DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-12, 13-17, 22-25 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2019/0297619 A1). Regarding claims 1, 13, 25, Liu et al. discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory (Para 61) and configured to: transmit, to a base station, a first random access message (Msg1) (Para 82 teaches of UE transmitting msg1); receive, from the base station, an indication of a waveform of a third random access message (Msg3) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (Para 83-86 teaches of base station indicating the transmission waveform ); and transmit, to the base station, the Msg3 PUSCH using the waveform indicated by the base station (Para 83-86 teaches of the UE transition msg3). Regarding claims 2, 14, Liu et al. discloses an apparatus, wherein the indication of the waveform for the Msg3 PUSCH is in a downlink control information (DCI) associated with a random access response (RAR) in a second random access message (Msg2) (Para 86 teaches “Alternatively, the base station 100 can configure the transmission waveform for the random access message 3 (msg3) and all of its subsequent PUSCHs only through a MAC RAR, rather than reconfiguring the transmission waveform of the UE 200 for the PUSCH through the RRC signaling dedicated to the UE 200 after the UE 200 enters the RRC connected state.”). Regarding claims 3, 15, Liu et al. discloses an apparatus, wherein the indication of the waveform for the Msg3 PUSCH is in a random access response (RAR) to the Msg1. (Para 86 teaches “Alternatively, the base station 100 can configure the transmission waveform for the random access message 3 (msg3) and all of its subsequent PUSCHs only through a MAC RAR, rather than reconfiguring the transmission waveform of the UE 200 for the PUSCH through the RRC signaling dedicated to the UE 200 after the UE 200 enters the RRC connected state.”). Regarding claims 4, 16, Liu et al. discloses an apparatus, wherein the indication of the waveform for the Msg3 PUSCH is in at least one of a first bit of a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) of the RAR or a second bit of a MAC payload of the RAR (Para 83 teaches “Alternatively, a 1-bit information field can be added in a message header (or a message sub-header) of a random access response to indicate a transmission waveform used by the UE 200 to transmit a msg3. For example, “1” indicates DFT-S-OFDM, and “0” indicates CP-OFDM.”). Regarding claims 5, 17, Liu et al. discloses an apparatus, wherein the indication of the waveform for the Msg3 PUSCH is in a channel state information (CSI) request field of an uplink grant in the RAR (Para 83 teaches “Alternatively, a 1-bit information field can be added in a message header (or a message sub-header) of a random access response to indicate a transmission waveform used by the UE 200 to transmit a msg3. For example, “1” indicates DFT-S-OFDM, and “0” indicates CP-OFDM.”). Regarding claims 10, 22, Liu et al. discloses an apparatus, wherein the Msg1 indicates support for waveform switching for the Msg3 PUSCH (Para 95). Regarding claims 11, 23, Liu et al. discloses an apparatus, wherein the Msg1 indicates the support for the waveform switching based on at least one of: a random access channel (RACH) occasion of the Msg1, a RACH preamble comprised in the Msg1, or an indication of another capability (Para 83 teaches of choosing the waveform a DFT-S-OFDM waveform or a CP-OFDM waveform) Regarding claims 12, 24, Liu et al. discloses an apparatus, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, and wherein the waveform comprises cyclic prefix orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-OFDM) or discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-S-OFDM). (Para 83 teaches of choosing the waveform a DFT-S-OFDM waveform or a CP-OFDM waveform)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 18, 26, and 29, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2019/0297619 A1) in view of Sun et al. (US 2022/0264589 A1) Regarding claims 6, 18, 26, 29, Liu et al. discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1 above. Liu et al. does not discloses an apparatus, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to transmit, to the base station, at least one retransmission of the Msg3 PUSCH using the waveform indicated for an initial transmission of the Msg3 PUSCH. However Sun et al. discloses an apparatus, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to transmit, to the base station, at least one retransmission of the Msg3 PUSCH using the waveform indicated for an initial transmission of the Msg3 PUSCH (Para 203 , Para 416 and Para 423 teaches of retransmission of Msg3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of retransmission of Msg3 of Sun et al. with the system of Liu et al. in order to provide a system that utilizes different redundancy versions providing coding gain and reduce interference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9, 19-21, 27 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AJAY CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467