DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kane et al. (US Pat. No. 4,501,421, Feb. 26, 1985) (herein “Kane”).
Kane was cited in the IDS filed on 06/04/2024.
Regarding claim 1, Kane teaches exercise apparatus comprising a base (i.e., combination of 1,2, see Fig. 1 and 2 below) having a substantially planar lower surface 1, a platform 6,8 for receiving at least one foot of a user that is moveably mounted on the base 1,2, wherein the platform 6,8 is moveable from a stowed configuration in which the platform 6,8 is substantially parallel to the plane of the lower surface 1 and a deployed configuration in which the platform 6,8 is inclined to the plane of the lower surface 1 (see Figs. 1-2 below).
Regarding claim 2, Kane teaches wherein the platform 6,8 is pivotally mounted to the base 1,2 (see Fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 3, Kane teaches wherein the platform 6,8 accommodates two feet of a user (see Fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 4, Kane teaches wherein the base (i.e., the central portion 2) is centrally located and the platform 6,8 pivotally mounted either side of the base 2 (see Fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 5, Kane teaches comprising two platforms 6,8, one for each foot which are moveably independently of one another (see Fig. 2) to facilitate more variable exercise routines.
Regarding claim 7, Kane teaches wherein the apparatus is portable (i.e., the apparatus is ).
Regarding claim 10, Kane teaches means 60 for retaining a foot on the platform 6,8 (see Fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 11, Kane teaches wherein the means 60 for retaining a foot on the platform 6,8 may comprise one or more straps 60 (see Fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 12, Kane teaches wherein the straps 60 have means for adjusting their length to accommodate different sized feet or footwear (i.e., strap is adjustable via buckle, see Fig. 2 above).
Claims 1-4, and 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dimitry (WO 2017/180130, Oct. 19, 2017) (herein “Dimitry”).
Dimitry was cited in the IDS filed on 06/04/2024.
Regarding claim 1, Dimitry teaches an exercise apparatus comprising a base having a substantially planar lower surface 40 (see Fig. 2 below), a platform 72 for receiving at least one foot of a user that is moveably mounted on the base 40, wherein the platform 72 is moveable from a stowed configuration in which the platform 72 is substantially parallel to the plane of the lower surface 40 and a deployed configuration in which the platform 70 is inclined to the plane of the lower surface 40 (i.e., platform 72 is pivotable to be parallel to the base 40).
Regarding claim 2, Dimitry teaches wherein the platform 72 is pivotally mounted to the base 40 (see Figs. 1-2 above).
Regarding claim 3, Dimitry teaches wherein the platform 72 accommodates two feet of a user(see Figs. 1-2 above).
Regarding claim 4, Dimitry teaches wherein the base 40 is centrally located and the platform 72 pivotally mounted either side of the base (see Figs. 1-2 above).
Regarding claim 6, Dimitry teaches wherein the base has means 49 for mounting weight 16 (see Fig. 1-2 above) so that the weight of the apparatus may be varied according to the body weight of a user to improve the exercise experience.
Regarding claim 7, Dimitry teaches wherein the apparatus is portable.
Regarding claim 8, Dimitry teaches having a carry handle 48 (see Fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 9, Dimitry teaches having at least one handle 48 disposed in the platform 40 (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Dimitry teaches means 80,82 for retaining a foot on the platform.
Regarding claim 11, Dimitry teaches wherein the means for retaining a foot on the platform may comprise one or more straps 80,82.
Regarding claim 12, Dimitry teaches wherein the straps 80,82 have means (i.e., hook/loop) for adjusting their length to accommodate different sized feet or footwear.
Regarding claim 13, Dimitry teaches exercise apparatus as claimed in comprising means for carrying additional weight.
Regarding claim 14, Dimitry teaches having a mount 49 for receiving additional weight 49 (see Figs. 1-2 above) located on the base 40.
Regarding claim 15, Dimitry teaches wherein the mount 49 receives weight plates 16 (see Figs. 1-2 above).
Regarding claim 16, Dimitry teaches wherein the means 49 for receiving additional weight further comprises one member of a mating pair to releasably secure the weight 49 to the apparatus and the weight 49 comprises the other member (i.e., hole) of the mating pair.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dimitry, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Brotman (US Pat. No. 5,040,787, Aug. 20,1991)
Dimitry teaches the invention as substantially claimed
Brotman was cited in the IDS filed on 06/04/2024
Regarding claim 17, Dimitry is silent in explicitly teaching wherein the mating pair comprises a magnetic member.
Brotman, however, in an analogous art of exercise devices reasonably pertinent to the problem to be solved teaches weight plates having auxiliary weights being magnets to attachable to the weight plates to permit gradual variation of weight (see Brotman, Fig. 2 and col. 2, lines 61-65).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Dimitry such that the mating pair comprises a magnetic member (i.e., magnet) which is attachable to a magnetic material of the base in order to better secure the weights to the device and provide gradual variation of weight.
Regarding claim 18, Dimitry in view of teaches wherein the means to releasably secure the weight to the apparatus comprises a magnet (see Brotman, Fig. 2 and col. 2, lines 61-65).
and/or strap.
Conclusion
/ANDREW S LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784