DETAILED ACTION
In response to communications filed 07/23/2026.
Claim 31-33 are added.
Claims 1-33 are pending for examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 20 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 7 of claim 20 should be amended to recite “on the second uplink carrier in the second time period…”
Line 7 of claim 21 should be amended to recite “on the second uplink carrier in the second time period…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan et al. (US 2025/0097955 A1) in view of Yi et al. (US 2022/0225362 A1) hereinafter “Guan” and “Yi” respectively.
Regarding Claim 1, Guan teaches An apparatus (Guan: paragraphs 0043, 0090 & Figs. 2A-3, terminal device or user equipment (UE); see also paragraph 0464 & Fig. 15) for wireless communication (Guan: paragraphs 0043, 0089 & Figs. 2A-3, wireless communication), the apparatus comprising:
memory comprising computer-executable instructions (Guan: paragraph 0465 & Fig. 15, memory storing instructions); and
one or more processors (Guan: paragraph 0465 & Fig. 15, processor) configured to, individually or collectively, execute the computer-executable instructions (Guan: paragraph 0467, program instructions executed by processor) and cause the apparatus to:
signal one or more capabilities of the apparatus (Guan: paragraphs 0114-0115 & Fig. 3, terminal device transmits transmission capability information to the network device) for uplink panel switching associated with simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission (Guan: paragraphs 0114-0117, transmission capability information comprises a transmission mode associated with a STxMP (i.e., a simultaneous transmission with the plurality of panel);
receive an uplink panel switching configuration for the apparatus (Guan: paragraph 0170 & Fig. 3, terminal device receives a configuration from the network entity) in response to the one or more capabilities of the apparatus (Guan: paragraph 0171 & Fig. 3, configuration is generated based on the transmission capability information including STxMP transmission mode);
transmit a first uplink transmission on a first uplink carrier in a first time period (Guan: paragraphs 0319 & 0334, perform first uplink transmission on a first uplink carrier), wherein the first uplink transmission is one of: a non-simultaneous uplink transmission via a single antenna panel of the apparatus (Guan: paragraph 0318-0319, single carrier waveform) or, based on the received uplink panel switching configuration (Guan: paragraph 0319, based on transmission information from the network device), simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmissions via multiple antenna panels of the apparatus (Guan: paragraph 0318-0319, multi-carrier waveform); and
transition, for a second uplink transmission on the first uplink carrier or a second uplink carrier scheduled for a second time period (Guan: paragraphs 0318-0322, dynamic waveform switching), to another one of the non-simultaneous uplink transmission via the single antenna panel of the apparatus or the simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmissions via multiple antenna panels of the apparatus (Guan: paragraphs 0318-0322, dynamic waveform switching to the second waveform (i.e. the other single carrier waveform or multi-carrier waveform from the first waveform), thus switching or transitioning, for a second uplink transmission, to another one of the single carrier waveform via a signal antenna panel or multi-carrier waveform via multiple antenna panels of the UE).
Guan fails to explicitly teach refrain, based on the transition, from uplink transmission on both the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier for a switching gap duration. However, Yi from an analogous art similarly teaches a indicating a minimum gap that the wireless device may require to switch from a first TRP/panel to a second TRP/panel between two consecutive uplink transmissions. The first gap may represent a minimum gap between a last symbol of a first uplink transmission associated with a first TRP/coreset pool/panel/group and a first symbol of a second uplink transmission associated with a second TRP/coreset pool/panel/group (Yi: paragraphs 0303-0304 & 0333-0336). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guan to include a gap duration required to switch between panels as taught by Yi so as to minimize interruptions and maintain throughput between communications.
Regarding Claim 2, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission comprises a first uplink transmission by the apparatus on the first uplink carrier using a first antenna panel of the apparatus (Guan: paragraphs 0172 & Fig. 3, first SRS resource set associated with a first panel) and, simultaneous with the first uplink transmission by the apparatus (Guan: paragraphs 0117, said transmission mode associated with a simultaneous transmission with the plurality of panels), a second uplink transmission by the apparatus on the second uplink carrier using a second antenna panel of the apparatus (Guan: paragraph 0172 & Fig. 3, second SRS resource set associated with a second panel).
