DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicant’s communication filed on 6/4/24, wherein:
Claims 1-9 are currently pending;
Claims 3, 5, 6, 8-9 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NIU ET AL (US 2019/0099901). Herein after NIU.
As for claim 1, NIU discloses a six-axis articulated robot (figure 1, 3, robot 100) comprising: six motors for respectively driving six axes in the six-axis articulated robot {see at least figures 1, 3, pars. 0065, 0070 show drive units 30 includes 6 motors 301}; and a motor driver including one or more printed circuit boards provided with a circuit for driving three or more motors out of the six motors {see at least figure 3, par. 0070 discloses drive boards 53 (531-536) for driving units 30 include motors 301}, the motor driver being placed, in a housing constituting the six-axis articulated robot, in at least one of an inside of a first extending part between a motor driving a second axis and a motor driving a third axis {see at least figures 3, 7, show drive board 533 is located between motor 301 driving a second axis (arm 12) and motor 301 of driving third axis (arm 13)}, and an inside of a second extending part between a motor driving the third axis and a motor driving a fourth axis viewed from a base side of the six-axis articulated robot {see at least figures 3, 7, show drive board 534 is located between motor 301 driving a third axis (arm 13) and motor 301 of driving fourth axis (arm 14)}.
As for claim 3, NIU discloses wherein the one or more printed circuit boards include a first printed circuit board provided with a control circuit for executing servo control on each of the three or more motors {see at least figures 3, figure 7, control board 5, par. 0071} and a second printed circuit board provided with a drive circuit outputting an electric power signal driving each of the three or more motors in accordance with a control signal from the control circuit {figure 3, 7 discloses power supply board 53}.
As for claim 4, NIU discloses wherein a first motor driver including one or more printed circuit boards provided with a circuit for driving first to third motors out of the six motors is placed inside the first extending part {see at least figures 3, 7, show drive board 533 is located between motor 301 driving a second axis (arm 12) and motor 301 of driving third axis (arm 13)}, and a second motor driver including one or more printed circuit boards provided with a circuit for driving fourth to sixth motors out of the six motors is placed inside the second extending part {see at least figures 3, 7, show drive board 534 is located between motor 301 driving a third axis (arm 13) and motor 301 of driving fourth axis (arm 14)}.
As for claim 5, NIU discloses wherein the one or more printed circuit boards placed in the first extending part include a first printed circuit board provided with a control circuit for executing servo control on the first to third motors and a second printed circuit board provided with a drive circuit outputting an electric power signal driving each of the first to third motors in accordance with a control signal from the control circuit {see at least figures 3, 7, at least pars. 0065, 0071}; and the one or more printed circuit boards placed in the second extending part include a third printed circuit board provided with a control circuit for executing servo control on each of the fourth to sixth motors and a fourth printed circuit board provided with a drive circuit outputting an electric power signal driving each of the fourth to sixth motors in accordance with a control signal from the control circuit {see at least figures 3, 7, at least pars. 0065, 0071}.
As for claim 6, NIU discloses wherein the first printed circuit board and the third printed circuit board have an identical configuration {see at least figures 3 and 7}.
As for claims 2, 7-9, the limitations of these claims carry the similar steps as the rejected claims 1, 4-6 above. They are therefore rejected the same reason sets forth the rejected claims above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Maeda et al (US 2020/0307000): A robot system includes a robot, a controller that controls actuation of the robot, and a first external device, wherein the robot has a first member, a second member that pivots relative to the first member, a motor that generate drive power for pivoting the second member relative to the first member.
Yoshimi (US 2020/0298396): an articulated robot system, and a driving method and a control apparatus for an articulated arm thereof, and in particular, to a vertical type or horizontal type of articulated robot system, and a driving method and a control apparatus for an articulated arm thereof.
Yoneda (US 2019/0291284): Structure of joint of robot including drive motor and reduction gear.
Ogoh (US 2015/0081093): A controller includes: a plurality of first drivers that outputs a plurality of drive signals to drive a plurality of motors, respectively, and stops an output of the drive signals with a stop signal; a second driver that outputs a drive signal to drive another motor.
/KIRA NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656