DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
1. This is in response to application filed on 5/31/2024 in which claims 1-56 are presented for examination.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 12-17, 20, 27-30, 33, 40-45, 48 and 55-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dwivedi et al., (US 2024/0230826), (hereinafter, Dwivedi).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Dwivedi discloses a method/server for cellular/ultra-wideband (UWB) positioning (= NNF/LMF configured to facilitate positioning of a UE based on measurements of cellular radio access technology (RAT) signals and of non-cellular ranging signals, see [0168 and 0011]; and an integration of non-cellular ranging techniques based on UWB with cellular RAT-specific positioning techniques, see [0138]), the method comprising:
sending a request from a server (= NNF/LMF) to a first wireless device for capability information, wherein the first wireless device is capable of transmitting both cellular and UWB wireless signals (= NNF can send to the UE a request for the UE’s non-cellular capability, see [0172 and 0142]; and NNF can receive from UE: first measurements of non-cellular ranging signal (e.g., UWB signals) transmitted by one or more non-cellular ranging devices identified by first assistance data; and second measurements of cellular signals transmitted by the one or more cellular RAT transmitters, see [0169]);
receiving, at the server, a response from the first wireless device, the response comprising the capability information including information regarding a capability of the first wireless device for performing UWB positioning (= receiving from the UE a response indicating the UE’s non-cellular positioning capabilities, see [0172]);
determining first UWB assistance data for the first wireless device based at least in part on (i) the capability information and (ii) information regarding one or more positioning signals transmitted in a cellular wireless network, wherein the first UWB assistance data comprises one or more parameters for a first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions between the first wireless device and a second wireless device
(= NNF can send the following information to the UE: first assistance data that identifies one or more non-cellular ranging devices associated with the network, and second assistance data that identifies one or more cellular RAT transmitters of the network; and the first measurements of UWB signals transmitted by the one or more non-cellular ranging devices identified by the first assistance data, see [0169 and 0135]); and
sending the first UWB assistance data from the server to the first wireless device (= NNF can send the following information to the UE: first assistance data that identifies one or more non-cellular ranging devices associated with the network, see [0169]).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, as mentioned in claims 1 and 16, Dwivedi discloses the method/server, wherein the one or more parameters for the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions comprise: a start time for a ranging block, a round of a ranging block to use, a number of slots to use within a round of a ranging block, or a frequency channel to use, or a combination thereof (see, [0135]).
Regarding claims 5 and 20, as mentioned in claims 1 and 16, Dwivedi discloses that the method/server, further comprising sending second UWB assistance data comprising one or more parameters for a second set of one or more UWB positioning sessions, wherein the second UWB assistance data is sent from the server to the first wireless device, the second wireless device, or a third wireless device, or a combination thereof (see, [0143]).
Regarding claims 12 and 27, as mentioned in claims 1 and 16, Dwivedi discloses the method/server, wherein the response further comprises Quality of Service (QoS) parameters comprising information indicative of: a pulse shape, a desired accuracy, or a type of positioning algorithm for the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions, or a combination thereof (= NNF provides assistance data to UE, see, [0143 and 0147]).
Regarding claims 13 and 28, as mentioned in claims 1 and 16, Dwivedi discloses the method/method, wherein cellular wireless network comprises a new radio (NR) wireless network and the server comprises a location management function (LMF) of the NR wireless network (see, [0142]).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned in claim 1, Dwivedi discloses the method, wherein the request, the response, or the first UWB assistance data, or a combination thereof, are communicated via long-term evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP)(see, [0162-63]).
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned in claim 1, Dwivedi discloses the method, one or more positioning signals comprise one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) instances (see, [0075]).