Regarding Claim 3, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission comprises simultaneous uplink transmission by the apparatus on the first uplink carrier or on the second uplink carrier using both a first antenna panel of the apparatus and a second antenna panel of the apparatus (Guan: paragraph 0172, third SRS resource set associated with both the first and second panels or both the first and second capability value sets of the terminal device for STxMP PUSCH).
Regarding Claim 4, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches signal one or more capabilities of the apparatus for uplink port switching associated with multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) uplink transmission (Guan: paragraph 0075, transmission capability information further including spatial relation information); and
receive an uplink port switching configuration for the apparatus in response to the one or more capabilities of the apparatus for uplink port switching (Guan: paragraph 0171 & Fig. 3, configuration is generated based on the transmission capability information including STxMP transmission mode).
Regarding Claim 5, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches signal the one or more capabilities of the apparatus for uplink panel switching for each band combination of a plurality of band combinations (Yi: paragraph 0332, a capability whether the wireless device supports simultaneous transmission of uplink signals associated with the plurality of panels including a capability of simultaneous transmission across multiple panels per frequency band and/or frequency band combinations). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the capability information of Guan to include band combinations as taught by Yi so as to allow configuration of different frequencies and/or bandwidths supported by the terminal device for transmission.
Regarding Claim 6, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches signal the one or more capabilities of the apparatus for uplink panel switching via radio resource control signaling (RRC) or medium access control element (MAC CE) signaling (Guan: paragraph 0116 & Fig. 3 transmission capability information is transmitted via MAC CE signaling).
Regarding Claim 7, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more capabilities of the apparatus for uplink panel switching comprise a BandCombination-UplinkPanelSwitch parameter indicating a band combination and whether uplink panel switching is supported by the apparatus for the band combination (Yi: paragraph 0332, a capability whether the wireless device supports simultaneous transmission of uplink signals associated with the plurality of panels including a capability of simultaneous transmission across multiple panels per frequency band and/or frequency band combinations). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the capability information of Guan to include band combinations as taught by Yi so as to allow configuration of different frequencies and/or bandwidths supported by the terminal device for transmission.
Regarding Claim 8, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more capabilities of the apparatus for uplink panel switching comprise a capability of the apparatus for simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmissions with frequency division multiplexing (FDM) (Guan: paragraph 0318, frequency division multiplexing).
Regarding Claim 9, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more capabilities of the apparatus for uplink panel switching comprise a capability of the apparatus for simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission with spatial division multiplexing (SDM) (Guan: paragraph 0118, transmission mode including SDM).
Regarding Claim 10, Guan teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more capabilities of the apparatus for uplink panel switching comprise a capability of the apparatus for single downlink control information (sDCI) scheduled simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission (Guan: paragraph 0171, configuration based on single DCI mode transmission).
Regarding Claim 11, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more capabilities of the apparatus for uplink panel switching comprise a capability of the apparatus for multiple downlink control information (mDCI) scheduled simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission (Guan: paragraph 0171, configuration based on multi DCI mode transmission)).
Regarding Claim 12, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more capabilities of the apparatus for uplink panel switching comprise a capability of the apparatus for simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission on a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) and a second PUCCH (Guan: paragraph 0068, first PUCCH and second PUCCH transmitted across two panels).
Regarding Claim 13, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more capabilities of the apparatus for uplink panel switching comprise a capability of the apparatus for simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (Guan: paragraphs 0067-0068, PUSCH and PUCCH transmitted across two panels).
Regarding Claim 14, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more capabilities of the apparatus for uplink panel switching comprise a capability of the apparatus for simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission on a first physical uplink shared channel (PUCSH) and a second PUSCH (Guan: paragraphs 0067-0068, first PUSCH and second PUCCH transmitted across two panels).
