DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant specifically contends that Brennan in view of Bakaraju does not disclose or suggest a predetermined and fixed relationship associating said myopia control solution and individual and environmental scores. The Office differs on this account for at least the following reasons. With respect to characterizing myopia control treatments, Brennan specifically discusses “an expected SPHEQ trajectory with conventional myopia correction may be compared to an expected SPHEQ trajectory using a myopia control treatment, thereby showing a possible treatment benefit over a predetermined period of time” (¶49). Brennan is thus considered strongly germane to a myopia control treatment selection process since a method of comparing the benefit of one treatment over another is provided. Accordingly Brennan discloses determining possible effects of a myopia control solution for said subject using a predetermined and fixed relationship associating the myopia control solution and said individual and environmental scores (see ¶12-20, ¶31, ¶34, ¶49-52; it is noted that these possible effects are expressed in terms of spherical aberration prediction curves, and since 1) ¶31 explicitly shows establishing a predetermined and fixed relationship between spherical equivalent refraction prediction curves and the individual and environmental factors [e.g. from a reference population, see ¶52], which ¶34 identifies as regression models, and 2) ¶49-52 explicitly shows characterizing a given treatment using the spherical aberration prediction curves: “the methods and system of the present invention provide a visual representation of a child's myopia relative to a reference population at any age and provides a myopia progression perspective with conventional and/or myopia control treatment options, plus a potential SPHEQ endpoint based on age and/or other individual factors, such as the input data discussed above.”, then Brennan is considered to have disclosed the claimed relationship). Regarding the specific selection, Bakaraju, explicitly selects myopia control treatment solutions (viz. lenses) based at least on “the statistical representation of eyes of a sample of an affected population, a model of calculating an eye and / or an eye calculation model of an affected population” as discussed in the rejection below. Accordingly the teachings of Brennan appear highly compatible with the treatment selection of Bakaraju.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a myopia control treatment using the relationship of Brennan according to the teachings of Bakaraju and thus mitigated the progression of myopia.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brennan (EP 3199097 A2, of record) in view of Bakaraju (FR 2989179 A3).
Regarding claim 1 and 15, directed to system and corresponding method, Brennan discloses a system for determining a myopia control solution to be used by a subject (¶1, ¶2, ¶11), comprising:
one or more memories and one or more processors (¶65, “Accordingly, aspects of the present invention may take the form of an entirely hardware embodiment, a processor operating with software embodiment (including firmware, resident software, micro-code, etc.) or an embodiment combining software and hardware aspects that may all generally be referred to herein as a "circuit," "module" or "system." Furthermore, aspects of the present invention may take the form of a computer program product embodied in one or more computer readable medium(s) having computer readable program code embodied thereon.”), said one or more memories having in memory:
values of individual features of said subject (¶12, ¶25-27, ¶30-31), and values of environmental parameters relative to conditions of use by said subject of said myopia control solution (¶12, ¶25-27, ¶30-31), and said one or more processors being programmed to:
determine an individual score for said subject depending on said values of individual features of said subject, said individual score being linked to a role of said individual features in causing the myopia of said subject (¶12-20, ¶25-27, ¶30-31),
determine an environmental score for said conditions of use of the myopia control solution by said subject depending on said values of said environmental parameters, said environmental score being linked to a role of said environmental parameters in causing the myopia of said subject (id.), and
determine possible effects of a myopia control solution for said subject using a predetermined and fixed relationship associating the myopia control solution and said individual and environmental scores (see ¶12-20, ¶31, ¶34, ¶49-52; it is noted that these possible effects are expressed in terms of spherical aberration prediction curves, and since 1) ¶31 explicitly shows establishing a predetermined and fixed relationship between spherical equivalent refraction prediction curves and the individual and environmental factors [e.g. from a reference population, see ¶52], which ¶34 identifies as regression models, and 2) ¶49-52 explicitly shows characterizing a given treatment using the spherical aberration prediction curves: “the methods and system of the present invention provide a visual representation of a child's myopia relative to a reference population at any age and provides a myopia progression perspective with conventional and/or myopia control treatment options, plus a potential SPHEQ endpoint based on age and/or other individual factors, such as the input data discussed above.”, then Brennan is considered to have disclosed the claimed relationship).
Brennan does not explicitly show determining a particular myopia control solution for said subject using the predetermined and fixed relationship associating said myopia control solution and said individual and environmental scores.
