DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has submitted a Declaration in regards to the definition of “contemporaneously” and has been continuously arguing their own definition from the one provided in the specification. The examiner is interpreting “contemporaneously” as “at the same time” and there is no drift between the imaging devices as argued in the declaration.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 11-20, 44-49 and 58-60 and 62 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The WO document in the original filed specification para. 0009 is incorrect. It should be WO 2010/141770 instead of WO 20120/141770.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-15, 17-19, 44-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perlman (US 20100231692) in view of Ogikubo (US 20050278618) in view of Cerney (US 20190058837) and in further view of Vendrig (US 20110149117).
Regarding claim 11, Perlman discloses a method of acquiring image data of an object, comprising:
contemporaneously illuminating the object with (a) natural and/or artificial light, and (b) excitation light; and capturing image data using an image acquisition setup that generates color data representing a visible portion of the light spectrum of the object and that generates gray scale data representing an invisible portion of the light spectrum of the object; [See Perlman [0089] Illuminated by visible light for a Visible Light Lit image and illuminated by UVA light for a grayscale Image….Also, in 0089, (whether alone or combined with visible light). Also, see 0102, transparent UV makeup which emits in the ultraviolet spectrum. Also, see 0094, using any form of ambient lighting instead of visible lighting.]
wherein the object comprises a fluorescent dye that emits fluorescence at a wavelength in the invisible portion of the light spectrum upon illumination with the excitation light; and [See Perlman [0116] rather than using phosphorescent paint or dye, as described above, transparent UV- or transparent IR-emissive paint, ink or dye is used on clothing, props or other objects in the scene. Phosphor with the same properties as those previously described with makeup is used, and the same lighting, camera, filtering and other capture and processing techniques are used. Also, see 0102, transparent UV makeup which emits in the ultraviolet spectrum.]
wherein the excitation light and the fluorescence are in the invisible portion of the light spectrum. [See Perlman [0089] Illuminated by UVA light. Also, see 0116, transparent UV paint, ink or dye.]
wherein the image acquisition setup is configured to contemporaneously acquire the color data and the gray scale data and to produce video streams [See Perlman [Fig. 30b] Color cameras and Grayscale cameras. Also, see 0095, color and grayscale cameras are synchronized. Alternatively, see Fig. 21, color cameras and grayscale cameras are synchronized.]
Perlman does not explicitly disclose
generating in real time an alpha channel using the grayscale data and the color data; and
outputting a recorded alpha channel as a separate file having the same timecode as the color data.
However, Ogikubo does disclose
[See Ogikubo [0031] Slave cameras have time codes synchronized in time with the time code of the master camera.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method by Perlman to add the teachings of Ogikubo, in order to perform synchronization via genlocking of time codes between cameras.
Perlman (modified by Ogikubo) do not explicitly disclose
generating in real time an alpha channel using the grayscale data and the color data; and
outputting a recorded alpha channel as a separate file having the same timecode as the color data.
However, Cerney does disclose
generating in real time an alpha channel using the grayscale data and the color data; and [See Cerney [0012] Generation of alpha channel from the NIR video signal, and uses VIS images for more precise alpha channel derivation. Also, see 0086, real-time.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method by Perlman (modified by Ogikubo) to add the teachings of Cerney, in order to improve upon image quality or cutting down the time required for movie postproduction [See Cerney 0002-0003, 0087]].
Perlman (modified by Ogikubo and Cerney) do not explicitly disclose
outputting a recorded alpha channel as a separate file having the same timecode as the color data.
However, Vendriq does disclose
outputting a recorded alpha channel as a separate file having the same timecode as the color data. [See Vendrig [0145] The foreground mask metadata is stored in a separate file associated with video file. Also see Fig. 1, record video frame into a video file. Since the mask is generated via the video frame, it will be associated with the same timing.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method by Perlman (modified by Ogikubo and Cerney) to add the teachings of Vendrig, in order to perform a simple substitution of how the image mask/alpha channel is stored.
Regarding claim 12, Perlman (modified by Ogikubo, Cerney and Vendrig) disclose the method of claim 11. Furthermore, Perlman discloses
wherein the visible portion has wavelengths in the range of 400-700 nanometers (nm), and/or wherein the invisible portion has wavelengths of less than 400 nm. [See Perlman [0089] Illuminated by visible light for a Visible Light Lit image. The wavelengths described above are inherent for a visible light.]
