Status of Claims
Currently claims 1-12 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: heating element in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a user” in line 8, this appears to be double inclusion as “a user” was already given sufficient antecedent basis in line 7.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the spray gun" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “a second component line” in line 3, this is double inclusion as the second component line is already claimed in line 2.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the at least two temperature sensing elements" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 has a first component temperature sensor and a second component temperature sensor, but does not disclose them as being “two temperature sensing elements” and is unclear if this limitation of claim 12 is referencing back to those two component temperature sensors or two different temperature sensing elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Donaldson (U.S. 2019/0022678).
With respect to claim 1, Donaldson discloses a system configured to spray multiple components to be mixed (paragraph 0009) and form a mixture at a target by impingement (paragraph 0009), comprising: at least one first component temperature sensor (figure 1, temperature sensor 42, paragraph 0019) and at least one second component temperature sensor (figure 1, temperature sensor 42, paragraph 0019, there being multiple sensors 42 along both flow lines from A and B to the spray gun 28); at least one first component pressure sensor (paragraph 0019, where the sensors 42 include pressure sensors) and at least one second component pressure sensor (paragraph 0019, where the sensors 42 include pressure sensors, there being 5 #42s along each flow path); at least one first component heating element (there being multiple heating elements, heating system 34 and heated conduits 30 and 32); an applicator (spray gun 28), wherein a difference in pressure between each of the multiple components is minimized by adjusting the temperature of the at least one first component (paragraph 0030); and a control system (0036) comprising an interface (paragraph 0020) configured to receive at least one temperature setpoint from a user (paragraph 0020), wherein the interface is also configured to receive at least one pressure setpoint from a user (paragraph 0020).
With respect to claim 2, Donaldson discloses the temperature setpoint corresponds to a temperature at the applicator (paragraph 0020, where the spray gun has the control system where the user inputs the desired temperature).
With respect to claim 3, Donaldson discloses the temperature setpoint corresponds to a temperature of the mixture of the multiple components (paragraphs 0020, 0023, and 0013, where the senses temperature is that at the spray gun, where the mixture occurs, further noting that the controller derives a value for the mixing at the gun)
With respect to claim 4, Donaldson discloses the pressure setpoint corresponds to a pressure at the spray gun (paragraph 0013 and abstract).
With respect to claim 5, Donaldson discloses the pressure setpoint corresponds to the pressure of each of the multiple components at the applicator (abstract, two pressure sensors on the spray gun for both first and second fluid).
With respect to claim 6, Donaldson discloses the interface requires only one temperature setpoint and only one pressure setpoint from the user (paragraph 0020).
With respect to claim 7, Donaldson discloses a first component line (32) and a second component line (30), wherein a first component line is in fluid communication with a polyol source (paragraph 0017, B including polyols), and a second component line is in fluid communication with a multi-isocyanate source or a urethane prepolymer source (paragraph 0017, where A includes isocyanates).
With respect to claim 8, Donaldson discloses a second component heating element (heating element for the heated conduit 20), wherein the first component line and first component heating element is a heated hose (32 being a heated conduit), and wherein the second component line and second component heating element is a heated hose (30 being a heated conduit), and wherein a difference in pressure between each of the multiple components is minimized by adjusting the temperature of the at least one second component (paragraph 0030).
With respect to claim 9, Donaldson discloses the mixture is a polyurethane foam (paragraphs 0002 and 0009).
With respect to claim 10, Donaldson discloses the control system is configured to raise the temperature of each heated hose to achieve a minimal difference in pressure between each of the multiple components (paragraph 0030).
With respect to claim 11, Donaldson discloses wherein the applicator is a spray gun (28 being a spray gun).
With respect to claim 12, Donaldson discloses the at least two temperature sensing elements are selected from the group consisting of a thermal sensing element (such that it measures the temperature of fluid, paragraphs 0029 and 0031) and the measured resistance of the heating element.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A GREENLUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752