Regarding claims 29 and 44, Dwivedi discloses a method/first wireless device for cellular/ultra-wideband (UWB) positioning (= NNF/LMF configured to facilitate positioning of a UE based on measurements of cellular radio access technology (RAT) signals and of non-cellular ranging signals, see [0168 and 0011]; and an integration of non-cellular ranging techniques based on UWB with cellular RAT-specific positioning techniques, see [0138]), the method comprising:
receiving, at a first wireless device, a request from a server for capability information, wherein the first wireless device is capable of transmitting both cellular and UWB wireless signals (= NNF can send to the UE a request for the UE’s non-cellular capability, see [0172 and 0142]; and NNF can receive from UE: first measurements of non-cellular ranging signal (e.g., UWB signals) transmitted by one or more non-cellular ranging devices identified by first assistance data; and second measurements of cellular signals transmitted by the one or more cellular RAT transmitters, see [0169]);
sending, to the server, a response from the first wireless device, the response comprising the capability information including information regarding a capability of the first wireless device for performing UWB positioning (= receiving from the UE a response indicating the UE’s non-cellular positioning capabilities, see [0172]);
receiving, at the first wireless device, first UWB assistance data from the server, wherein the first UWB assistance data comprises one or more parameters for a first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions between the first wireless device and a second wireless device (= NNF can send the following information to the UE: first assistance data that identifies one or more non-cellular ranging devices associated with the network, and second assistance data that identifies one or more cellular RAT transmitters of the network; and the first measurements of UWB signals transmitted by the one or more non-cellular ranging devices identified by the first assistance data, see [0169 and 0135]); and
conducting, using the first wireless device: the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions with the second wireless device in accordance with the one or more parameters, and one or more measurements of one or more positioning signals transmitted in a cellular wireless network (= three UEs performing non-cellular ranging among themselves, see [0154-0156]).
Regarding claims 30 and 45, as mentioned in claims 29 and 44, Dwivedi discloses the method/first wireless device, wherein the one or more parameters for the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions comprise: a start time for a ranging block, a round of a ranging block to use, a number of slots to use within a round of a ranging block, or a frequency channel to use, or a combination thereof (see, [0135]).
Regarding claims 33 and 48, as mentioned in claims 29 and 44, Dwivedi discloses that the method/ first wireless device, further comprising receiving, at the first wireless device, second UWB assistance data comprising one or more parameters for a second set of one or more UWB positioning sessions, wherein the second UWB assistance data is sent from the server (see, [0143]).
Regarding claims 40 and 55, as mentioned in claims 29 and 44, Dwivedi discloses that the method/ first wireless device, further comprising including, in the response, Quality of Service (QoS) parameters comprising information indicative of: a pulse shape, a desired accuracy, or a type of positioning algorithm for the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions, or a combination thereof (= NNF provides assistance data to UE, see, [0143 and 0147]).
Regarding claims 41 and 56, as mentioned in claims 29 and 44, Dwivedi discloses the method/ first wireless device, wherein cellular wireless network comprises a new radio (NR) wireless network and the server comprises a location management function (LMF) of the NR wireless network (see, [0113, 0143 and 0147]).
Regarding claim 42, as mentioned in claim 29, Dwivedi discloses the method, wherein the request, the response, or the first UWB assistance data, or a combination thereof, are communicated via long-term evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) (see, [0117]).
Regarding claim 43, as mentioned in claim 29, Dwivedi discloses the method one or more positioning signals comprise one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) instances (see, [0075 and 0115]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 6-11, 18-19, 21-26, 31-32, 34-39, 46-47 and 49-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Dwivedi in view of Yoon et al., (US 2021/0173066), (hereinafter, Yoon).
Regarding claims 3 and 18, as mentioned in claims 1 and 16, Dwivedi explicitly fails to disclose that the method/server further comprising determining a hopping pattern for round usage in the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions based on the information regarding one or more positioning signals transmitted in a cellular wireless network, wherein the one or more parameters for the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions comprise the determined hopping pattern.
However, Yoon, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses that the method/server further comprising determining a hopping pattern for round usage in the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions based on the information regarding one or more positioning signals transmitted in a cellular wireless network, wherein the one or more parameters for the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions comprise the determined hopping pattern (= performing ranging with a first device in a first ranging round; and determining whether to perform hopping, see [0010 and 0099]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Yoon with Dwivedi for the benefit of achieving a UWB positioning system that a device could turn on a hopping mode in a subsequence ranging block when a device fails to receive a message due to interference in the system.
Regarding claims 4 and 19, as mentioned in claims 1 and 16, Dwivedi explicitly fails to disclose the method/server, wherein the one or more parameters for the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions specify using a round selected from of a plurality of rounds of a ranging block, and wherein, for a particular positioning signal of the one or more positioning signals: the selected round is closest in time, of the plurality of rounds, to the particular positioning signal, and the selected round does not overlap in time with the particular positioning signal.
