This is a Non-Final office action for serial number 18/715,635.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the projection at end of shank (claim 1 and 13) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the radial component with respect to the center longitudinal axis (show with reference number) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the a component which is oriented tangentially and counter to the screwing-in direction (show with a reference number) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the a cross-section of the projection increases in the direction of the screw tip (claim 8) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the cross section perpendicular to the center longitudinal axis (claim 10) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because it depends from claim 1 and from claim 13. A claim can not depend from two claims simultaneously. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 18 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim 17. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means of the tool in claim 17.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a center longitudinal axis" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the direction" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the recess" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 1 and 13 each recite "drive formation (18;78) at one end of the shank" and "a drive formation (48;98)” of the tool. The claim 13 later refer to "the drive formation (48;98) " when describing the drive formation (48;98) has a depression. The claims could reasonably be construed as referring to the drive formation (48;98) or drive formation (18;78) when reciting "the drive formtion." Thus, multiple plausible claim constructions exist, making the claims indefinite. See Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207, 1211 (BPAI 2008) (precedential) ("if a claim is amenable to two or more plausible claim constructions, the USPTO is justified in requiring the applicant to moreprecisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention by holdingthe claim… indefinite").
Claims 1 and 13 each recite "protuberances" of screw and "protuberances” of tool. The claim 13 later refer to "a number of protuberances" when describing a number of protuberances which extend away from the main body. The claims could reasonably be construed as referring to the protuberances of the screw or the protuberances of the tool when reciting "a number of protuberances ." Thus, multiple plausible claim constructions exist, making the claims indefinite. See Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207, 1211 (BPAI 2008) (precedential) ("if a claim is amenable to two or more plausible claim constructions, the USPTO is justified in requiring the applicant to more precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention by holding the claim… indefinite").
Claims 1 and 13 each recite "protuberances" of screw and "protuberances” of tool. The claims later refer to "the protuberances" when describing the protuberances (24) are of rounded configuration at their radially outer ends. The claims could reasonably be construed as referring to the protuberances of the screw or the protuberances of the tool when reciting "protuberances ." Thus, multiple plausible claim constructions exist, making the claims indefinite. See Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207, 1211 (BPAI 2008) (precedential) ("if a claim is amenable to two or more plausible claim constructions, the USPTO is justified in requiring the applicant to more precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention by holding the claim… indefinite").
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the tool" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation angle of zero degrees to ten degrees, and the claim also recites in particular more than zero degrees and less than ten degrees, in particular six degrees which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation angle of between 25 degrees and 50 degrees , and the claim also recites in particular 35 degrees which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 12 recites the broad recitation maximum of 1:1.4, and the claim also recites in particular 1:1.38 which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 16 recites the broad recitation angle of zero degrees to ten degrees, and the claim also recites in particular more zero degrees and less than ten degrees, in particular six degreees which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
The applicant is reminded to clearly point out whether “the protuberances”, “the depression”, “the projection” , “circular-cylindrical or frustoconical main body”, “center longitudinal axis”, “side surfaces” or “the center longitudinal axis” when recited within claims 1-20 are directed to elements “of the screw” or “ of the tool” to avoid instances of indefiniteness.
The claims have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 for the above reasons. Please note that the Examiner may not have pointed out each and every example of indefiniteness. The applicant is required to review all the claim language to make sure the claimed invention is clear and definite.
All words in a claim must be considered in determining the patentability of theclaim against the prior art. If no reasonably definite meaning can be ascribed to certainterms in the claim, the subject matter does not become obvious, the claim becomesindefinite. In re Wilson, 424F.2d 1382, 1385 (CCPA 1970). The examiner's analysis ofthe claims, in particular claim language within the claims as rejected under 35 USC 112 above, indicates that considerable speculation as to the meaning of the terms employed and assumptions as to the scope of the claims needs to be made, as the examiner does not understand what is exactly being claimed by the applicant. Any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 should not be based on such speculations and assumptions. In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859,862 (CCPA 1962); Ex parte Head, 214 USPQ 551 (Bd.App. 1981). Accordingly, the applicant should not assume that any claims not rejected using prior art is considered allowable since the examiner can not clearly determine the limitations of the claim due to indefiniteness. The applicant should be aware that once the claims have been corrected to remove the problems concerning indefiniteness, prior art may be used to reject the claims and the next action made final or if the application is in a final status the amendment after final may not be entered as requiring further search and/or consideration.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9, 10, and 12 is/are rejected, as best understood, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Fischer DE29903686.
