DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that none of the cited references teaches the limitation as presented in claim 1. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Phelan et al. (figure 5) discloses an optical assembly including the output diffractive optical structure comprises a first portion and a second portion, wherein in the first portion the first diffractive optical element is configured to couple light from the input direction towards the second portion and wherein the second diffractive optical element is configured to couple light from the input direction away from the second portion, and in the second portion the first diffractive optical element is configured to couple light from the input direction towards the first portion and wherein the second diffractive optical element is configured to couple light from the input direction away from the first portion (the first diffractive element, which has the higher diffraction efficiency, is preferentially arranged to couple rays out of the waveguide 52 and towards a viewer along the z-axis; the second portion 64 of the output element 60 is effectively a mirror image of the first portion 62, reflected about the y-axis. Therefore, opposite diffractive interactions occur within the second portion 64 in comparison to the first portion 62; see at least paragraphs 0039-0040). The examiner merely relies on Schowengendt et al. (figures 1-3d) for the teaching of wherein the at least one projector is configured to provide at least two input pupils of light, including a first pupil and a second pupil, which are coupled toward the output diffractive optical structure by the input diffractive optical structure substantially in parallel along the input direction at displaced positions from one another so that they are received respectively at the first portion and the second portion of the output diffractive optical structure (316-1 and 316-3), the first pupil and second pupil being non-overlapping and spaced apart from each other by a gap (light blocking elements 310 are disposed between each of the four optical elements to which input regions 316-1, 316-2, 316-3 or 316-4 correspond; see at least paragraph 0032). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the input pupils of light as taught by Schowengendt et al. in order to increase the apparent field of view for the user of the wearable display.
The applicant further argues that the claimed output diffractive optical structure operates according to principles contradictory to the purposes of Klug: the very cross-talk that Klug's spatial separation is designed to prevent between adjacent LOEs is, in the claimed structure, an intended and required interaction between the first and second portions of the single claimed output diffractive optical structure. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant should note that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In addition, in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize combining Phelan et al. in view of Schowengendt et al., with Klug et al., in order to increase the field of view of optics. In other words, Klug et al. (figures 1-5) teaches two projectors which generate the two input pupils (1090). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the projector as taught by Klug et al. in order to increase the field of view of optics.
The claim language therefore does not patentably distinguish over the applied reference[s], and the previous rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 10, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phelan et al. (US 2021/0382308) in view of Schowengendt et al. (US 2018/0275415).
Regarding claim 1, Phelan et al. (figure 5) discloses an optical assembly for use in an augmented reality or virtual reality display, comprising:
a waveguide (52);
at least one projector (see at least abstract);
an input diffractive optical structure configured to receive light from the at least one projector and couple the received light into the waveguide (54; see at least abstract); and
an output diffractive optical structure (62, 64) configured to receive light from the input diffractive optical structure in an input direction, wherein the output diffractive optical structure comprises at least a first diffractive optical element and a second diffractive optical element with different respective diffraction efficiencies, wherein the first diffractive optical element has a relatively high diffraction efficiency and the second diffractive optical element has a relatively low diffraction efficiency and the first and second diffractive optical elements are overlaid on one another in or on the waveguide, wherein the first diffractive optical element is configured to receive light along the input direction and couple it towards the second diffractive optical element which can then act as an output diffractive optical element, providing outcoupled orders towards a viewer, and wherein the second diffractive optical element is configured to receive light along the input direction and couple it towards the first diffractive optical element which can then act as an output diffractive optical element, providing outcoupled orders towards a viewer (the first diffractive element, which has the higher diffraction efficiency, is preferentially arranged to couple rays out of the waveguide 52 and towards a viewer along the z-axis; the second portion 64 of the output element 60 is effectively a mirror image of the first portion 62, reflected about the y-axis. Therefore, opposite diffractive interactions occur within the second portion 64 in comparison to the first portion 62; see at least paragraphs 0039-0040);
wherein the output diffractive optical structure comprises a first portion and a second portion, wherein in the first portion the first diffractive optical element is configured to couple light from the input direction towards the second portion and wherein the second diffractive optical element is configured to couple light from the input direction away from the second portion, and in the second portion the first diffractive optical element is configured to couple light from the input direction towards the first portion and wherein the second diffractive optical element is configured to couple light from the input direction away from the first portion (the first diffractive element, which has the higher diffraction efficiency, is preferentially arranged to couple rays out of the waveguide 52 and towards a viewer along the z-axis; the second portion 64 of the output element 60 is effectively a mirror image of the first portion 62, reflected about the y-axis. Therefore, opposite diffractive interactions occur within the second portion 64 in comparison to the first portion 62; see at least paragraphs 0039-0040).
