DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-34 are pending and under examination.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because: it appears that “and” should be removed immediately preceding “b)” and immediately preceding “d)”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: at the end of line 6, “:” should be replaced by “;”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “at leaste” should read “at least”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “nonvolatile vegetable oil(s)” and “volatile alkane(s)” should read “the at least one nonvolatile vegetable oil” and “the at least one volatile alkane,” respectively, in order to be consistent with the terminology used in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: “nonvolatile vegetable oil(s),” “additional nonvolatile hydrocarbon oil(s),” and “volatile alkane(s),” should read “the at least one nonvolatile vegetable oil,” “the at least one additional nonvolatile hydrocarbon oil,” and “the at least one volatile alkane,” respectively, in order to be consistent with the terminology used throughout the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: “where the C3 or C4 alkanediol or alkanediol(s)” should read “where the at least one C3 or C4 alkanediol”, in order to be consistent with the terminology of claim 1, as to remove the redundant alkanediol and alkanediol(s). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: “C3 or C4 alkanediol(s)” should read “the at least one C3 or C4 alkanediol,” in order to be consistent with the terminology used in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) or pre-AIA 2nd ¶
Claims 1-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “in a physiologically acceptable medium,” and it is unclear if the emulsion components a)-e) are to be included in another medium, or if the emulsion of components a)-e) are the physiologically acceptable medium. For purposes of examination, the claims are interpreted as wherein the composition comprises a physiologically acceptable medium, the physiologically acceptable medium comprising the water-in-oil emulsion of components a)-e). In other words, the water-in-oil emulsion is interpreted to be the physiologically acceptable medium.
Claim 2 recites “comprising an oily phase,” and it is unclear if the oily phase of claim 2 is referring to the oily phase of claim 1, or an additional oily phase. For purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as “comprising the oily phase.”
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 20 recites the broad recitation “at a concentration ranging from 0.1% to 10%,” and the claim also recites “in particular from 0.5% to 8%,” “more particularly from 1% to 5%,” which are narrower statements of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 1-34 are also rejected to for the same reasons for depending upon rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 and 28-34, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clavel et al (US 20140079656 A1, hereinafter “Clavel”, cited on IDS dated 11/19/2025).
Clavel teaches water-in-oil emulsion compositions comprising in a physiologically acceptable medium, an oil phase containing macadamia oil (non-volatile hydrocarbon oil) at 2 wt%, n-undecane + n-tridecane (volatile alkane) at 14.00 wt%, an aqueous phase dispersed in the oil phase, polyglyceryl-6-polyricinoleate at 6 wt%, glycerol at 5 wt%, water at 29.3 wt%, sorbitol (aqueous soln. at 70%) at 8 wt%, ethanol at 5 wt%, yellow, red, and black iron oxide coated with aluminum stearoylglutamate (colorant), titanium dioxide coated with aluminum stearoylglutamate (colorant), natural calcium carbonate (filler), modified hectorite (lipophilic gelling agent), etc. (ex. 9, ¶ 105). The compositions may be devoid of silicone (¶ 145). The compositions comprise at least one polyol, wherein the at least one polyol make it possible to formulate emulsions comprising a fatty continuous phase, in particular of water-in-oil emulsion type, having satisfactory, or even improved, properties, both in terms of comfort on application and in terms of stability (abs, ¶ 19). The at least one polyol with at least one polyglyceryl polyricinoleate confers on the composition improved comfort on application and improved stability (¶ 26). The polyol may comprise a mixture of polyols including 1,3-propanediol, propylene glycol, butylene glycol, etc. (¶ 97). The composition may comprise from 2-25 wt% of polyols (¶ 101). The oil phase may comprise a content ranging from 5-95% by weight, relative to the total weight of the composition (¶ 117). Other suitable non-volatile hydrocarbon based oils include olive oil (¶ 135). The nonvolatile oil may range from 1-50 wt% (¶ 70). Volatile oils may be included, such as isododecane, isodecane, or isohexadecane (¶ 130). The volatile linear alkanes that are suitable include n-nonane (C9), n-decane (C10), n-undecane (C11), n-dodecane (C12), etc., and mixtures thereof (¶ 58). The compositions may comprise mixtures of nonvolatile oils, including nonvolatile hydrocarbon oils (¶ 135). The compositions may also comprise at least one colorant, including particle pigments such as titanium dioxide, iron oxide, etc. (pearlescent pigments, etc. (¶¶ 204-206, 215). The compositions are applied to keratin materials for making up and/or caring for keratin materials (abs, ¶ 27, claim 41). Moisturizers can be included (¶ 247). Clavel teaches those skilled in the art can select agents and the contents thereof as a function of the desired effect, as well as adjust the nature and amount of the additives present in the compositions in accordance with the invention by means of routine operations, such that the cosmetic properties and the properties of comfort on application and of stability that are desired for these compositions are not thereby affected (¶¶ 251, 254).
