DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after M-arch 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 24th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-8, 10-18 and 20-22 remain pending in the application. Claims 9 and 19 have been cancelled. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the objections and rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed January 27th, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8, 10-18 and 20-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The claim amendments changed the scope of the claimed invention. See new grounds for rejection below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8, 10, 12-18 and 20-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 3 recites “cooling equipment having an operating parameter” should read -- cooling equipment configured to have an operating parameter --;
Claim 1, line 5 recites “configured to measure an environmental parameter external to the cooling” should read -- configured to measure an external environmental parameter external to the cooling --;
Claim 1, line 12 recites “selected from the group consisting of the measured operating parameter and a predetermined operating parameter” should read -- or a predetermined operating parameter --;
Claim 4, lines 1-3 recite “determining the operating parameter based on the transfer function is based on a difference between the target refrigerant parameter and a measured refrigerant parameter” should read – wherein the operating parameter is determined based on the transfer function, wherein the transfer function is based on a difference between the target refrigerant parameter and a measured refrigerant parameter --;
Claim 5, lines 1-2 recites “wherein determining the adjustment includes:” should read -- wherein is configured to be determined by --;
Claim 5, line 3-5 recites “setting the target refrigerant parameter; and determining an operating parameter setting based on the transfer function and the set target refrigerant parameter” should read – target refrigerant parameter; and is configured to be determined based on the transfer function and the set target refrigerant parameter --;
Claim 6, line 2 recites “operating parameter is one selected from the group consisting of a condenser fan speed, a” should read -- operating parameter is
Claim 8, line 2 recites “parameter is determined based on a transfer function having inputs that include” should read -- parameter is configured to be determined based on a transfer function comprising inputs that include --;
Claims 2-8, 10, 12-18 and 20-22 recite “Claim” which should read – claim --Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 12-18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, it is unclear as to what is performing the step of “determining an adjustment to the operating parameter of the cooling equipment”, as the steps of providing cooling equipment, and measuring via an equipment sensor and measuring via an external environment sensor are defined. The examiner suggests incorporating the sub-cooler control system for executing this step as described in claim 1. Claims 12-18 and 22 are rejected by virtue of dependency on claim 11.
Regarding claim 22 it is unclear if the applicant intends for this to be apart of the method claims as the claim describes a static structure rather than method steps to be performed. Further method steps are needed for this to be considered a method claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 11, the limitations measuring an environmental parameter, measuring the operating parameter, and determining an adjustment to the operating parameter are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “providing cooling equipment”, “an external environment sensor”, and “an equipment sensor”, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “measuring an environmental parameter”, and “measuring the operating parameter” language, “measuring” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually calculating the parameters. Similarly, “determining an adjustment to the operating parameter”, in the context of this claim encompasses the user calculating the adjustment to the operating parameter. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using a computer and processor to perform the determining, providing and selecting steps. The computer and processor in both steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of determining and selecting information based on a determined amount of use) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer program and a processor to perform both the determining, providing, and selecting steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Further regarding claim 14, the limitations determining the operating parameter, is a processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “cooling equipment,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “cooling equipment” language, “determining” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually calculating the operating parameter. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using an analyzing unit adapted to perform the providing and correlating steps. The unit in both steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of providing and correlating information based on a determined amount of use or the success of a procedure) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer program and a processor to perform both the determining, providing, and selecting steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Further regarding claim 15, the limitations determining the adjustment, is a processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “cooling equipment,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “cooling equipment” language, “determining” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually calculating the adjustment for the operating parameter. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using an analyzing unit adapted to perform the providing and correlating steps. The unit in both steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of providing and correlating information based on a determined amount of use or the success of a procedure) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer program and a processor to perform both the determining, providing, and selecting steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer program and a processor to perform both the determining, providing, and selecting steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
The technology is still simply perceived as a computer that comprises software packages that execute math and calculating an adjusted operating parameter without actually using the operating parameter. There is no step of using the operating parameter information to direct the claims to a practical application. To overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection the Examiner suggests including wherein the operating parameter is used with the catheter and the catheter provides treatment to the patient, as this would directly incorporate a practical application into the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 18, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buckley et al. (US 20170056087) herein referred to as “Buckley” in view of Rajagopalan et al. (US 20170007310 A1) herein referred to as “Rajagopalan”.
