DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/715,984 filed on 06/03/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-52 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bayesteh et al. (US 20230112477, Apr. 13, 2023) in view of WEI et al. (U.S 20220109998, Apr. 7, 2022).
Regarding Claim 1, Bayesteh discloses a method of radio frequency (RF) sensing performed by a base station (BS), the method comprising determining a slot configuration that defines at least a portion of one or more slots as being configured for RF sensing (page 8, par (0094). Line 1-10, a sensing node such as a radar configured for performing sensing, include a monostatic sensing node configured to operate in the HDX mode for transmitting and receiving pulsed radio frequency (RF) signals, the BS include the sensing node that includes the sensing node configured to operate in the monostatic HDX mode for transmitting and receiving pulsed RF signals);
Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except sending the slot configuration to at least one other telecommunications device.
WEI is the same field of invention teaches sending the slot configuration to at least one other telecommunications device (page 1, par (0009). Line 1-10, the device includes a transmitter configured to transmit a first signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell- the device includes a transmitter configured to transmit a first signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell-specific pattern; a receiver configured to receive a second signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell-specific pattern, defines a slot format).
Bayesteh and WEI analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the sending the slot configuration to at least one other telecommunications device teaching of Bayesteh to include the receiver configured to receive a second signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell-specific pattern, defines a slot format teaching of WEI because it is providing the radio baseband functions for data and voice connectivity between a network and one or more users.
Regarding Claim 2, Bayesteh discloses determining the slot configuration comprises: receiving first information that defines the slot configuration; receiving second information that defines a plurality of slot configurations, wherein each of the plurality of slot configurations defines at least a portion of one or more slots for RF sensing, and determining one of the plurality of slot configurations as the slot configuration; or a combination thereof (page 16, par (0190). Line 1-10, OFDM waveform selected to improve sensing performance and reduce interference between different sensing signals. Considering a sensing signal configuration with a cyclic prefix OFDM waveform, and sensing slot length, the number of symbols included in each sensing cycle as well as the configuration of sensing symbols in the sensing cycle, are parameters that set to possibly improve the performance of sensing, frequency sweeping range set to possibly improve the performance of sensing).
Regarding Claim 3, Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except determining one of the plurality of slot configurations as the slot configuration comprises receiving information that is used to select one of the plurality of slot configurations as the slot configuration.
WEI is the same field of invention teaches determining one of the plurality of slot configurations as the slot configuration comprises receiving information that is used to select one of the plurality of slot configurations as the slot configuration (page 1, par (0009). Line 1-10, the device includes a transmitter configured to transmit a first signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell- the device includes a transmitter configured to transmit a first signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell-specific pattern; a receiver configured to receive a second signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell-specific pattern, defines a slot format).
Regarding Claim 4, Bayesteh discloses sending the slot configuration to at least one other telecommunications device comprises sending the slot configuration to at least one of a user equipment (UE), a network entity, or another base station (page 16, par (0190). Line 1-10, OFDM waveform selected to improve sensing performance and reduce interference between different sensing signals. Considering a sensing signal configuration with a cyclic prefix OFDM waveform, and sensing slot length, the number of symbols included in each sensing cycle as well as the configuration of sensing symbols in the sensing cycle, are parameters that set to possibly improve the performance of sensing, frequency sweeping range set to possibly improve the performance of sensing).
Regarding Claim 5, Bayesteh discloses comprising performing RF sensing according to the slot configuration (page 16, par (0190), Line 1-10, OFDM waveform selected to improve sensing performance and reduce interference between different sensing signals. Considering a sensing signal configuration with a cyclic prefix OFDM waveform, and sensing slot length, the number of symbols included in each sensing cycle as well as the configuration of sensing symbols in the sensing cycle).
Regarding Claim 6, Bayesteh discloses performing RF sensing according to the slot configuration comprises performing RF sensing on a first component carrier according to a first slot configuration and performing RF sensing on a second component carrier according to a second slot configuration (page 26, Line 1-10, a radio frequency (RF) sensing signal comprising a plurality of sensing cycles, each sensing cycle of the plurality of sensing cycles comprising a first sensing subcycle and a second sensing subcycle, the first sensing subcycle comprising a first active phase and a first passive phase, and the second sensing subcycle comprising a second active phase and a second passive phase).
