DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 110, 123 and 129 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “slightly” in claim 110 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “slightly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The disclosure is devoid of a representation of how much or little above the lower control limit qualifies as “slightly”.
Claim 123 recites the limitation "the plug valve" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Perhaps this claim should be dependent upon claim 113? For purposes of examination, it is assumed this limitation is dependent upon claim 113.
The term “incrementally” in claim 129 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “incrementally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The disclosure is devoid of a representation of how much or little above the lower control limit qualifies as “incrementally”.
Claim 128 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 128 is dependent upon itself, and therefore, it cannot further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 17-19, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2014/0076029 A1).
Considering claim 1, Lee discloses an apparatus for testing prosthetic valves comprising:
- a test chamber divided into an inflow chamber 95 and an outflow chamber 90, the test chamber having a fluid connection path (via valve 24) between the inflow chamber and the outflow chamber (Figure 3 and Figure 1; [0063-64]; [0053]);
- a mount 26 for supporting a prosthetic valve 24 under test in the fluid connection path with the prosthetic valve oriented to open to pass flow on the fluid connection path from the inflow chamber toward the outflow chamber and to close to restrict flow on the fluid connection path toward the inflow chamber from the outflow chamber (Figure 4; [0063-64]);
- a fluid driving device 30,31 operable to vary a pressure differential of a fluid between the inflow chamber and the outflow chamber in repeating cycles which include an open phase in which the valve under test is open and a closed phase in which the valve under test is closed (Figure 3; [0063-64]; [0045]; [0050-52]); and
- wherein the fluid driving device 30,31 is configured to drive the fluid into the outflow chamber to increase a pressure in the outflow chamber in the closed phase and to drive the fluid out of the outflow chamber to decrease the pressure in the outflow chamber in the open phase ([0064]).
Considering claim 4, Lee discloses that the fluid driving device varies the pressure differential in repeating cycles at least 200 times per minute ([0050]).
Considering claim 5, Lee discloses a source of fluid 40 at the inflow chamber, the source of fluid configured to maintain a mean fluid pressure in the inflow chamber (Figure 3 and Figure 1; [0054]; [0058-64]).
Considering claim 6, Lee discloses that the source of fluid comprises a reservoir 40 and a conduit 82 fluidly connecting the reservoir to the inflow chamber 95 (Figures 2-3; [0040-44]; [0058-64]).
Considering claim 8, Lee discloses that the end point of the conduit in the inflow chamber is not more than 40 mm from the mount (Figures 1-3, the portion of the conduit that is in the inflow chamber is in contact with the mount surface, the mount comprising the elongated tube, as shown in the figures. Therefore, less than 40 mm separation exists).
Considering claim 17, Lee discloses that the test chamber (Figure 3) has a first end that defines a wall 22 of the inflow chamber, a second end that defines a wall 23 of the outflow chamber and sides 21 extending between the first and second ends and wherein the fluid driving device 30,31 is fluidly coupled to the inflow chamber 95/82 by an inflow channel 83/84 that extends into the inflow chamber through one of the sides (Figures 1-3; [0039-46]; [0063-64]).
Considering claim 18, Lee discloses that the fluid driving device 30,31 cyclically drives the fluid in or out of the inflow chamber through the inflow channel ([0064]).
Considering claim 19, Lee discloses that the fluid driving device 30,31 is fluidly coupled to the outflow chamber 90 by an outflow channel 84 that extends into the outflow chamber through one of the sides (Figures 2-3; [0044-46]; [0064]).
Considering claim 21, Lee discloses that the fluid driving device 30,31 comprises a reciprocating piston 31 and the reciprocating piston 31 is operative to push fluid into the outflow chamber to increase the pressure in the outflow chamber and pull fluid out of the outflow chamber to decrease the pressure in the outflow chamber (Figure 3; [0045]; [0063-64]).
Claims 1 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dingmann et al. (US 2015/0359633 A1).
