DETAILED ACTION
Final
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Claims 19-38 are pending. Claims 19-22, 25 are currently amended. The amendments to the claims have overcome the rejections under 35 USC 112 second paragraph. The amendments to the claims have overcome the rejections to the claims regarding the anticipation of Mossige and required further search and/or consideration and application of additional secondary teaching reference Konieczynski as seen below. Considering that the rejections are maintained as modified based on the amended claim limitations, this action must be made Final.
Comments: the claims have required that the sensor be placed only in the supply line, and considering that Konieczynski teaches a pressure sensor to a spray gun in an upstream supply line, this action must be made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-22, 28, 29 34-38 is/are rejected 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mossige (US 2022/0364892), and further in view of Konieczynski (US 4917296);
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mossige in view of Konieczynski as applied to claims 19 and 21 above, and further in view of Bremmer (US 11684938);
Claim(s) 24-27, 30, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mossige in view of Konieczynski as applied to claim 19 and 28, 29 above, and further in view of Wang (US 2022/0241810);
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mossige in view of Konieczynski and Wang as applied to claim 19 and 28, 29 above, and further in view of Wood (US 12194485.)
Mossige discloses in claim 19: An application system (12 for a robot 10, that can include multiple robots per ph 0047) for applying an application agent (paint) to a component (vehicle body part, ph 0044), with a) an applicator (18) with at least one nozzle (bell cup nozzle 20 with air shaping discharge holes 34/36) for applying the application agent to the component (as discussed), b) a supply line (at 22/24) for supplying the applicator with the application agent, c) a sensor (pressure sensors 48/50 about air flow regulator, and air flow sensor 54, and pressure sensors 56/58 in line 24 about pump 28) which is adapted to measure a measured variable [in the applicator]and supplies a corresponding sensor signal (ph 0062), and d) a monitoring unit (42) which is connected to the sensor and evaluates the corresponding sensor signal of the sensor, e) wherein the monitoring unit recognizes by evaluating the corresponding sensor signal whether one of the at least one nozzles of the applicator shows a creeping nozzle clogging (per ph 0031-0037; and ph 0062-0072); Mossige does not disclose, although Konieczynski teaches: a sensor (54 pressure switch figure 1) to measure a measured variable (pressure build up) in the supply line to the applicator (spray gun 46, all for the purpose of determining an upstream pressure indication of clogging of the downstream spray gun, so as to improve spray gun functionality (see abstract).)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Mossige as taught in Konieczynski, with a sensor such as a pressure switch sensor as taught in Konieczynski, so as to measure a measured variable of pressure build up in the supply line to the applicator spray gun as taught in Konieczynski, all for the purpose of determining an upstream pressure indication of clogging of the downstream spray gun, so as to improve spray gun functionality.
Mossige discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 20: The application system according to claim 19, wherein the sensor belongs to one of the following types of sensors: a) pressure sensors (48/50 or 56/58 and also 54 of Konieczynski above) which are adapted to measure a pressure of the application agent in the supply line, b) material flow sensors (air flow sensor 54) which are adapted to measure a material flow of the application agent flowing in the supply line to the applicator.
Mossige discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 21: The application system according to claim 19, wherein a) the application system comprises at least one actuator (pneumatic actuated fluid regulator/proportional valve 32 ph 0048 or pump/compressors 26/28) for controlling the supply line and/or the applicator, b) the at least one actuator is controlled by a control signal (via 42 for each), and c) the monitoring unit (42) detects the control signal for the actuator (ph 0060 and 0062) and takes it into account in the evaluation of the sensor signal in order to distinguish a different actuation of the applicator from a creeping nozzle clogging (i.e. determines the level of clogging for adjustment purposes as discussed in ph 0062.)
Mossige discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 22: The application system according to claim 21, wherein the at least one actuator belongs to one of the following types of actuators: a) control valves (proportional control valve 32) which control an application agent flow to the individual nozzles (as shown), the respective control signal controlling the valve position of a respective control valve, b) pumps (26/28) which deliver an application agent flow to the applicator, wherein the respective control signal controls the application agent flow delivered by the respective pump (as shown and discussed.)
