Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,6-9 and 19 s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokota. (WO 2011/004680)
Regarding claim 1, Yokota discloses a light source device comprising: a first substrate (LED substrate 17)including a front surface and a rear surface on an opposite side of the front surface in a thickness direction, the first substrate having a through-hole(17D); a plurality of light sources provided on the front surface(16); a connecter(61) including a main body inserted in the through-hole of the first substrate and a plurality of first terminals(18, connected to two rows of wiring patterns 19A) provided on the main body; and a plurality of wiring lines that each couple corresponding one of the plurality of light sources(19A) and corresponding one of the plurality of first terminals to each other, the plurality of wiring lines being provided on the front surface (fig.7).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the connecter further includes a second terminal provided(engagement surface 61A) on the main body, and the second terminal is coupled to a conductor (relay component 63).
Regarding claim 3, wherein a projection height of the connecter from the front surface is less than or equal to a projection height of the light source from the front surface (See fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6 , the first substrate includes a light source substrate that includes a first major surface on which the plurality of light sources and the plurality of wiring lines are mounted and a second major surface provided on an opposite side of the first major surface in the thickness direction, and a support substrate (chassis 14 (Para. 0052)that is disposed to face the second major surface of the light source substrate and supports the light source substrate and the connecter.
Regarding claim 7, a reflection member provided in a region( reflecting sheet member (21, Para. 0042-0043), within the front surface, other than a region where the plurality of light sources is provided.
Regarding claim 8, the light source includes a light emitting element(16A) provided on the front surface and a sealing lens (16B, sealing lens) that seals the light emitting element (Para. 0037).
Regarding claim 9 the light source includes a light emitting element provided on the front surface and a cap lens(diffusion lens 620) disposed above the light emitting element (Para 0083).
Regarding claim 19, A display comprising: a light source device that emits illumination light; and a display unit(display device or television, Abstract) that displays an image on a basis of the illumination light from the light source device (LED 16, LED substrates (17, 17s,17c), Abstract), the light source device includes a substrate including a front surface and a rear surface on an opposite side of the front surface in a thickness direction, the first substrate having a through-hole,(17D) a plurality of light sources provided(16) on the front surface ,a connecter(61) including a main body inserted in the through-hole) of the first substrate and a plurality of first terminals(18, connected to two rows of wiring patterns 19A) provided on the main body, and a plurality of wiring lines that each couple corresponding one of the plurality of light sources(19A) and corresponding one of the plurality of first terminals to each other, the plurality of wiring lines being provided on the front surface(See. Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokota in view of Kato (WO 20192300950).
Regarding claim 4, Yokota discloses the device of claim 1, but does not disclose the limitations of claim 4. Kato discloses a wiring structure of a lighting device comprising a main body of the connecter (connector 2) extends in a first direction along the front surface(see Fig. 50), and the plurality of first terminals (first contacts38a-38h and second contacts 40a-40h) is provided on both side portions of the main body in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction and along the front surface and is arranged side by side in the first direction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light device of Yokota with the wiring structure of Kato, since one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the wiring of Yokota by implementing the wiring structure of the lighting device of Kato in order to streamline the wiring of Yokota.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokota in view of Yokota (WO 2011/001753, Yokota ‘753).
Regarding claim 17, Yokota discloses the limitations of claim 7, from which it depends. Yokota does not disclose the limitations of claim 17. Yokota ‘753 discloses the limitations of claim 17 as follows: a stud (optical member support part 26) that is provided to stand on an opposite side of the first substrate to the rear surface(LED substrate 18), wherein the stud includes a side surface(portion of the optical member support part 26 inserted into the substrate (see fig. 7) and a locking part (inclined surface of the optical support member support part 26, see fig. 7)provided on the side surface and the reflection member (reflecting sheet 21) is provided between the locking part and the front surface of the first substrate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lighting device of Yokota with the stud (optical member support part 26) since (26) provides a supporting feature for the substrate 15, which would prevent sagging of the substate as well as a predetermined light reflecting function to the light device of Yokota.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5,10-16,18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited prior art of record does not anticipate individually or teach in combination the limitations of claims 5,10-16,18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2023/153697 discloses a PCB which has connectors and a display.
/ANABEL TON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875