Considering claim 1, Dingmann discloses an apparatus for testing prosthetic valves comprising:
- a test chamber 100 divided into an inflow chamber 111 and an outflow chamber 118, the test chamber having a fluid connection path (through bore 114b) between the inflow chamber and the outflow chamber (Figures 3, 4 and 6;; [0049-51]);
- a mount 114 for supporting a prosthetic valve 150 under test in the fluid connection path with the prosthetic valve oriented to open to pass flow on the fluid connection path from the inflow chamber toward the outflow chamber and to close to restrict flow on the fluid connection path toward the inflow chamber from the outflow chamber (Figures 4-6; [0049-50]);
- a fluid driving device 130,140 operable to vary a pressure differential of a fluid between the inflow chamber and the outflow chamber in repeating cycles which include an open phase in which the valve under test is open and a closed phase in which the valve under test is closed (Figure 3; [0039-42]; [0048]; [0050]); and
- wherein the fluid driving device 130,140 is configured to drive the fluid into the outflow chamber to increase a pressure in the outflow chamber in the closed phase and to drive the fluid out of the outflow chamber to decrease the pressure in the outflow chamber in the open phase ([0050]; [0041-42]; [0048], reverse valve orientation such that fluid in the outflow chamber 118 forces valve closed, while pulling fluid from outflow chamber 118 opens the valve).
Considering claim 23, Dingmann discloses that the driving device is a reciprocating bellows and the reciprocating bellows 130 is operative to push fluid into the outflow chamber 118 to increase the pressure in the outflow chamber and pull fluid out of the outflow chamber to decrease the pressure in the outflow chamber (Figure 3; [0050]; [0039-42]; [0048]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2014/0076029 A1) in view of Steen et al. (US 2016/0262634 A1).
Considering claim 9, Lee discloses that the reservoir is configured to contain fluid with a surface elevation of the fluid higher than the mount (Figure 3), but Lee fails to explicitly disclose that the surface elevation of the fluid is at least 60 mm higher than the mount.
However, Steen teaches the use of a reservoir applying a pre-loading fluid pressure to a cardiac device which is located about 70 mm higher than the cardiac valves (Figures 1 and 4; [0049]; [0077-78]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a reservoir having a surface elevation of fluid that is located at least 60 mm higher than the valve mount of Lee, as taught by Steen. The motivation for doing so is to allow for a desired pressure preload, as suggested by Steen ([0078], “[t]he height of the fluid volume in the lower portion of the cylinder determines the filling pressure, which should be about 5 mmHg, which corresponds to a height of about 7 cm”).
Considering claim 10, Lee, as modified by Steen, already discloses that the surface elevation does not exceed 500 mm above the mount ([0078]).
Considering claim 11, Lee, as modified by Steen, already discloses that the surface elevation is in the range of 60 mm to 1.5 m above the mount ([0078]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2014/0076029 A1) in view of Hodson et al. (US 2015/0128684 A1).
Considering claim 23, Lee teaches the fluid driving device comprises a reciprocating piston and the reciprocating piston is operative to push fluid into the outflow chamber to increase the pressure in the outflow chamber and pull fluid out of the outflow chamber to decrease the pressure in the outflow chamber (Figure 3; [0063-64]; [0045]; [0050-52]), but Lee fails to disclose the use of a bellows to provide this functionality.
However, Hodson explicitly teaches the use of a reciprocating bellows 32 and the reciprocating bellows 32 is operative to push fluid 16 into the outflow chamber 14A to increase the pressure in the outflow chamber and pull fluid out of the outflow chamber to decrease the pressure in the outflow chamber (Abstract; Figure 3; [0030-34]).
One of ordinary skill in the art could have simply substituted the known reciprocating bellow of Hodson for the reciprocating piston of Lee, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and repeatable. Hodson explicitly provides for interchangeability of piston or bellows (Abstract) as the driving device. Accordingly, both techniques are functionally equivalent for the purpose of moving fluid. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a bellow in the invention by Lee, as taught by Hodson.
