Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solum (US20150036853A1) in view of Lunnar et al (US 20170180882) in further view of Tain, Wei (CN 102572335A).
As to Claim 1, Solum teaches a sound receiver watch (100)( remote device such as smart watch, abstract) for non-surgical hearing aid( hearing aid, abstract) comprising a body detachably connected to the wrist band (the device 10 comprises a housing 11 attached to straps 16 that may be wrapped around a user's wrist, Figure 1, [0010]), said body accommodated with a main circuit( the housing 11 contains a processing circuitry, [0010], Figure 1, 2) powered with the battery (106) placed inside the body( implicitly teach a smart watch including a battery to operate); said main circuit having inbuilt sound processor( [0011] Processing circuitry 340 may include a processor and associated memory and is interfaced to a radio transceiver 310. The processing circuitry is interfaced to a user input device 305 for receiving commands from the user such as selection of audio information to be transmitted to the hearing aid, hearing aid status inquiries, and hearing aid parameter setting command.) connected to a microphone (102) module being capable to process the sound (The remote device may also incorporate an internal or external microphone shown as microphone 380 interfaced to the processing circuitry 340. [0011], Figure 2), a transmitter ( radio transceiver 310), [0011]) being capable to transmit said processed sound to said hearing aid device( [0011] teaches ser such as selection of audio information to be transmitted to the hearing aid, hearing aid status inquiries, and hearing aid parameter setting command, plurality of buttons to access the functions of said watch( a user input device 305 for receiving commands from the user such as selection of audio information to be transmitted to the hearing aid,[0011] and [0007] The watch-type device may also be equipped with buttons for the purpose of controlling such functions as playback, volume, and program selection. Solum further teaches a touch screen digital display for the purpose of altering the functions via "soft keys" on the face of the watch. [0007] but does not explicitly teach” on/off slider switch”. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to equip a slider on/off button such as a touch “soft key” to alter the functions including turning the watch on and off. Solum further teaches an touch enabled display placed on the top side (105) of said body being connected to a microprocessor and said control circuit( the watch-type device may have a touch screen digital display for the purpose of altering the functions via "soft keys" on the face of the watch.[0007] and display 15, Figure 1, 2) and [0010] teaches The processing circuitry is interfaced to a display 15 on the face of the housing 11 for displaying information to the user. A user input 12 is also provided on the face of housing and interfaced to the processing circuitry for receiving user commands. The user input may be, for example, one or more buttons.); a sort-distance wireless communication module being capable to provide the connectivity to said watch (The watch may include an AM or FM radio (digital or analog type) as well as a WiFi or Bluetooth connections to the internet for the purpose of streaming internet radio or other audio available from the internet. [0007], [0008]). Solum does not explicitly teach, the watch includes “ sound processor connected to a plurality of microphones” and USB charging port (103) located on said body, provided to charge said watch (100) battery (106) to operate the same. However, smart devices including a microphone array are well known in the art. Lunner in related field (a remote controller for hearing aid) teaches an auxiliary device which comprises a remote controlling functionality for operating a hearing aid can be a smartphone or a smart watch. See at least [0041], where the auxiliary device includes a user interface and a microphone array for enabling beamforming to steer the selective acoustic processing towards the desired source within a scene. See at least Lunner on [0111]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Solum such that the smart watch includes an array of microphone for improved sound processing. Solum in view of Lunner does not explicitly teach: USB charging port (103) located on said body, provided to charge said watch (100) battery (106) to operate the same. However, Wei, Tian in related field (smart watch) teaches on [0045] a USB interface 50 on the side of the watch main body, an earphone jack 60 and a charging indicator light 70. Further, on [0046] teaches the shell of the watch body, and may further comprise a power management and control chip, capable of supplying power to the system through the power management and control chip. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the watch such that it also includes a USB interface on the watch main body to conveniently charge the smart watch and the hearing aid device. Solum in view of Lunner in further view of Wei, Tian teaches wherein, said watch (100) dissemble as a transmitter and transmit the processed sound to said hearing aid device, (Solum on [0015] teaches the processing circuitry 340 of the remote device is configured to perform hearing loss compensation processing on audio signals prior to their being transmitted to the hearing aid for playback.), said sound being bypass and received to the cochlea directly through the hearing aid device (Lunnar teaches the hearing aid comprises an output unit for providing a stimulus perceived by the user as an acoustic signal based on a processed electric signal. In an embodiment, the output unit comprises a number of electrodes of a cochlear implant, [0024]).
As to Claim 2, Solum in view of Lunner in view of Tian, Wei further teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and wherein said band compatible with said hearing aid device which is bone conduction hearing aid device which transferred the sound to cochlea without entering in-ear canal, Solum teaches a hearing aid wireless control is a watch, [0007] and where hearing aids includes but not limited to, cochlear implant type hearing devices, hearing aids, such as behind-the-ear (BTE), in-the-ear (ITE), in-the-canal (ITC), or completely-in-the-canal (CIC) type hearing aids. [0017].
As to Claim 3, Solum in view of Lunner in view of Tian, Wei further teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and regarding the following: wherein said watch (100) further comprising at least one LED indicator (104) provided as indicator for the plurality of functions of said watch, Tian, Wei on [0045] a USB interface 50 on the side of the watch main body, an earphone jack 60 and a charging indicator light 70, where the charging indicator light 70 can be used to prompt user when charging is finished.
As to Claim 4, Solum in view of Lunner in view of Tian, Wei further teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and wherein said watch (100) operated as individual sound processor and so reduce the effects of noise, Lunner teaches an auxiliary device which can be a smart watch to control a remote hearing aid [0041] includes microphone array to processed sounds and steer selective acoustic processing towards the desired source and targets to improve SN, [0111],[0112]).
As to Claim 5, Solum in view of Lunner in view of Tian, Wei further teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and regarding the following wherein said body being capable to detach from a wrist band, wherein said body independently functioned as the sound processor and transfer said processed sound to said bone conduction hearing aid device, Tian, Wei teaches the watch body 10 provided with sound processing module, Figures 1-3, abstract and watch band 80 that is used to be worn on the wrist of the user, thus teaching the watch body independently used as a sound processor and a USB interface 50, an earphone jack 60 and a charging indicator light 70, and it is convenient to users through USB interface 50 to watch the television and computer and so on are communicating between devices. [0047]. Further, Lunner teaches on Figure 15, the processed sound (beamforming and other sound processing) in the auxiliary device, [0045], [0111], [0112]) is wirelessly transferred to the hearing aid HD, where HD can be a bone conduction hearing aid (the output transducer comprises a vibrator for providing the stimulus as mechanical vibration of a skull bone to the user (e.g. in a bone-attached or bone-anchored hearing device, [0024]).
As to Claim 6, Solum in view of Lunner in view of Tian, Wei further teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and regarding the following: wherein said plurality of microphone (102) array , Lunner teaches microphone system including beamforming filtering , [0154] being capable to receive the sound from 360 degree( omni-directional, [0154])) and said sound in the watch being capable to generate sound for better user experience and noise removal ( improve signal to noise ratio. See at least [0112]).
Conclusion
/SUNITA JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691