Regarding claim 1, Buckley discloses a cryoablation cooling system (cryotherapeutic system 500, Paragraph [0155], Figure 5A), comprising:
cooling equipment configured to control delivery of a refrigerant to a catheter, (The console 502 can include a refrigerant supply container 504 and a supply control valve 508 that are coupled to a supply line 510 configured to transport the refrigerant 506 to the cryotherapeutic device 520 (cryotherapeutic device is catheter), Paragraph [0155], Figure 5A, A controller 518 can be operably coupled to the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513 to regulate refrigerant flow through the cryotherapeutic device 520, Paragraph [0155])
the cooling equipment having an operating parameter (the console 502 can also include a pressure transducer or sensor 570 (e.g., a PX209-100G5V pressure transducer made by Omega Engineering of Stamford, Conn.) coupled to a pressure line 571 to monitor pressure within a portion of the cooling assembly 530 (e.g., an expansion chamber) during cryotherapy. In various embodiments, the pressure sensor 570 can be coupled to the controller 518 to serve as a feedback mechanism that controls the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513, and thereby regulates refrigerant flow to and/or from the cooling assembly 530 in response to a pressure sensed at the cooling assembly 530, Paragraph [0156]);
an equipment sensor (console 502 can include a pressure sensor 570, Paragraph [0156]),
configured to measure the operating parameter of the cooling equipment (pressure sensor 570 can be coupled to the controller 518 to serve as a feedback mechanism that controls the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513, and thereby regulates refrigerant flow to and/or from the cooling assembly 530 in response to a pressure sensed at the cooling assembly 530. For example, the pressure sensor 570 can be configured to indicate a pressure above a predetermined threshold (e.g., within a range of a burst pressure of the expansion chamber), Paragraph [0156]),
and a sub-cooler control system configured to determine an adjustment to the operating parameter of the cooling equipment to obtain a target refrigerant parameter based on at least one selected from the group consisting of the measured operating parameter and a predetermined operating parameter (the console 502 can also include a pressure transducer or sensor 570 (e.g., a PX209-100G5V pressure transducer made by Omega Engineering of Stamford, Conn.) coupled to a pressure line 571 to monitor pressure within a portion of the cooling assembly 530 (e.g., an expansion chamber) during cryotherapy. In various embodiments, the pressure sensor 570 can be coupled to the controller 518 to serve as a feedback mechanism that controls the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513, and thereby regulates refrigerant flow to and/or from the cooling assembly 530 in response to a pressure sensed at the cooling assembly 530. For example, the pressure sensor 570 can be configured to indicate a pressure above a predetermined threshold (e.g., within a range of a burst pressure of the expansion chamber). In response, the controller 518 can decrease or terminate refrigerant flow by at least partially closing the supply control valve 508 and/or increasing refrigerant flow from the cooling assembly 530 by decreasing the backpressure in the exhaust line 515 (e.g., using the vacuum pump 511). In other embodiments, the pressure sensor 570 can be coupled directly to the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513 to automatically regulate the valves 508 and 513 on and/or off in response to a sensed pressure. In several embodiments, the cryotherapeutic system 500 can be configured to verify that the pressure sensor 570 is calibrated properly before cryotherapy. For example, the system 500 can automatically check the functionality of the pressure sensor 570 as the system 500 powers on by comparing a pressure reading from the pressure sensor 570 with the ambient pressure, Paragraph [0156]).
However Buckley does not explicitly disclose an external environment sensor, configured to measure an environmental parameter external to the cooling equipment; wherein a sub-cooler control system configured to determine an adjustment to the operating parameter of the cooling equipment based on the measured external environmental parameter.
Rajagopalan discloses a catheter system for treatment of tissue using ablation (Paragraph [0143]) wherein the system comprises an external environment sensor, configured to measure an environmental parameter external to the cooling equipment; wherein a sub-cooler control system configured to determine an adjustment to the operating parameter of the cooling equipment based on the measure external environmental parameter (system 10 comprises functional element 19 comprising a senor, transducer, or other functional element, functional element 19 can be operably attached to the console 200 or another component of the system 10, Functional element 19 can comprise a sensor configured to produce a signal, which can be used to modify a parameter of system 10, as described in detail herein. In some embodiments, functional element 19 comprises a sensor configured to measure a patient environment parameter such as room pressure or room temperature, Paragraph [0138], Figure 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Buckley to incorporate the teachings of Rajagopalan by including an external environment sensor, configured to measure an environmental parameter external to the cooling equipment; wherein a sub-cooler control system configured to determine an adjustment to the operating parameter of the cooling equipment based on the measure external environmental parameter. The motivation to do so being to use the detected signal from the functional element to modify a parameter of the treatment system (Rajagopalan, Paragraph [0138]).
Regarding claim 2, Buckley in view of Rajagopalan discloses the system of claim 1.