However, Yoon, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/server, wherein the one or more parameters for the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions specify using a round selected from of a plurality of rounds of a ranging block, and wherein, for a particular positioning signal of the one or more positioning signals: the selected round is closest in time, of the plurality of rounds, to the particular positioning signal, and the selected round does not overlap in time with the particular positioning signal (see [0200 and 0210]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Yoon with Dwivedi for the benefit of achieving a UWB positioning system that a device could turn on a hopping mode in a subsequence ranging block when a device fails to receive a message due to interference in the system.
Regarding claims 6 and 21, as mentioned in claims 5 and 20, Dwivedi explicitly fails to disclose the method/server, wherein: the one or more parameters for the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions specify using a first round of a first ranging block having a first round index; the one or more parameters for the second set of one or more UWB positioning sessions specify using a second round of a second ranging block having a second round index different than the first round index; and the first ranging block and the second ranging block overlap in time.
However, Yoon, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/server, wherein: the one or more parameters for the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions specify using a first round of a first ranging block having a first round index; the one or more parameters for the second set of one or more UWB positioning sessions specify using a second round of a second ranging block having a second round index different than the first round index; and the first ranging block and the second ranging block overlap in time (= ranging rounds overlapping for several block, see, [0199]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Yoon with Dwivedi for the benefit of achieving a UWB positioning system that a device could turn on a hopping mode in a subsequence ranging block when a device fails to receive a message due to interference in the system.
Regarding claims 7 and 22, as mentioned in claims 6 and 21, Dwivedi explicitly fails to disclose the method/server wherein, for a particular positioning signal closest in time, of the one or more positioning signals, to the first round: the first round occurs subsequent to the particular positioning signal; and the second round occurs subsequent to the first round.
However, Yoon, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/server, wherein, for a particular positioning signal closest in time, of the one or more positioning signals, to the first round: the first round occurs subsequent to the particular positioning signal; and the second round occurs subsequent to the first round (= ranging rounds overlapping for several block, see, [0199-200]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Yoon with Dwivedi for the benefit of achieving a UWB positioning system that a device could turn on a hopping mode in a subsequence ranging block when a device fails to receive a message due to interference in the system.
Regarding claims 8 and 23, as mentioned in claims 6 and 21, Dwivedi explicitly fails to disclose the method/server wherein, for a particular positioning signal closest in time, of the one or more positioning signals, to the first round: the first ranging block and the second ranging block overlap in time with the particular positioning signal; the first round occurs prior to the particular positioning signal; and the second round occurs subsequent to the particular positioning signal.
However, Yoon, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/server, wherein, for a particular positioning signal closest in time, of the one or more positioning signals, to the first round: the first ranging block and the second ranging block overlap in time with the particular positioning signal; the first round occurs prior to the particular positioning signal; and the second round occurs subsequent to the particular positioning signal (= ranging rounds overlapping for several block, see, [0199-200]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Yoon with Dwivedi for the benefit of achieving a UWB positioning system that a device could turn on a hopping mode in a subsequence ranging block when a device fails to receive a message due to interference in the system.
Regarding claims 9 and 24, as mentioned in claims 5 and 21, Dwivedi explicitly fails to disclose the method/server wherein: the one or more parameters for the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions specify using a first round of a first ranging block having a first round index; the one or more parameters for the second set of one or more UWB positioning sessions specify using a second round of a second ranging block having a second round index; and the first ranging block and the second ranging block do not overlap in time.
However, Yoon, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/server, wherein: the one or more parameters for the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions specify using a first round of a first ranging block having a first round index; the one or more parameters for the second set of one or more UWB positioning sessions specify using a second round of a second ranging block having a second round index; and the first ranging block and the second ranging block do not overlap in time (= ranging rounds overlapping for several block, see, [0199-200 and 0183]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Yoon with Dwivedi for the benefit of achieving a UWB positioning system that a device could turn on a hopping mode in a subsequence ranging block when a device fails to receive a message due to interference in the system.