Clavel does not teach a particular embodiment comprising the C3 or C4 alkanediols as instantly claimed, an embodiment with the volatile branched alkanes of claim 5, an embodiment as instantly claimed with a mixture of C9-C12 alkanes of claim 7, an embodiment as instantly claimed further comprising an additional nonvolatile hydrocarbon oil of claim 10, an embodiment with the ratio of claims 11 and 13, nor a particular embodiment with the amount of C3 or C4 alkanediols of claims 20 and 21.
Regarding claim 1, the composition of example 9 of Clavel discloses a composition in the form of a water-in-oil emulsion in a physiologically acceptable medium, comprising a continuous oil phase comprising macadamia oil (nonvolatile vegetable oil), and a mixture of n-undecane + n-tridecane (volatile alkane), an aqueous phase dispersed in the oily phase, polyglyceryl-6-polyricinoleate (polyglycerol polyricinoleate surfactant), glycerol, etc. The composition appears to be free of silicone.
Regarding the at least one C3 or C4 alkanediol of claim 1, it would have been obvious to further include a polyol comprising at least one C3 or C4 alkanediol, such as 1,3-propanediol, propylene glycol, butylene glycol, etc., where mixtures of polyols were taught to be suitable, and where these polyols, when used in combination with polyglyceryl polyricinoleate surfactants, have improved properties in terms of both comfort and improved stability, as taught by Clavel.
Regarding claim 2, it appears that the composition made obvious above has an oily phase content of 51.7 wt%, falling within the claimed range.
Purely arguendo, if the calculations were to be incorrect, it would have been obvious to formulate the compositions with an oily phase from 5-95 wt%, as taught by the reference.
Regarding claim 3, the composition made obvious above comprises macadamia nut oil, thereby meeting the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 4, the composition made obvious above comprises macadamia nut oil at 2 wt%, falling within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 5, it would have been obvious to include at least one volatile branched alkane, such as isododecane, etc., where the reference teaches the inclusion of volatile oils are suitable, such to achieve desired emulsion properties, etc.
Regarding claims 6 and 8, the composition made obvious above comprises a mixture of n-undecane and n-tridecane, thereby meeting the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 7, it would have been obvious to substitute a mixture of C9-C12 alkanes for the mixture of n-undecane and n-tridecane, where mixtures of nonvolatile linear alkanes including n-nonane (C9), n-decane (C10), n-undecane (C11), and n-dodecane (C12), are taught by Clavel.
Regarding claim 9, the composition made obvious above comprises n-undecane and n-tridecane at 16.10 wt%, falling within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to further include a nonvolatile hydrocarbon based oil to the composition made obvious above, where mixtures of nonvolatile oils are suitable.
Regarding claim 11, where the nonvolatile oils may range from 1-50 wt%, as taught by Clavel, it would have been obvious for the skilled artisan to include the additional nonvolatile hydrocarbon oil in a concentration of less than or equal to 50 wt%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 12, the ratio of the macadamia oil to the volatile alkanes in the composition made obvious above is 2:14, falling within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 13, where the total amount of nonvolatile oil can be 1-50 wt%, and the volatile alkanes can be 1-50 wt%, it would have been obvious for the skilled artisan to adjust the amount of the oils and the volatile alkanes within the disclosed ranges, thereby overlapping the instantly claimed weight ratios. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 14, the composition made obvious above comprises water at 29.3 wt%, falling within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 15, the composition made obvious above comprises glycerol at 5 wt%, falling within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 16, the composition made obvious above comprises polyglyceryl-6-ricinoleate, thereby meeting the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 17, the composition made obvious above comprises the at least one polyglyceryl polyricinoleate surfactant at 6 wt%, falling within the claimed range.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, where the inclusion of at least one C3 or C4 alkanediol is made obvious above, it would have been obvious to select from those suitable polyols taught by the reference, such as 1,3-propanediol, where the polyols, and mixtures thereof, were known to improve comfort and stability properties of the compositions.