Bakaraju1, drawn to vision correction based on calculated parameters including spherical aberration (“In some applications, one or more methods disclosed herein may be used to correct eye vision in accordance with certain embodiments, the eye being one or more of the following: myopic, hyperopic, emmetropic, regular astigmatic, irregular astigmatic, optically aberrant, presbyopic, not presbyopic. Some embodiments relate to methods of manufacturing lenses, the lenses being configured or designed according to a reference eye, the configured lens characteristics being selected from one or more of the following: focal length, power refraction, the power profile, the number of spherical aberration terms, the amplitude of spherical aberration terms; in which the reference eye is selected from one or more of the following: an individual eye, the two eyes of an individual, the statistical representation of eyes of a sample of an affected population, a model of calculating an eye and / or an eye calculation model of an affected population.”), explicitly shows determining a particular myopia control solution for said subject based on said parameters (“These lenses, when optimizing retinal image quality, provide exceptionally sharp contrast images at selected distances; the lens providing outstanding image quality and visual performance with minimal ghosting throughout the range of diopter distances from infinity to near vision for correction of refractive errors, treatment of presbyopia and fight against myopia; in tests using a defined overall visual score scale of 1 to 10 units, the multifocal lens is configured such that the overall visual performance of the multifocal lens is substantially equivalent to or greater than that of a correctly prescribed unifocal lens for far vision. 15. Examples of lens design assemblies that are substantially independent of intrinsic spherical aberration of the eye Interactions between the intrinsic aberration patterns of the candidate eyes and those of a selected combination of a set of designs may have a) an improved effect; (b) a degraded effect; or (c) a lack of significant effect on objective and / or subjective optical and / or visual performance. The present invention provides embodiments relating to the choice between a positive and / or negative phase of a particular combination of aberration patterns to achieve a particular purpose for the candidate eye. The particular goal may be, for example, to modify the slope of the [transfocal] RIQ in a direction that would favor the emmetropic process for myopic or hyperopic eyes”). Therefore it is considered known from Bakaraju to select a lens (“Examples of lenses within the scope of certain embodiments include contact lenses, corneal onlays, corneal inlays, and lenses for intraocular anterior and posterior chamber devices, intraocular accommodation lenses, spectacle lenses, electro-active and / or refractive surgery.”) for treatment to fight against myopia, i.e. a myopia control solution, based on calculated aberration terms including spherical aberration, suggesting a highly probable expectation of success when leveraging the spherical aberration predictive method of Brennan.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a myopia control solution according to the teachings of Bakaraju using the predictive method of Brennan and thus mitigated the progression of myopia (supra re Bakaraju).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Brennan teaches the system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein said one or more processors are further programmed to determine said myopia control solution for said subject by being further programmed to determine a first myopia control solution or a modification of a myopia control solution currently used by said subject, said myopia control solution having one or more devices for implementing one of the following actions or several of the following actions simultaneously:
correcting or reducing accommodative lag during near vision activities (see Bakaraju, “intraocular accommodation lenses”);
correcting or reducing peripheral hyperopic defocus or providing myopic defocus (see Bakaraju, “In some applications, the lenses substantially correct the distance refraction error; the lens being configured to allow slowing of myopia without the loss of vision that is usually associated with multifocal contact lenses and providing excellent vision over the entire visual field” - n.b. the entire visual field including periphery);
providing retinal stimulation (see Bakaraju, “The resulting image blur on the retina, called defocusing hyperopia, is an example of defocusing that can promote the growth of the eye according to this feedback mechanism.”);
providing a different contrast in peripheral vision of the subject;
limiting an amount of light with a specific wavelength entering an eye of the subject to reduce chromatism of the eye or an exposure of the retina to the specific wavelength; providing light having a specific wavelength to the eye to inhibit eye lengthening; providing dynamically varying light stimuli;
providing drugs to regulate retinal and scleral muscarinic receptors;
reshaping a cornea of the eye to reduce refraction defects (see Bakaraju, “corneal onlays, corneal inlays”);
reshaping the cornea of the eye to induce extended depth of focus (see Bakaraju, “corneal onlays, corneal inlays”);
providing myopic defocus in a retinal periphery and/or optical aberrations by flattening a shape of the cornea; and
stiffening or strengthening of a sclera of the eye or/and a cornea of the eye and/or a choroid of the eye.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Brennan teaches the system according to claim 2, and further discloses wherein each device includes a pharmaceutical drops provider, multifocal spectacle lenses (see Bakaraju, “the lens providing outstanding image quality and visual performance with minimal ghosting throughout the range of diopter distances from infinity to near vision for correction of refractive errors, treatment of presbyopia and fight against myopia; in tests using a defined overall visual score scale of 1 to 10 units, the multifocal lens is configured such that the overall visual performance of the multifocal lens is substantially equivalent to or greater than that of a correctly prescribed unifocal lens for far vision.”), spectacle lenses with micro-structures, orthokeratology lenses or multifocal soft contact lenses and/or a device to provide at least one retinal stimulation using light stimuli located in front of a retina of an eye of the subject.