Regarding Claim 7, Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except performing RF sensing according to the slot configuration comprises performing RF sensing on a first component carrier and performing communication on a second component carrier.
WEI is the same field of invention teaches performing RF sensing according to the slot configuration comprises performing RF sensing on a first component carrier and performing communication on a second component carrier (page 9, par (0104), Line 1-10, the UEs and the RAN nodes perform one or more known medium-sensing operations and carrier-sensing operations in order to determine channels the medium/carrier sensing operations performed according to a listen-before-talk
(LBT) protocol).
Regarding Claim 8, Bayesteh discloses the one or more slots are divided into a plurality of mini-slots, and wherein all mini-slots are used for RF sensing, or wherein a subset of mini-slots are used for RF sensing while the remaining mini-slots are used for communication, according to the slot configuration(page 25, par(0226), Line 1-10, the support of network slicing relies on the principle that traffic for different slices is handled by different POU sessions. The network realizes the different network
slices by scheduling and also by providing different Ll/L2 configurations. The UE provides assistance information for network slice selection in an appropriate RRC message, the network can support large number of slices).
Regarding Claim 9, Bayesteh discloses performing RF sensing according to the slot configuration comprises performing RF sensing using a first waveform comprising orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols, using a second waveform that does not comprise OFDM symbols, or a combination thereof(page 9, par(0101), Line 1-10, the UEs configured to communicate using OFDM communication signals with each other or with any of the RAN nodes over a multicarrier communication channel).
Regarding Claim 10, Bayesteh discloses performing RF sensing according to the slot configuration comprises performing RF sensing for a duration that is a function of a subcarrier spacing configuration, that is statically configured, or that is dynamically configured (page 2, par (0011), Line 1-10, The RF pulse signal is defined by the waveform for communication data between the first electronic device and the second electronic device and (ii) sensing by the first electronic device, during a passive phase of the periodic sensing cycle, a reflection of the RF pulse signal reflected from an object, where the sensed RF pulse signal is at least a portion of the transmitted or reflected RF pulse signal).
Regarding Claim 11, Bayesteh discloses performing RF sensing according to the slot configuration comprises performing RF sensing according to a period, a repetition count, or a combination thereof (page 2, par (0011), Line 1-10, The RF pulse signal is defined by the waveform for communication data between the first electronic device and the second electronic device and (ii) sensing by the first electronic device, during a passive phase of the periodic sensing cycle).
Regarding Claim 12, Bayesteh discloses comprising sending, to at least one UE, an indication that the BS will transmit downlink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing (page 16, par (0190). Line 1-10, OFDM waveform selected to improve sensing performance and reduce interference between different sensing signals. Considering a sensing signal configuration with a cyclic prefix OFDM waveform, and sensing slot length, the number of symbols included in each sensing cycle as well as the configuration of sensing symbols in the sensing cycle, are parameters that set to possibly improve the performance of sensing, frequency sweeping range set to possibly improve the performance of sensing).
Regarding Claim 13, Bayesteh discloses comprising transmitting downlink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing (page 2, par (0011), Line 1-10, The RF pulse signal is defined by the waveform for communication data between the first electronic device and the second electronic device and (ii) sensing by the first electronic device, during a passive phase of the periodic sensing cycle, a reflection of the RF pulse signal reflected from an object, where the sensed RF pulse signal is at least a portion of the transmitted or reflected RF pulse signal).
Regarding Claim 14, Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except transmitting downlink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing comprises transmitting a synchronous signal block (SSB), a system information block (SIB), a paging signal, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
WEI is the same field of invention teaches transmitting downlink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing comprises transmitting a synchronous signal block (SSB) (page 35, par (0926), Line 1-10, an SSB-based measurement timing configuration configured by SSB-Measurement Timing Configuration), a system information block (SIB) (page 23, par (0209), Line 1-10, The MIBs and SIBs may comprise one or more IEs, which each comprise individual data fields or data structures), a paging signal, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (page 10, par (0109), Line 1-10, the PDSCH carries user data and higher-layer signaling to the UEs, the PDCCH carries information about the transport format and resource allocations related to the PDSCH channel).