Claims 104-106, 109-110, 112 and 124 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dingmann et al. (US 2015/0359633 A1) in view of Fontaine et al. (US 2019/0093682 A1).
Considering claim 104, Dingmann discloses:
- a bypass valve comprising a variable aperture arranged to allow fluid to flow between the outflow chamber and the inflow chamber ([0010]; [0051-56], return orifices with adjustable openings controlled by an actuator in communication with a control system);
- a first sensor operative to measure a pressure of the fluid in the inflow chamber ([0010]; [0047]);
- a second sensor operative to measure a pressure of the fluid in the outflow chamber ([0010]; [0047]);
- a control system 200 (Figure 8) configured to:
- determine a value for a target variable based at least on output signals from the first and second sensors ([0075]), and
- control an actuator to incrementally open or close the bypass valve so as to cause the target variable value to be varied to increase the target variable value or to decrease the target variable value ([0011-12]; [0056]; [0075-79]).
The invention by Dingmann fails to disclose the control system configured to store an upper control limit and a lower control limit, based on a relationship of the target variable value to the upper and lower control limits control an actuator to incrementally open or close the bypass valve so as to cause the target variable value to be varied to increase the target variable value if the target variable value is below the lower control limit or to decrease the target variable value if the target variable value is above the upper control limit.
However, Fontaine teaches a control system configured to store an upper control limit and a lower control limit ([0022], [0047]), based on a relationship of a target variable value to the upper and lower control limits, control an actuator to incrementally open or close the bypass valve so as to cause the target variable value to be varied to increase the target variable value if the target variable value is below the lower control limit or to decrease the target variable value if the target variable value is above the upper control limit ([0040]; [0048-51]; [0030-31], whereby control actions are updated at regular intervals to provide corrective return to a setpoint, by a valve controller, and based on user input upper limit and lower limit values relative to the defined setpoint).
Dingmann already discloses an automated bypass controller, and Fontaine improves upon automated control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the control scheme of Fontaine, in the invention by Dingmann, to control the adjustable aperture of the return/bypass valve therein. The motivation for doing so, expressly provided by Fontaine, is to avoid repeated corrections for acceptable variation and reducing actuator cycling/wear ([0035]; [0043-44]).
Considering claim 105, Dingmann discloses that the target variable is a peak differential pressure across the prosthetic valve ([0056], [0075]; [0078]).
Considering claim 106, Dingmann discloses that a target variable is a high pressure time (5% of cycle time T) for the differential pressure across the prosthetic valve (Figure 9B; [0077-79], whereby the lower control limit can be the pressure of 100 mmHg and an upper control limit is the p1 value, whereby tuning of the cycle time above the lower limit is controlled by the controller).
Considering claim 109, Dingmann fails to explicitly disclose that the target variable value is controlled to be at a midpoint between the upper control limit and the lower control limit.
However, as previously discussed, Fontaine provides a control scheme, which specifically gives an equal allowance on both sides of a set-point ([0047]), and then drives the actuator to move the controlled variable to the set-point, which is the midpoint or the symmetric deadband ([0043-43]; [0048-51]).
Dingmann already discloses an automated bypass controller, and Fontaine improves upon automated control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the control scheme of Fontaine, in the invention by Dingmann, to control the adjustable aperture of the return/bypass valve therein to a setpoint in the middle of the upper and lower control limits. The motivation for doing so, expressly provided by Fontaine, is to avoid repeated corrections for acceptable variation and reducing actuator cycling/wear ([0035]; [0043-44]).
Considering claim 110, Dingmann discloses that the target variable value (peak differential pressure) is controlled to be at or slightly above the lower control limit ([0078-79]). Dingmann explicitly recites that “it can be desirable to have a differential pressure curve 246 with a p1 that is not substantially greater than 100 mmHg” and “the system 100 can be tuned to produce a differential pressure curve 246 that (i) meets the requirement that, during at least 5% of each cycle, the differential pressure across the valve must be at least a specified pressure (e.g., 100 mmHg for an aortic valve) and that (ii) has a p1 that is not substantially greater than the specified pressure”, which provides for minimizing the maximum pressure differential towards or slightly above the minimum control limit of 100 mmHg.
