DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Amendments filed 07/30/2026 are entered.
Claims 1 and 2 are amended.
Claim 9 is cancelled.
Claims 1-8, and 10 are rejected.
Response to Amendment
Withdrawn Rejection/Objections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
The previous rejections of claims 1-10 under 35 USC § 112(b) are withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Applicant amends parent claim 1 and claim 2 as suggested in the previous Office Action, which also resolves the inherited indefiniteness for the dependent claims of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
The previous rejections of claims 9 under 35 USC § 112(d) are withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Applicant deletes claim 9, obviating the rejection.
Maintained Rejection/Objections
The rejection of claims 1-8 and 10 under 35 USC § 103 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (Yang et al, Diphtheria Toxin–Epidermal Growth Factor Fusion Protein DAB389EGF for the Treatment of Bladder Cancer, Clin Cancer Research; published 01/01/2013) in view of view of Buzzi et al (Buzzi et al, CRM197 (nontoxic diphtheria toxin): effects on advanced cancer patients, Cancer Immunol Immunother; published 05/28/2004), Oganesyan et al (Oganesyan et al, US2016/0333057A1; published 11/17/2016), Relyveld et al 1983 (Relyveld et al, Preparation of vaccines by the action of glutaraldehyde on toxins, bacteria, viruses, allergens, and cells, Methods in Enzymology; published 1983), and Emini et al (Emini et al, US 2015/0202309 Al; published 07/23/2015), as evidenced by Tagliamento et al (Tagliomento et al, CIMAvax-EGF, a therapeutic non-small cell lung cancer vaccine, Expert Opinion on Biological Therapy; published 2018) and Migneault et al (Migneault et al, Glutaraldehyde: Behavior in Aqueous Solution, Reaction with Proteins, and Application to Enzyme Crosslinking, BioTechniques; published 2004).
(A) Arriving at the instantly claimed conjugate components, crosslinker, and buffer:
Regarding claim 1, Yang et al teaches a diphtheria toxin (DAB389)-human EGF fusion protein, which is inherently a recombinant protein, for treatment of a cancer (Abstract). Yang et al teaches targeted toxins are fusion proteins combining a targeting (ligand, e.g. EGF) and effector (toxin, DAB389) component to selectively kill cells with specific cell membrane features (e.g. EGF) (p. 148, Introduction, column 2, paragraph 2). Yang et al further teaches that DAB389-EGF in PBS, with 0% monosaccharide or disaccharide, in mice models (p. 151, section: In vivo treatment) exhibited immunogenic and antitumoral activity, and showed no nonspecific systemic toxicity by intravesical administration (Abstract). However, it did induce systemic toxicity by other administration route (p. 155, col. 1, para. 1).
Yang et al does not explicitly teach that the fusion protein is a tumor therapeutic vaccine.
However, Tagliamento et al expands on the roles of each component of the fusion protein and the role of targeted toxins as cancer vaccines; therefore, it is evident that tat the targeted toxin fusion protein described by Yang is a tumor vaccine. Tagliamento et al teaches a therapeutic vaccine for cancer that was safe and immunogenic (Abstract) comprising of recombinant human epidermal growth factor conjugated to a recombinant carrier toxin protein derived from bacteria (not diphtheria), and emulsified in an adjuvant (section 3. Chemistry and pharmacodynamics, para 1). Tagliamento et al further teaches the carrier protein and adjuvant are used to induce immunogenicity against EGF, thereby stimulating the host’s immune system to produce anti-EGF antibodies. The anti-EGF antibodies bind autologous EGF to prevent activation of EGF receptors, which results in loss of signaling pathways pivotal for tumor growth. In this way, the vaccine exerts antitumoral activity (p. 829, section: Chemistry and pharmacodynamics).
Yang et al, as evidenced by Tagliamento et al, does not explicitly teach that the effector component can be CRM197, that it is conjugated with the hEGF via glutaraldehyde crosslinking, and the other components of the vaccine formulation.
