DETAILED ACTION
The instant first office action is in response to communication filed on 07/30/2026.
Claims 7-11 are pending of which claims 7 and 11 are the base independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 7-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Further, the amended limitations are in fact taught by the previously cited prior art. For a detailed explanation on how the prior art reads on the claims as amended, please see the rejection below.
Claim Objections
12. Claim 7 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 7, it is recited “a relay configured…” in line 8 and “wireless relay device” in line 1. It appears that something is missing in line 8 since the claimed invention is directed to the “wireless relay device” in the preamble.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kusashima et al (US 2024/0022315).
Regarding claims 7 and 11, Kusashima’315 discloses a wireless relay device(fig.5, which shows wireless relay device, see fig.17, which shows repeater device as relay device, see para.0078-0079, see para.0180, which discusses the repeater device 30 is a device that serves as a relay station for the base station. The repeater device 30 is, for example, a smart repeater. The repeater device 30 is a layer 1 relay that further enables control at a Physical Layer (PHY) level relative to the conventional layer 1 relay, see para.0213, see at least fig. 8, 12-13) comprising:
a receiver configured to receive(see fig.17, which shows reception unit 331 configured to receive, see para.0221, which discusses the reception unit 331 of the repeater device 30 receives the beam setting information from the base station 20) configuration information of a radio resource control (RRC) layer (see at least fig.7 & 11, which shows RRC layer, see para.0420, which discusses the base station 20 sets beam pattern information for the repeater device 30 by the RRC signaling (System Information Block (SIB) or dedicated RRC signaling), MAC CE, and/or DCI) used for configuring identification information for identifying wireless relay device control information(see fig.21, which shows DCI for smarter repeater & see para.0216, shows and discusses the repeater device 30 acquires, from the received PDCCH, the beam setting information as configuration included in the DCI for the smart repeater, see para.0215, which discusses the DCI is a physical control signal and includes beam information for the access link. As described above, the beam information includes at least the beam setting information, see at least fig.22, 34-35, see para.0174, which discusses the gNB-CU hosts a plurality of upper layers (e.g., RRC, SDAP, and PDCP) of Access Stratum, for communication with UE ); and
a processor(see fig.17 & para.0187, which discusses the control unit 33 is implemented by a processor such as CPU or MPU) configured to perform a control(see fig.17, which shows communication control unit 333 configured to, see para.0222) based on the control information by identifying the wireless relay device control information(see fig.21, DCI for smart repeater) by using the identification information(see para.0222, which discusses the communication control unit 333 of the repeater device 30 controls the beam for the downstream access link on the basis of this setting, see para.0215, which discusses the repeater device 30 decodes the PDCCH received from the base station 20 to acquire the beam setting information, and controls an access link beam, on the basis of the beam setting information, see para.0218, which discusses the repeater device 30 performs dynamic beam control for downstream access link or upstream access link, on the basis of the beam setting information),
a relay configured to receive a downlink signal from a base station and transmit the downlink signal to a terminal(see fig.17, which shows repeater/relay deice configured with wireless communication unit 31 including reception processing unit 312 and transmission processing unit 311, see para.0185, which discusses the wireless communication unit 31 is a wireless communication interface for wireless communication with other wireless communication devices (e.g., base station 20, terminal device 40, and another repeater device 30), see fig.3, which shows repeater/relay receive downlink signal from base station and transmit the downlink signal to the mobile station, see at least fig.22, s103 & see para.0223, see also fig.23, S203), and receive an uplink signal from the terminal and transmit the uplink signal to the base station(see fig.17, which shows repeater/relay deice configured with wireless communication unit 31 including reception processing unit 312 and 2 and transmission processing unit 311, see para.0185, which discusses the wireless communication unit 31 is a wireless communication interface for wireless communication with other wireless communication devices (e.g., base station 20, terminal device 40, and another repeater device 30), see at least fig.22, s104 & see para.0224, see fig.23, S204 & see para.0230, which discusses the terminal device 40 transmits PUSCH to the repeater device 30 by using a resource indicated by the uplink grant. The repeater device 30 transfers the PUSCH from the terminal device 40 to the base station 20. (Step S204)),
