Status of Claims
Currently claims 1-12 are pending and claim 1, 4, 7, and 12 are amended.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: heating element in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Donaldson (U.S. 2019/0022678).
With respect to claim 1, Donaldson discloses a system configured to spray multiple components to be mixed (paragraph 0009) and form a mixture at a target by impingement (paragraph 0009), comprising: at least one first component temperature sensor (figure 1, temperature sensor 42, paragraph 0019) and at least one second component temperature sensor (figure 1, temperature sensor 42, paragraph 0019, there being multiple sensors 42 along both flow lines from A and B to the spray gun 28); at least one first component pressure sensor (paragraph 0019, where the sensors 42 include pressure sensors) and at least one second component pressure sensor (paragraph 0019, where the sensors 42 include pressure sensors, there being 5 #42s along each flow path); at least one first component heating element (there being multiple heating elements, heating system 34 and heated conduits 30 and 32); an applicator (spray gun 28), and a control system (0036) comprising an interface (paragraph 0020) configured to receive at least one temperature setpoint from a user (paragraph 0020), wherein the interface is also configured to receive at least one pressure setpoint from the user (paragraph 0020), and wherein the control system is configured to perform an operation comprising automatically adjusting a temperature (paragraph 0029, to have the controlled desired temperature at the gun) of the at least one first component to minimize a pressure difference (paragraph 0011, hitting and maintaining a target pressure, abstract, such that the desired pressure difference, minimizing the pressure difference, paragraph 0013) between the multiple components while maintaining a temperature of the mixture at the at least one temperature setpoint (paragraphs 0011-0013 and 0020-0025, where the temperature and pressure are both controlled via the pump and the heating systems and the two are sensed and maintaining to achieve a desired target pressure and temperature at the gun as well, controlling the temperature would reflect in the pressure control as well, since as temperature changes pressure changes, paragraph 0030 further discloses that such pressure differences to be minimized and adjusted adjusting the temperatures is also done).
With respect to claim 2, Donaldson discloses the temperature setpoint corresponds to a temperature at the applicator (paragraph 0020, where the spray gun has the control system where the user inputs the desired temperature).
With respect to claim 3, Donaldson discloses the temperature setpoint corresponds to a temperature of the mixture of the multiple components (paragraphs 0020, 0023, and 0013, where the senses temperature is that at the spray gun, where the mixture occurs, further noting that the controller derives a value for the mixing at the gun)
With respect to claim 4, Donaldson discloses the pressure setpoint corresponds to a pressure at the spray gun (paragraph 0013 and abstract).
With respect to claim 5, Donaldson discloses the pressure setpoint corresponds to the pressure of each of the multiple components at the applicator (abstract, two pressure sensors on the spray gun for both first and second fluid).
With respect to claim 6, Donaldson discloses the interface requires only one temperature setpoint and only one pressure setpoint from the user (paragraph 0020).
With respect to claim 7, Donaldson discloses a first component line (32) and a second component line (30), wherein a first component line is in fluid communication with a polyol source (paragraph 0017, B including polyols), and a second component line is in fluid communication with a multi-isocyanate source or a urethane prepolymer source (paragraph 0017, where A includes isocyanates).
With respect to claim 8, Donaldson discloses a second component heating element (heating element for the heated conduit 20), wherein the first component line and first component heating element is a heated hose (32 being a heated conduit), and wherein the second component line and second component heating element is a heated hose (30 being a heated conduit), and wherein a difference in pressure between each of the multiple components is minimized by adjusting the temperature of the at least one second component (paragraph 0030).
With respect to claim 9, Donaldson discloses the mixture is a polyurethane foam (paragraphs 0002 and 0009).
With respect to claim 10, Donaldson discloses the control system is configured to raise the temperature of each heated hose to achieve a minimal difference in pressure between each of the multiple components (paragraph 0030).
With respect to claim 11, Donaldson discloses wherein the applicator is a spray gun (28 being a spray gun).
With respect to claim 12, Donaldson discloses the one first component temperature sensor is selected from the group consisting of a thermal sensing element (such that it measures the temperature of fluid, paragraphs 0029 and 0031) and the measured resistance of the heating element.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The Amendment filed (05/04/2026) has been entered. Currently claims 1-12 are pending and claim 1, 4, 7, and 12 are amended. Applicants’ amendments to the claims have failed to overcome each and every rejection previously set forth in the Office Action dated (02/03/2026).
Applicant's arguments filed 05/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art fails to disclose “wherein the control system is configured to perform an operation comprising automatically adjusting a temperature of the at least one first component to minimize a pressure difference between the multiple components while maintaining a temperature of the mixture at the at least one temperature setpoint.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph 0030 discloses “ The processor 40 may then independently control pressure of the A and B compound (and/or any other two or more fluids) to minimize or to eliminate the pressure differences between the two (or more) materials at or near the gun 28, as described above, e.g., by adjusting pump rates, temperatures, flows, and so on, to arrive at equal pressures between A and B compounds.” Which discloses that the controller, via the processor, controls the temperature to minimize or eliminate the pressure difference between the two materials at or near the gun.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH A GREENLUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752