DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 09/02/2026 has been entered. Claim 14 have been canceled. Claims 1-13 and 15-21 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 13 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1, 13 and 15: “the camera output” should be rewritten as “the calibration-related camera output.” Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 3, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The following terms lack antecedent basis: "the at least two cameras" -- claim 3, line 4; "the increased energy consumption mode" -- claim 9, lines 1-2;
Claim 9 recites the limitation, "the increased energy consumption mode." This limitation lacks antecedent basis. Since the features of claim 9 all describe the increased energy consumption, it is unclear how the mode is related to the apparatus of parent claims 1 and 8. For the purpose of examination, Examiner thus interprets the language of claim 9 as intended use and not requiring any additional features beyond those of the parent claims. In the prior reply, Applicant amended claim 9, line 4 to recite “an increased energy consumption mode.” However, line 1 recites “the increased energy consumption mode.” Examiner suggests amending this line, and then having other instances refer to the recited mode in line 1.
Claim 9, which depends from claims 8 and 1, begins with the limitation “wherein the increased energy consumption mode comprises …” and describes various aspects of this mode. Parent claims 8 and 1 refer to a system, a control device and a processor for performing various operations. However, claim 9 does not make clear how the increased energy consumption and other features of claim 9 relate to this system or any other element in the claim. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the above increased energy consumption mode as an intended use whose performance is not required by the claim. If the Applicant wishes to incorporate the mode into the claim, Examiner suggests, for example, adding a limitation such as “wherein the processor is further configured to operate under the increased energy consumption mode …” It should be noted that Examiner has not confirmed whether support exists in the specification for such an amendment. Other formulations are also possible.
Claim 9 recites the limitation, "wherein the increased energy consumption mode comprises an image acquisition with an energy consumption that is at least 50% higher than an energy consumption during a regular tracking mode of the system." It is unclear what exactly defines "energy consumption during a regular tracking mode," since the term, "regular" is somewhat subjective and difficult to define e.g., for outlier circumstances that are not common. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the phrase as referring to any energy consumption during any time when a known mode or operation is being used.
Claim 9 recites the limitation, “wherein an increased energy consumption mode comprises an image acquisition with at least 50% increase compared to a regular tracking mode of the camera-based medical tracking system is operated for tracking at least one of …”. It is somewhat unclear what is being operated i.e., the energy consumption mode, the tracking system, the regular tracking mode etc. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the above limitation as meaning that the camera-based medical tracking system is operated in the claimed manner.
Claim 9 recites the limitation, “wherein an increased energy consumption mode comprises an image acquisition with at least 50% increase compared …” The claim, however, does not specify what the 50% increase is in e.g., is it in energy consumption, some other parameter etc. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the above limitation as meaning that the 50% increase can be in any parameter.
Claim 11 is likewise rejected for failing to the cure the deficiency of parent claim 9.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 11-13 and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dauvin (L. Dauvin, et al., "Optimization of Temperature, Targets, and Illumination for High Precision Photogrammetric Measurements," IEEE Sensors Journal, published 2018) in view of Crawford (US 2017/0252114).
Regarding claim 1, Dauvin teaches a control device for operation of a camera-based tracking system, the device comprising:
a processor configured to (inherently, the techniques of Dauvin involve a device with a processor):
generate at least one operation signal for the tracking system that comprises, at
least during a starting phase of the tracking system, at least one calibration compensation
instruction (Abstract, pages 1451-1452, the system more rapidly heats a tracking camera to reduce the length of a warm-up period, when drift can be problematic; the system can heat up the tracking camera by commanding a high pixel clock value, which causes more rapid reading of the camera sensor, faster transmission of camera data, and higher temperatures; see also pages 1449-1450),
wherein the at least one calibration compensation instruction comprises at least one instruction for at least one of: i) actively adjusting a temperature of the camera-based tracking system, and ii) adapting a calibration-related camera output of the camera-based tracking system, wherein the camera output is used for a tracking calculation (Abstract, pages 1451-1452, the system more rapidly heats a tracking camera to reduce the length of a warm-up period, when drift can be problematic; the system can heat up the tracking camera by commanding a high pixel clock value, which causes more rapid reading of the camera sensor, faster transmission of camera data, and higher temperatures; see also pages 1449-1450); and
provide the at least one operation signal to the tracking system (Abstract, pages 1451-1452, the system more rapidly heats a tracking camera to reduce the length of a warm-up period, when drift can be problematic; the system can heat up the tracking camera by commanding a high pixel clock value, which causes more rapid reading of the camera sensor, faster transmission of camera data, and higher temperatures; see also pages 1449-1450).