Regarding Claim 15, Bayesteh discloses sending, to at least one UE, an indication that the BS will measure uplink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing(page 2, par (0011), Line 1-10, The RF pulse signal is defined by the waveform for communication data between the first electronic device and the second electronic device and (ii) sensing by the first electronic device, during a passive phase of the periodic sensing cycle, a reflection of the RF pulse signal reflected from an object, where the sensed RF pulse signal is at least a portion of the transmitted or reflected RF pulse signal).
Regarding Claim 16, Bayesteh discloses measuring uplink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing(page 2, par (0011), Line 1-10, The RF pulse signal is defined by the waveform for communication data between the first electronic device and the second electronic device and (ii) sensing by the first electronic device, during a passive phase of the periodic sensing cycle, a reflection of the RF pulse signal reflected from an object, where the sensed RF pulse signal is at least a portion of the transmitted).
Regarding Claim 17, Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except measuring uplink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing comprises measuring a physical random access channel (PRACH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
WEI is the same field of invention teaches measuring uplink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing comprises measuring a physical random access channel (PRACH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (page 10, par (0109), Line 1-10, the PDSCH carries user data and higher-layer signaling to the UEs, the PDCCH carries information about the transport format and resource allocations related to the PDSCH channel).
Regarding Claim 18, Bayesteh discloses method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving a slot configuration that defines at least a portion of one or more slots that is configured for RF sensing(page 2, par (0011), Line 1-10, The RF pulse signal is defined by the waveform for communication data between the first electronic device and the second electronic device and (ii) sensing by the first electronic device, during a passive phase of the periodic sensing cycle, a reflection of the RF pulse signal reflected from an object, where the sensed RF pulse signal is at least a portion of the transmitted or reflected RF pulse signal);
Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except operating according to the slot configuration.
operating according to the slot configuration (page 1, par (0009). Line 1-10, the device includes a transmitter configured to transmit a first signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell- the device includes a transmitter configured to transmit a first signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell-specific pattern; a receiver configured to receive a second signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell-specific pattern, defines a slot format).
Bayesteh and WEI analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the sending the slot configuration to at least one other telecommunications device teaching of Bayesteh to include the receiver configured to receive a second signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell-specific pattern, defines a slot format teaching of WEI because it is providing the radio baseband functions for data and voice connectivity between a network and one or more users.
Regarding Claim 19, Bayesteh discloses operating according to the slot configuration comprises determining that the at least a portion of the one or more slots for RF sensing occurs during a downlink (DL) transmission; and measuring the DL transmission during the at least a portion of the one or more slots for RF sensing (page 16, par (0190). Line 1-10, OFDM waveform selected to improve sensing performance and reduce interference between different sensing signals. Considering a sensing signal configuration with a cyclic prefix OFDM waveform, and sensing slot length, the number of symbols included in each sensing cycle as well as the configuration of sensing symbols in the sensing cycle, are parameters that set to possibly improve the performance of sensing, frequency sweeping range set to possibly improve the performance of sensing).
Regarding Claim 20, Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except transmitting downlink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing comprises transmitting a synchronous signal block (SSB), a system information block (SIB), a paging signal, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
WEI is the same field of invention teaches transmitting downlink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing comprises transmitting a synchronous signal block (SSB) (page 35, par (0926), Line 1-10, an SSB-based measurement timing configuration configured by SSB-Measurement Timing Configuration), a system information block (SIB) (page 23, par (0209), Line 1-10, The MIBs and SIBs may comprise one or more IEs, which each comprise individual data fields or data structures), a paging signal, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (page 10, par (0109), Line 1-10, the PDSCH carries user data and higher-layer signaling to the UEs, the PDCCH carries information about the transport format and resource allocations related to the PDSCH channel).
Regarding Claim 21, Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except operating according to the slot configuration comprises entering a low power mode or sleep mode during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing and wherein measuring the DL transmission comprises waking from the low power mode or sleep mode to measure the DL transmission.
WEI is the same field of invention teaches operating according to the slot configuration comprises entering a low power mode or sleep mode during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing and wherein measuring the DL transmission comprises waking from the low power mode or sleep mode to measure the DL transmission (page 18, par (0173), Line 1-10, power saving mode may allow a device to be unavailable to the network for periods longer than a paging interval (ranging from seconds to a few hours). During this time, the device is totally unreachable to the network and power down completely. Any data sent during this time
incurs a large delay and it is assumed the delay is acceptable).