Regarding claim 20, it would have been obvious to include the at least one C3 or C4 alkanediol made obvious above in known amounts suitable for polyols, such as 2-25 wt%, as taught by Clavel, overlapping the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 21, where the composition made obvious above comprises 5 wt% glycerol, and the total amount of polyols may range from 2-25 wt%, as taught by Clavel, it would have been obvious to include the at least one C3 or C4 alkanediols within that range, thereby resulting in ratios overlapping the instantly claimed ratios. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Further, it would have been well within the relative skills of the skilled artisan to routinely optimize the ratios of polyols, in order to achieve desired comfort and stability properties for desired use, where polyols were known to be include to improve comfort and stability. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claims 22-24, the composition made obvious above further comprises sorbitol at 8 wt%, thereby meeting the claimed limitations.
Regarding claims 28 and 29, the composition made obvious above comprises ethanol at 6.3 wt%, thereby meeting the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 30, where the composition made obvious above comprises inorganic particle pigments comprising iron oxide and titanium oxide, it appears the limitation of a pulverulent colorant is met.
Regarding claim 31, the composition made obvious above comprises natural calcium carbonate, a filler as taught by Clavel.
Regarding claims 32 and 33, the composition made obvious above comprises modified hectorite (a modified clay), a lipophilic gelling agent as taught by Clavel.
Regarding claim 34, it would have been obvious to apply the composition made obvious above to keratin materials for purposes of making up and/or caring for keratin materials, as taught by Clavel.
Claims 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clavel et al (US 20140079656 A1, hereinafter “Clavel”), as applied to claims 1-24 and 28-34, and further in view of Dow et al (US 6589922 B1, hereinafter “Dow”).
Clavel is discussed above but not specifically disclose an embodiment comprising at least one monoester of saturated and linear C7-C14 carboxylic acid and of glycerol of instant claims 25-27.
Dow teaches non-irritating skin cleansing compositions, where the inclusion of glyceryl monoesters were known to contribute to the moisturizing properties and the mildness of the compositions (abs, col 3 ln 7-10). The glycerol monoesters may have a fatty acid chain length between C8 and C22 (col 3 ln13-16). A preferred glyceryl monostearate was glyceryl laurate (col 3 ln 22-26). Suitable concentrations of glyceryl monoesters were known to be from about 0.1 to about 5 wt% (col 3, ln 17-21). The compositions comprise an oil phase added to an aqueous phase, followed by subsequent mixing (ex. 1).
Regarding claims 25 and 26, where one of the goals of Clavel is to improve the comfort of the compositions upon application, it would have been obvious to modify the composition made obvious by above by further including a glyceryl monoester, such as glyceryl laurate, in order to provide the composition with added moisturization and mildness, as taught by Dow, where both are directed to emulsion compositions for application to keratin materials. The skilled artisan would recognize that added moisturization of compositions that can be applied to keratin materials (i.e., skin, hair) is desirable for improved comfort.
Regarding claim 27, it would have been obvious to include known amount of the glyceryl laurate made obvious above, such as from about 0.01 to about 5 wt%, as taught by Dow, overlapping the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 1-24 and 28-34, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clavel et al (US 20140079656 A1, hereinafter “Clavel”), in view of B&B (B&B Cosmetic Ingredients (Preservatives & Moisturizer), Jul 2020, pp. 1-40, hereinafter "B&B") and Rood et al (US 20170239271 A1, hereinafter "Rood").
Clavel is discussed above, and while the inclusion of at least one C3 or C4 alkanediol is made obvious, additional motivation is provided by B&B and Rood.
B&B teaches 1,3-propanediol, when used in combination with glycerin (i.e., glycerol), can increase the moisturizing effect and reduce sticky feeling of glycerin (pg. 29). 1,3-propanediol is suitable for skincare cosmetics as a cosmetic solvent, humectant, emollient, and preservative booster (pg. 28). 1,3-propanediol gives light skin feeling, easy spreadable performance, and is a non-skin irritable with good anti-microbial boosting effect (pg. 28).
Rood teaches dermatological emulsion compositions, where it was known to include emollients and humectants in order to soften the skin and stabilize and control moisture content of the compositions (abs, para 33). Glycerin, when used in combination with propylene glycol or butylene glycol, enhanced the penetration of the skin by the compositions (para 34). The humectants were preferably included at no greater than about 15 wt%, preferably no greater than 10 wt% (¶ 34).
It would have been obvious to further include a polyol comprising at least one C3 or C4 alkanediol, such as 1,3-propanediol, propylene glycol, butylene glycol, etc., where mixtures of polyols were taught to be suitable, and where these polyols, when used in combination with polyglyceryl polyricinoleate surfactants, have improved properties in terms of both comfort and improved stability, as taught by Clavel. Additional motivation for further including C3 or C4 alkanediols is provided by B&B and Rood, where the combination of glycerol and 1,3-propanediol, propylene glycol, and butylene glycol, were known to have an improved moisturizing effect, compared to when used alone. Further, B&B teaches a reduction in the sticky feeling of glycerin when combined with 1,3-propanediol, and provides compositions with a light skin feeling that is easy spreading, non-skin irritable, and with good anti-microbial boosting effect. The skilled artisan would recognize that the above mentioned improvements would be desired for the cosmetic emulsions of Clavel, where Clavel is directed compositions for good comfort upon application to keratin materials, in particular the skin.
