DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 15 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Noguchi et al. (8,631,890). In regard to claims 1 and 12, Noguchi discloses a foundation construction machine comprising a self-moving assembly for moving the machine on the ground (Fig. 1, item 1), an excavation tool (Fig. 1, item 4), at least one actuator for moving said excavation tool (Fig. 1, item 2), at least one electric motor for supplying power to at least one movement of the machine (Fig. 3, item 17), at least one interchangeable electric storage system configured to assume a working condition, in which the at least one interchangeable electric storage system is mechanically and electrically connected to the machine, and a replacement condition, in which the at least one interchangeable electric storage system is at least mechanically disconnected from the machine (Figs. 4 and 7, item 23), handling equipment for bringing said at least one interchangeable electric storage system from the working condition to the replacement condition, and vice versa (Fig. 5, items 5 and 24).
In regard to claim 4, Noguchi discloses wherein the interchangeable electric storage system comprises a plurality of storage units (Fig. 5, item 231), and a housing frame for housing the storage units (Fig. 5, item 26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noguchi et al. (8,631,890) as applied to claims 1, 4, and 12 above, and further in view of Boe et al. (11,407,298). Noguchi does not disclose the specifics of the electrical connection between the machine and electric storage system. In regard to claims 8 and 14, Boe discloses a construction machine wherein the interchangeable electric storage system is connectable to an electric system of the machine by a male-female connector, wherein a part of the connector is integral with the interchangeable electric storage system and another part of the connector is integral with the machine, wherein the mechanical disconnection between the interchangeable electric storage system and the machine electrically disconnects the connector (Figs. 7 and 10, item 221).
The addition of these features would result in a predictable variation that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions, which has been held unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a), absent evidence that the modifications necessary to effect the combination of elements is uniquely challenging or difficult for one of ordinary skill in the art. Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BAPI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noguchi et al. (8,631,890) as applied to claims 1, 4, and 12 above, and further in view of Kurikuma et al. (8,700,246). Noguchi does not disclose the use of an external power charging device. In regard to claims 8 and 14, Kurikuma discloses a construction machine comprising an electric system provided with a socket, located on the self-moving assembly, configured to be connected, by a cable, to an external power network (Fig. 5, item 42).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the external charging, as taught by Kurikuma, to the construction machine of Noguchi, in order to provide additional charging/recharging options to the machine. This increases the usability and time in operation of the machine.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 3, 5 – 6, 9 – 11, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Noguchi et al. (8,631,890) discloses a construction machine similar to the instant invention; however Noguchi, either alone or in combination, neither discloses nor suggests a construction machine comprising (in regard to claims 2 and 15) a fixed electric storage system that cannot be removed by means of the handling equipment, (in regard to claim 3) engaging or clutching means adapted to be mechanically coupled to docking or fastening points of the interchangeable electric storage system and at least one actuator for moving said engaging or clutching means, (in regard to claim 5) wherein the housing frame comprises height-adjustable supports, (in regard to claim 6) at least one electric cable for connecting the interchangeable electric storage system to an electric system of the machine, wherein a length of said electric cable is sufficient to allow maintaining an electric connection between the electric system and the interchangeable electric storage system while the machine is mechanically decoupled from the interchangeable storage system and is making some movements on the ground, (in regard to claim 9) wherein the handling equipment comprises an articulated parallelogram with which engaging means are associated, the engaging means being adapted to be coupled to docking means of the interchangeable electric storage system, (in regard to claim 10) wherein the handling equipment comprises engaging means integrally connected to one end of a linear actuator, wherein the engaging means are adapted to be coupled to the docking means of the interchangeable electric storage system, and (in regard to claim 11) an external assembling frame, provided with engaging or clutching means adapted to be mechanically coupled to the coupling points, and with height-adjustable supports. These limitations, in combination with each and every other independent claim limitation, are not shown in the currently cited prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Okada et al. (9,279,233) disclose a shovel;
Hirose et al. (12,168,858) disclose a battery operated work machine;
Persson et al. (2024/0413412) disclose a rock drilling rig.
/JOHN D WALTERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613