Regarding Claim 15, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the uplink panel switching configuration for the apparatus comprises an indication of whether uplink panel switching is configured for each band combination of the plurality of band combinations (Yi: paragraph 0332, a capability whether the wireless device supports simultaneous transmission of uplink signals associated with the plurality of panels including a capability of simultaneous transmission across multiple panels per frequency band and/or frequency band combinations). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the capability information of Guan to include band combinations as taught by Yi so as to allow configuration of different frequencies and/or bandwidths supported by the terminal device for transmission.
Regarding Claim 16, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the uplink panel switching configuration comprises an uplinkPanelSwitching parameter indicating a band combination and whether uplink panel switching is configured for the band combination (Yi: paragraph 0332, a capability whether the wireless device supports simultaneous transmission of uplink signals associated with the plurality of panels including a capability of simultaneous transmission across multiple panels per frequency band and/or frequency band combinations). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the capability information of Guan to include band combinations as taught by Yi so as to allow configuration of different frequencies and/or bandwidths supported by the terminal device for transmission.
Regarding Claim 17, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the uplink panel switching configuration is received via radio resource control signaling (RRC) or medium access control element (MAC CE) signaling (Guan: paragraph 0170, receiving the configuration via RRC signaling).
Regarding Claim 18, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more capabilities includes a switching gap duration (Yi: paragraphs 0303-0304 & 0333-0336, minimum gap that the wireless device may require to switch from a first TRP/panel to a second TRP/panel between two consecutive uplink transmissions). Examiner recites same reasoning to combine Guan-Yi as presented in rejected claim 1.
Regarding Claim 19, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above however fails to additionally teach wherein second time period is at least a minimum switching gap threshold duration after the first time period.
However, Yi from an analogous art similarly a wireless device transmitting a RRC message indicating minimum gap that the wireless device may require to switch from a first TRP/panel to a second TRP/panel between two consecutive uplink transmissions (Yi: paragraph 0303).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the capability information of Guan to include minimum gap required to switch between panels as taught by Yi so as to minimize interruptions and maintain throughput between communications.
Regarding Claim 20, Gua-Yi n teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches the first uplink transmission is the non-simultaneous uplink transmission on the first uplink carrier in the first time period (Guan: paragraph 0171, SRS configuration based on transmission mode of the uplink transmission based capability information of the terminal device, thus teaching a non-simultaneous uplink transmission; see also paragraphs 0318-0319, single carrier waveform); and
the second uplink transmission is the simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission on the second in the second time period after the first time period (Guan: paragraph 0171, SRS configuration based on transmission mode; see also paragraphs 0318-0319, multi carrier waveform).
Regarding Claim 21, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches the first uplink transmission is the simultaneous uplink transmission on the first uplink carrier in the first time period (Guan: paragraph 0171, SRS configuration based on transmission mode of the uplink transmission based capability information of the terminal device; see also paragraphs 0318-0319, multi carrier waveform); and
the second uplink transmission is the non-simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission on the second in the second time period after the first time period (Guan: paragraph 0171, SRS configuration based on transmission mode; see also paragraphs 0318-0319, single carrier waveform).
Yi additionally teaches wherein the second time period is scheduled at least a minimum switching gap threshold duration after the first time period (Yi: paragraphs 0303-0304 & 0333-0336. minimum gap that the wireless device may require to switch from a first TRP/panel to a second TRP/panel between two consecutive uplink transmissions. The first gap may represent a minimum gap between a last symbol of a first uplink transmission associated with a first TRP/coreset pool/panel/group and a first symbol of a second uplink transmission associated with a second TRP/coreset pool/panel/group). Examiner recites same reasoning to combine Guan-Yi as presented in rejected claim 1.
Regarding Claim 22, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches the first uplink transmission is the non-simultaneous uplink transmission on the first uplink carrier in the first time period in which the apparatus is configured by the uplink panel switching configuration to support simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmissions on the same first uplink carrier (Guan: paragraph 0171, SRS configuration based on transmission mode of the uplink transmission based capability information of the terminal device; see also paragraphs 0318-0319, single carrier waveform); and
the second uplink transmission is the simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission on the second uplink carrier in the second time period after the first time period (Guan: paragraph 0171, SRS configuration based on transmission mode; see also paragraphs 0318-0319, single carrier waveform).
