CTNF 18/715,664 CTNF 80838 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 13-16 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 13 and 27 recite the limitation "were selected" in lines 3 and 3-4 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is previous selection of reference PRS resources. Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite by virtue of being dependent on claim 13. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 12, 14, 17, 19, 26, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cha et al US 20240406916 ( hereinafter Cha ) . Regarding claim 12 , Cha discloses a method of supporting batch reporting of reference signals for positioning of a user equipment (UE) (UE, see fig. 4, [0089]), the method comprising: sending, from a location server (LMF, see fig. 4, [0089]) to the UE, a positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration for a positioning session of the UE, wherein the PRS configuration indicates a duration of time spanning a plurality of PRS instances during which the UE is to perform a plurality of measurements (402-configure measurement time window, see fig. 4, [0077], [0089]); sending, to the UE, an indication that the UE is to provide a batch report indicative of the plurality of measurements (402-request batch reporting, see fig. 4, [0082], [0089]); receiving the batch report, wherein the batch report indicates a plurality of reference PRS resources used by the UE to perform the plurality of measurements (413, see fig. 4, [0059], [0076], [0112]); and responsive to receiving the batch report, determining a location of the UE based at least in part on the plurality of measurements (see [0058], [0076]). Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 12, Cha further discloses wherein the batch report comprises a first message of a first message type and at least one additional message of a second message type (413, see [0089], [0112], [0116]-[0117]). Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 12, Cha further discloses wherein the batch report comprises a single message (see [0076], [0089]). Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 12, Cha further discloses prior to receiving the batch report, indicating different reference PRS resources of the plurality of reference PRS resources to use for different PRS instances of the plurality of PRS instances (time window for DL reference signal, see [0006], [0082], [0089]). Regarding claim 26 , Cha discloses a location server (LMF 1100, see fig. 11, [0169]) for supporting batch reporting of reference signals for positioning of a user equipment (UE) (UE, see fig. 4, [0089]), the location server comprising: a transceiver (1130, see fig. 11, [0173]); a memory (1120, see fig. 11, [0169]); and one or more processors communicatively coupled with the transceiver and the memory (1110, see fig. 11, [0169]), wherein the one or more processors are configured to: send, via the transceiver to the UE, a positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration for a positioning session of the UE, wherein the PRS configuration indicates a duration of time spanning a plurality of PRS instances during which the UE is to perform a plurality of measurements (402-configure measurement time window, see fig. 4, [0077], [0089]); send, via the transceiver to the UE, an indication that the UE is to provide a batch report indicative of the plurality of measurements (402-request batch reporting, see fig. 4, [0082], [0089]); receive the batch report via the transceiver, wherein the batch report indicates a plurality of reference PRS resources used by the UE to perform the plurality of measurements (413, see fig. 4, [0059], [0076], [0112]); and responsive to receiving the batch report, determine a location of the UE based at least in part on the plurality of measurements (see [0058], [0076]). Regarding claim 28 as applied to claim 26, Cha further discloses wherein the batch report comprises a first message of a first message type and at least one additional message of a second message type (413, see [0089], [0112], [0116]-[0117]). Regarding claim 29 as applied to claim 26, Cha further discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive the batch report in a single message (see [0076], [0089]). Regarding claim 30 as applied to claim 26, Cha further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, prior to receiving the batch report, indicate different reference PRS resources of the plurality of reference PRS resources to use for different PRS instances of the plurality of PRS instances (time window for DL reference signal, see [0006], [0082], [0089]) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 1-11 and 21-25 are allowed. 13-03 AIA The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding claim 1 , Cha et al US 20240406916 discloses a method of selecting a reference signal for positioning of a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving, at the UE, a positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration for a positioning session of the UE, wherein the PRS configuration indicates a duration of time during which, for each instance of a plurality of PRS instances, the UE is to perform at least one respective measurement using at least one reference PRS resource; receiving, at the UE, an indication that the UE is to provide a batch report indicative of the at least one respective measurement for each instance of the plurality of PRS instances; and performing the at least one respective measurement for each instance of the plurality of PRS instances. The instant invention discloses wherein performing the at least one respective measurement for each instance of the plurality of PRS instances comprises selecting, from a plurality of candidate PRS resources, the at least one reference PRS resource based at least in part on: a measured characteristic of the at least one reference PRS resource, or a received indication of the at least one reference PRS resource, or a combination thereof. The above novel features, “in combination” with the other recited limitations in the claim, are not taught, suggested, or made obvious by Cha or any other prior art of record, alone, or in combination. Regarding claim 21 , Cha et al US 20240406916, discloses A user equipment (UE) for selecting a reference signal for positioning of the UE, the UE comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and one or more processors communicatively coupled with the transceiver and the memory, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive, via the transceiver, a positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration for a positioning session of the UE, wherein the PRS configuration indicates a duration of time during which, for each instance of a plurality of PRS instances, the UE is to perform at least one respective measurement using at least one reference PRS resource; receive, via the transceiver, an indication that the UE is to provide a batch report indicative of the at least one respective measurement for each instance of the plurality of PRS instances; and perform the at least one respective measurement for each instance of the plurality of PRS instances. The instant invention discloses wherein performing the at least one respective measurement for each instance of the plurality of PRS instances comprises selecting, from a plurality of candidate PRS resources, the at least one reference PRS resource based at least in part on: a measured characteristic of the at least one reference PRS resource, or a received indication of the at least one reference PRS resource, or a combination thereof. The above novel features, “in combination” with the other recited limitations in the claim, are not taught, suggested, or made obvious by Cha or any other prior art of record, alone, or in combination. Claims 2-10 are allowed by virtue of being dependent on claim 1. Claims 22-25 are allowed by virtue of being dependent on claim 21 . Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bhamri et al US 20230176162 discloses a method at a User Equipment (“UE”), the method comprising: receiving a plurality of Positioning Reference Signals (“PRS”) from at least one base unit, each PRS being transmitted using a specific beam; generating a single positioning measurement report that combines measurement instances for the received plurality of PRS; and transmitting the single positioning measurement report to a location management function (“LMF”) for UE -assisted positioning. Akkarakaran et al US 20210058890 discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a receiver device includes performing, during a positioning session, a measurement of a first positioning reference signal (PRS) within a first bandwidth part (BWP), performing, during the positioning session, a measurement of a second PRS within a second BWP, transmitting, to a location server, a measurement report including the measurement of the first PRS and the measurement of the second PRS, and transmitting, to the location server, an indication of the first BWP, the second BWP, or both. Manolakos et al US 20240107487 discloses a method for reporting measurement for determination of a position of a user equipment. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OLUMIDE T AJIBADE AKONAI whose telephone number is (571)272-6496. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8AM-4PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, RESHA DESAI can be reached at 571-270-7792. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/715,664 Page 2 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/715,664 Page 3 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/715,664 Page 4 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/715,664 Page 5 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/715,664 Page 6 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/715,664 Page 7 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/715,664 Page 8 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/715,664 Page 9 Art Unit: 3648