Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment and remarks received on 12/04/2025. Claims 7-10 and 12-13 has/have been presented for examination. Claims 7-10 and 12 have been amended, claim 11 has been canceled, and new claim 13 has been added. Claims 7-10 and 12-13 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suleiman (Pub. No.: 2024/0061094 A1) in view of Koyama (Pat. No.: 12,259,469 B2).
1) In regard to claim 7, Suleiman further disclose the system for detecting at least one object in surroundings of a vehicle (figs. 1-2: 1), the system comprising:
at least one ultrasonic sensor unit (figs. 1-2: 2) configured to transmit ultrasonic signals and to receive reflected ultrasonic echo signals reflected on the at least one object in the surroundings of the vehicle (¶0048-¶0049); and
a processing unit (¶0037 discloses a computing unit is utilized) configured to excite the ultrasonic sensor unit with a first frequency to transmit first ultrasonic signals, and to detect the first ultrasonic signals as first ultrasonic echo signals when reflected on the object and received by using the ultrasonic sensor unit, the processing unit additionally configured to excite the ultrasonic sensor unit with a second frequency to transmit second ultrasonic signals, and to detect the second ultrasonic signals as second ultrasonic echo signals when reflected on the object and received using the ultrasonic sensor unit, and, based on the received first ultrasonic echo signals and the received second ultrasonic echo signals, to detect the object in the surroundings of the vehicle and to determine a height of the object (fig. 4 and ¶0052).
Suleiman does not explicitly disclose the second frequency is different from the first frequency, and the processing unit is configured to determine the height of the at least one object based on a ratio of the amplitudes of the first ultrasonic echo signals and the second ultrasonic echo signals.
However, Koyama disclose a height detection system which second frequency is different from the first frequency, and a processing unit is configured to determine a height of an object based on a ratio of the amplitudes of the first signal and the second signal (col. 21, lines 25-37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the system of Suleiman to determine the height of an object based a ratio of the signal amplitudes, as taught by Koyama.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Suleiman as described above in order to use a known technique to determine the height of an object.
2) In regard to claim 9 (dependent on claim 7), Suleiman and Koyama further disclose the system according to claim 7, wherein the processing unit is configured to excite the ultrasonic sensor unit with the first frequency and the second frequency substantially simultaneously (Suleiman ¶0049).
3) In regard to claim 10 (dependent on claim 7), Suleiman and Koyama further disclose the system according to claim 7, wherein the processing unit is configured to determine the height of the object based on amplitudes and/or phases and/or flight times of the first ultrasonic echo signals and the second ultrasonic echo signals (Suleiman ¶0050).
4) In regard to claim 12, claim 12 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 7 and the references applied.
5) In regard to claim 13 (dependent on claim 7), Suleiman and Koyama further disclose the system according to claim 7, wherein the first ultrasonic signals comprise at least a first component associated with the first frequency and a second component associated with the second frequency, wherein the second ultrasonic signals comprise at least a third component associated with the second frequency, and wherein the processing unit is further configured to determine the height of the at least one object based on a ratio of an amplitude of the second component to an amplitude of the third component (Koyama col. 6, lines 13-28).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suleiman (Pub. No.: 2024/0061094 A1) in view of Koyama (Pat. No.: 12,259,469 B2) and further in view of Schaffran (Pat. No.: 6,563,761 B1).
1) In regard to claim 8 (dependent on claim 7), Suleiman and Koyama disclose the system according to claim 7.
Suleiman and Koyama do not explicitly disclose the processing unit is configured to select the first frequency and the second frequency such that the first frequency corresponds to a main resonance frequency of the ultrasonic sensor unit and that the second frequency corresponds to a frequency of a higher oscillation mode of the ultrasonic sensor unit, and the second frequency corresponds to a harmonic resonance frequency of the ultrasonic sensor unit.
However, Schaffran discloses it is known for a vehicle to utilize an ultrasonic transmitter and the transmitter processing unit is configured to select the first frequency and the second frequency such that the first frequency corresponds to a main resonance frequency of the ultrasonic sensor unit and that the second frequency corresponds to a frequency of a higher oscillation mode of the ultrasonic sensor unit, and the second frequency corresponds to a harmonic resonance frequency of the ultrasonic sensor unit (col. 12, lines 49-58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the processing unit of Suleiman to set a frequency of the processing unit based on the harmonic resonance frequency, as taught by Schaffran.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Suleiman as described above in order to utilize a known way for a transducer to determine the location of an object.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the amended claims, based solely on the amendments to the claims, have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of the references including new prior art being used in the current new grounds of rejection for the newly added limitations to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CURTIS J KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685