CTNF 18/715,972 CTNF 94988 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/03/2024, 09/08/2025, and 03/30/2026; the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1, 3, 6, 11, 13, 14 16, 19, 23, 24, 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1) and or 102(a)(2 ) as being anticipated by US 20190335475 A1 to Liang et al., from hereon Liang . Regarding claim 1 Liang teaches…teaches a resource indication method (Abs discloses…Embodiments of the present invention provide a channel state information measurement method, including: receiving, by user equipment, configuration information for channel state information measurement from a radio network device, where the configuration information includes information about a resource for channel state information measurement and indicates information about a measurement attribute of the resource, and the measurement attribute includes channel measurement, or X types of interference measurement, or channel measurement and X types of interference measurement, where X is an integer greater than or equal to 1; and measuring, by the user equipment, channel state information based on the configuration information, and feeding back the channel state information), performed by a network-side device, the method comprising: determining resources for performing interference measurement (Fig. 1, item S101 and S102); and sending, to a terminal, first indication information for indicating configuration information for the resources (P. 254 discloses… the radio network device sends the configuration information for channel state information measurement to the user equipment, where the configuration information includes the information about the resources available for channel state information measurement; and receives the channel state information and the information about the measurement attribute of the resource that is used for channel state information measurement and that corresponds to the channel state information, where the channel state information and the information about the measurement attribute are fed back by the user equipment, the measurement attribute includes channel measurement, or X types of interference measurement, or channel measurement and X types of interference measurement, X is an integer not less than 1, and the resources for channel state information measurement are some or all of the resources available for channel state information measurement). Regarding claim 3 Liang teaches…the method according to claim 1, Liang teaches…wherein the resources comprise at least one of: downlink slots of a time division duplex (TDD) frequency band; or downlink spectrums of a frequency division duplex (FDD) frequency band (P. 69 discloses the usage of time slots when working on time division duplex… The time gap may be measured in units of a specific time domain resource unit, for example, measured in slots. For example, if the network device sends channel state information reporting trigger information (for example, the indication information) at a slot 0, and the network device receives a channel state information report at a slot 5, the channel state information reporting timing offset is 4 slots. For another example, if the user equipment receives channel state information reporting trigger information (for example, the indication information) at a slot 0, and the user equipment sends a channel state information report at a slot 5, the channel state information reporting timing offset is 4 slots. Optionally, the indication information may be downlink control information.). Regarding claim 6. Liang teaches…the method according to claim 1, Liang teaches…wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of: frequency domain occupancy information, time domain occupancy information, a time domain resource range, or pattern information for the frequency domain occupancy information and the time domain occupancy information (P.119 ), wherein the frequency domain occupancy information comprises a frequency domain start location and a frequency domain range, wherein the pattern information is determined based on a protocol agreement or the method further comprises: indicating the pattern information to the terminal (P.121 ), and wherein granularity of the pattern information is determined based on a protocol agreement or the method further comprises: indicating the granularity to the terminal (table 1, P. 117, 119, and 147). Regarding claim 11 Liang teaches…the method according to claim 1, Liang teaches…in response to the network device performing interference measurement on the resources, the method further comprising at least one of: stopping sending data or reference signals on the resources (P.343 ); or in response to the interference measurement on the resources being stopped, sending, to the terminal, second indication information for indicating that the network-side device de-activates the interference measurement on the resources, and sending on the resources at least one of: data or reference signals. Regarding claim 13 Liang teaches…the method according to claim 1, Liang teaches…wherein the network-side device pre-configures configuration information for a plurality of resources for the terminal (P.332 ), and the first indication information is for indicating configuration information for the resources for performing interference measurement activated by the network-side device among the plurality of resources (P.40 and 42 ). Regarding claim 14 Liang teaches…an information receiving method, performed by a terminal, comprising (P. 33 and 34 discloses… According to a third aspect, an embodiment of the present invention further provides a channel state information measurement method, including receiving, by user equipment, configuration information for channel state information measurement from a radio network device, where the configuration information includes information about resources available for channel state information measurement): receiving first indication information from a network-side device (P.20 ); and determining, based on the first indication information, configuration information for resources for the network-side device performing interference measurement (P.35 discloses… measuring, by the user equipment, channel state information based on the configuration information, and feeding back the channel state information and information about a measurement attribute of a resource that is used for channel state information measurement and that corresponds to the channel state information, where the measurement attribute includes channel measurement, or X types of interference measurement ). Regarding claim 16 Liang teaches…the method according