Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Solbach (US 20140241702 A1).
With respect to claim 1 Solbach teaches
(claim 1) An electronic device, comprising:
a processor (Solbach ¶[0022] FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an example audio recording system 110. In the illustrated embodiment, the audio recording system 110 can include a processor 210, a primary microphone 220, one or more secondary microphones 230, video camera 240, memory storage 250, an audio processing system 260, speakers 270, and graphic display system 280. The audio recording system 110 may include additional or other components necessary for audio recording system 110 operations. Similarly, the audio recording system 110 may include fewer or additional components that perform similar or equivalent functions to those depicted in FIG. 2.) to:
perform a first noise cancellation on a video stream using a first noise canceller characteristic (Solbach ¶ [0027] It should be noted that audio processing system 260 can be configured to save a raw acoustic audio signal without any enhancement processing like noise and echo cancelation or attenuating or suppression of different components of the audio. The raw acoustic audio captured by microphones 220 and 230 and converted to digital signals can be saved in memory storage 250 for further post-processing while displaying the video on graphic display system 280 and playing audio associated with video via speakers 270. In some embodiments, the input cues, for example inter-microphone level differences (ILDs) between energies of the primary and secondary acoustic signals can be stored along with the recorded raw acoustic audio signal. In further embodiments, the input cues can include, for example, pitch salience, signal type classification, speaker identification, and the like. During the playback of the recorded audio signal and, optionally, an associated video, the original acoustic audio signal and recorded cues can be used to modify the audio provided during playback..)
detect a change in an object salience in the video stream (Solbach¶ [0029 During the playback, the user can play, stop, pause, forward, and rewind the recorded audio signal and associated video using standard "play/stop", "rewind", and "forward" buttons 410. In addition, during the playback, the user can change the audio mode [detect a change], for example, to reduce noise, focus on one or more sound sources, and the like); and
perform a second noise cancellation on the video stream using a second noise canceller characteristic based on the change in the object salience (Solbach¶ [0029 During the playback, the user can play, stop, pause, forward, and rewind the recorded audio signal and associated video using standard "play/stop", "rewind", and "forward" buttons 410. In addition, during the playback, the user can change the audio mode [detect a change], for example, to reduce noise, focus on one or more sound sources [second noise cancellation], and the like. One or more additional control or option buttons 420 are available to enable the user to control the playback and change to a different audio mode or toggle between two or more audio processing modes. For example, there can be one button corresponding to each audio mode.)
With respect to claim 8 Solbach teaches
A computing device, comprising:
a camera (Solbach ¶[0022] FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an example audio recording system 110. In the illustrated embodiment, the audio recording system 110 can include a processor 210, a primary microphone 220, one or more secondary microphones 230, video camera 240, memory storage 250, an audio processing system 260, speakers 270, and graphic display system 280. The audio recording system 110 may include additional or other components necessary for audio recording system 110 operations. Similarly, the audio recording system 110 may include fewer or additional components that perform similar or equivalent functions to those depicted in FIG. 2.) ; and
a processor(Solbach ¶[0022] FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an example audio recording system 110. In the illustrated embodiment, the audio recording system 110 can include a processor 210, a primary microphone 220, one or more secondary microphones 230, video camera 240, memory storage 250, an audio processing system 260, speakers 270, and graphic display system 280. The audio recording system 110 may include additional or other components necessary for audio recording system 110 operations. Similarly, the audio recording system 110 may include fewer or additional components that perform similar or equivalent functions to those depicted in FIG. 2.) to:
receive a video stream from the camera ([0009] Some embodiments can allow a user to utilize an interface during the playback of the recorded audio and/or video.);
modify an acoustic noise canceller based on a change in an object salience in the video stream (Solbach¶ [0029 During the playback, the user can play, stop, pause, forward, and rewind the recorded audio signal and associated video using standard "play/stop", "rewind", and "forward" buttons 410. In addition, during the playback, the user can change the audio mode [detect a change], for example, to reduce noise, focus on one or more sound sources [second noise cancellation], and the like. One or more additional control or option buttons 420 are available to enable the user to control the playback and change to a different audio mode or toggle between two or more audio processing modes. For example, there can be one button corresponding to each audio mode.) ; and
perform acoustic noise cancellation on the video stream using the modified acoustic noise canceller (Solbach¶ [0029 During the playback, the user can play, stop, pause, forward, and rewind the recorded audio signal and associated video using standard "play/stop", "rewind", and "forward" buttons 410. In addition, during the playback, the user can change the audio mode [detect a change], for example, to reduce noise, focus on one or more sound sources [second noise cancellation], and the like. One or more additional control or option buttons 420 are available to enable the user to control the playback and change to a different audio mode or toggle between two or more audio processing modes. For example, there can be one button corresponding to each audio mode.)