However, Dauvin does not expressly disclose the camera-based tracking system is a camera-based medical tracking system.
In the same field of endeavor, Crawford teaches the camera-based tracking system is a camera-based medical tracking system (Figs. 1-3, Abstract, [0040], a camera-based tracking system can be used for surgical applications in a medical facility).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the camera-based tracking system is a camera-based medical tracking system as suggested in Crawford into Dauvin because Dauvin and Crawford pertain to analogous fields of technology. Both Dauvin and Crawford pertain to camera-based tracking systems. In Crawford, the tracking system may be used in a medical application e.g., to track a surgical tool. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Dauvin, so that the tracking techniques of Dauvin could be applied in a variety of different environments e.g., see Crawford Figs. 1-3, Abstract, [0040]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Dauvin and Crawford teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Dauvin and Crawford also teaches wherein the at least one calibration compensation instruction comprises at least one control signal for temporary operating the camera-based tracking system in an increased heat generating mode (Dauvin Abstract, pages 1451-1452, the system more rapidly heats a tracking camera to reduce the length of a warm-up period, when drift can be problematic; the system can heat up the tracking camera by commanding a high pixel clock value, which causes more rapid reading of the camera sensor, faster transmission of camera data, and higher temperatures; see also Dauvin pages 1449-1450).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Dauvin and Crawford teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. The combination of Dauvin and Crawford also teaches wherein, for temporary operating the camera-based tracking system in the increased heat generating mode, the at least one calibration compensation instruction comprises at least one control signal for temporary operating at least one of the at least two cameras in a heat-up mode to generate heat by the at least one of the at least two cameras (Dauvin Abstract, pages 1451-1452, the system more rapidly heats a tracking camera to reduce the length of a warm-up period, when drift can be problematic; the system can heat up the tracking camera by commanding a high pixel clock value, which causes more rapid reading of the camera sensor, faster transmission of camera data, and higher temperatures; as indicated by the Abstract, the system may include multiple cameras; see also Dauvin pages 1449-1450),
wherein the at least one control signal is configured to operate the at least one of the at least two cameras in an increased energy consumption mode where a higher energy consumption by the camera takes place than in a regular tracking mode when the camera is operated for tracking, and
wherein the processor is configured to provide the at least one operation signal to the tracking system in order to operate the at least one of the at least two cameras in the increased energy consumption mode and to thereby heat up at least the camera due to a higher energy consumption as compared to the regular tracking mode (Dauvin Abstract, pages 1451-1452, the system more rapidly heats a tracking camera to reduce the length of a warm-up period, when drift can be problematic; the system can heat up the tracking camera by commanding a high pixel clock value, which causes more rapid reading of the camera sensor, faster transmission of camera data, and higher temperatures; as indicated by the Abstract, the system may include multiple cameras; see also Dauvin pages 1449-1450; inherently, the higher pixel clock and generation of greater heat will require the consumption of more energy).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Dauvin and Crawford teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. The combination of Dauvin and Crawford also teaches wherein, for the increased heat generating mode, the at least one calibration compensation instruction comprises at least one control signal for temporary operating a heating element of the camera-based tracking system (Dauvin Abstract, pages 1451-1452, the system more rapidly heats a tracking camera to reduce the length of a warm-up period, when drift can be problematic; the system can heat up the tracking camera by commanding a high pixel clock value, which causes more rapid reading of the camera sensor, faster transmission of camera data, and higher temperatures; as indicated by the Abstract, the system may include multiple cameras; see also pages 1449-1450; inherently, the higher pixel clock and generation of greater heat will require the consumption of more energy; effectively, the pixel clock and associated hardware becomes a heating element).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Dauvin and Crawford teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Dauvin and Crawford also teaches a camera-based tracking system, the system comprising:
a plurality of at least two cameras (Dauvin Abstract, the system can include multiple cameras); and
the control device according to claim 1;
wherein the at least one operation signal is provided for operating at least one of the at least two cameras (Dauvin Abstract, pages 1451-1452, the system more rapidly heats a tracking camera to reduce the length of a warm-up period, when drift can be problematic; the system can heat up the tracking camera by commanding a high pixel clock value, which causes more rapid reading of the camera sensor, faster transmission of camera data, and higher temperatures; see also pages 1449-1450)