Buckley further discloses wherein the adjustment is based on a transfer function that relates a given set of operating parameters and external environment parameters to the target refrigerant parameter (The console 502 can include a refrigerant supply container 504 and a supply control valve 508 that are coupled to a supply line 510 configured to transport the refrigerant 506 to the cryotherapeutic device 520. The console 502 can also optionally include a pump 511 and/or a backpressure control valve 513 that are coupled to an exhaust line 515 configured to receive evaporated refrigerant 517 from the cryotherapeutic device 520. A controller 518 can be operably coupled to the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513 to regulate refrigerant flow through the cryotherapeutic device 520. In the illustrated embodiment, the cryotherapeutic device 520 includes a shaft 522, a handle 525 at a proximal region of a proximal portion 524 of the shaft 522, and a distal portion 526 having a cooling assembly 530 at a distal end region of a distal portion 526 of the shaft 522, Paragraph [0155], the console 502 can also include a pressure transducer or sensor 570 (e.g., a PX209-100G5V pressure transducer made by Omega Engineering of Stamford, Conn.) coupled to a pressure line 571 to monitor pressure within a portion of the cooling assembly 530 (e.g., an expansion chamber) during cryotherapy. In various embodiments, the pressure sensor 570 can be coupled to the controller 518 to serve as a feedback mechanism that controls the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513, and thereby regulates refrigerant flow to and/or from the cooling assembly 530 in response to a pressure sensed at the cooling assembly 530. For example, the pressure sensor 570 can be configured to indicate a pressure above a predetermined threshold (e.g., within a range of a burst pressure of the expansion chamber). In response, the controller 518 can decrease or terminate refrigerant flow by at least partially closing the supply control valve 508 and/or increasing refrigerant flow from the cooling assembly 530 by decreasing the backpressure in the exhaust line 515 (e.g., using the vacuum pump 511), Paragraph [0156]).
Regarding claim 5, Buckley in view of Rajagopalan discloses the system of claim 2.
Buckley further discloses wherein determining the adjustment includes: setting the target refrigerant parameter (desired operating pressure, Paragraph [0160]); and determining an operating parameter setting based on the transfer function and the set target refrigerant parameter (For example, the pressure sensor 570 can be configured to indicate a pressure above a predetermined threshold (e.g., within a range of a burst pressure of the expansion chamber). In response, the controller 518 can decrease or terminate refrigerant flow by at least partially closing the supply control valve 508 and/or increasing refrigerant flow from the cooling assembly 530 by decreasing the backpressure in the exhaust line 515 (e.g., using the vacuum pump 511). In other embodiments, the pressure sensor 570 can be coupled directly to the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513 to automatically regulate the valves 508 and 513 on and/or off in response to a sensed pressure. In several embodiments, the cryotherapeutic system 500 can be configured to verify that the pressure sensor 570 is calibrated properly before cryotherapy. For example, the system 500 can automatically check the functionality of the pressure sensor 570 as the system 500 powers on by comparing a pressure reading from the pressure sensor 570 with the ambient pressure, Paragraph [0156]).
Regarding claim 6, Buckley in view of Rajagopalan discloses the system of Claim 1.
Buckley further discloses wherein the measured operating parameter is one selected from the group consisting of condenser fan speed, a compressor speed and a charging pressure (pressure sensor 570 can be coupled to the controller 518 to serve as a feedback mechanism that controls the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513, and thereby regulates refrigerant flow to and/or from the cooling assembly 530 in response to a pressure sensed at the cooling assembly 530. For example, the pressure sensor 570 can be configured to indicate a pressure (seen as a charging pressure) above a predetermined threshold (e.g., within a range of a burst pressure of the expansion chamber), Paragraph [0156]).
Regarding claim 8, Buckley in view of Rajagopalan discloses the system of Claim 6.
Buckley further discloses wherein the target refrigerant parameter is determined based on a transfer function having inputs that include the measured operating parameter (pressure sensor 570 can be coupled to the controller 518 to serve as a feedback mechanism that controls the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513, and thereby regulates refrigerant flow to and/or from the cooling assembly 530 in response to a pressure sensed at the cooling assembly 530. For example, the pressure sensor 570 can be configured to indicate a pressure above a predetermined threshold (e.g., within a range of a burst pressure of the expansion chamber), Paragraph [0156]).
However Buckley does not explicitly disclose wherein the input includes the measured external environmental parameter.
Rajagopalan discloses wherein the input includes the measured external environmental parameter (system 10 comprises functional element 19 comprising a senor, transducer, or other functional element, functional element 19 can be operably attached to the console 200 or another component of the system 10, Functional element 19 can comprise a sensor configured to produce a signal, which can be used to modify a parameter of system 10, as described in detail herein. In some embodiments, functional element 19 comprises a sensor configured to measure a patient environment parameter such as room pressure or room temperature, Paragraph [0138], Figure 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Buckley to incorporate the teachings of Rajagopalan by including wherein the input includes the measured external environmental parameter. The motivation to do so being to use the detected signal from the functional element to modify a parameter of the treatment system (Rajagopalan, Paragraph [0138]).
