DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 19-36 are pending. This is the first Office Action on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bitting et al. (US 2021/0130699 A1, cited in IDS dated 06/03/2024).
Regarding claim 19, Bitting discloses a method comprising:
(a) providing a liquefied waste plastic feed ([0360]: “r-pyoil”);
(b) thermally cracking the liquefied waste plastic feed in a thermal cracking reactor ([0360]: “a feed stream comprising r-pyoil (the r-pyoil containing feed stream) may be introduced into a cracking furnace 20); and
(c) separating at least a fraction including ethylene from an effluent of the thermal cracking reactor (Fig. 4; [0359], [0547]-[0553]).
Bitting does not explicitly disclose that the liquefied waste plastic feed has a content ratio of i-olefins to n-olefins of 3.0 or less.
However, the instant specification discloses that the solid waste plastic that is subjected to the liquefaction preferably comprises polyolefin-rich waste plastic, most preferably polyethylene-rich waste plastic, because it can be easily converted into LWP feed having a low ratio i-olefins to n-olefins (Spec, pg. 32 line 23 – pg. 33, line 4). The specification further discloses that suitable liquefaction methods include thermal non-catalytic pyrolysis and thermal catalytic pyrolysis (Spec: pg. 33, line 31 – pg. 34, line 1; pg. 35, lines 1-16). It is noted that the r-pyoil in Bitting is also obtained by thermal non-catalytic pyrolysis or thermal catalytic pyrolysis of waste plastics, including as polyethylene ([0304], [0310]-[0316]). Bitting further discloses that the waste plastic feed to the pyrolysis can consist essentially of or consist of high-density polyethylene or low-density polyethylene ([0305]). Therefore, Bitting and the instant invention disclose the same method of obtaining a liquefied waste plastic feed, i.e., thermal pyrolysis of polyethylene, and the claimed ratio of i-olefins to n-olefins of 3.0 or less is considered a result of predictable variations in the pyrolysis process contemplated by Bitting.
Regarding claim 20, Bitting and the instant invention disclose the same method of obtaining a liquefied waste plastic feed, i.e., thermal pyrolysis of polyethylene, as discussed above, and the claimed ratio of i-olefins to n-olefins of “2.5 or less, 2.0 or less, 1.5 or less, 1.0 or less, 0.80 or less, 0.60 or less, and/or 0.50 or less” is considered a result of predictable variations in the pyrolysis process contemplated by Bitting (Spec: pg. 33, line 31 – pg. 34, line 1; pg. 35, lines 1-16; Bitting: [0304]-[0305], [0310]-[0316]).
Regarding claim 21, Bitting does not explicitly disclose that the liquefied waste plastic feed (r-pyoil) has a total content of i-olefins, n-olefins, i-paraffins and n-paraffins of at least one or more of at least 40 wt.-%, at least 50 wt.-%, at least 55 wt.-%, at least 60 wt.-%, at least 65 wt.-% and/or at least 70 wt.-%. However, Bitting and the instant invention disclose the same method of obtaining a liquefied waste plastic feed, i.e., thermal pyrolysis of polyethylene, as discussed above, and the claimed total content of i-olefins, n-olefins, i-paraffins and n-paraffins is considered a result of predictable variations in the pyrolysis process contemplated by Bitting (Spec: pg. 33, line 31 – pg. 34, line 1; pg. 35, lines 1-16; Bitting: [0304]-[0305], [0310]-[0316]).
Regarding claim 22, Bitting discloses that the r-pyoil being fed to the cracking reactor may be at least 99.9 wt% liquid ([0402]), which renders obvious the claimed limitation “a total content of gaseous (NTP) components of at least one or more of 1.5 wt.-% or less, 1.0 wt.-% or less, and/or 0.5 wt.-% or less.”
Regarding claim 23, Bitting discloses that the r-pyoil may contain olefins in an amount of at least 10 wt% or not more than 80 wt% ([0375]).
Regarding claim 24, Bitting does not explicitly disclose that the liquefied waste plastic feed (r-pyoil) has a total content ratio of monoolefins to diolefins of “10 or more.” However, Bitting and the instant invention disclose the same method of obtaining a liquefied waste plastic feed, i.e., thermal pyrolysis of polyethylene, as discussed above, and the claimed ratio of monoolefins to diolefins is considered a result of predictable variations in the pyrolysis process contemplated by Bitting (Spec: pg. 33, line 31 – pg. 34, line 1; pg. 35, lines 1-16; Bitting: [0304]-[0305], [0310]-[0316]).
Regarding claim 25, Bitting discloses that the r-pyoil may have an n-paraffin to i-paraffin ratio of at least 0.5:1 ([0372]), which is equivalent to an i-paraffin to n-paraffin ratio of 2:0 or less.
Regarding claim 26, Bitting discloses that the r-pyoil may have at least 5 wt% paraffins ([0369]).