wherein the camera-based tracking system is a camera-based medical tracking system for use in a hospital or other healthcare related setting (Crawford Figs. 1-3, Abstract, [0040], a camera-based tracking system can be used for surgical applications in a medical facility).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Dauvin and Crawford teaches the invention as claimed in claim 8. The combination of Dauvin and Crawford also teaches
wherein the processor is configured to analyze at least two images from different points in time during the warm-up and to determine the current rate of displacement and to adjust the increased energy consumption mode accordingly (Dauvin Fig. 5, pages 1450-1452, the system took multiple images during a warm up period, thereby identifying the drift rate over time caused by temperature increases; in accordance with these findings, the system a pixel clock is adjusted to more rapidly heat up the camera).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Dauvin and Crawford teaches the invention as claimed in claim 8. The combination of Dauvin and Crawford also teaches a set of markers configured to be tracked by the system; and
wherein the set of markers is attachable to at least one of subjects, objects, and devices (Dauvin page 1450, the cameras can track adhesive targets attached to a device; see also Dauvin pages 1453-1454, which suggests the use of particular types of targets; Crawford Fig. 13C, [0008, 0026], to facilitate tracking, tracking markers may be attached to, for example, a robot arm or tool).
Regarding claim 13, the claim corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 15, the claim corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons. The combination of Dauvin and Crawford also teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored a computer program comprising instruction (inherently, the invention of Dauvin implements operations using a memory and instructions).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Dauvin and Crawford teaches the invention as claimed in claim 13. Claim 16 also corresponds to claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Dauvin and Crawford teaches the invention as claimed in claim 16. Claim 17 also corresponds to claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Dauvin and Crawford teaches the invention as claimed in claim 16. Claim 18 also corresponds to claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Dauvin and Crawford teaches the invention as claimed in claim 15. Claim 19 also corresponds to claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Dauvin and Crawford teaches the invention as claimed in claim 19. Claim 20 also corresponds to claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Dauvin and Crawford teaches the invention as claimed in claim 19. Claim 21 also corresponds to claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 5-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dauvin and Crawford, as applied in claims 1, 2 and 8, and further in view of Cramer (US 2012/0320943).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Dauvin and Crawford teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. However, the combination of Dauvin and Crawford does not expressly disclose wherein the processor is configured to take measured external conditions into account for the control signal when generating the operation signal, the external conditions comprising at least one of: ambient temperature; illumination conditions; and indoor air currents.
In the same field of endeavor, Cramer teaches wherein the processor is configured to take measured external conditions into account for the control signal when generating the operation signal, the external conditions comprising at least one of: ambient temperature; illumination conditions; and indoor air currents ([0063-0073, 0075], the system attempt to warm up a tracking device and lower the warm-up time; to do so, the system takes into account initial tracker and ambient/air temperatures, and executes a warm up sequence based on the temperatures; these temperatures can be monitored in real time, and the intensity of warming can be adjusted dynamically based on the monitored temperatures; in some embodiments, a thermal model can be used, and temperature measurements can be used to determine when the warm up process should be ended; as noted in [0075], the ambient/air temperature and tracker temperature can be iteratively measured during the warm-up period and used with a model).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the processor is configured to take measured external conditions into account for the control signal when generating the operation signal, the external conditions comprising at least one of: ambient temperature; illumination conditions; and indoor air currents as suggested in Cramer into Dauvin because Dauvin and Cramer pertain to analogous fields of technology. Dauvin pertains to commanding a camera-based tracking device to lower the time required for a warm-up period, by using an operation that more quickly heats up the device. Cramer also pertains to reducing a warm-up period by causing a tracking device to heat up. In Cramer, the adjustment of the heating is based on the monitoring of various temperatures e.g., the tracking device temperature and the ambient air temperature. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Cramer to better control heating during a warm-up period and avoid overheating e.g., see Cramer [0067, 0063-0075].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Dauvin and Crawford teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. However, the combination of Dauvin and Crawford does not expressly disclose wherein, for generating the at least one operation signal for the tracking system, the processor is configured to provide a model of the warm-up of the system and dynamic thermal behavior of the system and to take these into account for the at least one control signal; and wherein the at least one control signal comprises a signal sequence comprising a plurality of varying control sub-signals.