Considering claim 112, Dingmann fails to disclose that the bypass actuator is a servomotor or a stepper motor or a linear actuator that is mechanically coupled to operate the bypass valve.
However, Fontaine teaches the use of a valve actuator that includes a servomotor, stepper motor or linear actuator 1 that is mechanically coupled to operate the bypass valve ([0016-17]).
One of ordinary skill in the art could have simply substituted the known double-acting linear actuator of Fontaine to open or close the gate or needle valve bypass of Dingmann (Dingmann, [0056]), with its undisclosed actuator. Both Dingmann and Fontaine rely on automated movement of an actuator to adjust an opening or closing of a valve, and accordingly, the techniques are considered functionally equivalent for the intended purpose. Accordingly, the unknown actuator can simply be replaced with the linear actuator and used interchangeably. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a servomotor, stepper motor or linear actuator coupled to the bypass valve.
Considering claim 124, Dingmann discloses a user interface for its control system ([0070]), but as previously discussed, fails to disclose allowing a user input specifying a value for one or both of the upper control limit and the lower control limit.
However, Fontaine explicitly teaches a user input allowing entry of a specified value for one or both of the upper and lower control limit values ([0022]; [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a user input to allow entry of the control limit values, as taught by Fontaine, in the invention by Dingmann. The use of an interface to allow entry of control limit values allows adaptable processes, whereby customized testing may occur based on new or different control limits, rather than being hardcoded to perform a limited number of tests.
Claims 107-108 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dingmann et al. (US 2015/0359633 A1) in view of Fontaine et al. (US 2019/0093682 A1), as applied to claim 104 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2014/0076029 A1) and Park et al. (2011/0218437 A1).
Considering claim 107, Dingmann, as modified by Fontaine, fails to disclose that the target variable is cycle passing rate.
However, Lee teaches the use of a cycle passing rate as a requirement for verification of suitability (Figure 13; [0050-52]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize a cycle passing rate as a measured/monitored variable in valve testing, as taught by Lee, in the invention by Dingmann, as modified by Fontaine. The motivation for doing so is to provide an indication of compliance with known standards, as is understood from the teachings of Lee.
The invention by Dingmann, as modified by Fontaine and Lee, discloses monitoring cycle passing rate, but fails to explicitly disclose that the upper and lower control limits are related to the monitoring cycle passing rate, whereby adjustment of the bypass valve moves the cycle passing rate into the band defined by the control limits.
However, Park teaches the concept of targeting a cycle passing rate as a result effective variable that is bound by control limits and controlling an actuator to adjust the cycle passing rate towards a setpoint within the control limits (Figure 20, Steps 312-314; [0065-67]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a cycle passing rate as a target variable, which is controlled to be maintained within a set of control limits, as taught by Park, in the invention by Dingmann, as modified by Fontaine and Lee. The motivation for doing so is to provide an additional compliance/verification check, using the same structural elements and electrical signals, thus preserving cost while adding features.
Considering claim 108, the invention by Dingmann, as modified by Fontaine, Lee and Park, already discloses that the cycle passing rate is calculated based on a plurality of past test cycles (Park, [0066]); furthermore, the very nature of a “rate” inherently requires multiple samples.
Claim 111 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dingmann et al. (US 2015/0359633 A1) in view of Fontaine et al. (US 2019/0093682 A1), as applied to claim 104 above, and further in view of Seiler et al. (US 2018/0199589 A1).
Considering claim 111, Dingmann, as modified by Fontaine, fails to explicitly disclose that the target variable value is controlled to be between the lower control limit and the mean of the upper and lower control limits.