Phelan et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Phelan et al. is silent regarding the at least one projector is configured to provide at least two input pupils of light, including a first pupil and a second pupil. Schowengendt et al. (figures 1-3d) teaches
wherein the at least one projector is configured to provide at least two input pupils of light, including a first pupil and a second pupil, which are coupled toward the output diffractive optical structure by the input diffractive optical structure substantially in parallel along the input direction at displaced positions from one another so that they are received respectively at the first portion and the second portion of the output diffractive optical structure (316-1 and 316-3), the first pupil and second pupil being non-overlapping and spaced apart from each other by a gap (light blocking elements 310 are disposed between each of the four optical elements to which input regions 316-1, 316-2, 316-3 or 316-4 correspond; see at least paragraph 0032);
wherein there is a dividing line between the first portion and the second portion of the output diffractive optical structure (the line between 316-1 and 316-3);
wherein the first pupil has a first cone angle when coupled toward the output diffractive optical structure by the input diffractive optical structure, wherein the cone angle extends only in the first portion to provide a field of view for illuminating only the first portion and does not intersect the dividing line; and
wherein the second pupil has a second cone angle when coupled toward the output diffractive optical structure by the input diffractive optical structure, wherein the second cone angle extends only in the second portion and does not intersect the dividing line (toward 312-1 and 312-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the input pupils of light as taught by Schowengendt et al. in order to increase the apparent field of view for the user of the wearable display.
Regarding claim 2, Schowengendt et al. (figures 1-3d) teaches wherein there is a dividing line between the first and second portions of the output diffractive optical structure, and wherein the centre of the first pupil is received at the first portion at a first distance from the dividing line and the second pupil is received at the second portion at a second distance from the dividing line, and wherein the first and second distance are substantially equal to one another (the line between 316-1 and 316-3).
Regarding claim 6, Schowengendt et al. (figures 1-3d) teaches wherein the two input pupils from the two input pupils from the projector are non-overlapping with one another (316-1 and 316-3).
Regarding claim 7, Schowengendt et al. (figures 1-3d) teaches a single projector (302) configured to generate the two input pupils.
Regarding claim 10, Phelan et al. (figure 5) discloses wherein the first diffractive optical element has a stepped profile (figure 5).
Regarding claim 21, Schowengendt et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the gap being approximately 5mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the gap being approximately 5mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Claim 21 is therefore unpatentable.
Regarding claim 22, Schowengendt et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the gap being approximately 7mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the gap being approximately 7mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Claim 22 is therefore unpatentable.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phelan et al. (US 2021/0382308) in view of Schowengendt et al. (US 2018/0275415); further in view of Klug et al. (US 2016/0327789).
Regarding claim 8, Phelan et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Phelan et al. is silent regarding two projectors which generate the two input pupils. Klug et al. (figures 1-5) teaches two projectors which generate the two input pupils (1090). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the projector as taught by Klug et al. in order to increase the field of view of optics.
Regarding claim 9, Phelan et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Phelan et al. is silent regarding wherein the first diffractive optical element is blazed or pseudo blazed. Klug et al. (figures 1-5) teaches wherein the first diffractive optical element is blazed or pseudo blazed (see at least paragraph 0079). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diffractive optical element as taught by Klug et al. in order to increase the field of view of optics.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871