DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments from the response filed on 10 July 2026 have been fully considered and will be addressed below in the order in which they appeared.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basavarajappa (DE102019135230).
Regarding claim 1, Scholz discloses a motor vehicle lock, comprising:
an actuating lever chain (4,6,8) with at least one release lever (8) at least one actuating lever (4), and
a securing device (8) which, in "a secured" position, mechanically decouples (Fig.2a 2b) the actuating lever from the release lever, and in "an unsecured" position, mechanically couples (Fig.) the actuating lever and the release lev er to one another,
wherein the securing device has a coupling slide (9), which is supported on a release lever and is linearly movable (Fig.1) or selectively mechanically decoupling or coupling the actuating lever from or to the release lever, and coupling slide toward an engaged position coupling the actuating lever and the release lever.
Basavarajappa discloses the claimed invention except for the location of a coupling slide, which is supported on the actuating lever.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify the location of a coupling slide, which is supported on the actuating lever as the location of the slide is kinematically equivalent, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Basavarajappa discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the securing device further has a securing lever (13), and wherein the coupling slide is acted upon by the securing lever (Fig.1).
Claim 3 is canceled.
Regarding claim 4, Basavarajappa discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 2, wherein, in "the secured" position (Fig.3a) of the securing device, the securing lever acts on the coupling slide (9) against the force of the spring into a "disengaged" position of the coupling slide (Fig.2A).
Regarding claim 5, Scholz discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1.
Basavarajappa discloses the claimed invention except for the coupling slide (9) is guided in a recess in the actuating lever.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify the coupling slide is guided in a recess in the actuating lever instead of the release lever, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 6, Basavarajappa discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the coupling slide has a longitudinal bore (10)3 through which a guide element (11) on the release lever passes (Fig.1).
Basavarajappa discloses the claimed invention except for the coupling slide (9) is guided in a recess in the actuating lever.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify the coupling slide is guided in a recess in the actuating lever instead of the release lever, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 12, Scholz discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the lever (18) is operable in an override function in which a single stroke a lever is sufficient to both unlock and open the motor vehicle lock.
Basavarajappa discloses the claimed invention except for a single stroke of the actuating lever is sufficient to both unlock and open the motor vehicle lock.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify a single stroke of the actuating lever is sufficient to both unlock and open the motor vehicle lock, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basavarajappa (DE102019135230) in view of Scholz DE102017124531.
Regarding claim 7, Scholz discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1.
Basavarajappa does not discuss: an electromotive drive, wherein the securing lever is pivotable about axis by the electromotive drive.
Scholz teaches an electromotive drive (4), wherein the securing lever is pivotable about axis by the electromotive drive (Fig.3). for the purpose of remotely operating a latch.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Basavarajappa with an electromotive drive, wherein the securing lever is pivotable about axis by the electromotive drive as taught by Scholz for the expected benefit of remotely operating a latch.
Regarding claim 8, Basavarajappa as modified by Scholz discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, further wherein the securing lever has a sensor (description l.12), that monitors a position of the securing lever.
Regarding claim 9, Basavarajappa as modified by Scholz discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 8, further comprising an electromotive drive (4; Scholz) that drives the securing lever and a control unit (description l.21; Scholz), wherein the sensor and the electromotive drive are connected (in assembly) to the control unit that controls operation of the securing lever.
Regarding claim 10, Basavarajappa as modified by Scholz discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 9, wherein the control unit releases the electromotive drive and thus the securing lever, so that when the securing lever (8; Basavarajappa) is acted upon, the actuating lever (4; Basavarajappa) pivots the secured securing lever, thereby "engaging" the coupling slide.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Basavarajappa (DE102019135230) in view of Scholz DE102017124531 further in view of Wolf (DE 4228233).
Regarding claim 11, Basavarajappa as modified by Scholz discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 8, wherein the sensor.
The combination does not disclose: the sensor is a microswitch.
Wolf teaches the sensor is a microswitch for the purpose of using a switch to provide release command to locking system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scholz with the sensor is a microswitch as taught by Wolf for the expected benefit of a switch to provide release command to locking system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675