However, Buzzi et al teaches CRM197 as a nontoxic mutant of diphtheria toxin that is immunologically indistinguishable from the native molecule (Abstract) and exerts antitumor activity in mice and humans (p. 1041, section: Introduction, para. 2). Buzzi et al teaches that because of this strong immunogenicity and lack of any toxicity, CRM197 is widely used as a carrier protein in conjugated vaccines to make immunogenic some hapten (p. 1047, col 2, para 3). CRM197 also retains the native molecule’s ability to bind heparin-binding epidermal growth factor (HB-EGF), which is often overexpressed in cancer (Abstract and p. 1041 Introduction, para 1), adding another mechanism of antitumor activity.
Buzzi et al further teaches CRM197 used for treatment diluted into sterilized phosphate buffer (PB) (10-mM sodium phosphate buffer, pH 7.2) and sucrose, which is a monosaccharide or disaccharide, as a stabilizer (p. 1042, section: CRM197 and treatment, para 1). As the pH of the buffer is lower than the highest claimed pH but within the claimed concentration, the conductivity is inherently lower than the claimed value. As evident by Oganeysan et al, CRM197 is soluble in phosphate buffered saline (PBS, pH 7.5) and other similar buffers even at 5 mg/ml or greater.
Yang et al, as evidenced by Tagliamento et al, and further in view of Buzzi et al and Oganeysan et al, do not explicitly teach conjugation by glutaraldehyde crosslinking and the other components of the tumor therapeutic vaccine formulation.
However, Relyveld et al teaches glutaraldehyde (GA) as an effective crosslinking reagent for proteins (p. 24, para 3) and has been used to make vaccines and immunogenic preparations from bacterial toxins (p. 25, para 1). Glutaraldehyde has the added function of detoxifying toxins (p. 24, para. 1) while still retaining its antigenicity (e.g. p. 27, para. 2), and Relyveld et al specifically teaches this for diphtheria toxin (p. 25, section: Diphtheria Toxin).
As evidenced by Migneault et al, glutaraldehyde could specifically work to crosslink diphtheria toxin to other proteins. Glutaraldehyde possesses unique properties that render it one of the most effective widely used crosslinking agent for proteins as it can function in a wide range of conditions (Abstract and p. 790, Introduction, para 1) and with several functional groups present on all proteins (p. 793, col. 2, para. 2). Migneault et al further teaches critical parameters in crosslinking procedures using glutaraldehyde are the choice of enzyme-glutaraldehyde ratio and their final concentration, and that these conditions are mostly developed empirically (Abstract).
As such, it is evident that the crosslinking molar ratio is a result-effective variable dictated by the proteins being crosslinked and would be optimized by one skilled in the art. One skilled in the art would know how to vary the crosslinking molar ratio to achieve a final molar ratio in the resultant conjugate. As the amino acid sequence of CRM197 is over 10 times as long as hEGF, it is reasonable that there can be multiple hEGF conjugated per CRM197 molecule.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to arrive at the instant hEGF-CRM197 conjugate structure, conjugated by glutaraldehyde. One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would be motivated to substitute the original immunogenic carrier protein with CRM197 because, in addition to being a completely nontoxic, which is an advantage over the substituted carrier protein, it also has secondary anti-tumor effects by its ability to tie up free HB-EGF. One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would be motivated to conjugate the components using glutaraldehyde for its many advantages in protein bioconjugation, and its additional benefit of detoxifying proteins. One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have reasonable expectation of success of the CRM197 substitution and conjugation and its immunogenic utility since another diphtheria toxin variant has already been conjugated to EGF as a cancer vaccine, since the diphtheria toxin variant CRM197 is known in the art to be a widely used nontoxic carrier protein in conjugated vaccines, and since glutaraldehyde crosslinking as is a safe and versatile method of bioconjugating proteins.
Specifically regarding the pH of the formulation, one skilled in the art could recognize that the pH of a protein-based vaccine formulation affects the stability of the proteins and the optimal pH depends on the specific proteins, and is therefore a result-effective variable that one skilled in the art would optimize. Especially since Buzzi et al already teaches CRM197 in a pH 7.2 PB buffer and Yang et al already teaches a diphtheria toxin-hEGF conjugate in PBS, Oganeysan et al teaches CRM197 is soluble in phosphate buffered saline (PBS, pH 7.5) and other similar buffers even at 5 mg/ml or greater, and the vaccine has to be injected into living organisms, it is obvious that CRM197 and hEGF are both active in a range of pH near neutral, and a near neutral pH tolerable by the subject must be chosen.