In the same field of endeavor, Cramer teaches wherein, for generating the at least one operation signal for the tracking system, the processor is configured to provide a model of the warm-up of the system and dynamic thermal behavior of the system and to take these into account for the at least one control signal ([0063-0073, 0075], the system attempt to warm up a tracking device and lower the warm-up time; to do so, the system takes into account initial tracker and ambient/air temperatures, and executes a warm up sequence based on the temperatures; these temperatures can be monitored in real time, and the intensity of warming can be adjusted dynamically based on the monitored temperatures; in some embodiments, a thermal model can be used, and temperature measurements can be used to determine when the warm up process should be ended; as noted in [0075], the ambient/air temperature and tracker temperature can be iteratively measured during the warm-up period and used with a model); and
wherein the at least one control signal comprises a signal sequence comprising a plurality of varying control sub-signals (Fig. 3, [0067-0069, 0075, 0072-0073], the system measures air temperature and tracker device temperature in real time, and adjusts the warming accordingly; inherently, this means that the system must provide multiple command signals to properly adjust the warming; also, it is inherent or obvious that almost any command signal is made up multiple sub-signals).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein, for generating the at least one operation signal for the tracking system, the processor is configured to provide a model of the warm-up of the system and dynamic thermal behavior of the system and to take these into account for the at least one control signal; and wherein the at least one control signal comprises a signal sequence comprising a plurality of varying control sub-signals as suggested in Cramer into Dauvin because Dauvin and Cramer pertain to analogous fields of technology. Dauvin pertains to commanding a camera-based tracking device to lower the time required for a warm-up period, by using an operation that more quickly heats up the device. Cramer also pertains to reducing a warm-up period by causing a tracking device to heat up. In Cramer, the adjustment of the heating is based on the monitoring of various temperatures e.g., the tracking device temperature and the ambient air temperature, and dynamically adjusting a heating device. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Cramer to better control heating during a warm-up period and avoid overheating e.g., see Cramer [0067, 0063-0075].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Dauvin and Crawford teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. However, the combination of Dauvin and Crawford does not expressly disclose provide a dynamic calibration model for the camera-based tracking system, the dynamic calibration model comprising a plurality of calibration factors depending on a temperature related state of the system; and for a current temperature related state of the camera-based tracking system, determine a matching calibration factor from the plurality of calibration factors; and provide the matching calibration factor for application during operation of the camera-based tracking system.
