DETAILED ACTION
________________________________________
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed May 31, 2024, August 30, 2024, August 4, 2025, and December 5, 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 17 first recites the singular Y profile and two opposing lower end faces of the Y profile, but later recites that at least one of the Y bottom profiles can move. The expression Y bottom profiles lacks antecedent basis and does not identify whether the moving component is one of the opposing Y profiles, one of the lower end faces, or a distinct bottom-profile component. The identity of the moving structure therefore cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
Suggested Correction - Claim 17
Amend the final clause, if supported, to recite such that at least one of the opposing Y profiles can move in the second direction relative to a side surface of the perpendicular X bottom profile, or otherwise identify the intended moving component consistently with the specification and drawings.
________________________________________
References Used
Reference 1 (Primary) - WO2018146304A1.
Reference 2 - WO2020074257A1.
Reference 3 - US20230303327A1.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 1
Claim Text
1. A crossing for a grid-based rail system of an automated storage and retrieval system, wherein the crossing comprises: a first rail extending in a first direction, and a second rail extending in a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction, wherein the first and second rails each comprise at least one track for guiding wheels of a container handling vehicle in a longitudinal direction of said rail, the first and second rails engaging one another to form the crossing where the at least one track of the first rail crosses a path of the at least one track of the second rail, the crossing being configured to be supported by an upright member from below, and wherein at least one of the first and second rails is provided as a pair of rail sections arranged in an end-to-end manner in the longitudinal direction of said rail, the ends of the rail sections meeting in a central portion of the crossing, and the rail sections being configured to permit a range of movement of one end relative to the other in the longitudinal direction of the said rail so as to provide a thermal expansion joint for the said rail that is arranged within a volume of the crossing defined by the engagement of the first and second rails.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses a rail arrangement 20 for an automated storage and retrieval grid. The grid includes X-direction rails 30 and Y-direction rails 40 arranged perpendicular to one another above storage columns and configured to guide the wheels of container-handling vehicles.
Reference 1 discloses the recited first and second rails through X-direction rail 30 and Y-direction rail 40. Each rail provides longitudinal wheel tracks defined between outer ridges 23, 23', 24, 24' and center ridges 25, 25'. Reference 1 expressly describes the X and Y rails as double tracks that receive and guide the vehicle wheels.
Reference 1 discloses engagement of the perpendicular rails at crossroad 21. Recess 41 in Y rail 40 receives orthogonal X rail 30, and ridge-free section 31 of X rail 30 coincides with recess 41. The paths of the X- and Y-direction tracks thereby cross within the volume of crossroad 21. Corner ridge 26 provides a rounded transition at the track intersection.
Reference 1 further shows crossroad 21 directly above and supported by an upright or pillar in Figure 4. The longitudinal rail segments extend to the crossing from opposite sides and meet in the central crossing region. The adjacent-frame disclosure also recognizes longitudinal movement between abutting rail portions.
Reference 2 discloses expansion joint 10 having first rail element 12 and second rail element 11 arranged end-to-end and partially overlapping at a junction. Protruding rail element 12 is received in recess 17 of rail element 11 and is permitted to slide axially relative to rail element 11. That motion accommodates expansion and contraction while maintaining rail alignment and the vehicle path.
Applying Reference 2's sliding end relationship to the opposed rail portions that meet at Reference 1's supported crossroad 21 yields rail ends that meet in the central crossing portion, move longitudinally relative to one another, and function as a thermal expansion joint within the volume where rails 30 and 40 engage.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to configure the opposed rail portions meeting at Reference 1's crossroad 21 with Reference 2's sliding rail elements 11 and 12 and recess 17 because Reference 1 already places a rail discontinuity and overlapping perpendicular-rail structure at a pillar-supported crossing, while Reference 2 teaches that controlled longitudinal sliding at such a rail junction accommodates temperature-driven expansion without interrupting the vehicle track. Locating the expansion accommodation at the supported crossing would predictably preserve track alignment, avoid adding a second unsupported discontinuity between crossings, and maintain vehicle passage across the grid.
________________________________________
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 2
Claim Text
2. The crossing according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the rail sections of the said rail comprises a cutout on a lower portion thereof, wherein the cutout extends in a longitudinal direction of the rail section for receiving an upper edge of the upright member such that the rail section can move in a longitudinal direction relative the upper edge of the upright member.