This arrives at the instantly claimed conjugate in the instantly claimed buffer limitations.
(B) Arriving at the other instantly claimed formulation components:
The references, thus far, do not explicitly teach the monosaccharide or disaccharide in the formulation is specifically at 0-4% and the other components of the tumor therapeutic vaccine formulation.
However, Emini et al teaches compositions comprising of conjugates between CRM197 (e.g. Figure 8, para 56, and para 829) and antigens (Abstract).
Emini et al teaches the final bulk conjugate formulation was diluted to a final concentration of 0.5 mg/ml (para 841).
Emini et al teaches the formulation containing CRM197 does not need to contain a monosaccharide or disaccharide, meeting the limitation of 0% monosaccharide or disaccharide.
Emini et al teaches their conjugate vaccines contain 0.02% polysorbate-80 (e.g. para 864). However, Emini et al lists polysorbate-20 as a potential surfactant to choose from (para 584).
Emini et al does not explicitly teach the polysorbate is specifically polysorbate-20.
Regarding the choice of polysorbate, Emini et al teaches the alternative polysorbates used as a surfactant in their immunogenic compositions (para. 584) and one skilled in the art would understand that the choice of surfactant depends on the stability it confers to the specific protein composition. Therefore, the choice of surfactant is a result-effective variable.
One skilled in the art would optimize to stabilize the particular protein, and especially in light of Emini et al already teaching the use of a polysorbate for CRM197 conjugates, it would be obvious for one skilled in the art to try from the limited list of polysorbates taught by Emini et al. One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, would be motivated to choose the pH and surfactant that confers the best stability for their particular protein of interest and to start with similar pH’s and surfactants used in similar conjugates formulations. One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, would have reasonable expectation of success because these optimization are informed and narrowed down by the rationales discussed above.
Finally, although the formulations above are not taught for the instantly claimed conjugate, they are taught for formulations that comprise of components of the instant conjugate. Therefore, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, that these formulations would reasonably likely be compatible with the conjugate, and one would be motivated to start with these components and optimize result-effective variables, such as the concentrations, from there.
The teachings of the references regarding claim 1 are incorporated for its child claims and further discussed below.
Regarding claim 2, Migneault et al further teaches glutaraldehyde crosslinking creates covalent bonds (p. 798, col. 3).
Regarding claim 3, the hEGF in the references has already been taught to be the EGF molecule, and therefore inherently has the claimed EGF biological activity. Specifically, the hEGF in the fusion protein of both Yang et al and Tagliamento et al show interaction with cells with EGF-Receptors (Abstracts).
Regarding claim 5, the CRM197 diphtheria toxin mutant has been taught by the previous references by name but without explicit sequence disclosure. Oganesyan et al teaches the CRM197 is the name of the diphtheria toxin mutant with the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 (para 53), which matches 100% with the amino acid of instant SEQ ID NO: 2. Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, that the references that taught CRM197 by name inherently refers to the instantly claimed amino acid sequence.
Regarding claim 6, in light of Buzzi et al teaching CRM197 in 10% sucrose as a stabilizer, Emini teaching formulations of conjugates comprising of CRM197 do not require sucrose but can be cryoprotected with 5% sucrose (para 666). It is apparent that the sucrose concentration is a result-effective variable that changes with the specific protein being stabilized and the conditions in which it will be stored. Therefore, one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application would understand that the sucrose concentration can be empirically optimized for the particular protein of interest.
Regarding claim 7, Buzzi et al (Abstract) and Emini et al (para. 577) further teaches their vaccines are injections.
Regarding claim 8, Emini et al teaches a method for preparing their conjugate vaccines, comprising of the steps of: providing the purified recombinant components, reacting with a chemical crosslinking agent, thereby obtaining the conjugate, purifying the conjugate, buffer exchanging the purified conjugate with a protein stabilizer formulation, arriving at the final tumor vaccine formulation (p. 61-62, para 826-841). The rationale for arriving at the specific claimed components of this method is taught previously in the teachings for claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Yang et al, Tagliamento et al, and Buzzi et al, which together teach the instant conjugate, all teach the method of treating and/or preventing a tumor or cancer by administering the vaccine formulation to a subject in need thereof (see each Title and Abstract).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al, in view of view of Buzzi et al, Oganesyan et al, Relyveld et al 1983, and Emini et al, as evidenced by Tagliamento et al and Migneault et al, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Calnan et al (Calnan et al, Potency and stability of C terminal truncated human epidermal growth factor, Gut; published 06/01/2000) and Sindrey et al (Sindrey et al, US5290920A, published 03/01/1994).