Regarding claim 11, Buckley discloses a method in a cryoablation cooling system, the method comprising: providing cooling equipment configured to control delivery of a refrigerant to a catheter (cryotherapeutic system 500, Paragraph [0155], Figure 5A, The console 502 can include a refrigerant supply container 504 and a supply control valve 508 that are coupled to a supply line 510 configured to transport the refrigerant 506 to the cryotherapeutic device 520 (cryotherapeutic device is catheter), Paragraph [0155], Figure 5A, A controller 518 can be operably coupled to the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513 to regulate refrigerant flow through the cryotherapeutic device 520, Paragraph [0155]), the cooling equipment having an operating parameter (the console 502 can also include a pressure transducer or sensor 570 (e.g., a PX209-100G5V pressure transducer made by Omega Engineering of Stamford, Conn.) coupled to a pressure line 571 to monitor pressure within a portion of the cooling assembly 530 (e.g., an expansion chamber) during cryotherapy. In various embodiments, the pressure sensor 570 can be coupled to the controller 518 to serve as a feedback mechanism that controls the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513, and thereby regulates refrigerant flow to and/or from the cooling assembly 530 in response to a pressure sensed at the cooling assembly 530, Paragraph [0156]); measuring via an equipment sensor (console 502 can include a pressure sensor 570, Paragraph [0156]), the operating parameter of the cooling equipment (pressure sensor 570 can be coupled to the controller 518 to serve as a feedback mechanism that controls the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513, and thereby regulates refrigerant flow to and/or from the cooling assembly 530 in response to a pressure sensed at the cooling assembly 530. For example, the pressure sensor 570 can be configured to indicate a pressure above a predetermined threshold (e.g., within a range of a burst pressure of the expansion chamber), Paragraph [0156]);
determining an adjustment to the operating parameter of the cooling equipment to obtain a target refrigerant parameter based on at least one selected from the group consisting of the measured operating parameter and a predetermined operating parameter (the console 502 can also include a pressure transducer or sensor 570 (e.g., a PX209-100G5V pressure transducer made by Omega Engineering of Stamford, Conn.) coupled to a pressure line 571 to monitor pressure within a portion of the cooling assembly 530 (e.g., an expansion chamber) during cryotherapy. In various embodiments, the pressure sensor 570 can be coupled to the controller 518 to serve as a feedback mechanism that controls the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513, and thereby regulates refrigerant flow to and/or from the cooling assembly 530 in response to a pressure sensed at the cooling assembly 530. For example, the pressure sensor 570 can be configured to indicate a pressure above a predetermined threshold (e.g., within a range of a burst pressure of the expansion chamber). In response, the controller 518 can decrease or terminate refrigerant flow by at least partially closing the supply control valve 508 and/or increasing refrigerant flow from the cooling assembly 530 by decreasing the backpressure in the exhaust line 515 (e.g., using the vacuum pump 511). In other embodiments, the pressure sensor 570 can be coupled directly to the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513 to automatically regulate the valves 508 and 513 on and/or off in response to a sensed pressure. In several embodiments, the cryotherapeutic system 500 can be configured to verify that the pressure sensor 570 is calibrated properly before cryotherapy. For example, the system 500 can automatically check the functionality of the pressure sensor 570 as the system 500 powers on by comparing a pressure reading from the pressure sensor 570 with the ambient pressure, Paragraph [0156])..
However Buckley does not explicitly disclose measuring, via an external environment sensor, an environmental parameter external to the cooling equipment, and determining an adjustment to the operating parameter of the cooling equipment to obtain a target refrigerant parameter based on the measured external environmental parameter.
Rajagopalan discloses a catheter system for treatment of tissue using ablation (Paragraph [0143]) wherein the system measures, via an external environment sensor, an environmental parameter external to the cooling equipment, and determines an adjustment to the operating parameter of the cooling equipment to obtain a target refrigerant parameter based on the measured external environmental parameter (system 10 comprises functional element 19 comprising a senor, transducer, or other functional element, functional element 19 can be operably attached to the console 200 or another component of the system 10, Functional element 19 can comprise a sensor configured to produce a signal, which can be used to modify a parameter of system 10, as described in detail herein. In some embodiments, functional element 19 comprises a sensor configured to measure a patient environment parameter such as room pressure or room temperature, Paragraph [0138], Figure 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Buckley to incorporate the teachings of Rajagopalan by including measuring, via an external environment sensor, an environmental parameter external to the cooling equipment, and determining an adjustment to the operating parameter of the cooling equipment to obtain a target refrigerant parameter based on the measured external environmental parameter. The motivation to do so being to use the detected signal from the functional element to modify a parameter of the treatment system (Rajagopalan, Paragraph [0138]).
Regarding claim 12, Buckley in view of Rajagopalan discloses the method of Claim 11.
