DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/3/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the composite roof beam configured and arranged to be higher between said ends that at said ends as recited in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doherty et al., US 6,658,808.
Regarding claim 1:
Doherty discloses a composite roof beam (10’, refer to Figs. 4 and 5) wherein:
said composite roof beam comprises a first elongate member (18’) and a second elongate member (identical to the first, refer to Fig. 2) for reinforcing the first elongate member, each comprising a rectangular box section with a hollow centre (23) having a length, a width and a depth;
the first elongate member is provided at each of two adjacent corners of its box section with a first connector (30’) extending lengthwise and comprising a channel (interior 30’) closed off from the hollow centre of the first elongate member and open outwards through a neck narrower than the channel (the teeth extending inward create a neck that is narrower than the interior channel);
the second elongate member has at each of two adjacent corners of its box section a second connector (28’) extending lengthwise and comprising a rib projecting through the neck of a complementary first connector and a flange on said rib held within the channel of the complementary first connector; and
the first elongate member and the second elongate member are respectively configured and arranged so that the first and second connectors interconnect, with the second connector being a close fit within the first connector, whereby the first and second elongate members are coupled together to form said composite roof beam.
Regarding claim 14:
Doherty discloses a method of making a composite roof beam as claimed in claim 1 wherein the second connectors on the second elongate member are configured and arranged to fit slidingly within the first connectors on the first elongate member, and
the connectors are fitted together and the second elongate member is slide along the length of the first elongate member and secured thereto (3rd paragraph of the detailed description).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeZen, CA 2089022 in view of Wuellerich et al., US 2003/0175542.
Regarding claim 1:
DeZen discloses a composite roof beam (pg. 5) wherein:
said composite roof beam comprises a first elongate member and a second elongate member for reinforcing the first elongate member, each comprising a rectangular box section with a hollow centre having a length, a width and a depth;
the first elongate member is provided at each of two adjacent corners of its box section with a first connector extending lengthwise and comprising a channel closed off from the hollow centre of the first elongate member and open outwards through a neck;
the second elongate member has at each of two adjacent corners of its box section a second connector extending lengthwise and comprising a rib projecting through the neck of a complementary first connector; and
the first elongate member and the second elongate member are respectively configured and arranged so that the first and second connectors interconnect, with the second connector being a close fit within the first connector, whereby the first and second elongate members are coupled together to form said composite roof beam.
DeZen does not expressly disclose the first elongate member open outwards through a neck narrower than the channel nor the second elongate member having a flange on said rib held within the channel of the complementary first connector.
Wuellerich discloses an extruded profile wherein a connection between respective members includes a first elongate member (3) opening outwards through a neck narrower than a channel (3a) and a second elongate member having a flange (5) on a rib (2a) held within the channel of the complementary first connector.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the connection means of Wuellerich for that of DeZen in order to provide a form fitting connection that will not detach with outward deformation.
Regarding claim 3:
DeZen discloses wherein the box section of the second elongate member has a depth less than the depth of the box section of the first elongate member.
Regarding claim 4:
DeZen appears to disclose but does not expressly disclose wherein the depth of the box section of the second elongate member is not more than half the depth of the box section of the first elongate member.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the depth of the box section of the second elongate member not more than half the depth of the box section of the first elongate member, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). There would be no unexpected or unpredictable result obtained from changing the relative sizes of the box sections There is no evidence that the claimed dimensions not specifically taught by DeZen provide a criticality that would be unachievable and unexpected with a reasonable amount of experimentation.
Regarding claim 14:
DeZen discloses a method of making a composite roof beam as claimed in claim 1 wherein the second connectors on the second elongate member are configured and arranged to fit slidingly within the first connectors on the first elongate member, and
the connectors are fitted together and the second elongate member is slide along the length of the first elongate member and secured thereto.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeZen, CA 2089022 in view of Wuellerich et al., US 2003/0175542 as applied to claim 1, further in view of Conterno, US 2008/0295436
Regarding claim 7:
DeZen discloses wherein the beam may be of metal but does not specify an aluminum alloy.
Conterno discloses a composite structural beam (Fig. 5A) that is of aluminum alloy (para. 0071).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to substitute aluminum alloy as suggested by Conterno for the material of DeZen in order to provide strength, affordability and light weight that is extrudable.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeZen, CA 2089022 in view of Wuellerich et al., US 2003/0175542 as applied to claim 1, further in view of Dunn, US 3,027,984.
Regarding claims 8 and 9:
DeZen does not expressly disclose additional connectors as claimed.
Dunn discloses a composite beam comprising additional connectors that keders (13) configured and arranged to hold edges (14) of sheeting material extending width wise of the composite roof beam capable of forming a roof (as for a screened in porch).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to provide keders as suggested by Dunn on the composite beam of DeZen.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-6 and 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art does not reasonably suggest wherein each rib of the second connector is of arcuate form and extends outwardly from its corner location and then inwardly through the neck of the respective first connector. Modifying the prior art of record to include such a connection would require improper hindsight reconstruction.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the prior art discloses the composite roof beam but does not teach nor reasonably suggest wherein it is supported on columns at its opposite ends with no additional supports between said ends.
Regarding claims 10-13, the prior art discloses the roof beam of claim 1 but does not teach nor reasonably suggest wherein two of the roof beams are part of a roof truss as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRENT W HERRING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633