DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed 06/04/2024 and the IDS filed 06/04/2024.
Claims 1-28 are pending and being examined.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 10-16, 18-22, and 24-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-9, 17, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zapf et al. (US 2019/0249582 A1) in view of Lorenz et al. (US 2020/0347766 A1).
Considering claims 1 and 17, Zapf teaches a controller (170 of Fig. 1) for use in an aftertreatment system and the method of use of the controller/aftertreatment system that comprises a doser (132 of Fig. 1) configured to dose reductant into a decomposition chamber (152 of Fig. 1) and a pump (224) configured to supply the reductant to the doser, the controller configured to be operatively coupled to the doser and the pump (Zapf, abstract, Fig. 1-3, [0006]-[0007], [0025], [0034]-[0036]).
Zapf teaches the controller is programmed to cause the pump and the doser to operate in an idle mode in which the pump supplies the reductant from a reductant tank to the doser at steady state, cause the pump and the doser to operate in a dosing mode in which the pump supplies the reductant to the doser, and the doser doses the reductant into the decomposition chamber at steady state (Zapf, [0039]-[0041]). Zapf teaches while the pump and the doser operate in the dosing mode, determine a second speed of the pump required to achieve the predetermined target pressure and generate a command to configure the pump and the doser, based on the first speed and the second speed (Zapf, [0041]-[0043]).
Zapf does not explicitly teach the doser does not dose the reductant and the reductant supplied to the doser by the pump is recirculated to the reductant tank during an idle mode.
However, Lorenz teaches a bypass valve may allow the reductant to flow back to the reductant storage tank, the bypass valve is configured to redirect the reductant flow away from the pump outlet and towards the reductant storage tank to provide over pressure protection or assist in priming the pump (Lorenz, abstract, [0065], [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the doser not to dose the reductant and to recirculate the reductant supplied to the doser by the pump to the reductant tank during an idle mode. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to do so in order to provide pressure protection or assist in priming the pump with a reasonable expectation of success.
Considering claims 8-9 and 23, Zapf teaches a controller (170 of Fig. 1) for use in an aftertreatment system and the method of use of the controller/aftertreatment system that comprises a doser (132 of Fig. 1) configured to dose reductant into a decomposition chamber (152 of Fig. 1) and a pump (224) configured to supply the reductant to the doser, the controller configured to be operatively coupled to the doser and the pump (Zapf, abstract, Fig. 1-3, [0006]-[0007], [0025], [0034]-[0036]).
Zapf teaches the controller is programmed to cause the pump and the doser to operate in an idle mode in which the pump supplies the reductant from a reductant tank to the doser at steady state, cause the pump and the doser to operate in a dosing mode in which the pump supplies the reductant to the doser, and the doser doses the reductant into the decomposition chamber at steady state (Zapf, [0039]-[0041]). Zapf teaches while the pump and the doser operate in the dosing mode, determine a second speed of the pump required to achieve the predetermined target pressure and generate a command to configure the pump and the doser, based on the first speed and the second speed (Zapf, [0041]-[0043]).
Zapf does not explicitly teach a second doser configured to dose the reductant into a second decomposition chamber and the first and second doser do not dose the reductant and the reductant supplied to the first and second doser by the pump is recirculated to the reductant tank during an idle mode.
However, Lorenz teaches a second doser configured to the reductant into a second decomposition chamber and a pump configured to supply the reductant to the first doser, the first doser coupled between the pump and the second doser, a bypass valve may allow the reductant to flow back to the reductant storage tank, the bypass valve is configured to redirect the reductant flow from the first and second doser away from the pump outlet and towards the reductant storage tank to provide over pressure protection or assist in priming the pump; the controller is programmed to cause the pump, the first doser and the second doser to operate in a first dosing mode in which the pump supplies the reductant to the first doser, the first doser doses the reductant into the first decomposition chamber at steady state, and the second doser does not dose the reductant; cause the pump, the first doser and the second doser to operate in a second dosing mode in which the pump supplies the reductant to the first doser, the second doser doses the reductant into the second decomposition chamber at steady state, and the first doser does not dose the reductant (Lorenz, abstract, [0053], [0065], [0077], [0105]). Lorenz also teaches the pump is configured to supply the reductant to the second doser through the first doser by teaching that the second metering assembly is fluidly coupled to first metering assembly in series with the pump (Lorenz, [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the pump speed control circuit as taught by Zapf with the bypass path as taught by Lorenz. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to do so in order to provide pressure protection or assist in priming the pump with a reasonable expectation of success.
Zapf and Lorenz do not explicitly teach while the pump, the first doser, and the second doser operate in the first dosing mode, determine a second speed of the pump required to achieve the predetermined target pressure; while the pump, the first doser, and the second doser operate in the second dosing mode, determine a third speed of the pump required to achieve the predetermined target pressure.
However, Zapf teaches determining the speed of the pump required to achieve the predetermined target pressure at different operation conditions (Zapf, [0030], [0055], [0062]-[0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of Zapf and Lorenz to determine the second speed and third speed using the same method used to determine the first speed as taught by Zapf and thereby control the speed of the pump to maintain the desired pressure when the doser is operating in the first dosing mode or second dosing mode.
Conclusion
/ANITA NASSIRI-MOTLAGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734