Regarding Claim 22, Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except operating according to the slot configuration comprises determining to wake from the low power mode or sleep mode to measure the DL transmission based on an indication, received by or provisioned to the UE, that a base station will transmit downlink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing.
WEI is the same field of invention teaches operating according to the slot configuration comprises determining to wake from the low power mode or sleep mode to measure the DL transmission based on an indication, received by or provisioned to the UE, that a base station will transmit downlink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing (page 18, par (0173), Line 1-10, the platform goes into a very low power state and it performs paging where again it periodically wakes up to listen to the network and then powers down again. The platform not receive data in this state; in order to receive data, it must transition back to RRC Connected state. An additional power saving mode may allow a device to be unavailable to the network for periods longer than a paging interval (ranging from seconds to a few hours). During this time, the device is totally unreachable to the network and may power down completely. Any data sent during this time incurs a large delay and it is assumed the delay is acceptable).
Regarding Claim 23, Bayesteh discloses determining that the at least a portion of the one or more slots for RF sensing occurs during an uplink (UL) transmission; and performing the UL transmission during the at least a portion of the one or more slots for RF sensing(page 2, par (0011), Line 1-10, The RF pulse signal is defined by the waveform for communication data between the first electronic device and the second electronic device and (ii) sensing by the first electronic device, during a passive phase of the periodic sensing cycle, a reflection of the RF pulse signal reflected from an object, where the sensed RF pulse signal is at least a portion of the transmitted or reflected RF pulse signal).
Regarding Claim 24, Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except performing the UL transmission comprises transmitting a physical random access channel (PRACH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
WEI is the same field of invention teaches performing the UL transmission comprises transmitting a physical random access channel (PRACH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (page 10, par (0109), Line 1-10, the PDSCH carries user data and higher-layer signaling to the UEs, the PDCCH carries information about the transport format and resource allocations related to the PDSCH channel).
Regarding Claim 25, Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except operating according to the slot configuration comprises entering a low power mode or sleep mode during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing and wherein performing the UL transmission comprises waking from the low power mode or sleep mode to perform the UL transmission.
WEI is the same field of invention teaches operating according to the slot configuration comprises entering a low power mode or sleep mode during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing and wherein performing the UL transmission comprises waking from the low power mode or sleep mode to perform the UL transmission (page 18, par (0173), Line 1-10, the platform goes into a very low power state and it performs paging where again it periodically wakes up to listen to the network and then powers down again, the platform not receive data in this state; in order to receive data, it must transition back to RRC Connected state. An additional power saving mode may allow a device to be unavailable to the network for periods longer than a paging interval (ranging from seconds to a few hours). During this time, the device is totally unreachable to the network and may power down completely. Any data sent during this time incurs a large delay and it is assumed the delay is acceptable).
Regarding Claim 26, Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except operating according to the slot configuration comprises determining to wake from the low power mode or sleep mode to perform the UL transmission based on an indication, received by or provisioned to the UE, that a base station will process uplink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing.
WEI is the same field of invention teaches operating according to the slot configuration comprises determining to wake from the low power mode or sleep mode to perform the UL transmission based on an indication, received by or provisioned to the UE, that a base station will process uplink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing (page 18, par (0173), Line 1-10, the platform goes into a very low power state and it performs paging where again it periodically wakes up to listen to the network and then powers down again. The
platform not receive data in this state; in order to receive data, it must transition back to RRC Connected state. An additional power saving mode may allow a device to be unavailable to the network for periods longer than a paging interval (ranging from seconds to a few hours). During this time, the device is totally unreachable to the network and may power down completely (wherein power saving mode is a sleeping mode)).
Regarding Claim 27, Bayesteh discloses base station (BS), comprising: a memory; at least one transceiver; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to: determine a slot configuration that defines at least a portion of one or more slots as being configured for RF sensing (page 8, par (0094). Line 1-10, a sensing node such as a radar configured for performing sensing, include a monostatic sensing node configured to operate in the HDX mode for transmitting and receiving pulsed radio frequency (RF) signals, the BS include the sensing node that includes the sensing node configured to operate in the monostatic HDX mode for transmitting and receiving pulsed RF signals).
Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except send, via the at least one transceiver, the slot configuration to at least one other telecommunications device.
WEI is the same field of invention teaches send, via the at least one transceiver, the slot configuration to at least one other telecommunications device (page 1, par (0009). Line 1-10, the device includes a transmitter configured to transmit a first signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell- the device includes a transmitter configured to transmit a first signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell-specific pattern; a receiver configured to receive a second signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell-specific pattern, defines a slot format).
Bayesteh and WEI analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the sending the slot configuration to at least one other telecommunications device teaching of Bayesteh to include the receiver configured to receive a second signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell-specific pattern, defines a slot format teaching of WEI because it is providing the radio baseband functions for data and voice connectivity between a network and one or more users.
Regarding Claim 28, Bayesteh discloses determine the slot configuration, the at least one processor is configured to: receive, via the at least one transceiver, first information that defines the slot configuration; receive, via the at least one transceiver, second information that defines a plurality of slot configurations, wherein each of the plurality of slot configurations defines at least a portion of one or more slots for RF sensing, and determine one of the plurality of slot configurations as the slot configuration; or a combination thereof(page 16, par (0190). Line 1-10, OFDM waveform selected to improve sensing performance and reduce interference between different sensing signals. Considering a sensing signal configuration with a cyclic prefix OFDM waveform, and sensing slot length, the number of symbols included in each sensing cycle as well as the configuration of sensing symbols in the sensing cycle, are parameters that set to possibly improve the performance of sensing, frequency sweeping range set to possibly improve the performance of sensing).
Regarding Claim 29, Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except to determine one of the plurality of slot configurations as the slot configuration, the at least one processor is configured to receive information that is used to select one of the plurality of slot configurations as the slot configuration.
WEI is the same field of invention teaches to determine one of the plurality of slot configurations as the slot configuration, the at least one processor is configured to receive information that is used to select one of the plurality of slot configurations as the slot configuration (page 1, par (0009). Line 1-10, the device includes a transmitter configured to transmit a first signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell- the device includes a transmitter configured to transmit a first signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell-specific pattern; a receiver configured to receive a second signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell-specific pattern, defines a slot format).
Regarding Claim 30, Bayesteh discloses send the slot configuration to at least one other telecommunications device, the at least one processor is configured to send the slot configuration to at least one of a user equipment (UE), a network entity, or another base station (page 16, par (0190). Line 1-10, OFDM waveform selected to improve sensing performance and reduce interference between different sensing signals. Considering a sensing signal configuration with a cyclic prefix OFDM waveform, and sensing slot length, the number of symbols included in each sensing cycle as well as the configuration of sensing symbols in the sensing cycle, are parameters that set to possibly improve the performance of sensing, frequency sweeping range set to possibly improve the performance of sensing).
Regarding Claim 31, Bayesteh discloses the at least one processor is further configured to perform RF sensing according to the slot configuration (page 16, par (0190), Line 1-10, OFDM waveform selected to improve sensing performance and reduce interference between different sensing signals. Considering a sensing signal configuration with a cyclic prefix OFDM waveform, and sensing slot length, the number of symbols included in each sensing cycle as well as the configuration of sensing symbols in the sensing cycle).
Regarding Claim 32, Bayesteh discloses to perform RF sensing according to the slot configuration, the at least one processor is configured to perform RF sensing on a first component carrier according to a first slot configuration and perform RF sensing on a second component carrier according to a second slot configuration(page 26, Line 1-10, a radio frequency (RF) sensing signal comprising a plurality of sensing cycles, each sensing cycle of the plurality of sensing cycles comprising a first sensing subcycle and a second sensing subcycle, the first sensing subcycle comprising a first active phase and a first passive phase, and the second sensing subcycle comprising a second active phase and a second passive phase).
Regarding Claim 33, Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except to perform RF sensing according to the slot configuration, the at least one processor is configured to perform RF sensing on a first component carrier and perform communication on a second component carrier.
