DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6-3-2024 and 5-5-2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 11, the phrases “at least indirectly” and “formed on the basis” make the claims indefinite. It is unclear what “at least indirectly” means in relation to the circuit board and waveguide. In addition, “partly formed on the basis” is unclear as to whether the waveguide is partly made of plastic or partly on the circuit board. Further clarification is required.
Claims 12-19 are rejected as per their dependency on claim 11.
Double Patenting
Claims 11 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 and 20 of copending Application No. 18/557,257. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both provide for an apparatus and method for a waveguide device with the difference being that the application uses the term “disposes” and injection molding and the co-pending application uses the term “arranged”.
Injection molding is a well-known and understood method of plastics.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wojnowski, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0021002, published January 16, 2020 in view of Wintermantel, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0275336, filed September 8, 2020.
As per claims 11 and 20, Wojnowski discloses a radar apparatus, comprising:
a printed circuit board (Wojnowski, Fig. 1A, 140);
a signal generating circuit, which is disposed at least indirectly on the printed circuit board, is electrically coupled to the printed circuit board, and is configured to generate a radar signal (Wojnowski, ¶16 using MMIC);
a waveguide antenna device, which is disposed at least indirectly on the printed circuit board and is at least partly formed on the basis of injection-molded plastic (Wojnowski, ¶20);
and a waveguide coupling device, wherein the signal generating circuit is disposed on or in the waveguide coupling device, and wherein the waveguide coupling device is configured to couple the radar signal generated by the signal generating circuit into the waveguide antenna device (Wojnowski, ¶19).
Wojnowski fails to expressly disclose using injection molding.
Wintermantel teaches injection molding of waveguide devices (¶54-56).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use injection molding in order to gain the obvious benefit of using existing, well-known methods of plastics formation.
As per claim 12, Wojnowski as modified by Wintermantel discloses the radar apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the waveguide coupling device is configured to directly couple the radar signal generated by the signal generating circuit into waveguide channels of the waveguide antenna device, and wherein the waveguide antenna device is molded directly onto the waveguide coupling device in a connection region adjoining the waveguide channels (Wojnowski, Fig. 1A and ¶20 where the components are within the IC package).
As per claim 13, Wojnowski as modified by Wintermantel further discloses the radar apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the waveguide antenna device is molded directly onto the signal generating circuit (Wojnowski, ¶20 where it is integrated).
As per claim 14, Wojnowski as modified by Wintermantel further discloses the radar apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the waveguide coupling device includes at least one metallized high-frequency structure for coupling the radar signal generated by the signal generating circuit into the waveguide antenna device (Wojnowski, ¶25).
As per claim 15, Wojnowski as modified by Wintermantel further discloses the radar apparatus according to claim 14, wherein metallized side walls of a waveguide channel of the waveguide antenna device are in contact with the metallized high- frequency structure (Wojnowski, ¶25).
As per claim 16, Wojnowski as modified by Wintermantel further discloses the radar apparatus according to claim 14, wherein metallized side walls of a waveguide channel of the waveguide antenna device are in contact with a solder mask disposed between the waveguide antenna device and the waveguide coupling device (Wojnowski, Fig. 1A, 150).
As per claim 17, Wojnowski as modified by Wintermantel further discloses the radar apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the metallized high-frequency structure is spaced apart from the solder mask (Wojnowski, ¶35 where they are separated due to being on separate sides of the chip).
As per claim 18, Wojnowski as modified by Wintermantel further discloses the radar apparatus according to claim 14, wherein metallized side walls of a waveguide channel of the waveguide antenna device are spaced apart from the waveguide coupling device by an injection-molded plastic section (Wojnowski, ¶35).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to an injection molded plastic section as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Wojnowski in providing proper spacing.
As per claim 19, Wojnowski as modified by Wintermantel further discloses the radar apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the metallized side walls at the transition to the waveguide coupling device include a section that extends parallel to the metallized high-frequency structure (Wojnowski, Fig. 1A where 130 is parallel).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646