DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of the International Application PCT/JP2022/0042388. A Notice of Acceptance of Application under 35 U.S.C. 371 and 37 CFR 1.495 was mailed 22 October 2024.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 7 December 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted 21 June 2024, 2 January 2026, 27 February 2026, 28 May 2026, and 3 June 2026 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) or second paragraph
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites “the glass fiber according to claim 1, wherein when a glass corresponding to a specific gravity crushed and classified to a particle size of from 300 µm to 500 µm” this renders the claim indefinite since it is not clear what is meant by “a glass corresponding to a specific gravity”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xing et al., Chinese Patent Publication CN 104261686 A.
A machine-generated translation of CN 104261686 A accompanies this action. In reciting this rejection, the examiner will cite this translation.
Xing et al. disclose glass fiber comprising in terms of weight percentages, 59-63% of SiO2, 14.5-16.5% of ZrO2, 4-5.5% of CaO, 14.9-17.0% of Li2O+Na2O+K2O, 0-1% of Fe2O3, 0-0.5% of TiO2, 0.1-1.4% of K2O, 0.1-1% of Li2O, 0.1-1.5% of HfO2, 0-1% of MgO, 0.02-0.2% of CeO2, and 0-2% of Al2O3. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0011]-[0013] and [0016]-[0025]. Xing et al. disclose that the glass is a fiber. See paragraphs [0004] and [0027]. Xing et al. disclose that the difference between the forming temperature and the liquidus temperature is at least 50 °C. See paragraph [0014]. Xing et al. disclose that the glass is made into fibers by mixing materials, melting the raw materials, and drawing the molten glass into fibers. See paragraphs [0007] and [0053]-[0055]. The compositional ranges of Xing et al. are sufficiently specific to anticipate the glass fiber and the glass composition as recited in claims 1, 3, 4, and 6-16. See MPEP 2131.03.
Specifically, as to claim 1, Xing et al. disclose Examples 1-11 (see Tables 1-3), which reads on a glass fiber comprising in mass% in terms of oxide, from 50% to 70% of SiO2, from 10% to 20% of Na2O, from 0% to 5.5% of TiO2, and from 10% to 30% of ZrO2, as recited in instant claim 1.
As to claim 3, Xing et al. disclose Examples 2, 3, 6, 7, 9, and 10 (see Tables 1-3), which reads on a glass fiber comprising, as a glass composition, in mass% in terms of oxide, from 0.001% to 1% of HfO2, as recited in instant claim 3.
As to claim 4, Xing et al. disclose Examples 2, 3, and 9 (see Tables 1-3), which reads on a glass composition, in mass% in terms of oxide, from 57.1% to 64.8% of SiO2, from 0% to 0.3% of Al2O3, from 1.71% to 10% of CaO, from 12% to 20% of Na2O, from 0% to 6% of K20, from 0% to 5% of TiO2, and from 15.1% to 18.5% of ZrO2, as recited in instant claim 4.
As to claim 6, Xing et al. disclose Examples 1-11 (see Tables 1-3), which reads on a glass composition, Na20/ZrO2 is from 0.4 to 1.3 in mass ratio in terms of oxide, as recited in instant claim 6.
As to claim 7, Xing et al. disclose Examples 1-11 (see Tables 1-3), which reads on a glass composition, K20/CaO is 15 or less in mass ratio in terms of oxide, as recited in instant claim 7.
As to claim 8, Xing et al. disclose Examples 1-11 (see Tables 1-3)), which reads on a glass composition, K20/ZrO2 is 0.5 or less in mass ratio in terms of oxide, as recited in instant claim 8.
As to claim 9, Xing et al. disclose Examples 1-11 (see Tables 1-3)), which reads on a glass composition, (Na20+K20)/(CaO+MgO) is 1.5 or more in mass ratio in terms of oxide, as recited in instant claim 9.
As to claim 10, Xing et al. disclose Examples 1-3 and 9 (see Tables 1-3)), which reads on a glass composition, (Na20+K20+CaO)/Al203 is 80 or more in mass ratio in terms of oxide, as recited in instant claim 10.