Calnan et al teaches hEGF is normally present as EGF1-53, but variants EGF1-51 and EGF1-52 are as biologically active as the full length EGF1-53 and are used in the first commercially available EGF product in a 60:40 mixture of EGF1-51:EGF1-52.
Calnan et al does not explicitly teach the amino acid sequence for hEGF or its variants.
Sindrey et al teaches that the sequence for hEGF is SEQ ID NO: 1, with 53 amino acids. The first 51 amino acids, corresponding to variant EGF1-51, match 100% with instant SEQ ID NO: 3. Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, that the references that taught human EGF1-51 by name inherently refers to the instantly claimed amino acid sequence. One skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would be motivated to choose this variant and have reasonable expectation of success because it has been shown to have the same activity as the full-length EGF even though it is slightly shorter, which could contribute to more cost-effective production.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant argues that the hEGF-CRM197 conjugate prepared by glutaraldehyde crosslinking would not have been derived from teachings of the prior art.
First, Applicant argues there are several crosslinking agents known in the field, including glutaraldehyde. Applicant further presents data that that the crosslinking molar ratio from crosslinking with glutaraldehyde was significantly higher than crosslinking with EDC or SMCC, and that result is a surprising technical effect and would not be anticipated by the art (Table S1 and Figure S1 of Remarks).
In response to the argument regarding choosing glutaraldehyde crosslinking:
(a) The rationale for selecting glutaraldehyde for its advantages is provided in the previously presented 35 USC § 103 rejection. One would be motivated to crosslink using glutaraldehyde for its effectiveness in protein bioconjugation, leading to less reagent waste, and its additional benefit of detoxifying proteins. Furthermore, the ability to effectively crosslink polypeptides enables modularity and control over the molar ratio of the two polypeptides and circumvents the burden of expressing a recombinant fusion polypeptides.
(b) The relative crosslinking efficiency is not unexpected because glutaraldehyde is has a high crosslinking efficiency and function optimally in the conditions used in the claimed crosslinking reaction (Migneault, Abstract and Chiu Lab, Conventional Cross-linking Using Glutaraldehyde | Protein cross-linking with glutaraldehyde, Procedures). For example, in some crosslinking reactions, glutaraldehyde achieves up to 99% crosslinking efficiency (Sainik et al, Fast and energy efficient crosslinking of PVA to make water resistant coating using glutaraldehyde: International Journal of Polymer Analysis and Characterization: Vol 30 , No 7, Abstract), so a 6:1 crosslinking molar ratio from a 10:1 starting molar ratio is within reasonable expectation. Further, the data presented in Table S1 and Figure S1 lack explicit explanation of the crosslinking conditions. If it is assumed that all the conditions were the same except for the crosslinking agent, as is implied, then the results are expected because the optimal conditions for EDC-based and SMCC-based crosslinking is different from conditions for glutaraldehyde-based crosslinking and they crosslink different functional groups. For example, conditions of pH >7.5 leads to hydrolysis of the reactive group of SMCC (e.g. ThermoFisher, SMCC and Sulfo-SMCC User Guide (Pub.No. MAN0011295 C.0), paragraph 1) while glutaraldehyde works optimally at pH 7.5-8.5 (Chiu Lab, Procedures).
Second, Applicant argues that the claimed recombinant hEGF-CRM197 conjugate is nonobvious over other conjugate combinations, as it induces higher titers of neutralizing antibodies than a rhEGF-P64k conjugate, as in Figure 9 of the Specification.
In response to the argument regarding the combination of polypeptides in the conjugate: (a) The rationale for using CRM197 in a conjugate with EGF is provided in the previous Office Action.