Fischers discloses claims:
1. A screw with a shank, a thread on at least one portion of the shank (see page 5, lines 3-20; figures 1 and 2), wherein the thread defines a screwing-in direction about a center longitudinal axis of the shank, and with a drive formation at one end of the shank, wherein the drive formation has a depression in a screw head or a projection at the end of the shank, wherein the depression or the projection in each case has a circular-cylindrical or frustoconical main body arranged concentrically with respect to a center longitudinal axis (see page 5, lines 30-20) of the shank , and a number of protuberances (figure 2-3) which extend away from the main body, wherein the protuberances are of rounded configuration at their radially outer ends, wherein the protuberances extend with a radial component with respect to the center longitudinal axis and with a component which is oriented tangentially and counter to the screwing-in direction.
2. The screw as claimed in claim 1, wherein a leading side surface of the protuberances in the screwing-in direction has a larger surface area than a trailing side surface of the protuberances in the screwing-in direction (figures 2-3).
3. The screw as claimed in claim 1, wherein
5. The screw as claimed in claim 1 , wherein defining surfaces of the protuberances are arranged at an angle of zero degrees to ten degrees, in particular more than zero degrees and less than ten degrees, in particular six degrees, obliquely to the center longitudinal axis (figures 2-3).
9. The screw as claimed in claim 1,wherein , when viewed parallel to the center longitudinal axis, in all protuberances a tangent or parallel line to the leading side surface of the protuberance in the screwing-in direction encloses an angle of between 25 degrees and 50 degrees, in particular 35 degrees, with a radial direction which runs through the point of the protuberance located furthest from the outside in the radial direction (figure 3).
12. The screw as claimed in claim 1, wherein
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 12, 13, 17, 18, and 20 is/are rejected, as best understood, under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Wright 20070137441.
Wright discloses claims:
1. A screw (14) with a shank, a thread on at least one portion of the shank (figure 9), wherein the thread defines a screwing-in direction about a center longitudinal axis of the shank, and with a drive formation at one end of the shank, wherein the drive formation has a depression in a screw head or a projection at the end of the shank, wherein the depression or the projection in each case has a circular-cylindrical or frustoconical main body arranged concentrically with respect to a center longitudinal axis of the shank , and a number of protuberances which extend away from the main body , wherein the protuberances (144) are of rounded configuration (paragraph 0083, outer circumferential joining surface 52 and respect to figure 4) at their radially outer ends, wherein the protuberances extend with a radial component with respect to the center longitudinal axis and with a component which is oriented tangentially and counter to the screwing-in direction (see surfaces 148, also see paragraph 0109).
2. The screw as claimed in claim 1, wherein a leading side surface of the protuberances in the screwing-in direction has a larger surface area than a trailing side surface of the protuberances in the screwing-in direction (figures 6 and 9).
4. The screw as claimed in claim 1 , wherein defining surfaces of the protuberances are arranged parallel to the center longitudinal axis (see figures 5-6 and 8-9).
12. The screw as claimed in claim 1, wherein
13. A tool (figure 8, compatible with screw of figure 9) for screwing in and unscrewing a screw as claimed in claim 1 , with a drive formation which is configured to match the drive formation of the screw, wherein the drive formation has a depression or a projection, wherein the depression or the projection in each case has a circular-cylindrical or frustoconical main body arranged concentrically with respect to a center longitudinal axis of the tool , and a number of protuberances which extend away from the main body, wherein the protuberances are of rounded configuration at their radially outer ends, wherein relative to the center longitudinal axis the protuberances extend with a radial component with respect to the center longitudinal axis and with a component which is oriented tangentially and counter to the screwing-in direction.
17. An arrangement with a screw as claimed in claim 1, and a tool as claimed in claim 13 , wherein the leading side surfaces of the tool in the screwing-in direction bear flat against the leading side surfaces of the screw in the screwing-in direction when applying a torque in the screwing-in direction by means of the tool (figures 5-6; and Figures 8-9) .
18. The arrangement as claimed in claim 17,wherein screwing-in force (E) acts in the circumferential direction on the side surfaces and in that an angle (a) between the screwing-in force (E) and the side surfaces is between 25 degrees and 50 degrees (figures 5-6; and Figures 8-9).
20. The arrangement as claimed in claim 17, wherein, when viewed in the direction of the center longitudinal axis of the tool and screw, the leading side surfaces of the tool in the screwing-in direction bear flat over their entire length against the leading side surfaces of the screw in the screwing-in direction(figures 5-6; and Figures 8-9) .