Regarding claim 13, Perlman (modified by Ogikubo, Cerney and Vendrig) disclose the method of claim 11. Furthermore, Perlman discloses
[See Perlman [0104] Describes using a transparent IR makeup with IR passing filters and only capture the emitted IR light from the transparent IR makeup. Also, see [See Perlman [0116] rather than using phosphorescent paint or dye, as described above, transparent UV- or transparent IR-emissive paint, ink or dye is used on clothing, props or other objects in the scene. Phosphor with the same properties as those previously described with makeup is used, and the same lighting, camera, filtering and other capture and processing techniques are used. Therefore, this shows using a transparent UV makeup with UV passing filters and only capture the emitted UV light from the transparent UV makeup.]
Perlman does not explicitly disclose
wherein the alpha channel is generated independently of a background of the object and
However, Cerney does disclose
wherein the alpha channel is generated independently of a background of the object and [See Cerney [Abstract] alpha channel mask based on foreground object.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 11.
Regarding claim 14, Perlman (modified by Ogikubo, Cerney and Vendrig) disclose the method of claim 11. Furthermore, Perlman discloses
wherein the fluorescent dye comprises fluorophores, fluorescent energy transfer dyes, fluorescent pigments, fluorescent polymers, fluorescent proteins, or combinations thereof. [See Perlman [0128] Phosphors used as pigments.]
Regarding claim 15, Perlman (modified by Ogikubo, Cerney and Vendrig) disclose the method of claim 11. Furthermore, Perlman discloses
wherein the wavelength range of the excitation light is different than the wavelength range of the fluorescence light emitted by the fluorescent dye. [See Perlman [Fig. 30a-b]]
Regarding claim 17, Perlman (modified by Ogikubo, Cerney and Vendrig) disclose the method of claim 11. Furthermore, Perlman discloses
wherein the image acquisition setup comprises at least one camera configured to acquire the image data of the object representing the visible portion and/or the image data of the object representing the invisible portion. [See Perlman [Fig. 2A] Color cameras and Grayscale cameras.]
Regarding claim 18, Perlman (modified by Ogikubo, Cerney and Vendrig) disclose the method of claim 17. Furthermore, Perlman discloses
wherein the at least one camera comprises one or more image sensors configured to generate the color data, the gray scale data, or a combination thereof. [See Perlman [Fig. 2A] Color cameras and Grayscale cameras.]
Regarding claim 19, Perlman (modified by Ogikubo, Cerney and Vendrig) disclose the method of claim 18. Furthermore, Perlman discloses
wherein the one or more image sensors comprise a red/green/blue (RGB) sensor and an ultraviolet (UV) sensor or an infrared (IR) sensor. [See Perlman [Fig. 2A] Color cameras and Grayscale cameras.]
Regarding claim 44, see examiners rejection for claim 11 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 44. Furthermore, Perlman discloses
a method of acquiring image data of an object in front of a background, comprising: [See Perlman [0080] Separate an object from its background.]
Regarding claim 45, see examiners rejection for claims 12 and 13 which are analogous for the rejection of claim 45.
Regarding claim 46, Perlman (modified by Ogikubo, Cerney and Vendrig) disclose the method of claim 44. Furthermore, Perlman discloses
wherein the image acquisition setup comprises first and second sensors, wherein the first sensor acquires image data of the object representing a visible portion of the light spectrum, and wherein the second sensor acquires image data of the background representing an invisible portion of the light spectrum. [See Perlman [0089] Illuminated by visible light for a Visible Light Lit image and illuminated by UVA light for a grayscale Image….Also, see Figs. 30a-b and 31, for the different cameras.]
Regarding claim 47, Perlman (modified by Ogikubo, Cerney and Vendrig) disclose the method of claim 44. Furthermore, Perlman discloses
wherein the background comprises a flat surface that is illuminated using a light source that is remotely positioned relative to the flat surface or wherein the light source is coupled to the flat surface. [See Perlman [0080] the meteorologist can be shown from a straight-on shot, or from an side angle shot, but still composited in front of the weather map (i.e. the weather map is presented on a screen that is not a green screen or blue screen). Also, see 0101, blue screens may be utilized in the background. Also, see Figs. 30a-b, light panels.]
Regarding claim 48, Perlman (modified by Ogikubo, Cerney and Vendrig) disclose the method of claim 44. Furthermore, Perlman does not explicitly disclose
wherein the alpha channel corresponds to areas of the scene that are not illuminated with light in the invisible portion of the light spectrum.
However, Cerney does disclose
wherein the alpha channel corresponds to areas of the scene that are not illuminated with light in the invisible portion of the light spectrum. [See Cerney [0055-0056] Calculation of alpha channel based on background and foreground. Also, see 0068, the NIR light is directed only on the foreground object.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 11.
