Detailed Action
The communications received 06/29/2026 have been filed and considered by the Examiner. Claims 34,37-56 and 58-67 are pending. Claims 56 and 58-66 are withdrawn. Claims 34, 37, 42-43, 45-47, 49-56, 58-59, 64 are amended and claim 67 is new.
Claim Objections
The objections of claim 53 have been removed in light of the remarks and amendments supplied on 06/29/2026.
Examiner’s Note
The limitation “one or more functional units of the embossing device” of claim 53 is understood to not trigger a 112(f) interpretation as the limitation is understood to be specifically meaning the parts of the embossing device that perform its function, not as a means to refer to functional equivalents.
Election/Restriction
Claims 56-66 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/29/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 34, 37-55, and 67 in the reply filed on 06/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendments and arguments made in the reply on 06/29/2026 have obviated the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 34, 37-42 and 53-54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wening et al (US 2014/0174306) hereinafter WEN.
As for claim 34, WEN teaches an embossing device for producing an embossed web material including at least a first embossed cellulose ply (via stamping roller) [Abstract; 0005; 0016; 0078];
wherein the embossing device comprises:
a first embossing roller (stamping roller) [0076; Fig.1b #1; Fig. 3 #5] provided with a plurality of first embossing protuberances;
a first pressure roller that forms, with the first embossing roller, a first embossing nip, through which a first feed path [Fig. 1a-c #11] for feeding a first cellulose ply passes [Fig. 3 #51; 0078];
wherein a first actuator is adapted to press the first embossing roller and the first pressure roller against each other (by pressing the pressure rollers, it is understood that as the pressure rollers can be actuated that there must be an actuator performing the actuating) [0078];
an exit path for an embossed web material including the first embossed cellulose ply (the exit of the nip) [Fig. 3 after #5 and #51];
and a first vision unit arranged along the exit path for the embossed web material and comprising a first camera adapted to detect defects in the embossed web material [0034-35].
there is a second feed path [Fig. 1b #21; Abstract; 0064] for feeding a second cellulose ply [Abstract], and a bonding arrangement for bonding first embossed cellulose ply and the second cellulose ply to each other [0065],
and wherein a second embossing roller provided with a plurality of second embossing protuberances [Fig. 3 #5 the embossing roller understood to also represent the embossing section of Fig. 1c #2; 0078-79];
and a second pressure roller that forms, with the second embossing roller, a second embossing nip, through which the second feed path passes [Fig. 3 #51 with #5];
wherein a second actuator is adapted to press the second embossing roller and the second pressure roller against each other (by pressing the pressure rollers, it is understood that as the pressure rollers can be actuated that there must be an actuator performing the actuating) [0078].
As for claim 37, WEN teaches claim 35 and the bonding arrangement comprises a functional fluid applicator (there must be some device that applies radiation-curable components such as a varnish) which is then used to bond the first to the second ply [0046], it is understood that the applicator would occur before the second stamping and therefore would co-act with the first embossing roller in the first embossing station [0046; 0079-80]. The lamination nip adapted to receive the first embossed cellulose ply and second cellulose ply to bond them together is understood to be a manner of using any one of the pressure rollers of WEN that interact with the first embossed roller [Fig. 3 #51].
As for claim 38, WEN teaches claim 37 and wherein the lamination nip is formed between the first embossing roller and a lamination device comprising a lamination roller [Fig. 3 #5 with one of #51], and wherein the embossing device comprises a third actuator adapted to press the lamination device against the first embossing roller [0078].
As for claim 39, WEN teaches claim 34 and wherein the first vision unit is provided opposite the first embossed cellulose ply (on the opposite side of a line drawn from #1 to #41) to acquire images of the first embossed cellulose ply [Fig, 4a-4b #44; 0034; 0074].
As for claim 40, WEN teaches claim 34 and further comprising a second vision unit provided along a web material exit path on a side opposite the first vision unit;
Wherein the second vision unit comprises a second camera adapted to detect defects in the embossed web material (as it is understood that there can be another sensor camera before the first stamping, between the second and first stamping, and after the second stamping, therefore the second sensor can be on an opposite side defined by one side being the first stamping side and the opposite side being the second stamping side) [0034].