Buckley further discloses wherein the adjustment is based on a transfer function that relates a given set of operating parameters and external environment parameters to a target refrigerant parameter (The console 502 can include a refrigerant supply container 504 and a supply control valve 508 that are coupled to a supply line 510 configured to transport the refrigerant 506 to the cryotherapeutic device 520. The console 502 can also optionally include a pump 511 and/or a backpressure control valve 513 that are coupled to an exhaust line 515 configured to receive evaporated refrigerant 517 from the cryotherapeutic device 520. A controller 518 can be operably coupled to the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513 to regulate refrigerant flow through the cryotherapeutic device 520. In the illustrated embodiment, the cryotherapeutic device 520 includes a shaft 522, a handle 525 at a proximal region of a proximal portion 524 of the shaft 522, and a distal portion 526 having a cooling assembly 530 at a distal end region of a distal portion 526 of the shaft 522, Paragraph [0155], the console 502 can also include a pressure transducer or sensor 570 (e.g., a PX209-100G5V pressure transducer made by Omega Engineering of Stamford, Conn.) coupled to a pressure line 571 to monitor pressure within a portion of the cooling assembly 530 (e.g., an expansion chamber) during cryotherapy. In various embodiments, the pressure sensor 570 can be coupled to the controller 518 to serve as a feedback mechanism that controls the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513, and thereby regulates refrigerant flow to and/or from the cooling assembly 530 in response to a pressure sensed at the cooling assembly 530. For example, the pressure sensor 570 can be configured to indicate a pressure above a predetermined threshold (e.g., within a range of a burst pressure of the expansion chamber). In response, the controller 518 can decrease or terminate refrigerant flow by at least partially closing the supply control valve 508 and/or increasing refrigerant flow from the cooling assembly 530 by decreasing the backpressure in the exhaust line 515 (e.g., using the vacuum pump 511), Paragraph [0156]).
Regarding claim 15, Buckley in view of Rajagopalan discloses the method of Claim 12.
Buckley further discloses wherein determining the adjustment includes: setting the target refrigerant parameter (desired operating pressure, Paragraph [0160]); and determining at least one operating parameter setting based on the transfer function and the set target refrigerant parameter (For example, the pressure sensor 570 can be configured to indicate a pressure above a predetermined threshold (e.g., within a range of a burst pressure of the expansion chamber). In response, the controller 518 can decrease or terminate refrigerant flow by at least partially closing the supply control valve 508 and/or increasing refrigerant flow from the cooling assembly 530 by decreasing the backpressure in the exhaust line 515 (e.g., using the vacuum pump 511). In other embodiments, the pressure sensor 570 can be coupled directly to the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513 to automatically regulate the valves 508 and 513 on and/or off in response to a sensed pressure. In several embodiments, the cryotherapeutic system 500 can be configured to verify that the pressure sensor 570 is calibrated properly before cryotherapy. For example, the system 500 can automatically check the functionality of the pressure sensor 570 as the system 500 powers on by comparing a pressure reading from the pressure sensor 570 with the ambient pressure, Paragraph [0156]).
Regarding claim 16, Buckley in view of Rajagopalan discloses the method of Claim 11.
Buckley further discloses wherein the at least one measured operating parameter is one of a condenser fan speed, a compressor speed and a charging pressure (pressure sensor 570 can be coupled to the controller 518 to serve as a feedback mechanism that controls the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513, and thereby regulates refrigerant flow to and/or from the cooling assembly 530 in response to a pressure sensed at the cooling assembly 530. For example, the pressure sensor 570 can be configured to indicate a pressure (seen as a charging pressure) above a predetermined threshold (e.g., within a range of a burst pressure of the expansion chamber), Paragraph [0156]).
Regarding claim 18, Buckley in view of Rajagopalan discloses the method of Claim 16.
Buckley further discloses wherein the target refrigerant parameter is determined based on a transfer function having inputs that include the measured operating parameter (pressure sensor 570 can be coupled to the controller 518 to serve as a feedback mechanism that controls the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513, and thereby regulates refrigerant flow to and/or from the cooling assembly 530 in response to a pressure sensed at the cooling assembly 530. For example, the pressure sensor 570 can be configured to indicate a pressure above a predetermined threshold (e.g., within a range of a burst pressure of the expansion chamber), Paragraph [0156]).
However Buckley does not explicitly disclose wherein the input includes the measured external environmental parameter.
Rajagopalan discloses wherein the input includes the measured external environmental parameter (system 10 comprises functional element 19 comprising a senor, transducer, or other functional element, functional element 19 can be operably attached to the console 200 or another component of the system 10, Functional element 19 can comprise a sensor configured to produce a signal, which can be used to modify a parameter of system 10, as described in detail herein. In some embodiments, functional element 19 comprises a sensor configured to measure a patient environment parameter such as room pressure or room temperature, Paragraph [0138], Figure 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Buckley to incorporate the teachings of Rajagopalan by including wherein the input includes the measured external environmental parameter. The motivation to do so being to use the detected signal from the functional element to modify a parameter of the treatment system (Rajagopalan, Paragraph [0138]).