WEI is the same field of invention teaches to perform RF sensing according to the slot configuration, the at least one processor is configured to perform RF sensing on a first component carrier and perform communication on a second component carrier (page 9, par (0104), Line 1-10, the UEs and the RAN nodes perform one or more known medium-sensing operations and carrier-sensing operations in order to determine channels the medium/carrier sensing operations performed according to a listen-before-talk (LBT) protocol).
Regarding Claim 34, Bayesteh discloses the one or more slots are divided into a plurality of mini-slots, and wherein all mini-slots are used for RF sensing, or wherein a subset of mini-slots are used for RF sensing while the remaining mini-slots are used for communication, according to the slot configuration(page 25, par(0226), Line 1-10, the support of network slicing relies on the principle that traffic for different slices is handled by different POU sessions. The network realizes the different network
slices by scheduling and also by providing different Ll/L2 configurations. The UE provides assistance information for network slice selection in an appropriate RRC message, the network can support large number of slices).
Regarding Claim 35, Bayesteh discloses to perform RF sensing according to the slot configuration, the at least one processor is configured to perform RF sensing using a first waveform comprising orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols, using a second waveform that does not comprise OFDM symbols, or a combination thereof(page 9, par(0101), Line 1-10, the UEs configured to communicate using OFDM communication signals with each other or with any of the RAN nodes over a multicarrier communication channel).
Regarding Claim 36, Bayesteh discloses to perform RF sensing according to the slot configuration, the at least one processor is configured to perform RF sensing for a duration that is a function of a subcarrier spacing configuration, that is statically configured, or that is dynamically configured(page 2, par (0011), Line 1-10, The RF pulse signal is defined by the waveform for communication data between the first electronic device and the second electronic device and (ii) sensing by the first electronic device, during a passive phase of the periodic sensing cycle, a reflection of the RF pulse signal reflected from an object, where the sensed RF pulse signal is at least a portion of the transmitted or reflected RF pulse signal).
Regarding Claim 37, Bayesteh discloses perform RF sensing according to the slot configuration, the at least one processor is configured to perform RF sensing according to a period, a repetition count, or a combination thereof(page 2, par (0011), Line 1-10, The RF pulse signal is defined by the waveform for communication data between the first electronic device and the second electronic device and (ii) sensing by the first electronic device, during a passive phase of the periodic sensing cycle).
Regarding Claim 38, Bayesteh discloses the at least one processor is further configured to send, via the at least one transceiver, to at least one UE, an indication that the BS will transmit downlink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing (page 16, par (0190). Line 1-10, OFDM waveform selected to improve sensing performance and reduce interference between different sensing signals. Considering a sensing signal configuration with a cyclic prefix OFDM waveform, and sensing slot length, the number of symbols included in each sensing cycle as well as the configuration of sensing symbols in the sensing cycle, are parameters that set to possibly improve the performance of sensing, frequency sweeping range set to possibly improve the performance of sensing).
Regarding Claim 39, Bayesteh discloses the at least one processor is further configured to transmit, via the at least one transceiver, downlink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing(page 2, par (0011), Line 1-10, The RF pulse signal is defined by the waveform for communication data between the first electronic device and the second electronic device and (ii) sensing by the first electronic device, during a passive phase of the periodic sensing cycle, a reflection of the RF pulse signal reflected from an object, where the sensed RF pulse signal is at least a portion of the transmitted or reflected RF pulse signal).
Regarding Claim 40, Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except transmitting downlink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing comprises transmitting a synchronous signal block (SSB), a system information block (SIB), a paging signal, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
WEI is the same field of invention teaches transmitting downlink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing comprises transmitting a synchronous signal block (SSB) (page 35, par (0926), Line 1-10, an SSB-based measurement timing configuration configured by SSB-Measurement Timing Configuration), a system information block (SIB) (page 23, par (0209), Line 1-10, The MIBs and SIBs may comprise one or more IEs, which each comprise individual data fields or data structures), a paging signal, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (page 10, par (0109), Line 1-10, the PDSCH carries user data and higher-layer signaling to the UEs, the PDCCH carries information about the transport format and resource allocations related to the PDSCH channel).
Regarding Claim 41, Bayesteh discloses the at least one processor is further configured to send, via the at least one transceiver, to at least one UE, an indication that the BS will measure uplink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing(page 2, par (0011), Line 1-10, The RF pulse signal is defined by the waveform for communication data between the first electronic device and the second electronic device and (ii) sensing by the first electronic device, during a passive phase of the periodic sensing cycle, a reflection of the RF pulse signal reflected from an object, where the sensed RF pulse signal is at least a portion of the transmitted or reflected RF pulse signal).