As for claim 41, WEN teaches claim 40 and as depicted it is understood that the sensor would face perpendicular to the direction of travel of the substrate, therefore it is understood that all the sensors would be parallel to each other thereby making the first camera and second camera axis coincide in parallel (as they correspond in both of their natures of being parallel) [Fig. 4z-4b; 0074].
As for claim 42, WEN teaches claim 35 and further comprising a vision unit provided along a web material exit path on a side opposite the first vision unit [see claim 40];
Wherein the second vision unit comprises a second camera, adapted to detect defects in the embossed web material [0034];
And wherein the first vision unit and the second vision unit are arranged downstream of the bonding arrangement between the first cellulosic ply and the second cellulosic ply (as they can be between the first embossing and the second embossing, and after the second embossing) [0034];
The first vision unit being adapted to detect images of the first cellulosic ply and the second vision unit being adapted to detect images of the second cellulosic ply (it is understood that as cameras they would be able to detect marks corresponding to both plies/the plies can use marks that are windows) [0034; 0074].
As for claim 53, WEN teaches claim 40 and further comprising at least one control unit (a regulating device) [0034] adapted to receive images from the first/second camera [0034-39] and then to use this information to generate a response/correction [0040-41; 0074; 0084].
As for claim 54, WEN teaches claim 53 and it is understood that the control can vary pressure exerted via the actuators acting on the first/second embossing roller and first/second pressure roller and lamination device [0074; 0078] as well as the angular phase and axial position of the rollers (via speed and positioning which changes the pressure) [0074; 0078; 0080; 0084].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 43-50 and 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEB in view of Valkonen (US 2021/0355637) hereinafter VAL.
As for claim 43, WEB teaches claim 34 and but does not teach a lighting unit.
VAL teaches that when monitoring a paper produced in a machine [Abstract] that one manner of aiding the camera in observing the features of the paper is via illuminating via a light fixture which allow for improving the quality of the measurements made by the camera [0006; 0020-29].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a light fixture to the camera system of WEB as taught by VAL in order to improve the quality of the measurements made by the camera of WEB. As both WEB and VAL pertain to obtaining image information from paper and pulp processes they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art expects success in the combination.
As for claim 44, WEB/VAL teach claim 43 and that multiple light fixtures can be provided to improve the quality of the measurements in order to best illuminate the area which the camera is measuring [VAL: 0020-29].
As for claim 45, WEB/VAL teaches claim 44 and it is understood that the lighting features are adjusted in order to achieve the best field of view for the selected camera [VAL: 0021].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arranged the two lighting units such that they are inclined with respect to the web material and converge towards one another in an area arranged opposite the first camera (i.e. an area the camera is fixated on if there is a line drawn perpendicular to the camera’s line of sight right in front of the camera, the field of view would be on the opposite side of this line) in order to sufficiently light the field of view of the camera.
As for claim 46, WEB/VAL teach claim 44 and further that the lighting unit is a lighting bar (as depicted it is bar like) [VAL: Fig. 1 #19] the lighting arrangement is altered and adjusted according to the field of view of the camera [0021; 0025].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arranged the bar light such that it is parallel to the web material and directed according to a feed direction of the web material in order to best adjust the lighting for the field of view of the camera.
As for claims 47-50, it is understood that these are claims 44-46 except directed to the second vision unit. It is understood that the teachings applied in WEB/VAL would apply equally to the first vision unit and the second vision unit.
As for claim 55, WEB teaches claim 40 but does not teach a multitude of cameras for each vision system.
VAL teaches that one manner of obtaining a larger amount of information of good measurement quality of a paper product surface is by utilizing a camera system composed of at least one central camera [Fig. 5 #41] and two cameras on each lateral side [Fig. 5 #42a-b; 0020-29; 0031-33].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the cameras of VAL to the vision units of WEB in order to improve the amount of information received about the paper product in a manner that obtains good measurement quality. As both WEB and VAL pertain to using camera systems to monitor paper products and their qualities, they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art expects success in the combination.
