DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 30, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Bernardo (EP 3257996 A1).
Regarding claim 16, De Bernardo discloses a laundry treating apparatus comprising:
a cabinet that defines an opening (Fig. 1);
a drum disposed inside the cabinet and configured to accommodate laundry (Fig. 2);
a motor (Fig. 3; 68) connected to the drum and configured to rotate the drum;
a door (Fig. 1; 24) coupled to the cabinet and configured to open and close the opening;
a sensor configured to detect whether the door opens and closes the opening (para. 59);
a locker (Fig. 1; 58) configured to lock the door to the cabinet and to unlock the door from the cabinet;
a display portion (Fig. 1; 50) configured to display information; and
a power portion disposed on the cabinet and configured to receive a command to supply power (para. 52);
wherein the display portion is configured to display first weight information of the laundry after the drum starts rotating (paras. 30, 34),
De Bernardo fails to disclose:
wherein the motor is configured to rotate the drum again in case that the power portion is re-input or the door closes the opening again, and
wherein the display portion is configured to display second weight information of the laundry again after the drum starts rotating again.
Official Notice is taken that it is well-known and common knowledge for a laundry appliance to have a power pause button that stops the rotation of the drum, and where the drum can rotate again when the button is pressed again.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify De Bernardo wherein the motor is configured to rotate the drum again in case that the power portion is re-input or the door closes the opening again. The motivation to combine is so that the user can pause the treatment to add or subtract clothes in the drum.
Furthermore, since De Bernardo discloses or suggests displaying the weight of the laundry at all times (paras. 29, 30), it would have been obvious at the time of effective filing of the application wherein the display portion is configured to display second weight information of the laundry again after the drum starts rotating again, so that the user can have accurate knowledge of the weight of the laundry at all times.
Regarding claim 30, modified De Bernardo discloses the laundry treating apparatus of claim 16, wherein further comprises a control panel, the control panel comprising at least one of a button, a rotary knob, or the display portion (para. 24).
Regarding claim 31, modified De Bernardo discloses (see rejection of claim 16 for citations) a method for controlling a laundry treating apparatus, the laundry treating apparatus including a cabinet that defines an opening, a drum disposed inside the cabinet and configured to accommodate laundry, a motor connected to the drum and configured to rotate the drum, a door coupled to the cabinet and configured to open and close the opening, a sensor configured to detect whether the door opens and closes the opening, a locker configured to lock the door to the cabinet and to unlock the door from the cabinet, a display configured to display information, and a controller, the method comprising: receiving a power command for supplying power; controlling the motor to rotate the drum based on receiving a first input of the power command; displaying first weight information of the laundry after the drum starts rotating based on the controller receiving the first input of the power command; after the drum stops rotating, controlling the motor to rotate the drum again based on receiving a second input of the power command or based on the sensor detecting the door being opened and closed; and displaying second weight information of the laundry after the drum starts rotating again based on the controller receiving the second input of the power command or based on the sensor detecting the door being opened and closed.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Bernardo (EP 3257996 A1) in view of Vitali (EP 3249089 A1).
Regarding claim 23, modified De Bernardo discloses the laundry treating apparatus of claim 16, except where the motor is configured to restrict the drum from rotating based on (i) a plurality of times of the power command being entered more than a limit number or (ii) the sensor detecting a plurality of times of the door being opened and closed more than a limit number.
However, Vitali teaches a motor thermal protection system that cuts off power to the motor if a sensed temperature exceeds a threshold (para. 8).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify De Bernardo where the motor is configured to restrict the drum from rotating based on (i) a plurality of times of the power command being entered more than a limit number or (ii) the sensor detecting a plurality of times of the door being opened and closed more than a limit number. The motivation to combine is to prevent overheating and damage to the motor. If the motor is caused to continually start and stop (e.g., by initiating actions (i) or (ii) in the claim), then the motor would overheat, especially if the drum is overloaded with clothes. Cutting off power to the motor, and thereby restricting the drum from rotating, if a limit number is reached would prevent overheating of the motor.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Bernardo (EP 3257996 A1) in view of Skripper (US 20010011395 A1).
Regarding claim 29, modified De Bernardo discloses the laundry treating apparatus of claim 16, except wherein the motor is configured to rotate the drum less than one revolution in case that the power portion is input or the door opens and closes the opening, wherein the display portion is configured to display the first weight information after the drum starts rotating.
However, Skripper teaches measuring the weight of the laundry by rotating the drum of a laundry machine less than one revolution (para. 8).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify De Bernardo wherein the motor is configured to rotate the drum less than one revolution in case that the power portion is input or the door opens and closes the opening, wherein the display portion is configured to display the first weight information after the drum starts rotating. The motivation to combine is to provide the laundry machine of De Bernardo a simple and economical technique for measuring the weight of the laundry (para. 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-22, 24-28, 32-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
Regarding claims 17-22, 24-28, 32-35, the prior art is silent regarding the limitations.
Conclusion
/JASON LAU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762