Regarding claim 27, Bitting does not explicitly disclose that the liquefied waste plastic feed (r-pyoil) has the claimed compositional characteristics, such as (i) total content of n-paraffins and n-olefins, (ii) content ratio of total n-paraffins and n-olefins to total i-paraffins and i-olefins, (iii) total content of n-olefins, i-olefins, and di-olefins, (iv) content ratio of total n-olefins and i-olefins to diolefins, and/or (v) total content of i-paraffins and i-olefins. However, Bitting and the instant invention disclose the same method of obtaining a liquefied waste plastic feed, i.e., thermal pyrolysis of polyethylene, as discussed above, and the claimed compositional characteristics are considered a result of predictable variations in the pyrolysis process contemplated by Bitting (Spec: pg. 33, line 31 – pg. 34, line 1; pg. 35, lines 1-16; Bitting: [0304]-[0305], [0310]-[0316]).
Regarding claim 28, Bitting does not explicitly disclose that the liquefied waste plastic feed (r-pyoil) has the claimed compositional characteristics, such as (i) total content of C9 i-olefins, (ii) content of diolefins, and/or (iii) content of conjugated diolefins. However, Bitting and the instant invention disclose the same method of obtaining a liquefied waste plastic feed, i.e., thermal pyrolysis of polyethylene, as discussed above, and the claimed compositional characteristics are considered a result of predictable variations in the pyrolysis process contemplated by Bitting (Spec: pg. 33, line 31 – pg. 34, line 1; pg. 35, lines 1-16; Bitting: [0304]-[0305], [0310]-[0316]).
Regarding claim 29, Bitting discloses that the r-pyoil may have an n-paraffin content of at least 5 wt% ([0341]).
Regarding claim 30, Bitting discloses that the thermal cracking reactor is a steam cracker operating steam cracking ([0404]).
Regarding claim 31, Bitting discloses that the thermal cracking is conducted in the presence of one or more non-recycle cracker feed streams, including naphtha ([0396]).
Regarding claim 32, Bitting discloses that the liquefied waste plastic feed (r-pyoil) is pretreated with pretreatments including removal of solid particles from the liquefied waste plastic, separation of gaseous components from the liquefied waste plastic, and hydrogenation ([0325]-[0326], [0328]).
Regarding claim 33, Bitting does not explicitly disclose that the liquefied waste plastic feed (r-pyoil) has a total content of i-olefins, n-olefins, i-paraffins and n-paraffins of at least one or more of 40 wt.-% to 100 wt.-%, 50 wt.-% to 100 wt.-%, 55 wt.-% to 100 wt.-%, 60 wt.-% to 100 wt.-%, 65 wt.-% to 100 wt.-%, and/or 70 wt.-% to 100 wt.-%. However, Bitting and the instant invention disclose the same method of obtaining a liquefied waste plastic feed, i.e., thermal pyrolysis of polyethylene, as discussed above, and the claimed total content of i-olefins, n-olefins, i-paraffins and n-paraffins is considered a result of predictable variations in the pyrolysis process contemplated by Bitting (Spec: pg. 33, line 31 – pg. 34, line 1; pg. 35, lines 1-16; Bitting: [0304]-[0305], [0310]-[0316]).
Regarding claim 34, the claim is directed to a product-by-process. Therefore, the claimed limitation is given no patentable weight beyond “a feed suitable for thermal cracking, having a content of i-olefins to n-olefins of 3.0 or less.”
In any event, Bitting and the instant invention disclose the same method of obtaining a liquefied waste plastic feed, i.e., thermal pyrolysis of polyethylene, as discussed above, and the claimed ratio of i-olefins to n-olefins of “3.0 or less” is considered a result of predictable variations in the pyrolysis process contemplated by Bitting (Spec: pg. 33, line 31 – pg. 34, line 1; pg. 35, lines 1-16; Bitting: [0304]-[0305], [0310]-[0316]).
Regarding claim 35, Bitting and the instant invention disclose the same method of obtaining a liquefied waste plastic feed, i.e., thermal pyrolysis of polyethylene, as discussed above, and the claimed ratio of i-olefins to n-olefins of “2.5 or less, 2.0 or less, 1.5 or less, 1.0 or less, 0.80 or less, 0.60 or less, and/or 0.50 or less” is considered a result of predictable variations in the pyrolysis process contemplated by Bitting (Spec: pg. 33, line 31 – pg. 34, line 1; pg. 35, lines 1-16; Bitting: [0304]-[0305], [0310]-[0316]).
Regarding claim 36, the claim is directed to a product-by-process. Therefore, the claimed limitation is given no patentable weight beyond “a feed suitable for thermal cracking.”
In any event, Bitting discloses a liquefied waste plastic feed (r-pyoil) derived from thermal pyrolysis of polyethylene, wherein the feed is pretreated with pretreatments including removal of solid particles from the liquefied waste plastic, separation of gaseous components from the liquefied waste plastic, and hydrogenation ([0304]-[0305], [0310]-[0316], [0325]-[0326], [0328]).
Conclusion
/JASON Y CHONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1772