DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the structural ribs; the series of steps or rungs; and the ground mat must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitations "the hydraulic system" and “the vehicle” in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Regarding claim 31, the phrase "or the like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 32 is dependent upon claim 31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Plank (5,096,334).
With regard to claim 1, Plank discloses a trench shoring apparatus (abstract), comprising: first and second side panels (panels 2; fig. 1) having a top edge, a bottom edge and side edges (fig. 1), the first and second side panels being connected in a parallel spaced-apart configuration (fig. 1) by a transverse strut (4) being mounted proximate each side edge thereof and nearer the top edge than the bottom edge (fig. 1); and actuator means (10) being operable to vary the length of the transverse strut from a first length to a second length (col. 4, line 59 – col. 5, line 7).
With regard to claim 3, Plank further discloses the first and second side panels having a castellated cross section (via corrugated sheet pile; fig. 1; col. 6, lines 13-16) and each having an inner and outer surface, and wherein the outer surfaces of the first and second side panels abut the excavated sides of the trench when in use (fig. 1; col. 4, line 59 – col. 5, line 7), and wherein the inner surfaces of the first and second side panels are each connected to the transverse strut (fig. 1).
With regard to claim 5, Plank further discloses the first length of the transverse strut corresponds to a retracted configuration that has a lateral dimension which is less than the width of the trench into which the apparatus is inserted when in use and which is less than the width of the second length of the transverse strut which corresponds to an extended configuration (col. 4, line 59 – col. 5, line 7).
With regard to claim 6, Plank further discloses the actuator means being operable to position the transverse strut to the first length whereby the apparatus can be placed between the excavated sides of the trench, and wherein the actuator means being operable to position the transverse strut to the second length whereby the outer surfaces of the first and second side panels abut against the excavated sides of the trench to deploy the apparatus, the actuator means being in a rigid condition whilst the apparatus is deployed in the trench (fig. 1; col. 4, line 59 – col. 5, line 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plank (5,096,334) in view of Collins (4,993,880).
With regard to claim 4, Plank discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding the transverse strut is secured to the inner surfaces of the first and second side panels via a seam of welding.
Collins discloses a trench shoring apparatus (abstract) wherein transverse strut is secured to the inner surfaces of the first and second side panels via a seam of welding (col. 7, lines 7-68).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Plank and utilize welding for connections as taught in Collins with a reasonable expectation of success in order to permanently connected the components of the trench shoring apparatus.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plank (5,096,334) in view of Meshorer (3,295,330).
With regard to claim 8, Plank further discloses the actuator means further comprises a cylinder and piston capable of being pumped with a fluid (col. 4, line 59 – col. 5, line 23) however is silent regarding a check valve to lock the strut in the rigid condition.
Meshorer discloses a trench shoring apparatus (fig. 1) with a cylinder and piston capable of being pumped with a fluid and a check valve to lock the strut in the rigid condition (col. 3, lines 20-47; claim 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Plank and utilize check valve as taught in Meshorer, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure the piston maintains its exerted force.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plank (5,096,334) in view of Davidson (2008/0229702).
With regard to claim 20, Plank discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding a series of steps or rungs disposed on the inner surface of the castellated side panels, the rungs being configured to form an internal ladder which provide access to the deployed trench shoring apparatus.
Davidson discloses a trench shoring apparatus (abstract) comprising a series of steps or rungs (104) disposed on the inner surface of the side panels, the rungs being configured to form an internal ladder which provide access to the deployed trench shoring apparatus (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Plank and utilize steps or rungs as taught in Davidson, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase safety entering and exiting the trench.
Claim(s) 21 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plank (5,096,334) in view of Cerda (2010/0264390).
With regard to claim 21, Plank discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding a retractable or mountable guardrail and/or edge restraint disposed at the inner surface of the side panels and which is erectable to provide edge protection to prevent falls into the deployed trench shoring apparatus.
Cerda discloses a trench shoring apparatus (abstract) comprising a mountable guardrail and/or edge restraint (100) disposed at the inner surface of the side panels and which is erectable to provide edge protection to prevent falls into the deployed trench shoring apparatus (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Plank and utilize a guardrail as taught in Cerda, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent personnel from falling into the trench.
With regard to claim 30, Plank discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above however is silent regarding a cradle comprising a frame part which has four vertical posts arranged from the frame part and spaced apart from each other at predetermined intervals to form a rectangular frame and an upper end frame connecting to upper end parts of the four vertical postsand into which a trench shoring apparatus can be received, the frame part having provision for mounted accessories, and coupling means for connecting the cradle to a transporting vehicle.
Cerda discloses a trench shoring apparatus (abstract) comprising a cradle (fig. 1) comprising a frame part (100) which has four vertical posts (110/118) arranged from the frame part and spaced apart from each other at predetermined intervals to form a rectangular frame (fig. 2) and an upper end frame (104) connecting to upper end parts of the four vertical posts and into which a trench shoring apparatus can be received (fig. 1), the frame part having provision for mounted accessories (eg. 426), and coupling means for connecting the cradle to a transporting vehicle (para 0038).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Plank and utilize a cradle and frame as taught in Cerda, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent personnel from falling into the trench.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plank (5,096,334) in view of Raspotnik (2008/0110696).
With regard to claim 26, Plank discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding a ground mat which abuts against the first and/or second side panels for improved aboveground trafficking and access when in use.
Raspotnik discloses a trench shoring apparatus (110) comprising a ground mat (202/204/206) which abuts against the first and/or second side panels for improved aboveground trafficking and access when in use (fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Plank and utilize a ground mat as taught in Raspotnik, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase personnel safety around the trench.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 13, 16, 17, 22, 24, 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 31-32 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited prior art, either alone or in any reasonable combination, fails to teach or suggest all the limitations of the claim(s). Trench shoring apparatuses are known such as those taught by Plank (5,096,334) and Jennings et al. (5,232,312). However, the cited prior art lacks first and second strut arms with the first strut arm comprises a generally flat first face and an opposite second face having a series of structural ribs extending from the first face to the second face; and the second strut arm comprises a generally flat first face and an opposite second face having a series of structural ribs extending from the first face to the second face, the first strut arm and second strut arm being inverted L-shaped in plan view from the side; as well as the hoisting beam releasably connects to the apparatus and can be used to raise or lower the apparatus, the hoisting beam also hydraulically connects the actuator means to the hydraulic system disposed on the vehicle; as required by claim(s) and it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the prior art to achieve applicant’s invention without the benefit of hindsight and applicant’s own disclosure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
11/19/2025