Yi additionally teaches wherein the second time period is scheduled at least a minimum switching gap threshold duration after the first time period (Yi: paragraphs 0303-0304 & 0333-0336. minimum gap that the wireless device may require to switch from a first TRP/panel to a second TRP/panel between two consecutive uplink transmissions. The first gap may represent a minimum gap between a last symbol of a first uplink transmission associated with a first TRP/coreset pool/panel/group and a first symbol of a second uplink transmission associated with a second TRP/coreset pool/panel/group). Examiner recites same reasoning to combine Guan-Yi as presented in rejected claim 1.
Regarding Claim 23, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches
the first uplink transmission is the non-simultaneous uplink transmission on the first uplink carrier in the first time period in which the apparatus is configured by the uplink panel switching configuration to support simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmissions on the same first uplink carrier (Guan: paragraph 0171, SRS configuration based on transmission mode of the uplink transmission based capability information of the terminal device; see also paragraphs 0318-0319, single carrier waveform); and
the second uplink transmission is the non-simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission on the second uplink carrier in the second time period after the first time period (Guan: paragraph 0171, SRS configuration based on transmission mode; see also paragraphs 0318-0319, multi carrier waveform).
Yi additionally teaches wherein the second time period is scheduled at least a minimum switching gap threshold duration after the first time period.
Guan fails to additionally teach wherein the second time period is scheduled at least a minimum switching gap threshold duration after the first time period (Yi: paragraphs 0303-0304 & 0333-0336. minimum gap that the wireless device may require to switch from a first TRP/panel to a second TRP/panel between two consecutive uplink transmissions. The first gap may represent a minimum gap between a last symbol of a first uplink transmission associated with a first TRP/coreset pool/panel/group and a first symbol of a second uplink transmission associated with a second TRP/coreset pool/panel/group). Examiner recites same reasoning to combine Guan-Yi as presented in rejected claim 1.
Regarding Claim 24, Guan teaches An apparatus (Guan: paragraphs 0042, 0089 & Figs. 2A-3, network device) for wireless communication (Guan: paragraphs 0043, 0089 & Figs. 2A-3, wireless communication), the apparatus comprising:
memory comprising computer-executable instructions (Guan: paragraph 0465 & Fig. 15, memory storing instructions); and
one or more processors (Guan: paragraph 0465 & Fig. 15, processor) configured to, individually or collectively, execute the computer-executable instructions (Guan: paragraph 0467, program instructions executed by processor) to cause the apparatus to:
receive one or more capabilities (Guan: paragraphs 0114-0115 & Fig. 3, receive transmission capability information from terminal device) of a user equipment (UE) (Guan: paragraphs 0043, 0090 & Figs. 2A-3, said terminal device or user equipment (UE)) for uplink panel switching associated with simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission (Guan: paragraphs 0114-0117, transmission capability information comprises a transmission mode associated with a STxMP (i.e., a simultaneous transmission with the plurality of panel));
provide an uplink panel switching configuration for the UE (Guan: paragraph 0170 & Fig. 3, transmit a configuration to the terminal device) in response to the one or more capabilities of the UE (Guan: paragraph 0171 & Fig. 3, configuration is generated based on the transmission capability information including STxMP transmission mode); and
receive a first uplink transmission on a first uplink carrier from the UE in a first time period (Guan: paragraphs 0319 & 0334, perform first uplink transmission on a first uplink carrier), wherein the first uplink transmission is a non-simultaneous uplink transmission via a single antenna panel of the UE or a simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmissions via multiple antenna panels of the UE (Guan: paragraph 0318-0319, single carrier waveform or multi-carrier waveform transmission),
wherein the second uplink transmission is another one of the non-simultaneous uplink transmission via the single antenna panel of the UE or the simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmissions via multiple antenna panels of the UE (Guan: paragraphs 0318-0322, dynamic waveform switching to the second waveform (i.e. the other single carrier waveform or multi-carrier waveform from the first waveform), thus switching or transitioning, for a second uplink transmission, to another one of the single carrier waveform via a signal antenna panel or multi-carrier waveform via multiple antenna panels of the UE).
