DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-30 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Amendment
2. In response to the amendments received in the Office on 7/27/2026, the Office acknowledges the current status of the claims: claims 10, 15, 25, and 30 have been amended, and no new matter appears to be included.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 7/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner addresses each of Applicant’s concerns in the following response.
A. Baek does not teach or disclose “decoding at least one field of the plurality of fields based on a first higher layer parameter to determine sidelink-position reference signal (SL-PRS) information” (See Remarks, pages 11-13).
In support of this argument, Applicant contends Baek’s SCI fields are fixed in that the SCI design corresponds to “a field indicating PRS resource information means PRS resource information, and a field indicating MCS means MCS”. Applicant contends the mapping described with respect to the rejection of claim 1 mailed 4/29/2026 is “conflated” since, as alleged by the Applicant Baek’s “higher-layer parameter” and the claimed “first higher layer parameter” are structurally and functionally different (Remarks, page 12). Applicant further alleges there is no disclosure of Baek that explicitly allows for a higher-layer parameter to decode an SCI field (Remarks, page 12). Further, Applicant alleges “Baek does not disclose one field of the plurality of fields encoded to indicate sidelink-position reference signal (SL-PRS) information” (Remarks, page 13, emphasis, Applicant).
B. Examiner’s response to A. above
Examiner respectfully disagrees with each of Applicant’s assertions. There is no distinction between a higher-layer parameter and a configuration, since both are explicitly synonymous with one another (see Application’s published application at [0037] – “In some implementations, a UE may receive a high-layer configuration, such as a higher layer parameter, that indicates to interpret an SCI-1 as the SL-PRS SCI-1 or to interpret an SCI-2, or a portion thereof, as an SL-PRS SCI-2.”). Therefore, since Baek discloses the higher-layer parameter as a configuration (Baek: [0188-0191]), Baek discloses a higher-layer parameter. To the allegation that the configuration does not determine SL-PRS, Examiner respectfully suggests the step of “to determine” is, at best, open-ended as to what portion of the claim limitation is used for the determining – the decoding step, a field that is decoded, or the higher-layer parameter. It is also respectfully noted the step of “to determine” may be interpreted as an intended result of the decoding step, since the act of “to determine” does not actually occur. However, Examiner further disagrees with Applicant’s assertion that Baek is deficient. Baek is explicit that the SCI (configuration) includes an sidelink positioning control information (SPCI) which describes the “…1.sup.st-stage sidelink control information (SCI) of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) and/or a 2.sup.nd-stage SCI resource of a PSSCH. In this case, the SPCI may mainly include at least one of PSFCH configuration information for PRS transmission, various pieces of measurement information related to positioning, PSFCH-PRS resource information for PRS transmission, or PRS ID reservation information.” (Baek: [0189]). Therefore, Baek discloses “decoding at least one field of the plurality of fields based on a first higher layer parameter to determine sidelink-position reference signal (SL-PRS) information”.
Examiner respectfully maintains the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-14, 16, 17, 19-24, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2023/0062805 A1 to Baek et al. (hereinafter “Baek”).
Regarding Claim 1, Baek discloses a method of wireless communication comprising:
receiving first sidelink control information (SCI) (Baek: [0137-0141] – corresponds to a first user equipment (UE) transmitting an SCI to a second UE for reception…), the first SCI including a plurality of fields (Baek: [0139-0155] – the first (and/or second) SCI comprises a plurality of fields.); and
decoding at least one field of the plurality of fields based on a first higher layer parameter to determine sidelink-position reference signal (SL-PRS) information (Baek: [0188-0191] – the SCI includes information for PRS including resources that are allocated (a configuration, or higher-layer parameter).).
Regarding Claim 2, Baek discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the first SCI includes a first stage control SCI (SCI-1) received on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (Baek: [0140] – the SCI may be two stage SCI (first and second stages) decoded/received on PSCCH. See also [0024].); and
the first higher layer parameter includes a SL-PRS configuration (Baek: [0188-0191] – the SCI includes information for PRS including resources that are allocated (a configuration, or higher-layer parameter).).