However, Seiler explicitly relies on controlling a set-point variable to be within the range of
L
<
S
<
(
L
+
U
)
2
([0119], whereby L+(U-L)*.25=S =>
L
<
S
<
(
L
+
U
)
4
, which is in a narrower, but obvious range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a target variable value that is controlled to be between the lower control limit and the mean of the upper and lower control limits, as taught by Seiler, in the invention by Dingmann, as modified by Fontaine. The motivation for doing so is to keep the variable towards the lower limit, as suggested Dingmann, originally, but further to reduce frequent valve/vent actuations, as suggested by Seiler ([0120]).
Claims 113, 116, and 117 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dingmann et al. (US 2015/0359633 A1) in view of Fontaine et al. (US 2019/0093682 A1), as applied to claim 104 above, and further in view of Frye (US 4113228 A).
Considering claim 113, Dingmann discloses that the bypass may be an orifice, valve-like device, gate valve, ball valve, needle valve, etc…([0056]), but the invention by Dingmann, as modified by Fontaine, fails to explicitly disclose that the valve-like device is a plug valve.
However, Frye teaches the use of a rotary plug valve (Abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art could have simply substituted the known plug valve taught by Frye for the valve-like device of Dingmann, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and repeatable. Both Dingmann and Frye require a valve to restrict or allow fluid flow, and thus the types, while different, are considered functionally equivalent for their intended purpose of providing a controlled fluid flow. Accordingly, the use of a plug valve is interchangeable with any of the valve-type devices of Dingmann. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a plug valve.
Considering claim 116, Dingmann, as modified by Fontaine and Frye, already discloses that a plug of the plug valve has first 78 and second 86 axial end portions that are smaller in diameter than a portion 74 of the plug between the first and second axial end portions (Fyre, Figure 2; Column 7, lines 20-50).
Considering claim 117, Dingmann, as modified by Fontaine and Frye, already discloses that the first and second axial end portions are tapered (Fyre, Figure 2; Column 7, lines 20-50).
Claim 123 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dingmann et al. (US 2015/0359633 A1) in view of Fontaine et al. (US 2019/0093682 A1), as applied to claim 104 above, and further in view of Frye (US 4113228 A), as applied to claim 113, above, and further in view of Shiffler (US 5242150 A).
Considering claim 123, in view of the interpretation made with respect to the 112(b) rejection stated above, Dingmann, as modified by Fontaine and Frye, discloses a rotary plug valve, but fails to explicitly disclose an encoder connected to measure the degree of rotation of the plug valve and transmit a signal indicating a degree of rotation to the control system.
However, Shiffler teaches the use of a rotary plug valve that is connected with an rotary encoder and stepper motor for transmitting an indication of a degree of rotation to a control system (Figure 2; Column 4, lines 20-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an encoder connected with the plug valve to provide a signal indicative of a degree of rotation to the control system of Dingmann, as modified by Fontaine and Frye, as taught by Shiffler. The motivation for doing so, suggested by Shiffler, is to provide direct feedback to control operation of the valve (Column 4, lines 30-34).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 125-127 and 130 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 128-129 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Considering claim 125, the prior art made of record fails to disclose, suggest or otherwise render obvious the subject matter of the target variable comprising a rolling cycle passing rate and the control system is configured to compute the rolling cycle passing rate and control the bypass valve based on the rolling cycle passing rate to maintain the rolling cycle passing rate between the lower control limit and an upper control limit. While similar to claims 107-108, the rolling cycle passing rate and control of the bypass valve based on the rolling cycle passing rate inherently requires a moving window, which is not supported by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Neerinex, McCloskey et al., Lee, and Marquez et al. disclose conventional cardiovascular prosthetic fatigue testers.
Sands discloses a rotary plug valve having tapered ends.
Karch discloses using a 10, 20 or 50 sample moving window to monitor valve states, open or closed, to isolate recent events while averaging noise.
/JONATHAN M DUNLAP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855
October 16, 2026