DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
“gas-technically” [0017] is unclear and confusing. The term is not recognized in the art and it is unclear what exactly “gas-technically” is.
Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the term “WISE”, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recites “the gas sensor” (lines 4 and 5) but the claim lacks proper antecedent basis. It is unclear whether this is the same as the positively recited “a gas-specific sensor” in line 3.
Claim 18 recites “the gas sensor” (lines 3-4) but the claim lacks proper antecedent basis. It is unclear whether this is the same as the positively recited “a gas-specific sensor” in line 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, “the gas sensor” (lines 4 and 5) lacks proper antecedent basis. It is unclear whether this is the same as the positively recited “a gas-specific sensor” in line 3.
Claims 11-17 are rejected based on their dependency to claim 10.
Regarding claim 18, “the gas sensor” (lines 3-4) lacks proper antecedent basis. It is unclear whether this is the same as the positively recited “a gas-specific sensor” in line 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Reismann et al. (US 2022/0181709).
Regarding claim 10, Reismann et al. (hereinafter Reismann) teaches a gas-specific vacuum leak detector comprising: a multistage vacuum pump 20; and a gas-specific sensor 28, wherein the gas sensor is an integral part of the vacuum pump 20 (Fig. 1), and wherein the gas sensor can detect a specific gas in the vacuum pump [0032].
Regarding claim 11, Reismann teaches the vacuum leak detector according to claim 10, wherein the multistage vacuum pump has a plurality of pump stages (18/19) surrounded by a common housing in which the gas sensor 28 is also arranged (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Reismann teaches the vacuum leak detector according to claim 10, wherein the multistage vacuum pump has a port 22 for a test chamber 16 or a test object 14 [0030-0031].
Regarding claim 13, Reismann teaches the vacuum leak detector according to claim 10, further comprising a branch connected to the gas sensor 28 at a location upstream of at least one stage of the multistage vacuum pump relative to a conveying direction of the multistage vacuum pump [0032] (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Reismann teaches the vacuum leak detector according to claim 13, wherein the branch has a selectively actuatable stop valve (V1, V2, or V3) (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Reismann teaches the vacuum leak detector according to claim 14, wherein the selectively actuatable stop valve has a valve controller configured to actuate the valve as a function of a speed or a power consumption of the multistage vacuum pump (Reismann teaches opening and closing the valves in order to ensure molecularly free movement conditions for the gas (function of speed) [0046].
Regarding claim 16, Reismann teaches the vacuum leak detector according to claim 10, wherein the sensor is a membrane sensor, a semiconductor or metal oxide sensor, a mass spectrometer, a C02 sensor, an infrared absorption sensor, or a gas-specific emission-spectroscopic sensor [0032].
Regarding claim 18, Reismann teaches a method for producing a gas-specific vacuum leak detector, the method comprising: integrating a gas-specific gas sensor 28 into a multistage vacuum pump 20 so that the gas sensor 28 is an integral part of the vacuum pump 20 and is thereby adapted to detect a specific gas within the vacuum pump 20 [0032].
Claim(s) 10, 12, 13, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grosse Bley et al. (US 2019/0162193).
Regarding claim 10, Grosse Bley et al. (hereinafter Grosse) teaches a gas-specific vacuum leak detector comprising: a multistage vacuum pump 12; and a gas-specific sensor 17, wherein the gas sensor 17 is an integral part of the vacuum pump 1 [0022], and wherein the gas sensor 17 can detect a specific gas in the vacuum pump [0031].
Regarding claim 12, Grosse teaches the vacuum leak detector according to claim 10, wherein the multistage vacuum pump 12 has a port 20 for a test chamber 28 or a test object [0022].
Regarding claim 13, Grosse teaches the vacuum leak detector according to claim 10, further comprising a branch 14 connected to the gas sensor 17 at a location upstream of at least one stage of the multistage vacuum pump relative to a conveying direction of the multistage vacuum pump [0032] (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Grosse teaches the vacuum leak detector according to claim 10, wherein the sensor 17 is a membrane sensor, a semiconductor or metal oxide sensor, a mass spectrometer, a CO2 sensor, an infrared absorption sensor, or a gas-specific emission-spectroscopic sensor [0022].
Regarding claim 17, Grosse teaches the vacuum leak detector according to claim 10, wherein the multistage vacuum pump is a multistage scroll pump, a rotary vane pump, a roots pump, a screw stage pump, or a turbomolecular pump [0012].
Regarding claim 18, Grosse teaches a method for producing a gas-specific vacuum leak detector, the method comprising: integrating a gas-specific gas sensor 17 into a multistage vacuum pump 12 so that the gas sensor 17 is an integral part of the vacuum pump 12 and is thereby adapted to detect a specific gas within the vacuum pump 12 [0022].
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/A.V.D/Examiner, Art Unit 2852