Mossige discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 23: The application system according to claim 21, wherein a) each of the nozzles of the applicator is assigned a control valve as actuator (32), which controls the application agent flow through the nozzle[s], b) the control valve[[s]] actuated by a control signal (from 42) which controls the switching time (on/off time for fluid passing there through in a proportional manner as discussed above) of the respective control valve, c) the monitoring unit receives the control signal[[s]] for the individual control valve[[s]] in order to be able to detect a creeping nozzle clogging (as modified as discussed above), and d) the monitoring unit evaluates the sensor signals in an observation period after a switching time of the control valves (ph 0072 where calibration of the control valve can be performed to extract an equation for the fluid control based on the clogging amounts.); but Mossige does not disclose: each nozzle having its own control valve, and comparing the pressure and flow signals nozzles to each other to detect creeping nozzle clogging; but considering that Bremmer teaches: multiple nozzles each with their own control valve 30 and sensor 26 and comparing the nozzles to detect clogging (figure 1 Col 1 ln 65 – Col 2 ln 5, and Col 13 ln 22-33, and all for the purpose of for example, accurate spraying of the liquid to be dispensed.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Mossige as taught in Bremmer with multiple nozzles that each have their own control valve and sensor and being able to compare the nozzles to detect creeping nozzle clogging as taught in Bremmer, and all for the purpose of for example, accurate spraying of the liquid to be dispensed.
Mossige discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 24: The application system according to claim 19, wherein a) the monitoring unit comprises [a computer] (ph 0052) on which a machine learning algorithm runs during operation (to determine the amount of clogging ph 0062), and b) the machine learning algorithm is adapted to evaluate the sensor signal (as discussed) and also the control signal and recognizes whether one of the nozzles shows a creeping nozzle clogging (id.) Mossige does not disclose: using an AI computer (i.e. smart computer); but Wang teaches: using an AI computer (300 figure 1a, see ph 0105) (provided for the purpose of adaptive control of the coating system);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Mossige as taught in Wang with an AI computer, all for the purpose of adaptive control of the coating system.
Mossige discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 25: The application system according to claim 24, wherein a) the machine learning algorithm is adapted to learn the relationship (as discussed in Mossige above, ph 0070-0072) between the control signal and the resulting sensor signal in a training process by supervised learning without a nozzle clogging (i.e. blocking), b) the machine learning algorithm in application mode calculates a residual value from the measured sensor signal, from which an influence of the control signal is subtracted, and (as discussed) c) the monitoring unit is adapted to evaluate the residual value and recognizes an anomaly of the residual value as an indication of a creeping nozzle clogging (for later application during process control.)
Mossige discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 26: The application system according to claim 25, wherein a) the monitoring unit is adapted to determine switching times of the control valves (per ph 0064-0068) of the individual nozzles, and b) the monitoring unit is adapted to evaluate the residual values in each case in an observation period following the switching times (as discussed.)
Mossige discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 27: The application system according to claim 25, wherein the monitoring unit is adapted to compare the residual values after the switching times of different nozzles in order to detect a creeping nozzle clogging.
Mossige discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 28: The application system according to claim 19, further comprising a) an application robot (10 figure 1) for moving the applicator (12), and b) a robot controller (42) for controlling the application robot.
Mossige discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 29: The application system according to claim 28, wherein a) several application robots (ph 0047) are provided, each of which moves an applicator (18), b) the individual application robots are each controlled by a robot controller (42), c) the application robots are arranged together in a robot cell (grouping as discussed), Mossige does not explicitly disclose: a cell controller is provided for controlling the robot cell, wherein the cell controller controls the robot controllers and/or the application robots in the robot cell in a comprehensive manner; but considering one skilled in the art of robotic control would see a need for system coordination of multiple robots via a central controller, for the purpose of assembly line throughput coordination:
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Mossige as suggested by those skilled in the art, as well as arguably necessary by Mossige, to provide Mossige with a cell controller to control the robot cell of Mossige, wherein the cell controller can control the robot controllers and/or the application robots in the robot cell in a comprehensive manner, all for example, for the purpose of assembly line throughput coordination.
Mossige discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 30: The application system according to claim 29, further comprising a connectivity computer (controller 42), a) the connectivity computer being connected on the one hand to the robot controllers (as modified for the reasons discussed above) and/or the cell controller and receiving the control signals and the sensor signals from the robot controllers and/or the cell controller, b) while the connectivity computer, on the other hand, is connected to the computer and supplies the control signals and the sensor signals to the computer (as discussed as modified for the reasons above); but Mossige does not disclose: using an AI computer (i.e. smart computer); but Wang teaches: using an AI computer (300 figure 1a, see ph 0105) (provided for the purpose of adaptive control of the coating system);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Mossige as taught in Wang with an AI computer, all for the purpose of adaptive control of the coating system.