Regarding Claim 4, Baek discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one field includes a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) pattern field (Baek: [0133] – accurate DMRS field indicated in SCI.), a second stage sidelink control information format field (Baek: [0138] – SCI includes formatting information, and along with [0140], the first and second stage information transmitted/received per a configuration.), a beta offset indicator field (alternative or dispositive limitation), a number of DMRS port field (Baek: [0154] – DMRS includes port index information.), a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field (Baek: [0141-0156] – SCI includes MCS information.), an MCS table indicator field (alternative or dispositive limitation), a PSFCH overhead indication field (alternative or dispositive limitation), a reserved field (Baek: [0142], [0217-0224] – corresponds to reservation information in the SCI.), or a combination thereof (Baek: [0141-0156] – SCI includes a plurality of fields.).
Regarding Claim 5, Baek discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the SL-PRS information includes:
SL-PRS scheduling information (alternative or dispositive limitation);
a sidelink position reference signal configuration (Baek: [0185-0191] – corresponds to a set of resources for PRS.); or
positioning type session information that indicates positioning type session information, the positioning type session information indicates roundtrip time (RTT) (Baek: [0226-0237] – corresponds to PRS (request/respond exchange) including RTT information.), time difference of arrival (TDOA) (alternative or dispositive limitation), angle of arrival (AoA) (Baek: [0226-0237] – corresponds to PRS (request/respond exchange) including AoA information.), angle of departure (AoD) (alternative or dispositive limitation), source device operation information (Baek: [0226-0237] – corresponds to PRS (request/respond exchange) including time to process information at a sending UE.), destination operation information (Baek: [0226-0237] – corresponds to PRS (request/respond exchange) including time to process information at a receiving UE.), or a combination thereof (Baek: [0226-0237] – each of the above may be included in the PRS for sidelink communication information.).
Regarding Claim 6, Baek discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a second SCI associated with the first SCI (Baek: [0140] – the SCI may be two stage SCI (first and second stages) decoded/received on PSCCH. See also [0024]. That is, the second SCI (second stage SCI) is based on/part of first SCI (first stage SCI).); and
wherein the second SCI includes a second stage control SCI (SCI-2) (Baek: [0140] – the SCI may be two stage SCI (first and second stages) decoded/received on PSCCH. See also [0024]. That is, the second SCI (second stage SCI) is based on/part of first SCI (first stage SCI).); and
wherein the second SCI includes a plurality of blocks, each block of the plurality of blocks including one or more fields (Baek: [0140] – second (stage) SCI includes second configuration information, thus a plurality of fields, or configuration field group.).
Regarding Claim 7, Baek discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising:
decoding a first block of the plurality of blocks based on a second higher layer parameter (Baek: [0140] – the SCI may be two stage SCI (first and second stages) decoded/received on PSCCH; see also [0156] – the first and second SCI (first and second stages) may include all or some of the information listed in [0140-0156]; [0188-0191] – the SCI includes information for PRS including resources that are allocated (a configuration, or higher-layer parameter). See also [0024].); and
wherein the second higher layer parameter indicates a starting bit of a block of the plurality of blocks for a user equipment (UE) (Baek: [0138], [0156] – the SCI (which includes the first and second stage SCI) includes a starting of the resources (PSCCH which corresponds to “a plurality of blocks).), and wherein the second higher layer parameter is associated with a source ID of a device that transmitted the second SCI (Baek: [0141], [0147] – SCI includes source ID information.), a positioning session ID (PositioningSessionID) (alternative or dispositive limitation), or a combination thereof.
Regarding Claim 8, Baek discloses the method of claim 6, wherein:
a first block of the plurality of blocks includes a source ID field, the source ID field is applicable to each block of the plurality of blocks (Baek: [0140] – second (stage) SCI includes second configuration information, thus a plurality of fields, or configuration field group. See also [0141], [0147] – SCI includes source ID information.); and
each block of the plurality of blocks other than the first block includes a positioning type session field, a destination ID field (Baek: [0140], [0147], [0156] – corresponds to a destination ID in the SCI.), a PRS trigger bitfield field (alternative or dispositive limitation), or a combination thereof (Baek: [0141-0156] – SCI includes a plurality of fields.).