to claim 14, Liang teaches… wherein the resources comprise at least one of: downlink slots of a time division duplex (TDD) frequency band; or downlink spectrums of a frequency division duplex (FDD) frequency band(P. 69 discloses the usage of time slots when working on time division duplex… The time gap may be measured in units of a specific time domain resource unit, for example, measured in slots. For example, if the network device sends channel state information reporting trigger information (for example, the indication information) at a slot 0, and the network device receives a channel state information report at a slot 5, the channel state information reporting timing offset is 4 slots. For another example, if the user equipment receives channel state information reporting trigger information (for example, the indication information) at a slot 0, and the user equipment sends a channel state information report at a slot 5, the channel state information reporting timing offset is 4 slots. Optionally, the indication information may be downlink control information.). . Regarding claim 19 Liang teaches…the method according to claim 14, Liang teaches…wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of: frequency domain occupancy information, time domain occupancy information, a time domain resource range, pattern information for the frequency domain occupancy information and the time domain occupancy information (P. 119) wherein the frequency domain occupancy information comprises a frequency domain start location and a frequency domain range, wherein the pattern information is determined based on a protocol agreement or the method further comprises: determining the pattern information based on indication from the network-side device (P. 121), and wherein granularity of the pattern information is determined based on a protocol agreement or the method further comprises: determining the granularity based on indication from the network-side device(table 1, P. 117, 119, and 147). . Regarding claim 23 Liang teaches…the method according to claim 14, Liang teaches…wherein determining, based on the first indication information, the configuration information for the resources for the network-side device performing interference measurement comprises: determining target identification in the first indication information; and determining the configuration information corresponding to the target identification based on an association between identification and configuration information (P.310 and 311 disclose the ID that is used to identify the resources for the particular terminal ). Regarding claim 24 Liang teaches…the method according to claim 14, Liang teaches…further comprising: receiving second indication information from the network-side device; determining, based on the second indication information, that the network- side device de-activates the interference measurement on the resources; and receiving on the resources at least one of: data or reference signals (Fig. 12b P. 354, P. 355). Regarding claim 26 Liang teaches…the method according to claim 14, Liang teaches…wherein there is configuration information for a plurality of resources which is pre- configured by the network-side device for the terminal (P. 332), and the first indication information is for indicating configuration information for the resources for performing interference measurement activated by the network-side device among the plurality of resources (P.P. 40 and 42 ). Regarding claim 27 Liang teaches…the resource indication apparatus comprising one or more processors, the one or more processors being configured for (P. 43 and P. 79): determining resources for performing interference measurement; and sending, to a terminal, first indication information for indicating configuration information for the resources (P. 254 discloses… the radio network device sends the configuration information for channel state information measurement to the user equipment, where the configuration information includes the information about the resources available for channel state information measurement; and receives the channel state information and the information about the measurement attribute of the resource that is used for channel state information measurement and that corresponds to the channel state information, where the channel state information and the information about the measurement attribute are fed back by the user equipment, the measurement attribute includes channel measurement, or X types of interference measurement, or channel measurement and X types of interference measurement, X is an integer not less than 1, and the resources for channel state information measurement are some or all of the resources available for channel state information measurement). Regarding claim 28 Liang teaches…an information receiving apparatus comprising one or more processors, the one or more processors (P.39 and P. 79 ) being configured for implementing the information receiving method of claim 14 (See rejection of claim 14 ). Regarding claim 29 Liang teaches..a communication device comprising (abs): a processor; and a memory for storing a computer program (P.45 ), and wherein the computer program, when is executed by the processor, causes the processor to implements the resource indication method of claim 1 (see claim rejection of claim 1). Regarding claim 30 Liang teaches…a communication device comprising (Abs): a processor; and a memory for storing a computer program (P. 45), and wherein the computer program, when is executed by the processor- causes the processor to implements the information receiving method of claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190335475 A1 to Liang et al., from hereon Liang in view of US-20200178240-A1 to Zhang et al., from hereon Zhang-240 . Regarding claim 4 Liang teaches…the method according to claim 1, Liang teaches…wherein the first indication information comprises at least one of: Downlink Control Information (DCI); or Media Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) (P.307 discloses “Indication information” described in this application may include signaling or information of different layers, for example, may include layer 1, layer 2, or layer 3 signaling or information. Generally, the layer 1 is a physical layer, the layer 2 is a medium access control (MAC) layer, and the layer 3 is a radio resource control (RRC) layer. For example, the indication information may be DCI of the physical layer, or a MAC control element (MAC CE) of the MAC layer, or RRC signaling of the RRC layer … ), but does not teach…and wherein the DCI comprises common Downlink Control Information (common DCI). Zhang-240 teaches… and wherein