DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group (I) and Species (A) in the reply filed on 5/28/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would not be a serious burden on the Examiner to examiner all the groups and species. This is not found persuasive because the instant application is a national stage entry filed under 35 U.S.C. 371, and is therefore not subject to US restriction practice but rather subject to lack of unity practice, see MPEP 1893.03(d). It is noted that undue search burden is not a criterion in lack of unity analysis. The test is whether or not special technical features can be established.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10-11 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/28/2026.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Table 2 rightmost border has been cut-off and is not legible.
Appropriate correction is required.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The header of the last page reads “38/42” and should only be “38”.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the second release liner on page 35, line 12 should be “(5’)” instead of “(5)” for consistency with the other portions of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the pressure sensitive adhesive layer" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as a pressure sensitive adhesive layer has not been previously introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (WO 2021105249 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 5 and 8, Xu teaches a sealing device (1) (sealing element) comprising a second polymeric layer (3) between a first polymeric layer (2) and a third polymeric layer (4) (page 4, lines 12-15; Fig. 1), wherein the first second and third polymeric layers (2,3,4) each comprise at least one first polymer (P1), at least one second polymer (P2) and at least one third polymer (P3), respectively, and wherein the second polymeric layer (3) comprises at least one powdered superabsorber polymer (SAP) in an amount of at least 15 wt.-% (page 5, lines 1-9).
The second polymer (P2) is selected from, inter alia, polyvinyl chloride (PVC) (polymeric layer comprising at least one polymer (P)) (page 11, line 28 to page 12, line 6; Table 3), which is identical to that presently recited as the presently claimed PVC-based layer comprising the polymeric layer comprising the waterproofing layer (polyvinylchloride resin (P1), current claim 8).
Regarding claim 2, the second polymeric layer (3) comprises 25 to 45 wt.% of the SAP (page 10, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 3, the at least one powdered SAP comprises a d50 particle size of not more than 100 mm (5 to 150 mm) (page 10, lines 31-33).
Regarding claim 4, second polymeric layer (3) is not tacky to the touch at 23 ℃ (page, lines 12-13).
Regarding claim 7, the second polymeric layer comprises a compatibilizer of thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) (page 20, lines 24-32).
Regarding claim 12, the thickness of the second polymeric layer (3) is 0.1 to 1.5 mm (page 27, lines 5-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (WO 2021105249 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 9, Xu does not specify the wt.-% of the polyvinyl chloride (PVC) (polymer (P2)) in the second polymeric layer (3), but does teach the proportions of the SAP is 25 to 45 wt.% as set forth above. Xu also teaches that the total amount of the SAP and the polymer (P2) comprise at last 60 wt.-% of the second polymeric layer (3) (page 10, lines 6-10), with the at least compatibilizer present at not more than 25 wt.-% (page 22, lines 15-18).
In addition, the inventive examples disclosed in Tables 3-4 demonstrate that the second polymeric layer (3) comprises the PVC in a range of 26.88 to 48.39 wt.-%, which is identical to that presently claimed (at least 15 wt.-% of PVC resin (P1)).
Indeed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to include the PVC resin in the second polymeric layer (3) in an amount identical to that presently claimed towards the degree water absorption (from the SAP) and the properties provided by said PVC resin based on the prior art’s intended application as in the present invention.
Regarding claim 14, Xu teaches a layer of fiber material selected from, inter alia, synthetic organic fibers and embedded in the second polymeric layer (3) (reinforcement layer) (page 25, lines 11-24).
Claim(s) 13, 15-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (WO 2021105249 A1) in view of Borenstein (US 2005/0214496 A1).
Regarding claims 13, 15-16 and 18, Xu teaches a sealing device (1) as in the rejection of at last current claims 1 and 12 as set forth above.
Xu does not specify that the sealing element (1) is a roof or wall breather comprising an acrylic PSA layer.
However, Borenstein teaches a self-adhering barrier sheet membrane, which is permeable to water vapor (breather) (abstract), for use in wall and roof assemblies (para 0028), and comprises adhesives such as, inter alia, acrylic PSA (para 0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the sealing element (1) of Xu with and acrylic PSA towards adhering the sealing element to a surface as in the present invention.
Conclusion
/FRANK D DUCHENEAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 6/12/2026