wherein the processor (see fig.17 & para.0187, which discusses the control unit 33 is implemented by a processor such as CPU or MPU) determines a field included in the identified control information(see para.0264, which discusses beam information addressed to a plurality of smart repeaters is included in one DCI…control information about a beam for a smart repeater #1 is inserted into a predetermined field at the head, and then, the beam setting information for each smart repeater (repeater device 30) corresponding to each field is sequentially inserted, thus determine field includes in the DCI control information, see fig.26-27), based on the identification information(see fig.21 & see para.0216, which discusses the base station 20 transmits the DCI for the smart repeater, added to PDCCH, to the repeater device 30, see para.0215, which discusses the DCI is a physical control signal and includes beam information for the access link. As described above, the beam information includes at least the beam setting information), wherein the wireless relay device includes a User Equipment (UE) function (see para.0150, which discusses the base station 20 may be a donor station or a relay station. Furthermore, the base station 20 may be a fixed station or a mobile station. The mobile station is a wireless communication device (e.g., base station) configured to be movable. At this time, the base station 20 may be a device installed at a mobile object or the mobile object itself. For example, a relay station having Mobility can be regarded as the base station 20 as the mobile station. In addition, a device, such as a vehicle, Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV) represented by a drone, or smartphone, that originally has Mobility and that has a function of the base station (at least part of the function of the base station) corresponds to the base station 20 as the mobile station, as well, see also para.0181-0183,… the relay station of the present embodiment does not limit a device to which the relay station is mounted, as long as a relay function is satisfied. For example, the relay station may be mounted to a terminal device such as a smartphone, may be mounted on an automobile, train, or human-powered vehicle, may be mounted on a balloon, airplane, or drone, or may be mounted to a home appliance such as a TV set, game machine, air conditioner, refrigerator, or light device… , thus includes a User Equipment (UE)/mobile function ), and wherein the receiver and the processor are included in the UE function(see fig.18, which shows wireless communication unit 41 of terminal device includes reception processing unit 412 as receiver & see para.0198, which discusses the control unit 43 is implemented by a processor such as CPU or MPU).
Regarding claim 8, Kusashima’315 discloses wherein the wireless relay device is a network controlled repeater(see para.0180, which discusses the repeater device 30 is a device that serves as a relay station for the base station, thus repeater is network controller repeater since it is relay/repeater station for the base station).
Regarding claim 9, Kusashima’315 discloses wherein the processor determines(see fig.17, which shows communication control unit 333) that the identified wireless relay device control information is information related to a control between the base station and the wireless relay device(see para.0273, which discusses the DCI dedicated to the smart repeater is used for a link (fronthaul link) between the base station 20 and the repeater device 30, see fig.21, see para.0215, which discusses The DCI is a physical control signa), based on the identification information (see fig.21 & see para.0216, which discusses the base station 20 transmits the DCI for the smart repeater, added to PDCCH, to the repeater device 30, see para.0215, which discusses the DCI is a physical control signal and includes beam information for the access link. As described above, the beam information includes at least the beam setting information).
Regarding claim 10, Kusashima’315 discloses wherein
the processor determines(see fig.17, which shows communication control unit 333) information regarding a time resource(see para.0248, which discusses the beam setting information for slot #1 is inserted into a predetermined field at the head, and then, the beam setting information for each smart repeater (repeater device 30) corresponding to each field is sequentially inserted, see fig.26-26, thus determine slot as time resource) and a directional beam(see para.0267, which discusses the beam setting information for access link of the repeater device 30 may include a beam for the downlink and a beam for the uplink. Depending on a direction indicated by the SFI, the beam setting information for the upstream access link or downstream access link with the smart repeater may be applied, see para.0058, which discusses the multi-beam operation method is a method in which predetermined cell coverage is operated using one or more beams (e.g., directional beam), see at least fig.21, which shows repeater determine directional beam, thus beam directional dm), based on the identification information (see fig.21 & see para.0216, which discusses the base station 20 transmits the DCI for the smart repeater, added to PDCCH, to the repeater device 30, see para.0215, which discusses the DCI is a physical control signal and includes beam information for the access link. As described above, the beam information includes at least the beam setting information).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Following prior arts are related to the present claimed invention:
Chen et al (US 20190029017 A1) teaches, see fig.1, RELAY UE 13 for relaying signal from base station 11 to UE 12 and vice versa.
Lin et al (US 2011/0164536) teaches, see fig.3-17, see para.0016, a relay station to receive control information from a base station, wherein the base station transmits control information that indicates resource allocation for user equipment based on a first number of control channel elements (CCEs), the method comprising: receiving from the base station control information that indicates resource allocation for the relay station.
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/VINNCELAS LOUIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474