the DCI comprises common Downlink Control Information (common DCI) (P.87 discloses… One group-common DCI, such as group common DCI 1201, can be used for both short and long PUCCH based A-CSI reporting. A PUCCH format may further be either indicated in the CSI trigger or associated with the codepoint semi-statically. Thus, as indicated by the PUCCH format field of A-CSI Trigger 1, A-CSI Trigger 1 may further include an indication of a subset of CSI-RS ports which UE 115a may use for channel measurement, and/or a subset of CSI-RS ports which UE 115a may use for interference measurement ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liang by incorporating the teachings of Zhang-240 because the method and device allow for the reporting of channel state information via a dedicated grant or by common group DCI (Zhang-240, abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability. Regarding claim 17 Liang teaches…the method according to claim 14, Liang teaches…wherein the first indication information comprises at least one of: Downlink Control Information (DCI); or Media Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) (P.307 discloses “Indication information” described in this application may include signaling or information of different layers, for example, may include layer 1, layer 2, or layer 3 signaling or information. Generally, the layer 1 is a physical layer, the layer 2 is a medium access control (MAC) layer, and the layer 3 is a radio resource control (RRC) layer. For example, the indication information may be DCI of the physical layer, or a MAC control element (MAC CE) of the MAC layer, or RRC signaling of the RRC layer … ), but does not teach…, and wherein the DCI comprises common Downlink Control Information (common DCI). Zhang-240 teaches… and wherein the DCI comprises common Downlink Control Information (common DCI) (P.87 discloses… One group-common DCI, such as group common DCI 1201, can be used for both short and long PUCCH based A-CSI reporting. A PUCCH format may further be either indicated in the CSI trigger or associated with the codepoint semi-statically. Thus, as indicated by the PUCCH format field of A-CSI Trigger 1, A-CSI Trigger 1 may further include an indication of a subset of CSI-RS ports which UE 115a may use for channel measurement, and/or a subset of CSI-RS ports which UE 115a may use for interference measurement ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liang by incorporating the teachings of Zhang-240 because the method and device allow for the reporting of channel state information via a dedicated grant or by common group DCI (Zhang-240, abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190335475 A1 to Liang et al., from hereon Liang in view of WO-2021012568-A1 to Zhang from hereon Zhang-568 . Regarding claim 10 Liang teaches…the method according to claim 1, but does not teach…wherein sending, to the terminal, the first indication information comprises: determining target identification corresponding to the configuration information based on an association between identification and configuration information; and carrying the target identification in the first indication information to be transmitted to the terminal. Zhang-568 teaches… wherein sending, to the terminal, the first indication information comprises: determining target identification corresponding to the configuration information based on an association between identification and configuration information; and carrying the target identification in the first indication information to be transmitted to the terminal (claim 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liang by incorporating the teachings of Zhang-568 because the method and device allow for the reporting of channel state information via a dedicated grant or by common group DCI (Zhang-568, abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190335475 A1 to Liang et al., from hereon Liang in view of WO-2020143618-A1 to Wang . Regarding claim 15 Liang teaches…the method according to claim 14, but does not teach…further comprising: performing rate matching for the resources to stop receiving data or reference signals sent by the network-side device on the resources. Wang teaches… further comprising: performing rate matching for the resources to stop receiving data or reference signals sent by the network-side device on the resources (clm 14 ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Liang by incorporating the teachings of Wang because the method and device allow for the reporting of channel state information for measuring and rate matching the resource so that the terminal can perform interference measurements (Wang, abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20200178240-A1 to Zhang et al., from hereon Zhang-240 in view of US 20190335475 A1 to Liang et al., from hereon Liang . Regarding claim 31 Zhang teaches…a non-transitory computer readable storage medium for storing a computer program (P. 9. ), but does not teach…wherein the computer program, when is executed by a processor- causes the processor to implements the resource indication method of anyone of claim 1. Liang teaches… wherein the computer program, when is executed by a processor- causes the processor to implements the resource indication method of anyone of claim 1 (See claim 1 rejection ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Zhang-240 by incorporating the teachings of Liang because the method and device allow for various modes of that include a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Liang, P. 95). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO form PTO-892: … US-20220256577-A1 to Oh US-20210050976-A1 to Noh, US-12309781-B2 to Oh, and CN-111417133-A to Wang . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LOUIS SAMARA whose telephone number is (408)918-7582. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 6-3 PT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayaz Sheikh can be reached at 571-272-3795. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/715,972 Page 2 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/715,972 Page 4 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/715,972 Page 6 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/715,972 Page 7 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/715,972 Page 9 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/715,972 Page 10 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/715,972 Page 11 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/715,972 Page 12 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/715,972 Page 13 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/715,972 Page 14 Art Unit: 2476