Regarding claims 10 and 25, as mentioned in claims 9 and 24 , Dwivedi explicitly fails to disclose the method/server wherein, for a particular positioning signal closest in time, of the one or more positioning signals, to the first ranging block: the first ranging block occurs subsequent to the particular positioning signal; the second ranging block occurs subsequent to the first round; and the second round index is the same as the first round index.
However, Yoon, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/server, wherein, for a particular positioning signal closest in time, of the one or more positioning signals, to the first ranging block: the first ranging block occurs subsequent to the particular positioning signal; the second ranging block occurs subsequent to the first round; and the second round index is the same as the first round index (see, [0199-200 and 0183]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Yoon with Dwivedi for the benefit of achieving a UWB positioning system that a device could turn on a hopping mode in a subsequence ranging block when a device fails to receive a message due to interference in the system.
Regarding claims 11 and 26, as mentioned in claims 9 and 24, Dwivedi explicitly fails to disclose the method/server wherein, for a particular positioning signal closest in time, of the one or more positioning signals, to the first ranging block: the first ranging block occurs prior to the particular positioning signal; and the second ranging block occurs subsequent to the particular positioning signal.
However, Yoon, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/server, wherein, for a particular positioning signal closest in time, of the one or more positioning signals, to the first ranging block: the first ranging block occurs prior to the particular positioning signal; and the second ranging block occurs subsequent to the particular positioning signal (see, [0199-200 and 0183]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Yoon with Dwivedi for the benefit of achieving a UWB positioning system that a device could turn on a hopping mode in a subsequence ranging block when a device fails to receive a message due to interference in the system.
Regarding claims 31 and 46, as mentioned in claims 29 and 44, Dwivedi explicitly fails to disclose the method/first wireless device wherein the one or more parameters for the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions comprise a hopping pattern.
However, Yoon, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/first wireless device wherein the one or more parameters for the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions comprise a hopping pattern (= performing ranging with a first device in a first ranging round; and determining whether to perform hopping, see [0010 and 0099]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Yoon with Dwivedi for the benefit of achieving a UWB positioning system that a device could turn on a hopping mode in a subsequence ranging block when a device fails to receive a message due to interference in the system.
Regarding claims 32 and 47, as mentioned in claims 29 and 44, Dwivedi explicitly fails to disclose the method/first wireless device, wherein the one or more parameters for the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions specify using a round selected from of a plurality of rounds of a ranging block, and wherein, for a particular positioning signal of the one or more positioning signals: the selected round is closest in time, of the plurality of rounds, to the particular positioning signal, and the selected round does not overlap in time with the particular positioning signal.
However, Yoon, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/first wireless device, wherein the one or more parameters for the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions specify using a round selected from of a plurality of rounds of a ranging block, and wherein, for a particular positioning signal of the one or more positioning signals: the selected round is closest in time, of the plurality of rounds, to the particular positioning signal, and the selected round does not overlap in time with the particular positioning signal (see [0200 and 0210]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Yoon with Dwivedi for the benefit of achieving a UWB positioning system that a device could turn on a hopping mode in a subsequence ranging block when a device fails to receive a message due to interference in the system.
Regarding claims 34 and 49, as mentioned in claims 33 and 48, Dwivedi explicitly fails to disclose the method/first wireless device, wherein: the one or more parameters for the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions specify using a first round of a first ranging block having a first round index; the one or more parameters for the second set of one or more UWB positioning sessions specify using a second round of a second ranging block having a second round index different than the first round index; and the first ranging block and the second ranging block overlap in time.
However, Yoon, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/first wireless device, wherein: the one or more parameters for the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions specify using a first round of a first ranging block having a first round index; the one or more parameters for the second set of one or more UWB positioning sessions specify using a second round of a second ranging block having a second round index different than the first round index; and the first ranging block and the second ranging block overlap in time (= ranging rounds overlapping for several block, see, [0199]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Yoon with Dwivedi for the benefit of achieving a UWB positioning system that a device could turn on a hopping mode in a subsequence ranging block when a device fails to receive a message due to interference in the system.
Regarding claims 35 and 50, as mentioned in claims 34 and 49, Dwivedi explicitly fails to disclose the method/first wireless device wherein, for a particular positioning signal closest in time, of the one or more positioning signals, to the first round: the first round occurs subsequent to the particular positioning signal; and the second round occurs subsequent to the first round.