In the same field of endeavor, Cramer teaches
provide a dynamic calibration model for the camera-based tracking system, the dynamic calibration model comprising a plurality of calibration factors depending on a temperature related state of the system; and
for a current temperature related state of the camera-based tracking system, determine a matching calibration factor from the plurality of calibration factors; and
provide the matching calibration factor for application during operation of the camera-based tracking system ([0063-0073, 0075], the system attempt to warm up a tracking device and lower the warm-up time; to do so, the system takes into account initial tracker and ambient/air temperatures, and executes a warm up sequence based on the temperatures; these temperatures can be monitored in real time, and the intensity of warming can be adjusted dynamically based on the monitored temperatures; in some embodiments, a thermal model can be used, and temperature measurements can be used to determine when the warm up process should be ended; put another way, a particular level of warming is selected from multiple possible levels of warming, as well as a termination option i.e., calibration factors; warming is in turn related to various factors e.g., levels of applied current/energy, or in the context of Duavin, a higher pixel clock value or sensor reading speed e.g., see Duavin page 1452).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated provide a dynamic calibration model for the camera-based tracking system, the dynamic calibration model comprising a plurality of calibration factors depending on a temperature related state of the system; and for a current temperature related state of the camera-based tracking system, determine a matching calibration factor from the plurality of calibration factors; and provide the matching calibration factor for application during operation of the camera-based tracking system as suggested in Cramer into Dauvin because Dauvin and Cramer pertain to analogous fields of technology. Dauvin pertains to commanding a camera-based tracking device to lower the time required for a warm-up period, by using an operation that more quickly heats up the device. Cramer also pertains to reducing a warm-up period by causing a tracking device to heat up. In Cramer, the adjustment of the heating is based on the monitoring of various temperatures e.g., the tracking device temperature and the ambient air temperature, and dynamically adjusting a heating device. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Cramer to better control heating during a warm-up period and avoid overheating e.g., see Cramer [0067, 0063-0075].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Dauvin and Crawford teaches the invention as claimed in claim 8. However, the combination of Dauvin and Crawford does not expressly disclose a plurality of sensors configured to monitor a thermal behavior of the system; wherein the thermal behavior as monitored by the sensors is used for providing a more accurate model of a warm-up of the system; wherein the model of the warm-up of the system is used in combination with a plurality of temperature readings from sensors during warm-up to dynamically adjust the calibration of the system; and wherein a temperature history of the system is provided, and a remaining time is predicted before the system reaches a normal operation stage, and the remaining time is indicated.
In the same field of endeavor, Cramer teaches
a plurality of sensors configured to monitor a thermal behavior of the system;
wherein the thermal behavior as monitored by the sensors is used for providing a
more accurate model of a warm-up of the system;
wherein the model of the warm-up of the system is used in combination with a plurality of temperature readings from sensors during warm-up to dynamically adjust the calibration of the system; and
wherein a temperature history of the system is provided ([0063-0073, 0075], the system attempts to warm up a tracking device and lower the warm-up time; to do so, the system takes into account initial tracker and ambient/air temperatures, and executes a warm up sequence based on the temperatures; these temperatures can be monitored in real time, and the intensity of warming can be adjusted dynamically based on the monitored temperatures; in some embodiments, a thermal model can be used, and temperature measurements can be used to determine when the warm up process should be ended; as noted in [0075], the ambient/air temperature and tracker temperature can be iteratively measured during the warm-up period and used with a model; thus, the system effectively obtains a history of temperature readings), and
a remaining time is predicted before the system reaches a normal operation stage, and the remaining time is indicated ([0085], the system can indicate an amount of time remaining before warm-up is completed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated a plurality of sensors configured to monitor a thermal behavior of the system; wherein the thermal behavior as monitored by the sensors is used for providing a more accurate model of a warm-up of the system; wherein the model of the warm-up of the system is used in combination with a plurality of temperature readings from sensors during warm-up to dynamically adjust the calibration of the system; and wherein a temperature history of the system is provided, and a remaining time is predicted before the system reaches a normal operation stage, and the remaining time is indicated as suggested in Cramer into Dauvin because Dauvin and Cramer pertain to analogous fields of technology. Dauvin pertains to commanding a camera-based tracking device to lower the time required for a warm-up period, by using an operation that more quickly heats up the device. Cramer also pertains to reducing a warm-up period by causing a tracking device to heat up. In Cramer, the adjustment of the heating is based on the monitoring of various temperatures e.g., the tracking device temperature and the ambient air temperature. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Cramer to better control heating during a warm-up period and avoid overheating e.g., see Cramer [0067, 0063-0075]. Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant's amendments to claims 1, 13 and 15.
Regarding independent claims 1, 13 and 15, the Applicant alleges that the combination of references does not teach the amended limitation of "a control device for operation of a camera-based medical tracking system.” The Examiner therefore has rejected independent claims 1, 13 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dauvin in view of Crawford. Applicant's arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Applicant further alleges that claims 2-12, 16-18, 19-21 are allowed in view of their dependency on claims 1, 3 and 15. Claims 2-12, 16-18, 19-21 are rejected as being taught by Dauvin, Crawford and/or Cramer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Roh (US 2020/0085509) teaches a surgical robot medical system, which utilizes in-motion tracking and image capture e.g., see Roh Abstract, [0005].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC J YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118