Analysis
References 1 and 2 disclose the claim-1 crossing and thermal-joint combination for the reasons stated above.
Reference 1's Figure 1 shows the lower portion of the rail structure seated over upright 1. A longitudinal lower channel or cutout extends along the underside of the rail structure and receives the upper edge of upright 1. The channel constrains lateral displacement while leaving the rail extending longitudinally over the upright edge. Reference 1's Figure 4 likewise shows rails 30 and 40 supported above the upper end of the hollow upright at the crossroad.
Reference 2 teaches that rail elements 11 and 12 move longitudinally while a guide arrangement below the track supports the rail ends and guides that movement. In the combined crossing, the lower channel shown in Reference 1 receives the upper upright edge while Reference 2's controlled axial movement permits the rail section to move longitudinally relative to that edge.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 1's longitudinal lower channel around upright 1 when implementing Reference 2's sliding expansion-joint relationship because the channel provides vertical support and lateral registration at the crossroad while allowing the longitudinal degree of freedom needed for thermal expansion. The arrangement uses the upright to carry the crossing load without defeating the axial sliding taught by Reference 2.
________________________________________
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 3
Claim Text
3. The crossing according to claim 1, wherein the thermal expansion joint is arranged to form a continuous surface for the wheels of the container handling vehicle.
Analysis
References 1 and 2 disclose the claim-1 crossing and thermal-joint combination for the reasons stated above.
Reference 1 forms a smooth crossing at crossroad 21 through coincident ridge-free section 31 and recess 41 and through rounded corner ridge 26. Reference 2 expressly teaches that first rail element 12 overlaps second rail element 11 in the junction area and that the two elements together form a continuous drive track. Reference 2 explains that a wheel transfers from one rail element to the other without encountering a step and that non-continuous tracks would risk instability or derailment.
The combined crossing therefore provides the recited continuous wheel surface across the thermal expansion joint.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 2's overlapping continuous-track transition at Reference 1's crossroad 21 because both references address uninterrupted wheel guidance in an automated-storage rail grid. Preserving a continuous rolling surface while allowing axial movement would predictably reduce impact, instability, and derailment as the vehicle traverses the thermally movable crossing.
________________________________________
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 4
Claim Text
4. The crossing according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the first rail or the second rail comprises two tracks.
Analysis
References 1 and 2 disclose the claim-1 crossing and thermal-joint combination for the reasons stated above.
Reference 1 expressly discloses that both X rails 30 and Y rails 40 have two parallel tracks. The two wheel paths are formed between outer ridges 23, 23', 24, 24' and center ridges 25, 25'. Thus, at least one of the first and second rails, and in Reference 1 both rails, comprises two tracks.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 1's dual-track rail geometry when incorporating Reference 2's longitudinally sliding joint because the dual tracks permit container-handling vehicles to pass in both grid directions, and Reference 2 expressly contemplates expansion joints having one or more tracks. Retaining the existing track count preserves Reference 1's traffic capacity while adding the predictable thermal-movement benefit.
________________________________________
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim 5
Claim Text
5. The crossing according to claim 1, wherein the crossing comprises: an X top profile extending in the first direction; an X bottom profile extending in the first direction, wherein the X top profile is configured to be connected to the X bottom profile; and a Y profile extending in the second direction.
Analysis
References 1 and 2 disclose the claim-1 crossing and thermal-joint combination for the reasons stated above.
Reference 3 discloses a track assembly for an automated-storage grid. At node 50, a cross-shaped track section 122b has branches or track-section elements 124 extending in the X and Y directions. The track section is mounted on underlying X- and Y-direction track supports 118 and 120. Reference 3 also describes track section 68 as having an inverted U-shaped profile that cradles or overlaps track support 18 or 20, thereby establishing a top track profile connected to an underlying support profile.
In the combined crossing, the X-directed branch 124 of track section 122b is the X top profile. The underlying X-directed track support 118 is the X bottom profile. The X top profile is mounted to and connected with support 118. The perpendicular Y-directed branch 124 supplies the Y profile extending in the second direction.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to construct the X-direction portion of Reference 1's crossing using Reference 3's track-section-over-track-support architecture because Reference 3 teaches that a separately formed upper track provides an accurately controlled wheel surface while the underlying support carries the vehicle load. Mounting X-directed branch 124 to X-directed support 118 at Reference 1's crossroad would predictably preserve the perpendicular crossing geometry, simplify replacement or alignment of the wheel-contact profile, and leave the supporting profile available to carry Reference 2's thermally movable joint structure.