However, Yoon, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/first wherein, for a particular positioning signal closest in time, of the one or more positioning signals, to the first round: the first round occurs subsequent to the particular positioning signal; and the second round occurs subsequent to the first round (= ranging rounds overlapping for several block, see, [0199-200]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Yoon with Dwivedi for the benefit of achieving a UWB positioning system that a device could turn on a hopping mode in a subsequence ranging block when a device fails to receive a message due to interference in the system.
Regarding claims 36 and 51, as mentioned in claims 34 and 49, Dwivedi explicitly fails to disclose the method/first wireless device wherein, for a particular positioning signal closest in time, of the one or more positioning signals, to the first round: the first ranging block and the second ranging block overlap in time with the particular positioning signal; the first round occurs prior to the particular positioning signal; and the second round occurs subsequent to the particular positioning signal.
However, Yoon, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/first wireless device, wherein, for a particular positioning signal closest in time, of the one or more positioning signals, to the first round: the first ranging block and the second ranging block overlap in time with the particular positioning signal; the first round occurs prior to the particular positioning signal; and the second round occurs subsequent to the particular positioning signal (= ranging rounds overlapping for several block, see, [0199-200]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Yoon with Dwivedi for the benefit of achieving a UWB positioning system that a device could turn on a hopping mode in a subsequence ranging block when a device fails to receive a message due to interference in the system.
Regarding claims 37 and 52, as mentioned in claims 33 and 48, Dwivedi explicitly fails to disclose the method/first wireless device wherein: the one or more parameters for the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions specify using a first round of a first ranging block having a first round index; the one or more parameters for the second set of one or more UWB positioning sessions specify using a second round of a second ranging block having a second round index; and the first ranging block and the second ranging block do not overlap in time.
However, Yoon, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/first wireless device, wherein: the one or more parameters for the first set of one or more UWB positioning sessions specify using a first round of a first ranging block having a first round index; the one or more parameters for the second set of one or more UWB positioning sessions specify using a second round of a second ranging block having a second round index; and the first ranging block and the second ranging block do not overlap in time (= ranging rounds overlapping for several block, see, [0199-2000 and 0183]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Yoon with Dwivedi for the benefit of achieving a UWB positioning system that a device could turn on a hopping mode in a subsequence ranging block when a device fails to receive a message due to interference in the system.
Regarding claims 38 and 53, as mentioned in claims 37 and 52 , Dwivedi explicitly fails to disclose the method/first wireless device wherein, for a particular positioning signal closest in time, of the one or more positioning signals, to the first ranging block: the first ranging block occurs subsequent to the particular positioning signal; the second ranging block occurs subsequent to the first round; and the second round index is the same as the first round index.
However, Yoon, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/first wireless device, wherein, for a particular positioning signal closest in time, of the one or more positioning signals, to the first ranging block: the first ranging block occurs subsequent to the particular positioning signal; the second ranging block occurs subsequent to the first round; and the second round index is the same as the first round index (see, [0199-200 and 0183]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Yoon with Dwivedi for the benefit of achieving a UWB positioning system that a device could turn on a hopping mode in a subsequence ranging block when a device fails to receive a message due to interference in the system.
Regarding claims 39 and 54, as mentioned in claims 37 and 52 , Dwivedi explicitly fails to disclose the method/first wireless device wherein, for a particular positioning signal closest in time, of the one or more positioning signals, to the first ranging block: the first ranging block occurs prior to the particular positioning signal; and the second ranging block occurs subsequent to the particular positioning signal.
However, Yoon, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method/first wireless device, wherein, for a particular positioning signal closest in time, of the one or more positioning signals, to the first ranging block: the first ranging block occurs prior to the particular positioning signal; and the second ranging block occurs subsequent to the particular positioning signal (see, [0199-200 and 0183]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Yoon with Dwivedi for the benefit of achieving a UWB positioning system that a device could turn on a hopping mode in a subsequence ranging block when a device fails to receive a message due to interference in the system.
CONCLUSION
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See below and attached form PTO-892 for cited references and the prior art made of record.
a. Forssell Pinder (US 9,148,823) teaches ensuring quality of service for private short-range wireless networks.
571-272-8566.The examiner can normally be reached on M-Frid (6am – 4pm).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8566.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.