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perlman (US 20100231692) in view of Ogikubo (US 20050278618) in view of Cerney (US 20190058837) in view of Vendrig (US 20110149117) and in further view of Cardin et al. (herein after will be referred to as Cardin) (US 20170287140).
Regarding claim 49, Perlman (modified by Ogikubo, Cerney and Vendrig) disclose the method of claim 44. Furthermore, Perlman does not explicitly disclose
wherein the background comprises a video screen, and wherein the video screen comprises a plurality of UV LEDs that illuminate the background.
However, Cardin does disclose
wherein the background comprises a video screen, and wherein the video screen comprises a plurality of UV LEDs that illuminate the background. [See Cardin [0069] Active background illuminates in the UV spectrum. Also, see Fig. 1, Display/Screen.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method by Perlman (modified by Ogikubo, Cerney and Vendrig) to add the teachings of Cardin, in order to achieve high quality foreground segmentation using an active background [See Cardin [0001]].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perlman (US 20100231692) in view of Ogikubo (US 20050278618) in view of Cerney (US 20190058837) in view of Vendrig (US 20110149117) and in further view of Liu et al. (herein after will be referred to as Liu) (US 20220268701).
Regarding claim 16, Perlman (modified by Ogikubo, Cerney and Vendrig) disclose the method of claim 15. Furthermore, Perlman discloses
wherein the fluorescent dye is excited by the excitation light at a wavelength of 360 nm and [See Perlman [0129] Many phosphors that phosphoresce or fluoresce in visible light spectra are charged more efficiently by ultraviolet light than by visible light….with its peak at around 360nm.]
Perlman does not explicitly disclose
emits the fluorescence light at a wavelength of 381 nm.
However, Liu does disclose
emits the fluorescence light at a wavelength of 381 nm. [See Liu [0075] Fluorescent proper is excitable with 350 to 700nm (i.e. includes the 381nm).]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method by Perlman (modified by Li and Cerney) to add the teachings of Liu, in order to capture the excitation wavelength based upon the fluorescent dye being utilized.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perlman (US 20100231692) in view of Ogikubo (US 20050278618) in view of Cerney (US 20190058837) in view of Vendrig (US 20110149117) and in further view of Adachi et al. (herein after will be referred to as Adachi) (US 20220061683).
Regarding claim 20, Perlman (modified by Ogikubo, Cerney and Vendrig) disclose the method of claim 11. Furthermore, Perlman discloses
wherein the image acquisition setup further comprises an auxiliary camera configured to track a portion of the object, and [See Perlman [0096] Cameras focused for visible light…The images of the surfaces that do not have makeup on them (e.g. eyes and teeth)….tracking the eye position or teeth position. Also, see Fig. 1, Figs. 30a-b, a second color camera used for tracking.]
Perlman does not explicitly disclose
wherein the excitation light does not illuminate the portion of the subject.
However, Adachi does disclose
wherein the excitation light does not illuminate the portion of the subject. [See Adachi [0030-0031] Face tracking without utilizing light source.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method by Perlman (modified by Ogikubo, Cerney and Vendrig) to add the teachings of Adachi, in order to not apply illumination to certain parts of the object such that the image quality is improved.
Claims 58-60 and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perlman (US 20100231692) in view of Ogikubo (US 20050278618) in view of Cerney (US 20190058837) in view of Vendrig (US 20110149117) and in further view of Ramirez et al. (herein after will be referred to as Ramirez) (US 20190327394)
Regarding claim 58, Perlman discloses
an image acquisition system to capture image data of an object in a scene, wherein the object is in front of a background, comprising: [See Perlman [0080] Separate an object from its background.]
a first camera having a first image sensor that is configured to generate color data representing a visible portion of the light spectrum of the object; [See Perlman [Figs. 30a-b] Color cameras.]
a second camera having a second image sensor configured to generate gray scale data representing an invisible portion of the light spectrum of the background; [See Perlman [Figs. 30a-b] Grayscale cameras.]
a filter coupled to the second camera that permits travel of light in the invisible portion of the light spectrum to the second image sensor and that reduces or blocks travel of light in the visible portion of the light spectrum to the second image sensor; [See Perlman [0102] Cameras sensitive to UV light are used with filters that block visible and IR light.]
a light source configured to continuously illuminate the background with the light in the invisible portion of the light spectrum. [See Perlman [Figs. 30a-b] UV light sources.]
wherein the image acquisition setup is configured to contemporaneously acquire the color data and the gray scale data and to produce video streams having[See Perlman [Fig. 30b] Color cameras and Grayscale cameras. Also, see 0095, color and grayscale cameras are synchronized. Alternatively, see Fig. 21, color cameras and grayscale cameras are synchronized.]