Regarding claim 5 and 6, the modified Brennan teaches the system according to claim 4, and Brennan explicitly shows “According to another embodiment of the present invention, a Spherical Equivalent Refraction (SPHEQ) may be estimated as a function of input data”, e.g. using linear regression (¶34, it being exceptionally well known that a linear regression takes the form of a sum), but does not explicitly show wherein said one or more processors are programmed to determine a final score based on said individual and environmental scores and take it into account to determine said myopia control solution.
Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that since a regression model is being fit to determine the expected effects of a myopia control solution (e.g. linear regression having the form y = ax1 + bx2 +cx3 + …), it is highly probably that sums of scores using individual and environmental input data are being used to explain and predict the observed and expected SPHEQ. Furthermore, there being only a finite number of arithmetic and statistical operations among a finite number of individual and environmental input data, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try each of the finite operations among combinations of factors, e.g. through programmatic iteration to determine statistical significance, and thus incorporated the claimed calculations.
Regarding claim 7, the modified Brennan teaches the system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein said one or more processors are programmed to establish and/or update a relationship between said myopia control solution and final score using a machine learning algorithm (Brennan, ¶34, regression being a supervised learning technique, and ¶53-55, it being used to establish the expected impact of the myopia controlled solution in terms of SPHEQ).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Brennan teaches the system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein said values of individual features of said subject saved in said one or more memories includes a value of one or more of the following individual features: number of myopic parents and/or myopic siblings and/or level of myopia of parents and/or myopic siblings of the subject, number of alleles of the subject's genotype indicating a risk of myopia, ocular biometrics parameter of at least one eye of the subject, ocular biomechanics parameter of at least one eye of the subject, optometric features of the subject, medical history of the subject, sex of the subject, age of the subject, Intelligence Quotient and/or general academic performance of the subject, season and/or date of birth of the subject, and ethnicity and/or geographical origin of the subject (Brennan, ¶31).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Brennan teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein said values of environmental parameters saved in said memories include a value of one or more of the following environmental parameters of the subject: time spent achieving near work and/or working distance for near work, time spent outdoors and/or indoors, type of environment, country and/or city of residence and/or type of residence, activities and/or lifestyle, type of lighting used while performing near vision tasks, time spent while using the myopia control solution, reading posture, level of undercorrection of said myopia, accommodation parameters, binocular vision parameters, and parameters of lens usage (Brennan, ¶31).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Brennan teaches the system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly show wherein said one or more processors are programmed to calculate each of said individual score and environmental score as a mean value or weighted mean value of the values of said individual features and environmental parameters, respectively.
There being only a finite number of arithmetic and statistical operations among a finite number of individual and environmental input data, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try each of the finite operations among combinations of factors, e.g. through programmatic iteration to determine statistical significance, and thus incorporated the claimed calculations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Brennan teaches the system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly show wherein: said system includes an acquisition device for acquiring a real value of each of one or more eye state parameters at a verification time, said subject using an initial myopia control solution, said one or more memories have in memory statistical data relative to statistical evolution of each eye state parameter with time while said initial myopia control solution is implemented, said one or more processors are programmed to: determine an expected value of a magnitude linked to each of said one or more eye state parameters at said verification time based on said statistical data relative to the statistical evolution of each eye state parameter with time while said initial myopia control solution is used, and a real value of said magnitude based on said real value of each eye state parameter, compare said real value of said magnitude with said expected value of said magnitude for each eye state parameter, and when said comparison indicates that a myopia degree of the eye of the subject at said verification time is higher than an expected myopia degree for at least one of said one or more eye state parameters.
Regarding claim 12-14, the dependent claims depend from claim that recites allowable subject matter and are thus considered to contain allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COLLIN X BEATTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
1 Citations reproduced from the attached machine translation.