DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement has been made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 USC 119 (a-d). The certified copy has been filed on 06/04/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed 06/04/2024 have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings received 06/04/2024 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 39 it is unclear what kind of use (manipulative steps) is actually claimed
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23, 26,30, 31 and 33-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by US 2016/0301118 to Chami (Chami).
Regarding claim 23, Chami discloses a lithium cell (Abstract) comprising: an aluminum casing (para 23), a positive electrode and a negative electrode disposed within the aluminum casing (claim 1, para 30) with a separator between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (claim 1), an electrolyte (claim 1) a positive terminal connected to one of the positive electrode (para 13) and the negative electrode and a negative terminal connected to the other of the positive electrode and the negative electrode (para 40) wherein: the aluminum casing includes an inner surface with a coating of a plastic material to prevent contact between the aluminum casing and internal active components of the lithium cell (para 20) and at least one of the positive terminal and negative terminal comprises a metal component (busbar 41)that is secured to the aluminum casing such that the metal component is in electrical contact with the aluminum casing, the metal component being less susceptible to lithiation than the aluminum of the aluminum casing. As such, instant claim 23 is anticipated by Chami.
Regarding claim 26, Chami discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 23 and incorporated therein. Regarding the limitation: “ in accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. plastic coating , does not depend on its method of production, i.e. spraying. . In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Regarding claim 30, Chami discloses the lithium cell being of cylindrical configuration (Fig. 4, Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 31, Chami discloses wherein said aluminum casing is cylindrical with one open end and one closed end and said metal component 50 is secured to said closed end (Chami, Fig. 15A,B).
Regarding claim 33, Chami discloses prismatic configuration (claim 4).
Regarding claim 34, Chami discloses polymer plastic (para 20).
Regarding claim 35, Chami discloses wherein the metal component provides said negative terminal (50, Fig. 15B).
Regarding claim 36 Chami discloses rechargeable lithium-ion cells (para 140).
Regarding claim 37, Chami discloses a plurality of lithium cells (Fig. 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Alternatively claims 23-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious US 2016/0301118 to Chami in view of US 6,579,640 in view of Nagase (Nagase)
Regarding claim 23, Chami discloses a lithium cell (Abstract) comprising: an aluminum casing (para 23), a positive electrode and a negative electrode disposed within the aluminum casing (claim 1, para 30) with a separator between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (claim 1), an electrolyte (claim 1) a positive terminal connected to one of the positive electrode (para 13) and the negative electrode and a negative terminal connected to the other of the positive electrode and the negative electrode (para 40) wherein: the aluminum casing includes an inner surface with a coating of a plastic material to prevent contact between the aluminum casing and internal active components of the lithium cell (para 20) and at least one of the positive terminal and negative terminal comprises a metal component (40, Fig. 13).. Chemi does not expressly disclose wherein the metal component being less susceptible to lithiation than the aluminum of the aluminum casing.
Nagase teaches a sealed rectangular battery has a conductive battery case (Abstract) wherein a positive terminal is a rivet (re claim 25) made from nickel-plated steel (para 41) and has a head that engages with the coating to provide a seal between the inner surface with the coating and an outer surface (Fig. 4, 5, 6B, re claim 24).It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lithium cell of Chami with the terminal comprising rivet as a metal component, as taught by Nagase, in order to provide reliable electrical connection of the cell with the terminal and decrease internal resistance.
Regarding claim 26, modified Chami discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 23 and incorporated therein. Regarding the limitation: coating of a plastic material is a spray-applied coating inside the aluminum casing “: in accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. plastic coating , does not depend on its method of production, i.e. spraying. . In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Regarding claim 27 and 29, modified Chami discloses wherein the positive terminal (re claim 29) a cap 310 made from nickel plated stee (Nagase ,Fig. 8)
Regarding claim 28, modified Chami discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 27 and incorporated therein. Regarding the limitation: the steel cap is secured to the aluminum casing by swaging “: in accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. cap , does not depend on its method of production, i.e. savings. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Regarding claim 30, modified Chami discloses the lithium cell being of cylindrical configuration (Chami ,Fig. 4, Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 31, modified Chami discloses wherein said aluminum casing is cylindrical with one open end and one closed end and said metal component 50 is secured to said closed end (Chami, Fig. 15A,B).
Regarding claim 32, modified Chami discloses wherein the closed end of said casing is formed with an external recess within which an end of said metal component is located (at least partially, Chami, Fig. 15B).
Regarding claim 33, modified Chami discloses prismatic configuration (Chami, claim 4).
Regarding claim 34, modified Chami discloses a polymer plastic (Chami, Para 20).
Regarding claim 35, modified Chami discloses wherein the metal component provides said negative terminal (50, Chami, Fig. 15B).
Regarding claim 36, modified Chami discloses rechargeable lithium-ion cells (Chami, para 140).
Regarding claim 37, modified Chami discloses a plurality of lithium cells (Chami, Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 38, modified Chami discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 23 and incorporated therein. In addition, Nagase discloses a step of introduction of a terminal rivet (reads on fitting, Fig. 3B, Fig. 5) which can be connected to the spot by laser welding (col.11. ln.55-60).
Regarding claim 39: since modified discloses the metal component in the cell comprising aluminium casing , claimed limitation considered inherently met. MPEP 2112 V states that "once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the Examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the Applicant to show an unobvious difference."
Regarding claim 40, modified Chami discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 23 and incorporated therein. In addition, Chami discloses a step of forming aluminum casing (para 127, para 140, claim 21). Nagase discloses a step of introduction of a terminal rivet (reads on fitting, Fig. 3B, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 41, modified Chami discloses wherein the metal component comprises steel (Nagase, para 41).
Conclusion
/Alexander Usyatinsky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751