Regarding Claim 42, Bayesteh discloses the at least one processor is further configured to measure uplink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing(page 2, par (0011), Line 1-10, The RF pulse signal is defined by the waveform for communication data between the first electronic device and the second electronic device and (ii) sensing by the first electronic device, during a passive phase of the periodic sensing cycle, a reflection of the RF pulse signal reflected from an object, where the sensed RF pulse signal is at least a portion of the transmitted).
Regarding Claim 43, Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except to measure uplink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing, the at least one processor is configured to measure a physical random access channel (PRACH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
WEI is the same field of invention teaches to measure uplink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing, the at least one processor is configured to measure a physical random access channel (PRACH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (page 10, par (0109), Line 1-10, the PDSCH carries user data and higher-layer signaling to the UEs, the PDCCH carries information about the transport format and resource allocations related to the PDSCH channel).
Regarding Claim 44, Bayesteh discloses method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving a slot configuration that defines at least a portion of one or more slots that is configured for RF sensing(page 2, par (0011), Line 1-10, The RF pulse signal is defined by the waveform for communication data between the first electronic device and the second electronic device and (ii) sensing by the first electronic device, during a passive phase of the periodic sensing cycle, a reflection of the RF pulse signal reflected from an object, where the sensed RF pulse signal is at least a portion of the transmitted or reflected RF pulse signal);
Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except operating according to the slot configuration.
operating according to the slot configuration (page 1, par (0009). Line 1-10, the device includes a transmitter configured to transmit a first signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell- the device includes a transmitter configured to transmit a first signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell-specific pattern; a receiver configured to receive a second signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell-specific pattern, defines a slot format).
Bayesteh and WEI analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the sending the slot configuration to at least one other telecommunications device teaching of Bayesteh to include the receiver configured to receive a second signal based on one of the first cell-specific pattern and the second cell-specific pattern, defines a slot format teaching of WEI because it is providing the radio baseband functions for data and voice connectivity between a network and one or more users.
Regarding Claim 45, Bayesteh discloses to operate according to the slot configuration, the at least one processor is configured to: determine that the at least a portion of the one or more slots for RF sensing occurs during a downlink (DL) transmission; and measure the DL transmission during the at least a portion of the one or more slots for RF sensing (page 16, par (0190). Line 1-10, OFDM waveform selected to improve sensing performance and reduce interference between different sensing signals. Considering a sensing signal configuration with a cyclic prefix OFDM waveform, and sensing slot length, the number of symbols included in each sensing cycle as well as the configuration of sensing symbols in the sensing cycle, are parameters that set to possibly improve the performance of sensing, frequency sweeping range set to possibly improve the performance of sensing).
Regarding Claim 46, Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except transmitting downlink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing comprises transmitting a synchronous signal block (SSB), a system information block (SIB), a paging signal, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
WEI is the same field of invention teaches transmitting downlink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing comprises transmitting a synchronous signal block (SSB) (page 35, par (0926), Line 1-10, an SSB-based measurement timing configuration configured by SSB-Measurement Timing Configuration), a system information block (SIB) (page 23, par (0209), Line 1-10, The MIBs and SIBs may comprise one or more IEs, which each comprise individual data fields or data structures), a paging signal, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (page 10, par (0109), Line 1-10, the PDSCH carries user data and higher-layer signaling to the UEs, the PDCCH carries information about the transport format and resource allocations related to the PDSCH channel).
Regarding Claim 47, Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except operating according to the slot configuration comprises entering a low power mode or sleep mode during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing and wherein, to measure the DL transmission, the at least one processor is configured to wake from the low power mode or sleep mode to measure the DL transmission.
WEI is the same field of invention teaches operating according to the slot configuration comprises entering a low power mode or sleep mode during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing and wherein, to measure the DL transmission, the at least one processor is configured to wake from the low power mode or sleep mode to measure the DL transmission (page 18, par (0173), Line 1-10, power saving mode may allow a device to be unavailable to the network for periods longer than a paging interval (ranging from seconds to a few hours). During this time, the device is totally unreachable to the network and power down completely. Any data sent during this time
incurs a large delay and it is assumed the delay is acceptable).