With respect to claim 12 Solbach teaches wherein modifying the acoustic noise canceller based on the change in the object salience comprises modifying the acoustic noise canceller based on an audible characteristic of an object Solbach¶ [0029 During the playback, the user can play, stop, pause, forward, and rewind the recorded audio signal and associated video using standard "play/stop", "rewind", and "forward" buttons 410. In addition, during the playback, the user can change the audio mode, for example, to reduce noise, focus on one or more sound sources, and the like. One or more additional control or option buttons 420 are available to enable the user to control the playback and change to a different audio mode or toggle between two or more audio processing modes. For example, there can be one button corresponding to each audio mode.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2-3, 5-6, 9 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solbach in further view of Kuo (US 20160086345 A1).
With respect to claim 2 Solbach does not explicitly disclose however Kuo teaches wherein detecting the change in the object salience comprises detecting motion relating to an object (Kuo ¶[0016] IP cameras are generally used for surveillance purposes. For example, IP cameras may perform motion detection to detect a moving object in the video, such as a person approaching the front door [motion relating to an object], in order to extract useful information for the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify noise cancellation of Solbach with the detection of Kuo in order to determine events more accurately ([0015], Kuo);
With respect to claim 3 Solbach does not explicitly disclose however Kuo teaches wherein detecting the change in the object salience comprises detecting a person engaging with an object (Kuo ¶[0016] IP cameras are generally used for surveillance purposes. For example, IP cameras may perform motion detection to detect a moving object in the video, such as a person approaching the front door [person engaging with an object], in order to extract useful information for the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify noise cancellation of Solbach with the detection of Kuo in order to determine events more accurately ([0015], Kuo);
With respect to claim 5 Solbach does not explicitly disclose however Kuo teaches wherein detecting the change in the object salience comprises identifying an object between a person and a camera (Kuo ¶[0016] IP cameras are generally used for surveillance purposes. For example, IP cameras may perform motion detection to detect a moving object in the video, such as a person approaching the front door [door between camera and person], in order to extract useful information for the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify noise cancellation of Solbach with the detection of Kuo in order to determine events more accurately ([0015], Kuo);
With respect to claim 6 Solbach does not explicitly disclose however Kuo teaches wherein detecting the change in the object salience comprises detecting a position of a person (Kuo ¶[0016] IP cameras are generally used for surveillance purposes. For example, IP cameras may perform motion detection to detect a moving object in the video, such as a person approaching the front door [approaching= position of a person], in order to extract useful information for the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify noise cancellation of Solbach with the detection of Kuo in order to determine events more accurately ([0015], Kuo);
With respect to claim 9 Solbach does not explicitly disclose however Kuo teaches wherein the change in the object salience comprises detecting an object at a camera subject position (Kuo ¶[0016] IP cameras are generally used for surveillance purposes. For example, IP cameras may perform motion detection to detect a moving object in the video, such as a person approaching the front door [motion relating to an object], in order to extract useful information for the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify noise cancellation of Solbach with the detection of Kuo in order to determine events more accurately ([0015], Kuo);
Claims 4 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solbach in further view of Zhang (US 20220068248 A1).
With respect to claim 4 Solbach does not explicitly disclose however Zhang teaches wherein detecting the change in the object salience comprises determining an object is a musical instrument (Zhang¶[0085] When the preset condition is the musical instrument corresponding to the target music video, the method further includes determining the musical instrument corresponding to the music in the target music video, and rendering the digital music score segment to generate a music score segment image corresponding to the musical instrument. For example, the fingering of the musical instrument is provided to the user as a music score segment image. For example, if it is determined that the musical instrument is a piano, the piano fingering segment image may be provided to the user.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify noise cancellation of Solbach with the musical instrument of Zhang in order to improve user experience ([0007], Zhang)
Claims 7 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solbach in further view of Yanagihara (US 20150002740 A1).
With respect to claim 7 Solbach does not explicitly disclose however Yanagihara teaches wherein detecting the change in the object salience comprises detecting a face (Yanagihara¶[0056] (1) When the volume of a human voice (voice signal) in a video relatively increases compared with the volume of other sounds (background sound signal), it is determined that a human face is displayed in the scene of the video. Accordingly, a mode is specified such that image quality improvement control data should be output to the image quality improvement engine so as to perform color adjustment to make the color of human skin finely viewable [first noise canceller characteristic].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify noise cancellation of Solbach with the face recognition of Yanagihara in order to improve align audio with the proper user.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solbach in further view of Jong (US 20080189613 A1).
With respect to claim 10 Solbach does not explicitly disclose however Jong teaches wherein modifying the acoustic noise canceller based on the change in the object salience comprises modifying the acoustic noise canceller to pass a frequency band of an object (Jong ¶ [0032] For example, if the selected sound source object is a sound source object of a classic tone, the control unit 130 may play the corresponding multimedia file in a classic tone by increasing an output of a low frequency (for example, 125 Hz). If the selected sound source object is a sound source object of a vocal tone, the control unit 130 may play a multimedia file by decreasing an output of a frequency band covering a human voice. Therefore, the user may hear only the melody portion of the multimedia file by eliminating the human voice.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify noise cancellation of Solbach with the frequency band of Jong in order to block unwanted sounds.