Regarding claim 20, while the polyol amount overlapping the instantly claimed range is made obvious above, purely arguendo, if for some reason the inclusion of the C3 or C4 alkanediols in the ranges instantly claimed were not obvious in view of Clavel, it would have been obvious to include known amounts of humectants, such as propylene glycol, butylene glycol, etc., in amounts of preferably no more than 10 wt%, as taught by Roos, overlapping the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
The additional limitations of claims 1-24 and 28-34 are rejected for the same reasons above as applied to each and every claimed limitation.
Claims 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clavel et al (US 20140079656 A1, hereinafter “Clavel”), B&B (B&B Cosmetic Ingredients (Preservatives & Moisturizer), Jul 2020, pp. 1-40, hereinafter "B&B"), and Rood et al (US 20170239271 A1, hereinafter "Rood"), as applied to claims 1-24 and 28-34, and further in view of Dow et al (US 6589922 B1, hereinafter “Dow”).
Clavel, B&B, and Rood are discussed above.
The references do not specifically disclose an embodiment comprising at least one monoester of saturated and linear C7-C14 carboxylic acid and of glycerol of instant claims 25-27.
Dow is discussed above
Regarding claims 25 and 26, it would have been obvious to modify the composition made obvious by above by further including a glyceryl monoester, such as glyceryl laurate, as taught by Dow, for the same reasons discussed above.
Regarding claim 27, it would have been obvious to include known amount of the glyceryl laurate made obvious above, such as from about 0.01 to about 5 wt%, as taught by Dow, for the same reasons discussed above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/860,116 (reference application), hereinafter ‘166, in view of Clavel et al (US 20140079656 A1, hereinafter “Clavel”), B&B (B&B Cosmetic Ingredients (Preservatives & Moisturizer), Jul 2020, pp. 1-40, hereinafter "B&B"), Rood et al (US 20170239271 A1, hereinafter "Rood"), and Dow et al (US 6589922 B1, hereinafter “Dow”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘166 disclose a composition for caring for and/or making up keratin materials comprising a continuous oil phase comprising at least one plant oil as instantly claimed, and at least one volatile alkane as instantly claimed, at least one aqueous phase dispersed in the oil phase, at least one polyol, including a mixture of propanediol and glycerol, and at least one non-silicone polyglycerolated non-ionic surfactant, including poyglyceryl-6-polyricinoleate, etc. Also disclosed is a method of applying the composition to keratin materials.
The claims of ‘166 do not disclose 1,3-propanediol specifically, the specific amount of the C3 or C4 alkanediols, the ratio of C3 or C4 alkanediols to glycerol, the particular sugar alcohols of claim 23, the amount of sugar alcohols of claim 24, the specific monoester of saturated and linear C7-C14 carboxylic acid and of glycerol of claim 26, their amounts, the amount of monoalcohol of claim 29, nor wherein the gelling agent is modified clays.
It would have been obvious to include 1,3-propanediol as the specific C3 or C4 alkanediols, which is taught to be suitable for water-in-oil emulsion compositions comprising polyols by Clavel. Further, 1,3-propanediol was known to have synergistic properties when combined with glycerol, as taught by B&B above and for the same reasons.
It would have been obvious to include known amounts of the polyols, such as those taught by Clavel, for the same reasons discussed above. Further, it would have also been obvious to include known amounts of the polyols suitable for the combination with glycerol, such as 10% or less, as taught by Roos, for the same reasons discussed above.
It would have been obvious to adjust the amount of each polyol component within the known ranges taught by Clavel above, thereby overlapping the claimed ratios.
It would have been obvious to select from known sugar alcohols suitable for water-in-oil emulsion compositions, such as sorbitol, and in known amounts, as taught by Clavel above.
It would have been obvious to select from known monoesters of saturated and linear C7-C14 carboxylic acid and of glycerol, including glyceryl laurate, and in known amounts, as taught by Dow for the same reasons discussed above.
It would have been obvious to include known amounts of monoalcohols suitable for water-in-oil emulsion compositions, such as those taught by Clavel above for the same reasons.
It would have been obvious to select from known lipophilic gelling agents suitable for water-in-oil emulsions, such as modified hectorite (i.e., modified clay), as taught by Clavel above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA A ATKINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612