Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-7, and 9-20 are pending in the application. Claim 8 has been cancelled. Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are rejected.
The 112 rejection has been withdrawn in view of the present response.
The rejections over Takesada in view of Bae; and further in view of Dai have been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0363343 to Takesada et al. (hereinafter “Takesada”) in view of US 2017/0121457 to Bae et al. (hereinafter “Bae”).
As to claims 1, 2 and 14, Takesada discloses a polyvinyl chloride composition for powder molding comprising 100 parts by mass of a polyvinyl chloride, 120-200 parts by mass of a polyester-based plasticizer and 4-23 parts by mass of an acrylic polymer (abstract). The polyvinyl chloride composition comprises a fatty acid ester-based plasticizer in amount of 80 parts by mass or less with respect to 100 parts by mass of the polyvinyl chloride resin (paragraph 28).
Takesada does not explicitly disclose the plasticizer material further including a phenol represented by formula (I) and/or a modified product thereof.
Bae, however, discloses a polymeric plasticizer composition comprising a polyester plasticizer and a hydrophobe (abstract, and paragraph 133). The polyester plasticizer is made from an aromatic acid, a glycol and a C4-C36 monocarboxylic acid or ester or anhydride thereof (abstract). The aromatic acid is an aromatic acid comprising an adipic acid (paragraph 46). The hydrophobe comprises a fatty acid ester, a modified cashew nut shell liquid (CNSL), cardanol, derivatives of cardanol or any combinations thereof (paragraphs 134 and 137). The hydrophobe reads on the claimed phenol represented by formula (I) and a modified product thereof.
As shown in paragraph 125 of Applicant’s published application, Cardanol’s R1 has a chain hydrocarbon group with a carbon number of 15 and so does R1 of Bae’s cardanol as like material has like property.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a modified CNSL, cardanol, derivatives of cardanol or any combinations thereof disclosed in Bae for the fatty acid ester in Takesada because the fatty acid ester, cardanol, and derivatives of cardanol have been shown in the art to be recognized equivalent hydrophobic materials for the polyester plasticizers and the selection of these known equivalents to be used as hydrophobic materials for the polyester plasticizers will be within the level of the ordinary skill in the art.
The combined disclosures of Takesada and Bae result in a polyvinyl chloride composition comprising 120-200 parts by mass of a polyester plasticizer and 80 parts by mass or less of cardanol and derivatives of cardanol, based on 100 parts by mass of a polyvinyl chloride resin. That is to say, the polyvinyl chloride composition comprises 100 parts by mass of the polyester plasticizer and 40 parts by mass or less of cardanol and derivatives of cardanol.
In the case, where the claimed ranges overlap or touch the range disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
The claim is not rendered unobvious because discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Difference in the content of cardanol and derivatives of cardanol will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating that the cardanol and derivatives of cardanol is critical or provides unexpected results.
As to claim 7, Takesada discloses the polyester-based plasticizer including an adipic acid polyester (paragraphs 23 and 24).
As to claims 9-12, Takesada discloses a polyvinyl chloride composition for powder molding comprising 100 parts by mass of a polyvinyl chloride, 120-200 parts by mass of a polyester-based plasticizer and 4-23 parts by mass of an acrylic polymer (abstract). The polyvinyl chloride would inherently have a glass transition temperature of not lower than 50oC and not higher than 100oC as like material has like property.
As to claim 13, Takesada discloses a polyvinyl chloride composition for powder molding comprising 100 parts by mass of a polyvinyl chloride, 120-200 parts by mass of a polyester-based plasticizer and 4-23 parts by mass of an acrylic polymer (abstract).
As to claims 15 and 16, Takesada discloses a polyvinyl chloride composition used in for powder slush molding (paragraph 70).
As to claim 17, Takesada discloses a resin molded product obtained through molding of the resin composition (paragraph 70).
As to claim 18, Takesada discloses a resin molded product useful as a surface skin of an automobile instrument panel (paragraph 75).
As to claim 19, Takesada discloses a laminate comprising a foamed polyurethane molded product and the resin molded product (paragraph 76).
As to claim 20, Takesada discloses the laminate useful as a surface skin of an automobile instrument panel (paragraph 78).
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takesada in view of Bae as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of US 6,229,054 to Dai et al. (hereinafter “Dai”).
Bae discloses that the hydrophobe comprises a modified cashew nut shell liquid (CNSL), cardanol, derivatives of cardanol or any combinations thereof (paragraphs 134 and 137).
Neither Takesada nor Bae discloses the derivatives of cardanol including an alkylene oxide modified product of the phenol.
Dai, however, discloses that derivatives of cardanol includes monohydroxyalkylcardanyl ether (figure 3), which is a stable plasticizer with good leaching stability and great color stability while reducing the potential for producing contact dermatitis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use monohydroxyalkylcardanyl ether disclosed in Dai as derivatives of cardanol disclosed in Takesada/Bae, motivated by the desire to provide a stable plasticizer with good leaching stability and great color stability while reducing the potential for producing contact dermatitis.
Response to Arguments
Applicant alleges that the claim is not rendered obvious in view of the combined disclosures of Takesada and Bae because the combination of the cited references fails to teach the plasticizer composition comprising 5-10 parts by mass of the phenol and the modified product thereof based on 100 parts by mass of the polyester plasticizer.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Takesada discloses a polyvinyl chloride composition for powder molding comprising 100 parts by mass of a polyvinyl chloride, 120-200 parts by mass of a polyester-based plasticizer and 4-23 parts by mass of an acrylic polymer (abstract). The polyvinyl chloride composition further comprises a fatty acid ester-based plasticizer in amount of 80 parts by mass or less with respect to 100 parts by mass of the polyvinyl chloride resin (paragraph 28).
Takesada does not explicitly disclose the plasticizer material including a phenol represented by formula (I) and/or a modified product thereof.
Bae, however, discloses a polymeric plasticizer composition comprising a polyester plasticizer and a hydrophobe (abstract, and paragraph 133). The polyester plasticizer is made from an aromatic acid, a glycol and a C4-C36 monocarboxylic acid or ester or anhydride thereof (abstract). The aromatic acid is an aromatic acid comprising an adipic acid (paragraph 46). The hydrophobe comprises a fatty acid ester, a modified cashew nut shell liquid (CNSL), cardanol, derivatives of cardanol or any combinations thereof (paragraphs 134 and 137). The hydrophobe reads on the claimed phenol represented by formula (I) and a modified product thereof.
The combined disclosures of Takesada and Bae result in a polyvinyl chloride composition comprising 120-200 parts by mass of a polyester plasticizer and 80 parts by mass or less of cardanol and derivatives of cardanol, based on 100 parts by mass of a polyvinyl chloride resin. That is to say, the resulting polyvinyl chloride composition comprises 100 parts by mass of the polyester plasticizer and 40 parts by mass or less of cardanol and derivatives of cardanol.
In the case, where the claimed ranges overlap or touch the range disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
The claim is not rendered unobvious because discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Difference in the content of cardanol and derivatives of cardanol will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating that the cardanol and derivatives of cardanol is critical or provides unexpected results.
As there is a motivation to combine the teachings of Takesada and Bae, a prima facie case of obviousness is said to exist. Accordingly, the rejections over Takesada in view of Bae, and further in view of Dai have been maintained.
Conclusion
/Hai Vo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788