DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In particular, claim 10 depends upon itself but is introduced in the preamble as being depended upon another claim (i.e., “The electronic lock system of”), therefore it is indefinite. Furthermore, since no other instance of claim 10 has been introduced as a base claim to provide antecedent basis for the receiving device, the electronic lock status sensor, the electronic lock communication channel, the electronic lock control center, the electronic lock control network, the wireless charging receiver, the wireless charging transmitter, the rechargeable battery or the operation of the electronic lock, they are indefinite. In particular, claim 11 depends upon itself but is introduced in the preamble as being depended upon another claim (i.e., “The electronic lock system of”), therefore it is indefinite. Furthermore, since no other instance of claim 10 has been introduced as a base claim to provide antecedent basis for the electronic lock controller, the wireless charging receiver, the rechargeable battery, the plurality of controlling commands or the electronic lock from the electronic lock control center, they are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 9, 11-12, 15-17 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geiszler et al. (“Geiszler”, US 20170331320 A1) in view of Newcomb (US 20220292897 A1). 1) Regarding claim 1, Geiszler discloses a wireless coupler (¶30; Figs. 3: electronic control module in combination with electronic lock module) for an electronic lock (electronic door lock 110) installed on a door, comprising: a transmitting device (Fig. 5: transmitter 322 of electronic control module 102), wherein the transmitting device transmits current status of the door (¶¶31-32 discloses that the transmitter communicates bi-directional data communication via data communication link 336 to the receiver 302 of electronic lock module 106. ¶¶34 discloses that the door sense 136 provides door status state to the microprocessor 314 that subsequently provides the status to the microprocessor 320 via data link 334 for subsequent processing; or lock status may be performed by the electronic control module 102 to provide heartbeat lock status signalling between the electronic control module and the electronic lock module, hence the lock status heartbeat is transmitted via data link 336), a plurality of controlling commands to the electronic lock (¶¶38-41), and electrical power to the electronic lock (¶¶31-32); and a receiving device (Fig. 3: receiver 302 of electronic lock module 106), wherein the receiving device receives the current status of the door (as addressed above in view of ¶¶34-35), the plurality of controlling commands to the electronic lock (¶¶37-41), and the electrical power to the electronic lock from an electrical power source through the transmitting device (¶¶31-32). As per the limitation wherein when the door is in a closed state and the transmitting device and the receiving device are in close proximity. Geiszler discloses, in ¶34, that the door status may include determining when the door is shut. Geiszler also discloses, in ¶¶42, 45-49 with reference to Fig. 5, that the heartbeat lock status, commands and charging signalling can be provided by transmitter 522 to the receiver 502 via the use of inductive coupling using transmitter 522 and receiver 506 via wireless data link 536. ¶22 discloses that the electronic control module and the electronic lock module are physically separated via the door frame and door component. Fig 6 illustrates elements 528 and 506 being separated. Geiszler discloses, in ¶¶36, 38, the use access control networks (e.g., Near Field Communication (NFC), Ethernet, Wi-Fi, RS485, RS422, RS232, or other wired or wireless communication methods). Newcomb specifically discloses, in ¶25 with reference to Figs, 3A-B & 5A-B, the concept of configuring components that perform inductive coupling in a door lock system to perform inductive communication once the door is closed, hence the component would be in close proximity to each other. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of configuring components that perform inductive coupling in a door lock system to perform inductive communication once the door is closed, with the motivation to enhance the inductive communication features of the system. As per the limitation, an electronic lock control center (Geiszler: ¶¶38-41; Figs. 3 & 5: access control module 328) checks the status of the door, and sends the plurality of controlling commands to lock or unlock the electronic lock through an electronic lock control network (Geiszler: ¶¶38-42; Figs. 3-5); and a rechargeable battery of the electronic lock is wirelessly charged by the electrical power source ( see Geiszler: ¶¶22-56; Figs. 3 & 5: rechargeable battery 105). 