Cheng alternatively modified by Chen further teaches wherein the second set of sidelink resources includes a first subset for the retransmission of the first feedback and a second subset for the second feedback (see, e.g., Cheng [0008], [0037], [0040], [0051]; and/or Chen [0033], [0046], [0050]; note SCI indication(s) and corresponding feedback). The motivation for modification set forth in claim 1 is applicable to claim 13.
The rationale set forth above regarding the apparatus of claim 13 is applicable to the apparatus of claim 25.
Regarding claim 17: Cheng alternatively modified by Chen further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, to the sidelink receiving UE, second sidelink control information to request feedback for at least one or more third transmissions, wherein the second sidelink control information includes the new feedback indicator set based on whether the first feedback and second feedback are successfully received (see, e.g., Cheng [0047]; and/or Chen [0046], [0067]-[0073]). The motivation for modification set forth in claim 14 is applicable to claim 17.
Regarding claim 19: Cheng alternatively modified by Chen further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, to the sidelink receiving UE, second sidelink control information to request feedback for at least one or more third transmissions, wherein the second sidelink control information includes the group indicator set based on whether the first feedback and second feedback are successfully received (see, e.g., Cheng [0047]; and/or Chen [0046], [0067]-[0073]). The motivation for modification set forth in claim 14 is applicable to claim 19.
8. Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, alternatively in further view of Chen, and alternatively in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0006356 A1 (hereinafter “Khoshnevisan”).
Regarding claim 5: Cheng alternatively modified by Chen further teaches wherein the one or more processors further are configured to: maintain a first codebook for the first group of the multiple groups of sidelink resources; and maintain a second codebook or the second group of the multiple groups of sidelink resources, wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit the second feedback based on the second codebook and based at least in part on the group indicator indicating that the second feedback is associated with the second group (see, e.g., Cheng [0047]; and/or Chen [0055]-[0057]; note codebook utilization for feedback resources). The motivation for modification set forth in claim 1 is applicable to claim 5.
Alternatively, and/or to the extent the feature of a second codebook is not inherent to the system of Cheng as modified by Chen, this feature is nevertheless taught in Khoshnevisan (see, e.g., [0024], [0135], [0149], [0150]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Khoshnevisan, such as the signaling and/or feedback functionality, within the system of Cheng alternatively modified by Chen, in order to account for varying services or numerologies between resource pools.
Regarding claim 6: Cheng alternatively modified by Chen and Khoshnevisan further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to reset the second codebook based at least in part on transmitting the second feedback (see, e.g., Cheng [0047]; and/or Chen [0055]-[0057]; and/or Khoshnevisan [0135], [0150]). The motivation for modification set forth in claim 5 is applicable to claim 6.
9. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, alternatively in further view of Chen, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2024/0049341 A1 (hereinafter “Agiwal”).
Regarding claim 21: Cheng alternatively modified by Chen substantially teaches the apparatus as set forth above regarding claim 14, but does not explicitly state wherein the indication to trigger retransmission is set based on a timeline of the first set of feedback resources. However, this feature is taught by Agiwal (see, e.g., [0204]-[0216]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Agiwal, such as the timer and/or signaling functionality, within the system of Cheng alternatively modified by Chen, in order to improve monitoring efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Relevant Art
11. The following prior art not relied upon in this Office action is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: See form PTO-892.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS SLOMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476
1 Cheng was cited in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement submitted December 5, 2025 (U.S. Patent Application Publications, cite no. 1).