Regarding Claim 9, Baek discloses the method of claim 6, wherein:
a first block of the plurality of blocks includes a source ID field (Baek: [0141], [0147] – SCI includes source ID information.) and a positioning type session field (Baek: [0226-0237] – corresponds to PRS (request/respond exchange) including AoA information.), the source ID field and the positioning type session field are applicable to each block of the plurality of blocks (Baek: [0140] – the SCI may be two stage SCI (first and second stages) decoded/received on PSCCH; see also [0156] – the first and second SCI (first and second stages) may include all or some of the information listed in [0140-0156]; [0188-0191] – the SCI includes information for PRS including resources that are allocated (a configuration, or higher-layer parameter). See also [0024].); and
each block of the plurality of blocks other than the first block includes a destination ID field (Baek: [0140], [0147], [0156] – corresponds to a destination ID in the SCI.), a PRS trigger bitfield field (alternative or dispositive limitation), or a combination thereof (Baek: [0141-0156] – SCI includes a plurality of fields.).
Claims 11-14, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claims 1 and 6-9, recite similar features as claims 1 and 6-9, respectively, and are therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claims 1 and 6-9. Please see above rejections of claims 1 and 6-9. Baek discloses the apparatus as user equipment comprising a memory storing code and a processor in Figure 20 with [0066] and [0291-0294].
Regarding Claim 16, Baek discloses a method of wireless communication comprising:
generating first sidelink control information (SCI) (Baek: [0123], [0137-0141] – corresponds to a first user equipment (UE) transmitting (generate) an SCI to a second UE for reception…), the first SCI including a plurality of fields (Baek: [0139-0155] – the first (and/or second) SCI comprises a plurality of fields.), at least one field of the plurality of fields encoded to indicate sidelink-position reference signal (SL-PRS) information (Baek: [0188-0191] – the SCI includes information for PRS including resources that are allocated (a configuration, or higher-layer parameter).); and
transmitting the first SCI (Baek: [0137-0141] – corresponds to a first user equipment (UE) transmitting an SCI to a second UE for reception…).
Claims 17 and 19-24, dependent upon claim 16, recite similar features as claims 2 and 4-9, respectively, and are therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claims 2 and 4-9. Please see above rejections of claims 2 and 4-9.
Claims 26-29, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claims 17 and 19-24, recite similar features as claims 17 and 19-24 and are therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claims 17 and 19-24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek in view of Applicant’s admitted prior art (published application 2025/0048393 A1, hereinafter “AAPA”). Examiner notes the non-patent literature to which Applicant refers 3GPP TS 38.214, V16.5.0, R16, April 2024 is attached (see PTO-892 form).
Regarding Claim 3, Baek discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one field includes a reserved field (Baek: [0142], [0217-0224] – corresponds to reservation information in the SCI.), wherein resources for physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) may be further included in sidelink control information (Baek: [0185-0190]), but Baek does not explicitly disclose a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) overhead indication field.
However, as described by AAPA, this field is already known to in the art. AAPA discloses in [0085] “The PSFCH overhead indication information of SCI format 1-A may include 1 bit if higher layer parameter sl-PSFCH-Period=2 or 4; 0 bit otherwise. The bits of the PSFCH overhead indication information may be specified as defined at least with reference to clause 8.1.3.2 Transport block size determination of 3GPP TS 38.214 version 16.5.0 Release 16.”
Applicant’s admitted prior art discloses “overhead” bit fields in sidelink control information (SCI) corresponding to transport block indication size, and therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include fields in SCI for sidelink control, in combination with the fields disclosed in Baek, for the purpose of effectively signaling sidelink positioning reference information without reliance on a base station, thereby improving overall system efficiency (AAPA: [0036]).
Claim 18, dependent upon claim 16, recites similar features as claim 3 and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 3. Please see above rejection of claim 3.
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 10, 15, 25, and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
13. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BENJAMIN H. ELLIOTT IV
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 September 4, 2026