________________________________________
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim 19
Claim Text
19. The crossing according to claim 5, wherein the thermal expansion joint allows for longitudinal expansion and contraction of both the first rail in the first direction and the second rail in the second direction.
Analysis
References 1, 2, and 3 disclose the claim-5 crossing, thermal joint, and top/bottom profile architecture for the reasons stated above.
Reference 1 applies corresponding crossing structure to perpendicular X rails 30 and Y rails 40. Reference 2 teaches that expansion joint 10 may connect grid rails in the X direction or in the Y direction and permits longitudinal sliding between rail elements 11 and 12 to accommodate ambient-temperature changes. Reference 3 likewise provides perpendicular X- and Y-directed branches 124 and supports 118 and 120 at each node 50.
Using the same Reference 2 sliding-joint construction in the X-directed and Y-directed rail portions of the combined crossing permits longitudinal expansion and contraction of the first rail in the first direction and the second rail in the perpendicular second direction.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to apply Reference 2's expansion joint 10 to both the X- and Y-directed rail portions of the Reference 1 and Reference 3 crossing because the grid extends over substantial distances in both perpendicular directions and both rail sets experience temperature-driven dimensional change. Using the same joint principle in both directions provides symmetric thermal accommodation, preserves the orthogonal node geometry, and avoids transferring expansion stress from one rail set into the other.
________________________________________
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 32
Claim Text
32. A storage system comprising a framework structure, the framework structure comprising: upright members and a two-dimensional rail system arranged across the top of the upright members, wherein the rail system comprises: a first set of parallel rails arranged to guide movement of container handling vehicles in a first direction across the top of the frame structure, and a second set of parallel rails arranged perpendicular to the first set of rails to guide movement of the container handling vehicles in a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction, the first and second sets of parallel rails dividing the rail system into a plurality of access openings in the rail system for lifting and lowering of a storage container between a position above the rail system and a position below the rail system, and wherein the storage system comprises at least one crossing arranged along each rail of the first or second set of parallel rails forming a continuous track from one end of the rail system to an opposite end of the rail system, wherein the crossing comprises: a first rail extending in a first direction, and a second rail extending in a second direction which is perpendicular to the first direction, wherein the first and second rails each comprise at least one track for guiding wheels of a container handling vehicle in a longitudinal direction of said rail, the first and second rails engaging one another to form the crossing where the at least one track of the first rail crosses a path of the at least one track of the second rail, the crossing being configured to be supported by an upright member from below, and wherein at least one of the first and second rails is provided as a pair of rail sections arranged in an end-to-end manner in the longitudinal direction of said rail, the ends of the rail sections meeting in a central portion of the crossing, and the rail sections being configured to permit a range of movement of one end relative to the other in the longitudinal direction of the said rail so as to provide a thermal expansion joint for the said rail that is arranged within a volume of the crossing defined by the engagement of the first and second rails.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses a three-dimensional storage framework having upright pillars and rail arrangement 20 across the tops of the pillars. Parallel X rails 30 guide container-handling vehicles in a first direction, and parallel Y rails 40 guide the vehicles in a perpendicular second direction.
The intersecting X and Y rails define a two-dimensional matrix of access openings over storage columns containing vertically stacked containers. The vehicles travel above the grid and lift and lower containers through those access openings.
Crossroads 21 repeat along rails 30 and 40. The rails and crossroads provide continuous X- and Y-direction wheel paths across the grid. At each crossroad, X rail 30 and Y rail 40 engage through ridge-free section 31 and recess 41 and are supported by the upright below, as detailed for claim 1.
Reference 2 supplies the express thermal expansion function. Rail elements 11 and 12 slide longitudinally through recess 17 at expansion joint 10 while forming a continuous drive track. Incorporating that sliding relationship at Reference 1's repeated crossroads produces the complete storage system recited in claim 32.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Reference 2's expansion joint 10 into selected pillar-supported crossroads 21 of Reference 1's two-dimensional storage grid because Reference 2 is directed to accommodating temperature-driven movement in the same type of rail-based grid storage system. Repeating the joint along the parallel rails provides distributed thermal relief while the upright-supported crossings maintain alignment and continuous vehicle travel from one side of the grid to the other.