Guan fails to explicitly teach wherein no uplink transmission is received from the UE on both the first uplink carrier and a second uplink carrier for a switching gap duration between the first uplink transmission on the first uplink carrier and a second uplink transmission on the first uplink carrier or the second uplink carrier by the UE in a second time period. However, Yi from an analogous art similarly teaches a indicating a minimum gap that the wireless device may require to switch from a first TRP/panel to a second TRP/panel between two consecutive uplink transmissions. The first gap may represent a minimum gap between a last symbol of a first uplink transmission associated with a first TRP/coreset pool/panel/group and a first symbol of a second uplink transmission associated with a second TRP/coreset pool/panel/group (Yi: paragraphs 0303-0304 & 0333-0336). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guan to include a gap duration required to switch between panels as taught by Yi so as to minimize interruptions and maintain throughput between communications.
Regarding Claim 25, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission comprises a first uplink transmission by the UE on the first uplink carrier using a first UE antenna panel (Guan: paragraphs 0172 & Fig. 3, first SRS resource set associated with a first panel) and, simultaneous with the first uplink transmission by the UE (Guan: paragraphs 0117, said transmission mode associated with a simultaneous transmission with the plurality of panels, a second uplink transmission by the UE the second uplink carrier using a second UE antenna panel (Guan: paragraph 0172 & Fig. 3, second SRS resource set associated with a second panel).
Regarding Claim 26, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission comprises simultaneous uplink transmission by the UE on the first uplink carrier or on the second uplink carrier using both a first UE antenna panel and a second UE antenna panel (Guan: paragraph 0172, third SRS resource set associated with both the first and second panels or both the first and second capability value sets of the terminal device for STxMP PUSCH).
Regarding Claim 27, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches receive one or more capabilities of the UE for uplink port switching associated with multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) uplink transmission (Guan: paragraph 0075, transmission capability information further including spatial relation information); and
provide an uplink port switching configuration for the UE in response to the one or more capabilities of the UE for uplink port switching (Guan: paragraph 0171 & Fig. 3, configuration is generated based on the transmission capability information including STxMP transmission mode).
Regarding Claim 28, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more capabilities of the UE for uplink panel switching comprises one or more capabilities of the UE for each band combination of a plurality of band combinations (Yi: paragraph 0332, a capability whether the wireless device supports simultaneous transmission of uplink signals associated with the plurality of panels including a capability of simultaneous transmission across multiple panels per frequency band and/or frequency band combinations). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the capability information of Guan to include band combinations as taught by Yi so as to allow configuration of different frequencies and/or bandwidths supported by the terminal device for transmission.
Regarding Claim 29, Guan teaches A method for wireless communication (Guan: paragraphs 0043, 0089 & Figs. 2A-3, wireless communication) by a user equipment (UE) (Guan: paragraphs 0043, 0090 & Figs. 2A-3, terminal device or user equipment (UE); see also paragraph 0464 & Fig. 15), the method comprising:
signaling one or more capabilities of the UE (Guan: paragraphs 0114-0115 & Fig. 3, terminal device transmits transmission capability information to the network device) for uplink panel switching associated with simultaneous multiple-panel (multi-panel) uplink transmission (Guan: paragraphs 0114-0117, transmission capability information comprises a transmission mode associated with a STxMP (i.e., a simultaneous transmission with the plurality of panel);
receiving an uplink panel switching configuration for the UE (Guan: paragraphs 0170, 0319 & Fig. 3, terminal device receives a configuration from the network entity) in response to the one or more capabilities of the UE (Guan: paragraph 0171 & Fig. 3, configuration is generated based on the transmission capability information including STxMP transmission mode);
transitioning, for a second uplink transmission on a first uplink carrier or a second uplink carrier scheduled for a second time period (Guan: paragraphs 0318-0322, dynamic waveform switching), to another one of the non-simultaneous uplink transmission via the single antenna panel of the UE or the simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission via multiple antenna panels of the UE (Guan: paragraphs 0318-0322, dynamic waveform switching to the second waveform (i.e. the other single carrier waveform or multi-carrier waveform from the first waveform), thus switching or transitioning, for a second uplink transmission, to another one of the single carrier waveform via a signal antenna panel or multi-carrier waveform via multiple antenna panels of the UE).