As to claim 11, Xing et al. disclose Examples 1-11 (see Tables 1-3)), which reads on a glass composition having a spinning temperature Tx is 1350 °C or lower, as recited in instant claim 11.
As to claim 12, Xing et al. disclose Examples 1-4 and 6-11 (see Tables 1-3)), which reads on a glass composition having a difference between the spinning temperature and a liquidus temperature of at least 15 °C, as recited in instant claim 12.
As to claim 13, Xing et al. disclose Examples 1-4 and 6-11 (see Tables 1-3)), which reads on a glass composition having a liquidus temperature of 1250°C or lower, as recited in instant claim 13.
As to claim 14, since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Xing et al. would inherently possess a glass corresponding to a specific gravity crushed and classified to a particle size of from 300 pm to 500 pm is immersed in 100 ml of a 10 mass% NaOH aqueous solution at 80°C for 168 hours, a mass loss rate of the glass is less than 4.5%, as recited in claim 14. See MPEP 2112.
It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
As to claim 15, Xing et al. disclose that the glass is made into fibers by mixing materials, melting the raw materials, and drawing the molten glass into fibers (see paragraphs [0007] and [0053]-[0055]), which reads on a glass fiber manufacturing method comprising: melting a mixed raw material batch in a glass melting furnace, continuously drawing the obtained molten glass out of a bushing, and forming the drawn-out glass into a fiber shape, to obtain the glass fiber, as recited in claim 15.
As to claim 16, Xing et al. disclose Examples 1-11 (see Tables 1-3), which reads on a glass comprising in mass% in terms of oxide, from 50% to 70% of SiO2, from 10% to 20% of Na2O, from 0% to 5.5% of TiO2, and from 10% to 30% of ZrO2, as recited in claim 16.
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing et al., Chinese Patent Publication CN 104261686 A in view of Nishida et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2015/0266769 A1.
A machine-generated translation of CN 104261686 A accompanies this action. In reciting this rejection, the examiner will cite this translation.
Xing et al. teach glass fiber comprising in terms of weight percentages, 59-63% of SiO2, 14.5-16.5% of ZrO2, 4-5.5% of CaO, 14.9-17.0% of Li2O+Na2O+K2O, 0-1% of Fe2O3, 0-0.5% of TiO2, 0.1-1.4% of K2O, 0.1-1% of Li2O, 0.1-1.5% of HfO2, 0-1% of MgO, 0.02-0.2% of CeO2, and 0-2% of Al2O3. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0011]-[0013] and [0016]-[0025]. Xing et al. teach that the glass is a fiber. See paragraphs [0004] and [0027]. Xing et al. teach that the difference between the forming temperature and the liquidus temperature is at least 50 °C. See paragraph [0014]. Xing et al. teach that the glass is made into fibers by mixing materials, melting the raw materials, and drawing the molten glass into fibers. See paragraphs [0007] and [0053]-[0055].
Xing et al. fail to teach that the glass fiber composition comprises Y2O3..
Nishida et al. teach a similar glass fiber composition comprising 50-65% of SiO2, 0-5% of Al2O3, 0-10% of CaO, 0-5% of Li2O, 10-20% of Na2O, 0-5% of K2O, 5-10% of TiO2, 10-20% of ZrO2, and 0-2% of B2O3, MgO, SrO, BaO, ZnO, Fe2O3, P2O5, Cr2O3, Sb2O3, SO3, MnO, SnO2, CeO2, Cl2, La2O3, WO3, Nb2O5, and Y2O3. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically paragraphs [0028]-[0039]. Nishida et al. teach that the glass fibers has a drawing temperature of at most 1280 °C and a difference between the drawing temperature and the liquidus temperature of at least 80 °C. See paragraphs [0043]-[0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have an glass fiber composition of Xing et al. as suggested by Nishida et al. because the resultant glass fiber would have the superior alkali resistance, acid resistance, hydrolytic resistance properties as suggested by Nishida et al. See paragraph [0039] of Nishida et al.
Conclusion
The additional references cited on the 892 have been cited as art of interest since they are considered to be cumulative to or less than the art relied upon in the rejections above.
/Elizabeth A. Bolden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
EAB
25 July 2026