Regarding Claim 48, Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except to operate according to the slot configuration, the at least one processor is configured to determine to wake from the low power mode or sleep mode to measure the DL transmission based on an indication, received by or provisioned to the UE, that a base station will transmit downlink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing.
WEI is the same field of invention teaches to operate according to the slot configuration, the at least one processor is configured to determine to wake from the low power mode or sleep mode to measure the DL transmission based on an indication, received by or provisioned to the UE, that a base station will transmit downlink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing (page 18, par (0173), Line 1-10, the platform goes into a very low power state and it performs paging where again it periodically wakes up to listen to the network and then powers down again. The platform not receive data in this state; in order to receive data, it must transition back to RRC Connected state. An additional power saving mode may allow a device to be unavailable to the network for periods longer than a paging interval (ranging from seconds to a few hours). During this time, the device is totally unreachable to the network and may power down completely. Any data sent during this time incurs a large delay and it is assumed the delay is acceptable).
Regarding Claim 49, Bayesteh discloses the at least one processor is further configured to: determine that the at least a portion of the one or more slots for RF sensing occurs during an uplink (UL) transmission; and perform the UL transmission during the at least a portion of the one or more slots for RF sensing(page 2, par (0011), Line 1-10, The RF pulse signal is defined by the waveform for communication data between the first electronic device and the second electronic device and (ii) sensing by the first electronic device, during a passive phase of the periodic sensing cycle, a reflection of the RF pulse signal reflected from an object, where the sensed RF pulse signal is at least a portion of the transmitted or reflected RF pulse signal).
Regarding Claim 50, Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except to perform the UL transmission, the at least one processor is configured to transmit a physical random access channel (PRACH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
WEI is the same field of invention teaches to perform the UL transmission, the at least one processor is configured to transmit a physical random access channel (PRACH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (page 10, par (0109), Line 1-10, the PDSCH carries user data and higher-layer signaling to the UEs, the PDCCH carries information about the transport format and resource allocations related to the PDSCH channel).
Regarding Claim 51, Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except operating according to the slot configuration comprises entering a low power mode or sleep mode during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing and wherein, to perform the UL transmission, the at least one processor is configured to wake from the low power mode or sleep mode to perform the UL transmission.
WEI is the same field of invention teaches operating according to the slot configuration comprises entering a low power mode or sleep mode during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing and wherein, to perform the UL transmission, the at least one processor is configured to wake from the low power mode or sleep mode to perform the UL transmission (page 18, par (0173), Line 1-10, the platform goes into a very low power state and it performs paging where again it periodically wakes up to listen to the network and then powers down again, the platform not receive data in this state; in order to receive data, it must transition back to RRC Connected state. An additional power saving mode may allow a device to be unavailable to the network for periods longer than a paging interval (ranging from seconds to a few hours). During this time, the device is totally unreachable to the network and may power down completely. Any data sent during this time incurs a large delay and it is assumed the delay is acceptable).
Regarding Claim 52, Bayesteh discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except operate according to the slot configuration, the at least one processor is configured to determine to wake from the low power mode or sleep mode to perform the UL transmission based on an indication, received by or provisioned to the UE, that a base station will process uplink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing.
WEI is the same field of invention teaches operate according to the slot configuration, the at least one processor is configured to determine to wake from the low power mode or sleep mode to perform the UL transmission based on an indication, received by or provisioned to the UE, that a base station will process uplink transmissions that occur during the at least a portion of the one or more slots configured for RF sensing (page 18, par (0173), Line 1-10, the platform goes into a very low power state and it performs paging where again it periodically wakes up to listen to the network and then powers down again. The platform not receive data in this state; in order to receive data, it must transition back to RRC Connected state. An additional power saving mode may allow a device to be unavailable to the network for periods longer than a paging interval (ranging from seconds to a few hours). During this time, the device is totally unreachable to the network and may power down completely. Any data sent during this time incurs a large delay and it is assumed the delay is acceptable).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
HO et al. (US 20170142708) teaches User Equipment and Timing Advance Value Updating Method Thereof.
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464