Guan fails to explicitly teach refraining, based on the transition, from uplink transmission on both the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier for a switching gap duration. However, Yi from an analogous art similarly teaches a indicating a minimum gap that the wireless device may require to switch from a first TRP/panel to a second TRP/panel between two consecutive uplink transmissions. The first gap may represent a minimum gap between a last symbol of a first uplink transmission associated with a first TRP/coreset pool/panel/group and a first symbol of a second uplink transmission associated with a second TRP/coreset pool/panel/group (Yi: paragraphs 0303-0304 & 0333-0336). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guan to include a gap duration required to switch between panels as taught by Yi so as to minimize interruptions and maintain throughput between communications.
Regarding Claim 30, Guan teaches A method for wireless communication (Guan: paragraphs 0043, 0089 & Figs. 2A-3, wireless communication) by a network entity (Guan: paragraphs 0042, 0089 & Figs. 2A-3, network device), the method comprising:
receiving one or more capabilities (Guan: paragraphs 0114-0115 & Fig. 3, receive transmission capability information from terminal device) of a user equipment (UE) (Guan: paragraphs 0043, 0090 & Figs. 2A-3, said terminal device or user equipment (UE)) for uplink panel switching associated with simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission (Guan: paragraphs 0114-0117, transmission capability information comprises a transmission mode associated with a STxMP (i.e., a simultaneous transmission with the plurality of panel));
providing an uplink panel switching configuration for the UE in response to the one or more capabilities of the UE (Guan: paragraph 0170 & Fig. 3, transmit a configuration to the terminal device) in response to the one or more capabilities of the UE (Guan: paragraph 0171 & Fig. 3, configuration is generated based on the transmission capability information including STxMP transmission mode); and
receiving a first uplink transmission on a first uplink carrier from the UE in a first time period (Guan: paragraphs 0319 & 0334, perform first uplink transmission on a first uplink carrier), wherein the first uplink transmission is a non-simultaneous uplink transmission via a single antenna panel of the UE or a simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmissions via multiple antenna panels of the UE (Guan: paragraph 0318-0319, single carrier waveform or multi-carrier waveform transmission),
wherein the second uplink transmission is another one of the non-simultaneous uplink transmission via the single antenna panel of the UE or the simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmissions via multiple antenna panels of the UE (Guan: paragraphs 0318-0322, dynamic waveform switching to the second waveform (i.e. the other single carrier waveform or multi-carrier waveform from the first waveform), thus switching or transitioning, for a second uplink transmission, to another one of the single carrier waveform via a signal antenna panel or multi-carrier waveform via multiple antenna panels of the UE).
Guan fails to explicitly teach wherein no uplink transmission is received from the UE on both the first uplink carrier and a second uplink carrier for a switching gap duration between the first uplink transmission on the first uplink carrier and a second uplink transmission on the first uplink carrier or the second uplink carrier by the UE in a second time period. However, Yi from an analogous art similarly teaches a indicating a minimum gap that the wireless device may require to switch from a first TRP/panel to a second TRP/panel between two consecutive uplink transmissions. The first gap may represent a minimum gap between a last symbol of a first uplink transmission associated with a first TRP/coreset pool/panel/group and a first symbol of a second uplink transmission associated with a second TRP/coreset pool/panel/group (Yi: paragraphs 0303-0304 & 0333-0336). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guan to include a gap duration required to switch between panels as taught by Yi so as to minimize interruptions and maintain throughput between communications.
Regarding Claim 31, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein to refrain, based on the transition, from uplink transmission on both the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier for the switching gap duration, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to at least one of:
cancel one or more uplink transmissions scheduled on at least one of the first uplink carrier or the second uplink carrier during the switching gap duration (Yi: paragraph 0228, cancel any uplink resource, scheduled prior to the receiving, when the uplink resource may be overlapped with the indicated uplink resources); or
not receive any scheduling for uplink transmission on the first uplink carrier or the second uplink carrier during the switching gap duration.