.
Claim(s) 1-4, 12, 13, 17, and 20 is/are rejected, as best understood, under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Kingi EP3453899A1.
1. A screw (figure 1) with a shank (4), a thread (3) on at least one portion of the shank, wherein the thread defines a screwing-in direction about a center longitudinal axis of the shank, and with a drive formation (5) at one end of the shank, wherein the drive formation has a depression in a screw head or a projection at the end of the shank, wherein the depression or the projection in each case has a circular-cylindrical or frustoconical main body arranged concentrically with respect to a center longitudinal axis of the shank, and a number of protuberances (7) which extend away from the main body , wherein the protuberances are of rounded configuration at their radially outer ends, wherein the protuberances extend with a radial component with respect to the center longitudinal axis and with a component which is oriented tangentially and counter to the screwing-in direction.
2. The screw as claimed in claim 1, wherein a leading side surface of the protuberances in the screwing-in direction has a larger surface area than a trailing side surface of the protuberances in the screwing-in direction (figure 2).
3. The screw as claimed in claim 1, wherein
4. The screw as claimed in claim 1 , wherein defining surfaces of the protuberances are arranged parallel to the center longitudinal axis (figures 1-2).
12. The screw as claimed in claim 1, wherein
13. A tool (figure 3) for screwing in and unscrewing a screw as claimed in claim 1 , with a drive formation which is configured to match the drive formation () of the screw, wherein the drive formation has a depression or a projection, wherein the depression or the projection in each case has a circular-cylindrical or frustoconical main body arranged concentrically with respect to a center longitudinal axis of the tool , and a number of protuberances which extend away from the main body, wherein the protuberances are of rounded configuration at their radially outer ends, wherein relative to the center longitudinal axis the protuberances extend with a radial component with respect to the center longitudinal axis and with a component which is oriented tangentially and counter to the screwing-in direction (figure 3).
17. An arrangement with a screw (figure 1) as claimed in claim 1, and a tool (figure 3) as claimed in claim 13 , wherein the leading side surfaces of the tool in the screwing-in direction bear flat against the leading side surfaces of the screw in the screwing-in direction when applying a torque in the screwing-in direction by means of the tool.
20. The arrangement as claimed in claim 17, wherein, when viewed in the direction of the center longitudinal axis of the tool and screw, the leading side surfaces of the tool in the screwing-in direction bear flat over their entire length against the leading side surfaces of the screw in the screwing-in direction.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9, and 10-20 is/are rejected, as best understood, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Greenberg 20180119720.
Greenberg discloses claims:
1. A screw with a shank, a thread on at least one portion of the shank, wherein the thread defines a screwing-in direction about a center longitudinal axis of the shank, and with a drive formation at one end of the shank, wherein the drive formation has a depression in a screw head or a projection at the end of the shank, wherein the depression or the projection in each case has a circular-cylindrical or frustoconical main body arranged concentrically with respect to a center longitudinal axis () of the shank , and a number of protuberances which extend away from the main body (), wherein the protuberances are of rounded configuration at their radially outer ends, wherein the protuberances extend with a radial component with respect to the center longitudinal axis and with a component which is oriented tangentially and counter to the screwing-in direction (paragraph 0024, figure 2B, a mirror-inverted screw head).
2. The screw as claimed in claim 1, wherein a leading side surface of the protuberances in the screwing-in direction has a larger surface area than a trailing side surface of the protuberances in the screwing-in direction (figure 3B).
3. The screw as claimed in claim 1, wherein
4. The screw as claimed in claim 1 , wherein defining surfaces of the protuberances (paragraph 0024) are arranged parallel to the center longitudinal axis.
7. The screw as claimed in claim 1, wherein the drive formation is configured as a depression and a closed end of the recess is of conical configuration (MORTORQ configuration screw heads).
9. The screw as claimed in claim 1,wherein , when viewed parallel to the center longitudinal axis, in all protuberances a tangent or parallel line to the leading side surface of the protuberance in the screwing-in direction encloses an angle of between 25 degrees and 50 degrees, in particular 35 degrees, with a radial direction which runs through the point of the protuberance located furthest from the outside in the radial direction (MORTORQ configuration is spiral).
10. The screw as claimed in claim 1,wherein , when viewed in a cross section perpendicular to the center longitudinal axis, the leading side surfaces of the protuberances in the screwing-in direction are curved outwardly.