Claim(s) 51-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEB in view of Ding (US 2006/0278353) hereinafter DIN.
As for claims 51-52, WEB teaches claims 34 and 40 but fails to teach that both the first and second vision units are contained in an opaque container with an inlet slot and outlet slot for the web material.
DIN teaches that when employing a camera for use in detecting features about a lignocellulosic product [Abstract; 0063] that one manner of ensuring that the camera is in the condition for operation as well as providing a space for other sensors useful in detecting quality of the lignocellulosic product is by enclosing the camera in an enclosure with in inlet slot and outlet slot for the lignocellulosic material [Fig. 3 #14; 0063]. As no transparency of the enclosure is mentioned, the enclosure is understood to have at least some opacity therefore opaque.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the camera enclosure of DIN to the camera vision systems of WEB in order to ensure that the camera is in the condition for operation as well as providing a space for other sensors useful in detecting quality of the lignocellulosic product. As both WEB and DIN pertain to using sensors to monitor aspects of a lignocellulosic product they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art expects success in their combination.
Claim(s) 67 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelli et al (US 2008/0236773) hereinafter GEL in view of Guenther et al (EP1527898A1) hereinafter GUE.
As for claim 67, GEL teaches an embossing device for producing an embossed web material including at least a first embossed cellulose ply [Fig. 1 V1; Abstract; 0034];
A first embossing roller provided with a plurality of first embossing protuberances[Fig. 1 #1; 0035];
A first pressure roller that forms with the first embossing roller a first embossing nip [Fig. 1 #3; 0035], through which a first feed path for feeding a first cellulose ply passes (as V1 is fed into it) [Fig. 1 #V1 and 1 and 3; 0034];
A second feed path for feeding a second cellulose ply [Fig. 1 V2; 0036];
A bonding arrangement for bonding the first embossed cellulose ply and the second cellulose ply to each other [Fig. 1 #5, 9, and 11; 0036-38];
An exit path for the embossed web material downstream of the bonding arrangement [Fig. 1 the two rollers past N],
In addition, there is an embossing roller for the second web aligned with the second feed path [Fig. 1 #5 with 7; 0036].
GEL fails to teach a first vision unit and a first actuator.
GUE teaches that when embossing web material [0001-3; 0024] that a camera is supplied past an exit point of pattern application in order to detect and control the application of the pattern and any defects (being out of register) using an actuated roller assembly [0024-26] thus the patterns applied to the multi-ply web are improved and in register [0021].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the camera and actuators of GUE to the rollers and exit path of GEL in order to allow for the improved application of a pattern in register. As both GUE and GEL pertain to multilayered cellulose webs which have two patterns in register they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art expects success in the combination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that WEN does not apply as it is directed to hot stamping foil onto a substrate, not embossing said substrate and not embossing a cellulose ply to form embossed protuberances.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees that this is an issue because apparatuses are not defined by the material worked upon, therefore it is irrelevant whether the ply is explicitly cellulosic or not [MPEP 2115]. Therefore as stamping is essentially embossing and the teachings of WEN perform stamping on a continuous substrate, the device features are understood to be substantially the same and WEN meets the limitations as claimed.
The Applicant argues that detecting registration marks/design features, window openings, and position coordinates/register is not equivalent to embossing defects and does not occur on an exit path of embossing.
Respectfully the camera is on the exit path as currently claimed [see claim 34] and one of ordinary skill in the art recognizes that one manner of defect is a misalignment or similar. Therefore, WENs detection and control scheme based on such detection meets the limitation.
The Applicant disagrees that stamping/transfer constitute bonding operations.
Respectfully the Examiner disagrees as one layer becomes joined to another in WEN, therefore there is bonding [see claim 34].
The Examiner agrees that the limitations of the relative second ply feed and second embossing are not taught by WEN and therefore require a new rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/RITA P ADHLAKHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711