Regarding claim 21, Buckley in view of Rajagopalan discloses the system of Claim 1.
Buckley further discloses wherein the system comprises: a console (console 502, Figure 5A), wherein the cooling equipment is located within the console (The console 502 can include a refrigerant supply container 504 and a supply control valve 508 that are coupled to a supply line 510 configured to transport the refrigerant 506 to the cryotherapeutic device 520 (cryotherapeutic device is catheter), Paragraph [0155], Figure 5A)
However Buckley does not explicitly disclose wherein the external environment sensor is located external to the cooling equipment within the console.
Rajagopalan discloses wherein the external environment sensor is located external to the cooling equipment within the console (Functional element 19 can be operably attached to console 200 or another component of system 10, Figure 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Buckley to incorporate the teachings of Rajagopalan by including wherein the external environment sensor is located external to the cooling equipment within the console. The motivation to do so being to measure a patient environment parameter and use the detected signal from the functional element to modify a parameter of the treatment system (Rajagopalan, Paragraph [0138]).
Regarding claim 22, Buckley in view of Rajagopalan discloses the method of Claim 11.
Buckley further discloses wherein the cryoablation cooling system includes a console (console 502, Figure 5A), and the cooling equipment is located within the console (The console 502 can include a refrigerant supply container 504 and a supply control valve 508 that are coupled to a supply line 510 configured to transport the refrigerant 506 to the cryotherapeutic device 520 (cryotherapeutic device is catheter), Paragraph [0155], Figure 5A)
However Buckley does not explicitly disclose wherein the external environment sensor is located external to the cooling equipment within the console.
Rajagopalan discloses wherein the external environment sensor is located external to the cooling equipment within the console (Functional element 19 can be operably attached to console 200 or another component of system 10, Figure 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Buckley to incorporate the teachings of Rajagopalan by including wherein the external environment sensor is located external to the cooling equipment within the console. The motivation to do so being to measure a patient environment parameter and use the detected signal from the functional element to modify a parameter of the treatment system (Rajagopalan, Paragraph [0138]).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 7, 13, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buckley in view of Rajagopalan further in view of Gong et al. (US 20220287757) herein referred to as “Gong”.
Regarding claim 3, Buckley in view of Rajagopalan discloses the system of Claim 2.
However Buckley in view of Rajagopalan does not explicitly disclose wherein the transfer function is predetermined based on measurements of the target refrigerant parameter for a number of sets of operating parameters.
Gong discloses a temperature-controllable cryoablation system (Abstract) wherein the transfer function is predetermined based on measurements of the target refrigerant parameter for a number of sets of operating parameters (the target temperature value may be supplied to the main PID control loop, a target pressure value at the set temperature may be calculated according to the equation (7) and the set target temperature, the main PID control loop (PID1) calculates an output signal, Paragraph [0077]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Buckley in view of Rajagopalan to incorporate the teachings of Gong by including wherein the transfer function is predetermined based on measurements of the target refrigerant parameter for a number of sets of operating parameters. The motivation to do so being to calculate a value for an operating parameter in order to set the target temperature for treatment (Gong, Paragraph [0077]).
Regarding claim 4, Buckley in view of Rajagopalan and Gong discloses the system of Claim 3.
Buckley further discloses wherein determining at least one operating parameter based on the transfer function is further based on a difference between the target refrigerant parameter and a measured refrigerant parameter (The console 502 can include a refrigerant supply container 504 and a supply control valve 508 that are coupled to a supply line 510 configured to transport the refrigerant 506 to the cryotherapeutic device 520. The console 502 can also optionally include a pump 511 and/or a backpressure control valve 513 that are coupled to an exhaust line 515 configured to receive evaporated refrigerant 517 from the cryotherapeutic device 520. A controller 518 can be operably coupled to the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513 to regulate refrigerant flow through the cryotherapeutic device 520. In the illustrated embodiment, the cryotherapeutic device 520 includes a shaft 522, a handle 525 at a proximal region of a proximal portion 524 of the shaft 522, and a distal portion 526 having a cooling assembly 530 at a distal end region of a distal portion 526 of the shaft 522, Paragraph [0155], the console 502 can also include a pressure transducer or sensor 570 (e.g., a PX209-100G5V pressure transducer made by Omega Engineering of Stamford, Conn.) coupled to a pressure line 571 to monitor pressure within a portion of the cooling assembly 530 (e.g., an expansion chamber) during cryotherapy. In various embodiments, the pressure sensor 570 can be coupled to the controller 518 to serve as a feedback mechanism that controls the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513, and thereby regulates refrigerant flow to and/or from the cooling assembly 530 in response to a pressure sensed at the cooling assembly 530. For example, the pressure sensor 570 can be configured to indicate a pressure above a predetermined threshold (e.g., within a range of a burst pressure of the expansion chamber). In response, the controller 518 can decrease or terminate refrigerant flow by at least partially closing the supply control valve 508 and/or increasing refrigerant flow from the cooling assembly 530 by decreasing the backpressure in the exhaust line 515 (e.g., using the vacuum pump 511), Paragraph [0156]).