With respect to claim 11 Solbach does not explicitly disclose however Jong teaches wherein modifying the acoustic noise canceller based on the change in the object salience comprises modifying the acoustic noise canceller from rejecting a frequency band of an object to passing the frequency band of the object (Jong ¶ [0032] For example, if the selected sound source object is a sound source object of a classic tone, the control unit 130 may play the corresponding multimedia file in a classic tone by increasing an output of a low frequency (for example, 125 Hz). If the selected sound source object is a sound source object of a vocal tone, the control unit 130 may play a multimedia file by decreasing an output of a frequency band covering a human voice. Therefore, the user may hear only the melody portion of the multimedia file by eliminating the human voice.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify noise cancellation of Solbach with the frequency band of Jong in order to remove unwanted sounds from the audio.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solbach in further view of Borneo (US-6657676-B1).
With respect to claim 13, Solbach teaches
A non-transitory tangible computer-readable medium comprising instructions when executed cause a processor of an electronic device (¶ claim 20: A non-transitory computer readable medium having embodied thereon a program, the program providing instructions for a method for a dynamic audio perspective change, the method comprising: playing, via speakers, an audio, the audio signal being previously recorded, and while playing the audio signal: receiving a processing mode from a plurality of processing modes; and modifying the audio signal in real time based on the processing mod ) to:
filter video using a digital filter (Solbach [0010] In some embodiments, the audio recording system may include faster than real-time signal processing. The audio recording system can be operable to process (in the background) the entire audio and video according to the last audio mode selected by the user.);
detect a change in a salience of an object in the video (Solbach¶ [0029 During the playback, the user can play, stop, pause, forward, and rewind the recorded audio signal and associated video using standard "play/stop", "rewind", and "forward" buttons 410. In addition, during the playback, the user can change the audio mode [detect a change], for example, to reduce noise, focus on one or more sound sources, and the like) ;
modify the digital filter based on an audible characteristic of the object(Solbach¶ [0029 During the playback, the user can play, stop, pause, forward, and rewind the recorded audio signal and associated video using standard "play/stop", "rewind", and "forward" buttons 410. In addition, during the playback, the user can change the audio mode [detect a change], for example, to reduce noise, focus on one or more sound sources [modify filter based on audible characteristic], and the like. One or more additional control or option buttons 420 are available to enable the user to control the playback and change to a different audio mode or toggle between two or more audio processing modes. For example, there can be one button corresponding to each audio mode.) ; and
filter the video using the modified digital filter(Solbach¶ [0029 During the playback, the user can play, stop, pause, forward, and rewind the recorded audio signal and associated video using standard "play/stop", "rewind", and "forward" buttons 410. In addition, during the playback, the user can change the audio mode [detect a change], for example, to reduce noise, focus on one or more sound sources [second noise cancellation], and the like. One or more additional control or option buttons 420 are available to enable the user to control the playback and change to a different audio mode or toggle between two or more audio processing modes. For example, there can be one button corresponding to each audio mode.) .
Solbach does not explicitly disclose however Borneo teaches digital filter for noise cancellation (¶Col3ll65-Col4ll3: It is an object of the present invention to provide a new filtering method and filter for digital video pictures having the advantages of the DRT while substantially eliminating the noise peaks and being relatively easy to implement, making it relatively inexpensive for use in real-time video applications).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify noise cancellation of Solbach with the digital filter of Borneo in order to remove noise at a low cost (¶Col3ll65-Col4ll3, Borneo)
With regards to claim 14, Solbach teaches wherein modifying the digital filter based on the audible characteristic of the object comprises modifying the digital filter to pass the audible characteristic of the object (Solbach¶ [0029 During the playback, the user can play, stop, pause, forward, and rewind the recorded audio signal and associated video using standard "play/stop", "rewind", and "forward" buttons 410. In addition, during the playback, the user can change the audio mode [detect a change], for example, to reduce noise, focus on one or more sound sources [pass the audible characteristics], and the like. One or more additional control or option buttons 420 are available to enable the user to control the playback and change to a different audio mode or toggle between two or more audio processing modes. For example, there can be one button corresponding to each audio mode.)
Claim 15 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solbach, Borneo in further view of Jong (US-6657676-B1).
With regards to claim 15, Solbach and Borneo do not explicitly disclose however Jong teaches wherein modifying the digital filter based on the audible characteristic of the object comprises modifying the digital filter to pass non-human sounds (Jong ¶ [0032] For example, if the selected sound source object is a sound source object of a classic tone, the control unit 130 may play the corresponding multimedia file in a classic tone by increasing an output of a low frequency (for example, 125 Hz). If the selected sound source object is a sound source object of a vocal tone, the control unit 130 may play a multimedia file by decreasing an output of a frequency band covering a human voice. Therefore, the user may hear only the melody portion of the multimedia file by eliminating the human voice.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify noise cancellation of Solbach in view of digital filter of Borneo to include non-human sounds of Jong in order to remove human sounds from audio.
Conclusion
/ATHAR N PASHA/Examiner, Art Unit 2657