Examiner recites same reasoning to combine Guan-Yi as presented in rejected claim 1.
Regarding Claim 32, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein:
the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to schedule one or more uplink transmissions from the UE on the first uplink carrier or on the second uplink carrier during the switching gap duration (Yi: paragraphs 0303-0304 & 0333-0336, gap between a last symbol of a first uplink transmission associated with a first TRP/coreset pool/panel/group and a first symbol of a second uplink transmission associated with a second TRP/coreset pool/panel/group); and
the scheduled one or more uplink transmissions are not received from the UE (Yi: paragraph 0228, cancel any uplink resource, scheduled prior to the receiving, when the uplink resource may be overlapped with the indicated uplink resources). Examiner recites same reasoning to combine Guan-Yi as presented in rejected claim 24.
Regarding Claim 33, Guan-Yi teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to transmit downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a starting time for the second uplink transmission that satisfies both (i) a minimum switching gap duration from a last symbol of the first uplink transmission to a first symbol of the second uplink transmission and (ii) a minimum processing time duration from a last symbol of the DCI to the first symbol of the second uplink transmission (Yi: paragraphs 0303-0304 & 0333-0336. minimum gap that the wireless device may require to switch from a first TRP/panel to a second TRP/panel between two consecutive uplink transmissions. The first gap may represent a minimum gap between a last symbol of a first uplink transmission associated with a first TRP/coreset pool/panel/group and a first symbol of a second uplink transmission associated with a second TRP/coreset pool/panel/group). Examiner recites same reasoning to combine Guan-Yi as presented in rejected claim 24.
Response to Arguments
Applicants' arguments:
a) Guan-Yi alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest transitioning to another one of the simultaneous or non-simultaneous uplink transmission after transmitting a first uplink transmission (remarks, page 13).
b) Guan-Yi alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest refraining from uplink transmission on the first carrier and the second uplink carrier for a switching gap duration (remarks, page 13).
Examiner’s response:
Applicant's arguments filed 07/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding argument a), after review of the prior arts, Guan further teaches processes for dynamic waveform switch to a switch between the single carrier waveform and multi-carrier waveform. The terminal device receives transmission information from the network device comprising first waveform information and second waveform information, where the first waveform information is to be used by the terminal device for performing an uplink transmission and the second waveform information was used by the terminal device when performing a latest SRS (uplink) transmission (Guan: paragraphs 0318-0321). Examiner notes since Guan teaches a user equipment transmitting on a either a single carrier waveform or multi-carrier waveform during a first time period and then switching or transitioning to the one of the other carrier waveform based on received dynamic waveform switch information from the network device, Guan similarly teaches switching or transitioning, for a second uplink transmission, to another one of the single carrier waveform via a signal antenna panel or multi-carrier waveform via multiple antenna panels of the UE.
Regarding argument b), Guan fails to explicitly teach refraining, based on the transition, from uplink transmission on both the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier for a switching gap duration. However, as recited in the previous office action, Yi similarly teaches indicating a minimum gap that the wireless device may require to switch from a first TRP/panel to a second TRP/panel between two consecutive uplink transmissions. The first gap may represent a minimum gap between a last symbol of a first uplink transmission associated with a first TRP/coreset pool/panel/group and a first symbol of a second uplink transmission associated with a second TRP/coreset pool/panel/group (Yi: paragraphs 0303-0304; see also paragraph 0333-0336). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guan to include a gap duration required to switch between panels as taught by Yi so as to minimize interruptions and maintain throughput between communications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang et al. (US 2024/0430889 A1) teaches a UE transmits UE capability information to the network that includes the maximum number of panels that a terminal can set, the maximum number of panels that a terminal can activate simultaneously, information on whether uplink multi-panel simultaneous transmission (for specific UL channels/RS) may be performed, and simultaneous transmission scheme information supported (for a specific UL channel/RS) (paragraph 0304).
Guan et al. (US 2021/0168714 A1) teaches a network device that receives capability information that is of an antenna panel and that is from a terminal device and sends an activation command and/or a deactivation command to the terminal device, so that the terminal device performs a corresponding operation (paragraph 0022).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAJEEB ANSARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463