Regarding claim 7, Buckley in view of Rajagopalan discloses the system of Claim 1.
However Buckley in view of Rajagopalan does not explicitly disclose wherein the sub-cooler control system includes a sub-cooler proportional-integral-derivative (PID) controller configured to determine a control signal based at least in part on the target refrigerant parameter and a measured refrigerant parameter, the control signal controlling an operational parameter of the cooling equipment.
Gong discloses a temperature-controllable cryoablation system (Abstract) wherein the sub-cooler control system includes a sub-cooler proportional-integral-derivative (PID) controller configured to determine a control signal based at least in part on the target refrigerant parameter and a measured refrigerant parameter, the control signal controlling an operational parameter of the cooling equipment (the target temperature value may be supplied to the main PID control loop, a target pressure value at the set temperature may be calculated according to the equation (7) and the set target temperature, the main PID control loop (PID1) calculates an output signal (i.e., the pressure of the input-side regulating valve after adjustment) using the equations (8) and (9) of the PID control algorithm, Paragraph [0077], ultimately, the temperature of the balloon at the distal end of the catheter 12 is controlled to infinitely approach the set target temperature value, Paragraph [0078]-[0079]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Buckley in view of Rajagopalan to incorporate the teachings of Gong by including wherein the sub-cooler control system includes a sub-cooler proportional-integral-derivative (PID) controller configured to determine a control signal based at least in part on the target refrigerant parameter and a measured refrigerant parameter, the control signal controlling an operational parameter of the cooling equipment. The motivation to do so being to control the temperature of the balloon at the distal end of the catheter to ensure it approaches the set temperature (Gong, Paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 13, Buckley in view of Rajagopalan discloses the method of Claim 12.
However Buckley in view of Rajagopalan does not explicitly disclose wherein the transfer function is predetermined based on measurements of the target refrigerant parameter for a number of sets of operating parameters.
Gong discloses a temperature-controllable cryoablation system (Abstract) wherein the transfer function is predetermined based on measurements of the target refrigerant parameter for a number of sets of operating parameters (the target temperature value may be supplied to the main PID control loop, a target pressure value at the set temperature may be calculated according to the equation (7) and the set target temperature, the main PID control loop (PID1) calculates an output signal, Paragraph [0077]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Buckley in view of Rajagopalan to incorporate the teachings of Gong by including wherein the transfer function is predetermined based on measurements of the target refrigerant parameter for a number of sets of operating parameters. The motivation to do so being to calculate a value for an operating parameter in order to set the target temperature for treatment (Gong, Paragraph [0077]).
Regarding claim 14, Buckley in view of Rajagopalan and Gong discloses the method of Claim 13.
Buckley further discloses wherein determining at least one operating parameter based on the transfer function is further based on a difference between the target refrigerant parameter and a measured refrigerant parameter (The console 502 can include a refrigerant supply container 504 and a supply control valve 508 that are coupled to a supply line 510 configured to transport the refrigerant 506 to the cryotherapeutic device 520. The console 502 can also optionally include a pump 511 and/or a backpressure control valve 513 that are coupled to an exhaust line 515 configured to receive evaporated refrigerant 517 from the cryotherapeutic device 520. A controller 518 can be operably coupled to the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513 to regulate refrigerant flow through the cryotherapeutic device 520. In the illustrated embodiment, the cryotherapeutic device 520 includes a shaft 522, a handle 525 at a proximal region of a proximal portion 524 of the shaft 522, and a distal portion 526 having a cooling assembly 530 at a distal end region of a distal portion 526 of the shaft 522, Paragraph [0155], the console 502 can also include a pressure transducer or sensor 570 (e.g., a PX209-100G5V pressure transducer made by Omega Engineering of Stamford, Conn.) coupled to a pressure line 571 to monitor pressure within a portion of the cooling assembly 530 (e.g., an expansion chamber) during cryotherapy. In various embodiments, the pressure sensor 570 can be coupled to the controller 518 to serve as a feedback mechanism that controls the supply control valve 508 and/or the backpressure control valve 513, and thereby regulates refrigerant flow to and/or from the cooling assembly 530 in response to a pressure sensed at the cooling assembly 530. For example, the pressure sensor 570 can be configured to indicate a pressure above a predetermined threshold (e.g., within a range of a burst pressure of the expansion chamber). In response, the controller 518 can decrease or terminate refrigerant flow by at least partially closing the supply control valve 508 and/or increasing refrigerant flow from the cooling assembly 530 by decreasing the backpressure in the exhaust line 515 (e.g., using the vacuum pump 511), Paragraph [0156]).