________________________________________
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 33
Claim Text
33. The storage system according to claim 32, wherein the crossing is arranged to lie within a vertical projection of a hollow center section of an upright member when supported by the upright members.
Analysis
References 1 and 2 disclose the claim-32 storage system and thermal crossing for the reasons stated above.
Reference 1's Figure 4 depicts rails 30 and 40 crossing directly above the supporting upright. The upright has an open, hollow cruciform center in the illustrated cross section. The crossing lies over and within the vertical projection of that hollow center section.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 1's centered relationship between crossroad 21 and the hollow upright when adding Reference 2's sliding joint because centering the joint over the upright places the rail-end loads directly over the structural support, limits bending at the movable junction, and preserves the established grid-cell alignment.
________________________________________
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 34
Claim Text
34. A method of providing a crossing in a grid-based rail system of an automated storage and retrieval system, the crossing allowing for thermal expansion and contraction of rails extending through the crossing; the method comprises: positioning a pair of rail sections of a first rail extending in a first direction and a second rail extending in a second direction on an underlying supporting upright member, wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction and wherein the first and second rails each comprise at least one track for guiding wheels of a container handling vehicle in a longitudinal direction of said rail; wherein the first and second rails engage to form the crossing; where at least one track of the first rail crosses a path of the at least one track of the second rail, the rail sections being arranged in an end-to-end manner in a longitudinal direction of a rail and the ends of the rail sections meeting in a central portion of the crossing to permit a range of movement of one end relative to the other in the longitudinal direction of the first or second rail, thereby providing a thermal expansion joint for the first or second rail that is arranged within the crossing within a volume defined by the engagement of the first and second rails.
Analysis
Reference 1 teaches assembling X rails 30 and perpendicular Y rails 40 over upright pillars to form crossroad 21. Recess 41 receives orthogonal rail 30, and ridge-free section 31 coincides with recess 41 so that the X- and Y-direction wheel paths cross at the supported central region.
Reference 2 teaches connecting rail elements 11 and 12 by inserting protruding element 12 into recess 17 of element 11 so that the elements overlap, remain aligned, and slide longitudinally at expansion joint 10. Performing that connection at Reference 1's crossroad positions the rail sections end-to-end over the upright and permits their ends to move relative to one another within the crossing volume.
The combined assembly steps therefore provide a crossing that accommodates expansion and contraction while preserving the longitudinal wheel track.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to assemble Reference 1's crossing with Reference 2's overlapping, longitudinally sliding rail-end relationship because the references concern compatible rail-grid components and the added assembly step predictably converts the crossing's central rail junction into a controlled thermal expansion location without changing the grid directions or vehicle-guidance function.
________________________________________
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 35
Claim Text
35. The method according to claim 34, wherein the method comprises connecting crossings to rails of a first set of parallel rails extending in the first direction or rails of a second set of parallel rails extending in the second direction such as to allow for thermal expansion and contraction of the first or second set of parallel rails.
Analysis
References 1 and 2 disclose the claim-34 method for the reasons stated above.
Reference 1 repeats crossroads 21 across parallel X rails 30 and parallel Y rails 40 to form rail arrangement 20. Reference 2 teaches connecting expansion joint 10 between regions of a rail-based storage grid and states that the joint can be used with rails extending in the X direction or the Y direction. Connecting the modified crossroads to the parallel X or Y rail sets allows those rail sets to expand and contract longitudinally.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to connect the thermally movable crossings to Reference 1's parallel X rails 30 or parallel Y rails 40 because Reference 2 teaches using its expansion joint in either grid direction. Distributed connection to a parallel rail set provides a predictable path for accumulated thermal movement while maintaining continuous tracks across the storage grid.
________________________________________
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-16, 18, and 20-31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 17 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all limitations of claims 1, 5, 12, and 15 and amended to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection.
________________________________________
Claim Disposition
Rejected Claims - 35 U.S.C. 112: 17.
Rejected Claims - 35 U.S.C. 103: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 19, 32, 33, 34, 35.
Objected-to Claims: 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31.
Allowed Claims: None.
________________________________________
Conclusion
US20230303326A1 was not used because US20230303327A1 provides the separate track-section and track-support architecture more directly. US3951365A was not used because its general railway crossover is less specific than the automated-storage rail crossings of the selected references.
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615