11. The screw as claimed in claim 10, wherein a radius of curvature of the leading side surfaces in the screwing-in direction is between two times and three times a diameter of the main body (MORTORQ is spiral).
12. The screw as claimed in claim 1, wherein
13. A tool (paragraph 0029, figure 5) for screwing in and unscrewing a screw as claimed in claim 1 , with a drive formation which is configured to match the drive formation of the screw, wherein the drive formation has a depression or a projection, wherein the depression or the projection in each case has a circular-cylindrical or frustoconical main body arranged concentrically with respect to a center longitudinal axis of the tool, and a number of protuberances which extend away from the main body, wherein the protuberances are of rounded configuration at their radially outer ends, wherein relative to the center longitudinal axis the protuberances extend with a radial component with respect to the center longitudinal axis and with a component which is oriented tangentially and counter to the screwing-in direction (paragraph 0029, figure 5).
14. The tool as claimed in claim 13, wherein at least the leading side surfaces of the protuberances or the projection in the screwing-in direction have a mean roughness value Ra of a maximum of 0.4 pm (anti-slip coatings paragraph 0029).
15. The tool as claimed in claim 13, wherein the drive formation () is configured as a projection and a cross section of the projection reduces in the direction of its free end which is arranged in the depression of the screw (figure 5).
16. The tool as claimed in claim 15, wherein the defining surfaces of the protuberances are arranged at an angle (a) of zero degrees to ten degrees, in particular more than zero degrees and less than ten degrees, in particular six degrees, obliquely to the center longitudinal axis (Figure 5).
17. An arrangement with a screw as claimed in claim 1, and a tool as claimed in claim 13 , wherein the leading side surfaces of the tool in the screwing-in direction bear flat against the leading side surfaces of the screw in the screwing-in direction when applying a torque in the screwing-in direction by means of the tool.
18. The arrangement as claimed in claim 17,wherein screwing-in force (E) acts in the circumferential direction on the side surfaces and in that an angle (a) between the screwing-in force (E) and the side surfaces is between 25 degrees and 50 degrees (MORTORQ configuration is spiral).
19. The arrangement as claimed in claim 17 , wherein the side surfaces of the tool are curved outwardly and the side surfaces of the screw are curved inwardly (figure 3B).
20. The arrangement as claimed in claim 17, wherein, when viewed in the direction of the center longitudinal axis of the tool and screw, the leading side surfaces of the tool in the screwing-in direction bear flat over their entire length against the leading side surfaces of the screw in the screwing-in direction (see entire specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer DE29903686 in view of JP3127483U (hereinafter JP312).
Fischer discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for wherein the drive formation is configured as a depression and a closed end of the recess is of conical configuration.
JP312 teaches it is known to have (claim 6) a closed end of the recess is of conical configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Fischer to have a closed end of the recess is of conical configuration as taught by JP312 for the purpose of providing an effect engineering design choice without destroying the invention or producing any unexcepted results.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer DE29903686 in view Pai 20190072179.
Fischer discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for
wherein the drive formation is configured as a projection and a cross section of the projection increases in the direction of the screw tip.
Pai teaches it is known to have (Claim 8) wherein the drive formation is configured as a projection and a cross section of the projection increases in the direction of the screw tip (Figure 3C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Fischer to have a wherein the drive formation is configured as a projection and a cross section of the projection increases in the direction of the screw tip as taught by Pai for the purpose of providing a mechanical equivalent design choice for driving a screw within a surface without destroying the invention or producing any unexcepted results.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright 2007137441 in view of JP3127483U (hereinafter JP312).
Wright discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for wherein the drive formation is configured as a depression and a closed end of the recess is of conical configuration.
JP312 teaches it is known to have (claim 6) a closed end of the recess is of conical configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Wright to have a closed end of the recess is of conical configuration as taught by JP312 for the purpose of providing an effect engineering design choice without destroying the invention or producing any unexcepted results.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright 2007137441 in view Pai 20190072179.
Wright discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for
wherein the drive formation is configured as a projection and a cross section of the projection increases in the direction of the screw tip.
Pai teaches it is known to have (Claim 8) wherein the drive formation is configured as a projection and a cross section of the projection increases in the direction of the screw tip (Figure 3C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Wright to have a wherein the drive formation is configured as a projection and a cross section of the projection increases in the direction of the screw tip as taught by Pai for the purpose of providing a mechanical equivalent design choice for driving a screw within a surface without destroying the invention or producing any unexcepted results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art discloses conventional screws and tools.
/KIMBERLY T WOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631