Regarding claim 17, Buckley in view of Rajagopalan discloses the method of Claim 11.
However Buckley in view of Rajagopalan does not explicitly disclose wherein the sub-cooler control system includes a sub-cooler proportional-integral-derivative (PID) controller configured to determine a control signal based at least in part on the target refrigerant parameter and a measured refrigerant parameter, the control signal controlling an operational parameter of the cooling equipment.
Gong discloses a temperature-controllable cryoablation system (Abstract) wherein the sub-cooler control system includes a sub-cooler proportional-integral-derivative (PID) controller configured to determine a control signal based at least in part on the target refrigerant parameter and a measured refrigerant parameter, the control signal controlling an operational parameter of the cooling equipment (the target temperature value may be supplied to the main PID control loop, a target pressure value at the set temperature may be calculated according to the equation (7) and the set target temperature, the main PID control loop (PID1) calculates an output signal (i.e., the pressure of the input-side regulating valve after adjustment) using the equations (8) and (9) of the PID control algorithm, Paragraph [0077], ultimately, the temperature of the balloon at the distal end of the catheter 12 is controlled to infinitely approach the set target temperature value, Paragraph [0078]-[0079]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Buckley in view of Rajagopalan to incorporate the teachings of Gong by including wherein the sub-cooler control system includes a sub-cooler proportional-integral-derivative (PID) controller configured to determine a control signal based at least in part on the target refrigerant parameter and a measured refrigerant parameter, the control signal controlling an operational parameter of the cooling equipment. The motivation to do so being to control the temperature of the balloon at the distal end of the catheter to ensure it approaches the set temperature (Gong, Paragraph [0078]).
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buckley in view of Rajagopalan further in view of Rajagopalan.
Regarding claim 10, Buckley in view of Rajagopalan discloses the system of Claim 1.
Buckley discloses wherein the measured operating parameter is a pressure measured by a transducer (console 502 can include a pressure transducer or sensor 570, Paragraph [0156]).
However Buckley does not explicitly disclose wherein measured external environmental parameter is a temperature measured by a thermocouple.
Rajagopalan discloses wherein measured external environmental parameter is a temperature (system 10 comprises functional element 19 comprising a senor, transducer, or other functional element, functional element 19 can be operably attached to the console 200 or another component of the system 10, Functional element 19 can comprise a sensor configured to produce a signal, which can be used to modify a parameter of system 10, as described in detail herein. In some embodiments, functional element 19 comprises a sensor configured to measure a patient environment parameter such as room pressure or room temperature, Paragraph [0138], Figure 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Buckley to incorporate the teachings of Rajagopalan by including wherein measured external environmental parameter is a temperature. The motivation to do so being to use the detected signal from the functional element to modify a parameter of the treatment system (Rajagopalan, Paragraph [0138]).
However Rajagopalan does not explicitly disclose wherein the external environment sensor is a thermocouple. It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a thermocouple to measure the external environmental parameter, since applicant has not disclosed that utilizing a thermocouple solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with a temperature sensor, as a temperature sensor and a thermocouple are equivalent in the art as taught by Rajagopalan (Paragraph [0181]).
Regarding claim 20, Buckley in view of Rajagopalan discloses the method of Claim 11.
Buckley discloses wherein the measured operating parameter is a pressure measured by a transducer (console 502 can include a pressure transducer or sensor 570, Paragraph [0156]).
However Buckley does not explicitly disclose wherein measured external environmental parameter is a temperature measured by a thermocouple.
Rajagopalan discloses wherein measured external environmental parameter is a temperature (system 10 comprises functional element 19 comprising a senor, transducer, or other functional element, functional element 19 can be operably attached to the console 200 or another component of the system 10, Functional element 19 can comprise a sensor configured to produce a signal, which can be used to modify a parameter of system 10, as described in detail herein. In some embodiments, functional element 19 comprises a sensor configured to measure a patient environment parameter such as room pressure or room temperature, Paragraph [0138], Figure 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Buckley to incorporate the teachings of Rajagopalan by including wherein measured external environmental parameter is a temperature. The motivation to do so being to use the detected signal from the functional element to modify a parameter of the treatment system (Rajagopalan, Paragraph [0138]).
However Rajagopalan does not explicitly disclose wherein the external environment sensor is a thermocouple. It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a thermocouple to measure the external environmental parameter, since applicant has not disclosed that utilizing a thermocouple solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with a temperature sensor, as a temperature sensor and a thermocouple are equivalent in the art as taught by Rajagopalan (Paragraph [0181]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fischer et al. (US 20090124972 A1) discloses a cooling device for a cooling catheter comprising a feedback loop for controlling the refrigerant in the catheter and Lalonde et al. (US 10098685) discloses a feedback system for a cryoablation of cardiac tissue using a thermocouple.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794