2) Regarding claim 15, Geiszler and Newcom with the same motivation to combine as presented in the rejection of claim 1 teach a method of using an electronic lock system (Geiszler: Figs. 3, 5 & 6-8), comprising: installing, by a user, an electronic lock and a wireless coupler on a door (Geiszler: ¶¶42-56; Figs. 5-6), and connecting the installed electronic lock and the wireless coupler to an electronic lock control center of the electronic lock system over an electronic lock control network (Geiszler: ¶¶34-56; Figs. 4-6), the wireless coupler comprise a receiving device and a transmitting device (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1); determining, by an electronic lock status sensor of the receiving device of the wireless coupler, whether the door is in a closed state, and performing following operations when the door is in the closed state (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1); charging, by a wireless charging receiver of the receiving device of the wireless coupler (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1), a rechargeable battery (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1), when the rechargeable battery is not fully charged (Geiszler: ¶23), wherein the rechargeable battery provides electrical power to an electronic lock controller through a controller power module of the receiving device of the wireless coupler (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1); receiving, by a communication module of the receiving device of the wireless coupler (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1), a plurality of controlling commands to the electronic lock from the electronic lock control center over the electronic lock control network (see analysis of the rejection of claims 1); and locking or unlocking, by the electronic lock control module of the receiving device of the wireless coupler, the door according to the plurality of controlling commands received (see analysis of the rejection of claims 1). 3) Regarding claims 2, 9 and 17, wherein the transmitting device comprises: an electronic lock status transmitter (Geiszler: ¶¶34-35; Fig. 3: microprocessor 320), wherein the electronic lock status transmitter detects the status of the door (Geiszler: Figs. 3 & 5 with regard to microprocessor 320 providing input to transmitter 522 which transmits the heartbeat signal), and transmits the detected status of the door to an electronic lock status sensor of the receiving device (Geiszler: ¶¶32-35); an electronic lock communication transmitter (Geiszler: transmitter 322), wherein the electronic lock communication transmitter receives the plurality of controlling commands to the electronic lock from the electronic lock control center (Geiszler: ¶¶36-41), and transmits the plurality of controlling commands to the electronic lock through an electronic lock communication channel of the receiving device (Geiszler: Fig. 3: data link 336); and a wireless charging transmitter (Geiszler: transmitter 322), wherein the wireless charging transmitter receives electrical power from an electrical power source (Geiszler: Fig. 3: battery charge 310) and charges the rechargeable battery of the electronic lock wirelessly through a wireless charging receiver of the receiving device (Geiszler: ¶¶Figs. 2b-3). 4) Regarding claims 4, 11 and 19, wherein the electronic lock controller comprises a processor (Geiszler: Figs. 3 & 5: microprocessor 314), and a non-volatile memory storing an operating system and computer executable instructions (Geiszler: ¶18), wherein the computer executable instructions comprise: an electronic lock status module (Geiszler: ¶¶32-35; Figs. 3 & 5: microprocessor 314 in combination with door sense 316), an electronic lock control module (Geiszler: ¶¶32-35; Figs. 3 & 5: microprocessor 314 in combination with electronic door electronic door lock 110), a communication module (Geiszler: ¶¶32-35; Figs. 3 & 5: microprocessor 314 in combination with transmitter 304 and receiver 502), and a controller power module (Geiszler: Figs. 3 & 5: microprocessor 314 in combination with battery charge 310 and rechargeable battery 108), wherein when executed at the processor, the computer executable instructions cause the processor to perform one or more of operations: determining, by the electronic lock status module, whether the door is in the closed state, and performing following operations when the door is in the closed state (Geiszler: ¶34); charging, by the wireless charging receiver, the rechargeable battery, when the rechargeable battery is not fully charged, wherein the rechargeable battery provides electrical power to the electronic lock and the electronic lock controller through the controller power module (Geiszler: ¶¶23, 27-28); receiving, by the communication module, the plurality of controlling commands to the electronic lock from the electronic lock control center over the electronic lock control network (Geiszler: ¶¶37-41); and locking or unlocking, by the electronic lock control module, the door according to the plurality of controlling commands received (Geiszler: abstract; ¶¶10, 34-41). 5) Regarding claims 5 and 12, wherein the status of the door comprises: an opened state, the closed state, an unlocked state, and a locked state (Geiszler: ¶34). 6) Regarding claim 16, wherein the transmitting device transmits current status of the door, the plurality of controlling commands to the electronic lock, and electrical power to the electronic lock (Geiszler: ¶¶32-41; Figs, 2b-5); and the receiving device receives the current status of the door (Geiszler: ¶¶34-35 with regard to the lock status heartbeat signalling), the plurality of controlling commands to the electronic lock (Geiszler: ¶¶34-35; Figs, 2b-5), and the electrical power to the electronic lock from an electrical power source through the transmitting device (Geiszler: Figs. 2a-5).
