DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9: It is unclear what a “physical tether” is within the scope of the claim. The disclosure does not have any further description.
Claim 12: It is unclear how the catalyst can be an enzyme when Claim 1 recites that the catalyst is for oxidation. The gelatinous extracellular polymeric matrix is not part of the buoyant permeable reactive barrier as it is a material formed when the barrier is placed into a body of liquid comprising appropriate elements; it is a reaction product of the buoyant permeable reactive barrier and the fluid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ingman et al. (US Pub. No. 2002/0073928).
Claims 1, 3-7, and 15: Ingman et al. teach a buoyant reactive barrier elements that sit on the surface of a body of water [0017] that includes a catalyst for oxidation of one or more volatile compounds [0018], titanium oxide]. The structure of Ingman et al. is the same as claimed. Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.). And, regarding composition claims, if the composition is the same, it must have the same properties (see MPEP § 2112.01, II.).
Claim 2: Ingman et al. teach that the particulate sits afloat on the top surface of the waste pool forming an interface layer which is interpreted as “substantially planar layers” [0017].
Claim 8: the catalyst includes electrocatalysts [0042].
Claim 9: the plurality of reactive barrier elements are connected via chemical bonding [0035].
Claim 10: the reactive barrier elements are in the form of microparticles [0044].
Claims 11 and 12 are directed to a “biofilm on the plurality of buoyant reactive barrier elements”. This biofilm claimed is not part of the material of the buoyant permeable reactive barrier. Rather, the biofilm claimed results from use of the buoyant reactive barrier; the biofilm forms when the barrier is on the top of a water source having components that react with the reactive barrier to form said biofilm. This water is the material worked upon and not considered part of the permeable reactive barrier. The claim, however, is an apparatus type claim. “Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, “[i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” See In re Young, 75 F.2d *>996<, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)) (see MPEP § 2115).
Claims 13 and 14: the reactive barrier further comprises an adsorbent including active carbon, or other plant-material residue [0014, 0045].
Claim 17: the plurality of buoyant reactive barriers are hydrophobic [0017].
Claim 18: the particulate size is from nanometer size up to 1mm or more [0044, Claim 20].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingman et al. in view of Gencer et al (USP 10342189).
Claim 16: Ingman et al. do not teach a cordon of buoyant containment booms surrounding the plurality of buoyant reactive barrier elements.
Gencer et al. teach a floation bioremediation material for an aqueous environment comprising media particles floating on the surface of a water body contained by a barrier surrounding the particles (col. 11, 12-38). Containing the particles allows for control of placement of the particles and also prevents particulate from escaping and spreading too far.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to include a cordon of buoyant containment booms surrounding Ingman et al.’s particles for the benefit of controlling and containing the particulate.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingman et al.
Claim 19: the barrier comprises catalyst particles in addition to adsorbent including activated carbon [0014, 0045]. Ingman et al. do not teach the functional limitations of the materials as is recited in Claim 19. However, the functions are presumed inherent in Ingman et al.’s materials as Ingman et al.’s material is the same as claimed. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Claim 20: The particulate size is from nanometer size up to 1mm or more [0044, Claim 20]. The particulates have a variety of sizes [0044] they do not specifically teach two sets of different particle sizes and those specific particle sizes. However, the particle size is clearly a result effective variable that Ingman et al. recognizes to be routinely varied by one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Conclusion
/ALLISON G FITZSIMMONS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773