DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 37-40, 42, 43, and 47-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Griot et al (US Publication 2021/0352444 A1).
Regarding to claims 37 and 50, Griot discloses an access network node 141/1400 (fig. 1B/14) comprising: at least one memory 1402 storing instructions; and at least one processor 1401 (page 17 paragraph 0159) configured to process the instructions to: transmit 910, to a further access network node 141 (target base station/RAN node), a handover request message including Multicast and Broadcast Services MBS session configuration information (fig. 9 page 14 paragraph 0136); receive 912, from the further access network node, a handover request acknowledgement message, wherein in a case where the further access network node or a cell of the further access network node supports MBS, the handover request acknowledgement message includes information indicating that the further access network node or the cell of the further access network node supports the MBS (page 14 paragraph 0137); and control handover 914 related to the MBS between the access network node and the further access network node based on the information (page 14 paragraph 0138).
Regarding to claim 38, Griot discloses the information includes MBS session related information (page 14 paragraph 0136).
Regarding to claim 39, Griot discloses the information includes information identifying a service of the MBS supported by the further access network node or the cell of the further access network node (page 14 paragraph 0136).
Regarding to claim 40, Griot discloses in a case 916 where the further access network node does not support the MBS over a multicast radio bearer MRB: receiving, from the further access network node, configuration for a second data radio bearer DRB at the further access network node; and transmitting, to a user equipment UE 120 (fig. 1A), the configuration for the second DRB for providing the MBS to the UE over the second DRB (pages 14-15 paragraph 0139).
Regarding to claim 42, Griot discloses the configuration for the second DRB is included in a Radio Resource Control RRC message to the UE (page 11 paragraph 0112).
Regarding to claim 43, Griot discloses the RRC message indicates a mapping between the MRB and the second DRB (fig. 4A page 10 paragraph 0107).
Regarding to claims 47 and 51, Griot discloses a further access network node 141/1400 (fig. 1B/14; target base station/RAN node) comprising: at least one memory 1402 storing instructions; and at least one processor 1401 (page 17 paragraph 0159) configured to process the instructions to: receive 910, from an access network node 141 (source base station/RAN node), a handover request message including Multicast and Broadcast Services MBS session configuration information (fig. 9 page 14 paragraph 0136); transmit 912, to the access network node, a handover request acknowledgement message, wherein in a case where the further access network node or a cell of the further access network node supports MBS, the handover request acknowledgement message includes information indicating that the further access network node or the cell of the further access network node supports the MBS (page 14 paragraph 0137); and control handover 914 related to the MBS between the further access network node and the access network node based on the information (page 14 paragraph 0138).
Regarding to claims 48 and 52, Griot discloses a user equipment 200 (fig. 2) comprising: at least one memory 220 storing instructions; and at least one processor 212-218 (page 9 paragraph 0088) configured to process the instructions to: receive 1022 a Multicast and Broadcast Services MBS service using a multicast radio bearer MRB via an access network node acting as a source node for a handover (fig. 10B page 15 paragraph 0147); perform 1026 the handover from the access network node to a further access network node acting as a target node (pages 15-16 paragraph 0149); and receive 1024 the MBS from the further access network node, in a case where the further access network node or a cell of the further access network node supports the MBS (page 15 paragraph 0148; noted the UE received the MBS from the target node indirectly, from target node to source node to UE), and wherein the handover between the further access network node and the access network node is controlled based on information indicating that the further access network node or the cell of the further access network node supports the MBS (fig. 9 page 14 paragraph 0137).
Regarding to claim 49, Griot discloses in a case 916 where the further access network node or the cell of the further access node does not support the MBS over a multicast radio bearer MRB, receiving, from the access network node, configuration for a data radio bearer DRB at the further access network node; performing the handover from the MRB to DRB based on the receiving MBS (pages 14-15 paragraph 0139).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 41 and 44-46 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DUC T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467