Claim(s) 3, 10 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geiszler in view of Newcomb, and in further in view of Robertson (US 20210062546 A1). 1) Regarding claims 3, 10 and 18, wherein the receiving device comprises: a wireless coupler receiver 112 (Geiszler: Figs. 3 and/or 5: receiver 302 and/or solenoid 506 in combination with receiver 502 respectively), wherein the wireless coupler receiver 112 comprises: the electronic lock status sensor (Geiszler: ¶34; Fig. 3: microprocessor 314 I combination with door sense 316), wherein the electronic lock status sensor receives the status of the door detected by the electronic lock status transmitter (Geiszler: ¶34-35 with regard to the electronic control module being able to monitor the door status and provide corresponding heartbeat signalling); the electronic lock communication channel (Geiszler: Fig. 3: data link 336), wherein the electronic lock communication channel receives the plurality of controlling commands to the electronic lock from the electronic lock control center over the electronic lock control network (Geiszler: ¶¶27-41); and the wireless charging receiver, wherein the wireless charging receiver receives electrical power from the wireless charging transmitter and charges wirelessly the rechargeable battery of the electronic lock (Geiszler: ¶¶Figs. 2b-3). As per the limitation a wireless coupler receiver spring, wherein the wireless coupler receiver spring pushes the wireless coupler receiver 112 to close proximity of the transmitting device. Geiszler discloses the use of solenoid, see Fig. 5 elements 506, 528. Robertson discloses, in ¶¶30-35 with reference to Figs. 3A-4, the concept of providing springs to a solenoid to enable the solenoid to be pushed closer to charging source. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of providing springs to a solenoid to enable the solenoid to be pushed closer to charging source, with the motivation to enhance the charging coupling features of the system. As per the limitation an electronic lock controller (Geiszler: Figs. 3 & 5: microprocessor 314), wherein the electronic lock controller controls the operation of the electronic lock (Geiszler: ¶¶34-41: Figs. 3-5).
Claim(s) 6 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geiszler in view of Newcomb, and in further in view of Gant et al. (“Gant”, US 20210366214 A1). 1) Regarding claims 6 and 13, wherein the electronic lock control network comprises: a wireless personal area network (WPAN), a wireless local area network (WLAN), a wireless metropolitan area network (WMAN), a wireless wide area network (WWAN), a cellular network, and a mobile communication network, wherein the wireless personal area network comprises: a Wi-Fi network, a Bluetooth network, an infrared network, and a Zigbee network. Gant discloses, in ¶122, the concept of providing a plurality of communicating network types including “local area network (LAN), wide area network (WAN), virtual private network (VPN), wireless network (using 802.11, for example), 245 MHz, Z-WAVE.RTM., cellular network (using 2G and/or LTE, for example), and/or other signals. In some embodiments, the module lock can further include one or more antennas and/or transceiver modules which may include or be related to, but are not limited to, WWAN (GSM, CDMA, and WCDMA), WLAN (including BLUETOOTH.RTM. and Wi-Fi), WMAN (WiMAX), antennas for mobile communications, antennas for Wireless Personal Area Network (WPAN) applications (including RFID and UWB), etc.”. Take notice that Gant further discloses, in ¶63, the of Zigbee. While Gant does not explicitly disclose the use of infrared Gant does include in the above discloses the use of other signal communications. Geiszler discloses using infrared, in ¶22. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of using more than one antenna and/or transceiver the provide WPAN, WLAN, a wireless metropolitan area network WMAN, WWAN, a cellular network, and a mobile communication network, wherein the wireless personal area network comprises: a Wi-Fi network, a Bluetooth network, an infrared network, a Zigbee network capabilities, with the motivation to enhance the communication features of the system.
