DETAILED ACTION
The Office acknowledges receipt of the Applicant’s response filed 16 December 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jakob (US 2018/0169884 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Jakob discloses a flexible guide (9.1-9.4) for guiding blanks in a blanking station (This is a limitation of intended use. As such, the cited structures only need to be capable of guiding blanks in a blanking station which the disclosure of Jakob is deemed to be. The limitation does not positively recite the limitations of guiding blanks or a blanking station), the flexible guide to be located between a blanking tool (5) and a blank receiving unit (1),
wherein the flexible guide comprises at least one guiding surface (20) adapted for guiding the blanks (3), being oriented in parallel to a piling direction (figs. 1 and 2 – up and down) and arranged so as to define an outer contour of a blank collecting space (W – fig. 1a), and
wherein the flexible guide further comprises a flexible portion (12 and/or 14), to be located in proximity to the blank receiving unit,
wherein the flexible portion is elastically deformable in a first direction along the outer contour of the blank collecting space (figs. 1a-1d; paragraph 0033; claim 5) and wherein the flexible portion has a lower stiffness in the first direction (paragraph 0033; claim 5; figs. 1a-d – up/down) than in a second direction perpendicular to the outer contour of the blank collecting space (paragraph 0033; figs. 2-4; The flexible portion 11 is designed to bend downward, however, the geometry and shape of that portion in the other directions perpendicular to this direction would result in a greater stiffness) to avoid deflection of the flexible portion into the blank collecting space in case of collision with the blank receiving unit (This is a limitation of intended use and the cited prior art is deemed to be able to achieve this result for the reasons provided and the disclosed geometry).
Regarding claim 9, Jakob discloses a rigid portion (10 or alternatively 8), wherein the flexible portion is connected to the rigid portion.
Regarding claim 10, Jakob discloses wherein the flexible portion and the rigid portion are connected by a plug connection (22).
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vossen (US 6,997,363 B1).
Regarding claim 8, Vossen (figs. 1-16; figs. 29-30; figs. 32-34) discloses a flexible guide (20; 62) for guiding blanks in a blanking station (figs. 1-16; figs. 29-30; figs. 32-34; This is a limitation of intended use. As such, the cited structures only need to be capable of guiding blanks in a blanking station which the disclosure of Vossen is deemed to be. The limitation does not positively recite the limitations of guiding blanks or a blanking station), the flexible guide to be located between a blanking tool (40, 41) and a blank receiving unit (16),
wherein the flexible guide comprises at least one guiding surface (52 – fig. 11; vertical interior surface of 62 facing 16a as seen in fig. 34) adapted for guiding the blanks (12), being oriented in parallel to a piling direction (figs. 4-7) and arranged so as to define an outer contour of a blank collecting space (16, 16a; figs. 7-8, 33-34), and
wherein the flexible guide further comprises a flexible portion (figs. 7-8, 29-30 - #34, 24; figs. 32-34 - #35, 64), to be located in proximity to the blank receiving unit,
wherein the flexible portion is elastically deformable in a first direction along the outer contour of the blank collecting space (fig. 11 - #34 bends down adjacent the outer contour of the blank collecting space; Comparable results for figs. 29-30 and 32-34) and wherein the flexible portion has a lower stiffness in the first direction than in a second direction perpendicular to the outer contour of the blank collecting space (figs. 4-8, 12, 27-28; The flexible portion 34, 38, 22, 24 is designed to bend downward, however, the geometry and shape of that portion in the other directions perpendicular to this direction would result in a greater stiffness due to the greater thickness of the flexible portions in those respective directions) to avoid deflection of the flexible portion into the blank collecting space in case of collision with the blank receiving unit (This is a limitation of intended use and the cited prior art is deemed to be able to achieve this result for the reasons provided and the disclosed geometry; Fig. 11 shows a bending downward while not bending toward a center of the receiving space. Thus this also supports the Office’s finding.).
Regarding claim 9, Vossen discloses a rigid portion (15, 29), wherein the flexible portion is connected (@ 26, 27, 28) to the rigid portion.
Regarding claim 10, Vossen discloses wherein the flexible portion and the rigid portion are connected by a plug connection (26, 27, 28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakob (US 2018/0169884 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Jakob discloses wherein the flexible portion (11, 15) consists of an abrasion resistant material (paragraphs 0030-0033; The material of the flexible portion bends but is not cited as wearing or abrading the workpiece 3), but doesn’t disclose abrasion resistant polymeric material.
However, the Office previously took official notice on 1 October 2025 that abrasion resistant polymeric material was commonly used in the art for such guides and similar structures that are meant to be resilient and contact workpieces but not damage them. Doing so would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing in order to protect the workpieces from damage. The common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art because applicant failed to traverse the examiner’s assertion of official notice (MPEP 2144.03 C).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vossen (US 6,997,363 B1).
Regarding claim 11, Vossen discloses wherein the flexible portion (34, 38, 22, 24) consists flexible plastic material (col. 6 lines 25-36), but doesn’t specifically disclose abrasion resistant polymeric material.
However, the Office previously took official notice on 1 October 2025 that abrasion resistant polymeric material was commonly used in the art for such guides and similar structures that are meant to be resilient and contact workpieces but not damage them. Vossen already discloses having the material be flexible and plastic. Flexible materials are generally understood to reduce the chance of abrasion. Plastic materials are often, if not exclusively, polymeric. Having the flexible portion of Vossen consist of an abrasion resistant polymeric material would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing in order to protect the workpieces from damage. The common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art because applicant failed to traverse the examiner’s assertion of official notice (MPEP 2144.03 C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4 June 2024 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The amendments to claim 8 do not positively recite the presence of a blanking station, blank receiving unit or blank collecting space. The claims only recited how the flexible guide is intended to be used in conjunction with such a station and a user’s motivation (i.e. thought process) for why they would use the guide in such a way. The prior art is deemed to read on the structural limitations claimed as detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW M TECCO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731