Perlman does not explicitly disclose
wherein first and second cameras are coupled to a carrier and configured to capture the object in the scene along substantially the same line of sight and zoom factor; and
a computing device configured to generate in real time an alpha channel using the grayscale data and the color data and
to output a recorded alpha channel as a separate file having the same timecode as the color data.
However, Li does disclose
[See Ogikubo [0031] Slave cameras have time codes synchronized in time with the time code of the master camera.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method by Perlman to add the teachings of Ogikubo, in order to perform synchronization via time codes between cameras.
Perlman (modified by Ogikubo) do not explicitly disclose
wherein first and second cameras are coupled to a carrier and configured to capture the object in the scene along substantially the same line of sight and zoom factor; and
a computing device configured to generate in real time an alpha channel using the grayscale data and the color data and
to output a recorded alpha channel as a separate file having the same timecode as the color data.
However, Cerney does disclose
a computing device configured to generate in real time an alpha channel from the grayscale data and to output a recorded alpha channel. [See Cerney [0012] Generation of alpha channel from the NIR video signal, and uses VIS images for more precise alpha channel derivation. Also, see 0086, real-time.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method by Perlman (modified by Ogikubo) to add the teachings of Cerney, in order to improve upon image quality or cutting down the time required for movie postproduction [See Cerney 0002-0003, 0087]].
Perlman (modified by Ogikubo and Cerney) do not explicitly disclose
wherein first and second cameras are coupled to a carrier and configured to capture the object in the scene along substantially the same line of sight and zoom factor; and
to output a recorded alpha channel as a separate file having the same timecode as the color data.
However, Vendriq does disclose
to output a recorded alpha channel as a separate file having the same timecode as the color data. [See Vendrig [0145] The foreground mask metadata is stored in a separate file associated with video file. Also see Fig. 1, record video frame into a video file. Since the mask is generated via an image, it will be associated with the same timing.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method by Perlman (modified by Ogikubo and Cerney) to add the teachings of Vendrig, in order to perform a simple substitution of how the image mask/alpha channel is stored.
Perlman (modified by Ogikubo, Cerney and Vendrig) do not explicitly disclose
wherein first and second cameras are coupled to a carrier and configured to capture the object in the scene along substantially the same line of sight and zoom factor; and
However, Ramirez does disclose
wherein first and second cameras are coupled to a carrier and configured to capture the object in the scene along substantially the same line of sight and zoom factor; and [See Ramirez [Fig. 8 and 0021] Stereoscopic camera housing. Also, see Fig. 23, Identical Line of sight. Also, see 0120, ensure left/right magnification is substantially the same.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method by Perlman (modified by Ogikubo, Cerney and Vendrig) to add the teachings of Ramirez, in order to perform a simple substitution of the camera arrangement (i.e. contained within a camera housing/frame/rig).
Regarding claim 59, Perlman (modified by Ogikubo, Cerney, Vendrig and Ramirez) disclose the system of claim 58. Furthermore, Perlman does not explicitly disclose
wherein the carrier comprises a stereoscopic camera carrier and/or wherein the carrier is configured to coordinate simultaneous lens focusing and/or zoom for the first and second cameras.
However, Ramirez does disclose
wherein the carrier comprises a stereoscopic camera carrier and/or wherein the carrier is configured to coordinate simultaneous lens focusing and/or zoom for the first and second cameras. [See Ramirez [Fig. 8 and 0021] Stereoscopic camera housing.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 58.
Regarding claim 60, Perlman (modified by Ogikubo, Cerney, Vendrig and Ramirez) disclose the system of claim 58. Furthermore, Perlman does not explicitly disclose
wherein the alpha channel corresponds to areas of the scene that are not illuminated with light in the invisible portion of the light spectrum.
However, Cerney does disclose
wherein the alpha channel corresponds to areas of the scene that are not illuminated with light in the invisible portion of the light spectrum. [See Cerney [0055-0056] Calculation of alpha channel based on background and foreground. Also, see 0068, the NIR light is directed only on the foreground object.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 58.
Regarding claim 62, Perlman (modified by Ogikubo, Cerney, Vendrig and Ramirez) disclose the system of claim 58. Furthermore, Perlman does not explicitly disclose
wherein the first and second cameras are configured to operate synchronously to produce video streams having the same time code for contemporaneously acquired frames.
However, Li does disclose
wherein the first and second cameras are configured to operate synchronously to produce video streams having the same time code for contemporaneously acquired frames. [See Ogikubo [0031] Slave cameras have time codes synchronized in time with the time code of the master camera.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 58.
Conclusion
/JAMES T BOYLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2486