Mossige discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 31: The application system according to claim 29, does not explicitly disclose, although Wood teaches: a database computer (servers and computers connected there to Col 9 ln 20 to Col 10 ln 42) for storing the control signals and the sensor signals (as discussed), wherein the database computer is connected to the connectivity computer and receives the control signals and the sensor signals from the connectivity computer (for monitoring and control of the paint systems operational status and to give a warning.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Mossige/Wang as taught in Wood with a system that includes a database computer such as servers and computers connected there to execute database software application as taught in Wood for storing the control signals and the sensor signals as taught in Wood, wherein the database computer is connected to the connectivity computer and receives the control signals and the sensor signals from the connectivity computer, as taught therein all for the purpose of monitoring and control of the paint systems operational status and to give a warning.
Mossige discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 32: The application system according to claim 30, but does not explicitly disclose, although Wang teaches: a graphics computer (display as modified by Wang in 300 figure 1) for displaying the result of the evaluation (to an operative), wherein the graphics computer is connected to the connectivity computer or the database computer (as discussed.)
Mossige discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 33: The application system according to claim 19, wherein a) several applicators (18 on each of the robots 10 ph 0047) are provided, b) a plurality of supply lines (of 22/24) are provided for supplying the applicators with the application agent (as necessarily the case for each of the robotic arms 10), one of the supply lines being assigned to each of the applicators (as shown each has its own supply line), c) at least one of the sensors (as modified above, 54 of Konieczynski for that of Mossige…) is assigned to each of the supply lines and the sensors each measure a measured variable in the respective supply line and supply a corresponding sensor signal (pressure sensors 48/50 about air flow regulator (or 54 of Konieczynski ), and air flow sensor 54, and pressure sensors 56/58 in line 24 about pump 28), d) the monitoring unit (42) compares the sensor signals from sensors from different supply lines with one another in order to distinguish a creeping nozzle clogging in the individual supply lines per ph 0031-0037; and ph 0062-0072) from a different actuation of the respective supply line, e) at least one of the actuators is assigned to each of the supply lines (compressor or regulator, as modified above), and f) the monitoring unit takes into account the control signals for actuators in different supply lines in order to distinguish a creeping nozzle clogging in the individual supply lines from a different actuation of the respective supply line (each unit is assigned to each arm so the nozzle clogging is determinable.)
Mossige discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 34: A monitoring method for an application system according to claim 19, comprising the following steps: a) supplying the application agent (paint) to the applicator through the supply line, b) measuring at least one measured variable in the supply line to the applicator or in the applicator by means of the sensor and generating a corresponding sensor signal (per ph 0031-0037; and ph 0062-0072, or as modified by Konieczynski for the reasons discussed above), and c) evaluating the sensor signal to detect a creeping nozzle clogging of one of the nozzles of the applicator (id).
Mossige discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 35: The monitoring method according to claim 34, further comprising the following steps: a) actuating the supply line and/or the applicator with a control signal (to the control valve 32 or pumps 26/28 via 42), and b) evaluation of the control signal to distinguish a creeping nozzle clogging from a different actuation (as discussed id).
Mossige discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 36: The monitoring method according to claim 34, wherein a) the machine learning algorithm learns the relationship between the control signal and the resulting sensor signal in a training process by supervised learning without a nozzle clogging (per ph 0072 via blocking and calibration), b) the machine learning algorithm in application mode calculates a residual value from the measured sensor signal (i.e. the calibrated lookup table or function), from which the influence of the control signal is subtracted (per ph’s 0062-0072 as discussed above), and c) the monitoring unit evaluates the residual value (i.e. the blocking percentage ph 0065) and recognizes an anomaly of the residual value as an indication of a creeping nozzle clogging (as discussed above.)
Mossige discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 37: The monitoring method according to claim 36, wherein a) that the monitoring unit determines the respective switching times of the control valves (i.e. the on/off of the valve is determined via 42) of the individual nozzles, and b) that the monitoring unit evaluates the residual values in each case in an observation period following the switching times (i.e. based on the flow rate, the time is monitored and the residual blocking percentage is determined, id.)
Mossige discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 38: The monitoring method according to claim 37, wherein the monitoring unit compares the residual values of different nozzles with one another in order to detect a creeping nozzle clogging (i.e. the calibrated nozzle, versus the actual nozzle used in practice.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Matthew W Jellett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753