(b) Although the Applicant may provide another reason for substituting CRM197 in for another immunogenic carrier protein, it does not invalidate the rationale to substitute CRM197 in for a different immunogenic carrier protein provided in the rejection. In other words, the fact that Applicant uses a different rationale to substitute in CRM197 does not alter the conclusion that the proposed modification from a different base conjugate provided in the rejection would be prima facie obvious for the reasons discussed in the rejection. In re Lintner, 173 USPQ 560.
If the prior art as a whole teaches some suggestion to combine the elements, such as using CRM197 for its nontoxic properties, it is not required that these elements be combined for the same motivation as the Applicant's stated motivation of higher antibody titers (see MPEP 2141.02).
(c) In response to the argument that the invention obtains results not contemplated by the prior art, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Furthermore, this feature is not required by the claim. The fact that higher antibody titers are induced by the claimed recombinant hEGF-CRM197 conjugate compared to a rhEGF-P64k conjugate and the provided art does not explicitly anticipate this result also does not alter the conclusion of the rejection that provides another reason for combining the elements to arrive at the conjugate.
Applicant argues that the vaccine formulation is not obvious from general biomacromolecule drug formulations as the formulation is specific for the recombinant hEGF-CRM197 conjugate, requiring considering conditions suitable for the hEGF, the CRM197, and the glutaraldehyde crosslinker.
Applicant points to specific data in the Specification to support the choice of each formulation component over others they tested, arguing they found optimal conditions for stabilizing the conjugate at particular conditions, and that all the results regarding these formulation components are unexpected.
In response to Applicant’s argument regarding the vaccine formulation, each limitation presented in the argument is obvious from the prior art for the specific glutaraldehyde-crosslinked recombinant hEGF-CRM197 conjugate, not just for a general biomacromolecule drug. A link between these conditions and the conjugate was provided in the previously presented rejection. Further, in response to the argument of unexpected results with these conditions:
The pH range and the fact that it cannot contain any free amino acids is well known in the prior art in standard protocols. Glutaraldehyde is known to work in neutral and slightly alkaline conditions, optimally within pH 7.5-8.5. Further, glutaraldehyde functions by reacting with amines so buffers containing other amines are warned against in the art and are used as quenching buffers, hence why Tris buffers are avoided (Chui Lab, Procedures).
The conductivity is also expected from the prior art. The conductivity is a property of the buffer composition concentration and pH. The instant Specification teaches 20 mM PBS, pH 8 helps to maintain less than 3 mS/cm (p. 17, lines 4-5). The art teaches 1X PBS, which is 10 mM, so it would be expected to have a comparable conductivity (Chui Lab, Procedures).
Polysorbate 20 is also known in the art to have a higher heat tolerance than Polysorbate 80 by way of its higher cloud point (e.g. Kerwin et al, Polysorbates 20 and 80 used in the formulation of protein biotherapeutics: Structure and degradation pathways, published 2007; Figure 3) and therefore would be expected to confer better stability under high heat than Polysorbate 80. Therefore, the results are not unexpected for one skilled in the art with the goal of optimizing for this type of stability.
Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton, and in many cases will be able to fit teachings of multiple references together like pieces of a puzzle (See MPEP § 2141.03). The test for obviousness is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art." In the instant case, Emini provides motivation to choose a surfactant that works best for conjugate of interest for the condition of interest and it would be routine for one skilled in the art of biomacromolecule vaccine formulation to substitute PS-20 if high heat stability was desired and start at a concentration already provided in the art for a similar conjugate comprising at least one of composite protein, and if necessary, screen for concentrations from there. In this case, the concentration taught in the reference already meets the claim limitations.
In summary, after arriving at the conjugate, the prior art reference already teaches a formulation that meets the claim limitations for this particular conjugate, except for Polysorbate 20 instead of Polysorbate 80. However, an explanation for selecting Polysorbate 20 is provided. Furthermore, this formulation is compatible with standard glutaraldehyde crosslinking known in the art, so for the reasons providing for combining with glutaraldehyde, it would make sense to also retain this formulation. For all the reasons provided above, the formulation and the results are expected.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BONIRATH CHHAY/Examiner, Art Unit 1645
/BAO-THUY L NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1677 October 20, 2026