Claim(s) 7 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geiszler in view of Newcomb, and in further in view of Banter et al. (“Banter”, US 20140347163 A1). 1) Regarding claim 7 and 14, wherein the rechargeable battery comprises at least one of: a lead-acid rechargeable battery, a nickel cadmium (NiCd) rechargeable battery, a nickel metal hydride (NiMH) rechargeable battery, a lithium ion (Li-ion) rechargeable battery, and a lithium-ion polymer (Li-ion polymer) rechargeable battery. Banter discloses, in ¶49, the concept of configuring a rechargeable battery to be lithium ion battery or nickel-metal hydride battery. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate , the concept of configuring a rechargeable battery to be lithium ion battery or nickel-metal hydride battery, with the motivation to enhance the battery configuration options.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geiszler in view of Newcomb, and in further in view of Tartal et al. (“Tartal”, US 20230203846 A1). 1) Regarding claim 8, an electronic lock system comprising (Geiszler: Fig. 3): an electronic lock control center (Geiszler:¶¶38-40; Figs. 3-4: access control module 328), As per the limitation, wherein the electronic lock control center controls a plurality of electronic locks over an electronic lock control network. Geiszler discloses, in ¶¶38-41, that the access control module utilizes “Ethernet, Wi-Fi, RS485, RS422, RS232, or other wired or wireless communication methods” corresponding to types of lock control networks and providing lock control access to a communicated lock. While Geiszler does not explicitly disclose that the access control may control a plurality of locks. Geiszler does indicate that the lock can be within a building structure, which suggests that the building may have a plurality of doors with installed locks. Geiszler discloses, in ¶36, that the access control device be controlled by a smart device such as a smartphone and/or PDA that is configured to use Near Field Communication (another corresponding lock control network). Furthermore, in the art of configuring a smart/mobile device to have access control to locks, Taral discloses, in ¶46 with reference to Fig. 1, the concept of enabling a mobile device to have access control to a plurality of lock to improve the system by limiting the amount of multiple keys required to gain access to the plurality of locks. Take notice in claim 12 that Tartal discloses the use of inductive power transfer features. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of enabling a mobile device to have access control to a plurality of lock to improve the system by limiting the amount of multiple keys required to gain access to the plurality of locks, with the motivation to enhance the access control system. As per the limitation, the plurality of electronic locks, wherein each of the plurality of electronic locks is installed on a door and connected to a wireless coupler (Geiszler: Fig. 3; Tartal: claim 12), and the wireless coupler comprises: a transmitting device (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1), wherein the transmitting device transmits current status of the door (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1), a plurality of controlling commands to the electronic lock (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1), and electrical power to the electronic lock (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1); and a receiving device, wherein the receiving device receives the current status of the door (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1), the plurality of controlling commands to the electronic lock (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1), and the electrical power to the electronic lock from an electrical power source through the transmitting device (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1); wherein when the door is in a closed state and the transmitting device and the receiving device are in close proximity (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1), the electronic lock control center checks the status of the door (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1), and sends the plurality of controlling commands to lock or unlock the electronic lock through the electronic lock control network (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1), and a rechargeable battery of the electronic lock is wirelessly charged by the electrical power source (see analysis of the rejection of claim 1).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geiszler in view of Newcomb, and in further in view of Gant and Banter. 1) Regarding claim 20, with the same motivation to combine the teachings by Gant in the rejection of claims 6 and 13 and the teachings by Banter in the rejection of claims 7 and 14, Geiszler, Newcomb, Gant and Banter teach wherein the status of the door comprises: an opened state, the closed state, an unlocked state, and a locked state (Geiszler: ¶34); the electronic lock control network comprises: a wireless personal area network (WPAN), a wireless local area network (WLAN), a wireless metropolitan area network (WMAN), a wireless wide area network (WWAN), a cellular network, and a mobile communication network, wherein the wireless personal area network comprises: a Wi-Fi network, a Bluetooth network, an infrared network, and a Zigbee network (see analysis of the rejection of claims 6 and 13); and the rechargeable battery comprises at least one of: a lead-acid rechargeable battery, a nickel cadmium (NiCd) rechargeable battery, a nickel metal hydride (NiMH) rechargeable battery, a lithium ion (Li-ion) rechargeable battery, and a lithium ion polymer (Li-ion polymer) rechargeable battery (see analysis of the rejection of claims 7 and 14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20060114099 A1; US 20040183652 A; US 20230081071 A11, wireless coupling charging system provided to lock mounted/installed on a door.
CHICO A. FOXX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2685
/CHICO A FOXX/Examiner, Art Unit 2685