DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 5-10) in the reply filed on 4/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the guide rail (see at least claim 6) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
• “holding mechanism” as recited in at least claim 1 (first, “mechanism” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “holding”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “holding” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the mechanism)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andis (US 20070044604).
Regarding claim 1, Andis discloses a hair trimming system (clipper 10; see fig. 1) comprising a handle (housing 12; see fig. 1) and a head (blade assembly 14; see fig. 2), the head comprising a cutting unit for cutting hairs (inner blade 110 is configured to reciprocate along outer blade 114 for cutting hair; see paragraph [0020]), and the head being moveable relative to the handle (release assembly 16 has a hold state and a release state, such that blade assembly 14 can pivot; see paragraph [0025]), wherein: the head comprises a base configured to be received in the handle (blade frame 40 is configured to be received in the handle; see figs. 4 and 5), wherein the base comprises a connecting portion configured to cooperate with the handle to connect the handle and the head (blade assembly 14 includes tongue receiving member 130, which engages with tongue 126 of housing 12 in order to couple blade assembly 14 to housing 12; see paragraphs [0028-0029] and figs. 5-6), and to permit pivoting movement of the head with respect to the handle about the connecting portion (blade assembly 14 is capable of pivoting about tongue receiving member 130 when ridge 94 has been disengaged with hooks 74; see paragraph [0027] and figs. 5-6), and the base comprises a main indentation (cutout of ridge 94 which engages with top edge 142 of hooks 74; see figs. 5 and 6) the handle comprises a holding mechanism comprising a moveable stop (button 66 comprises hooks 74 which are configured to move in response to actuation of button 66; see paragraph [0025] and figs. 5-6) configured to be received in the main indentation (see fig. 5) to restrict pivoting movement of the head relative to the handle about the connecting portion so as to secure the head to the handle (blade frame 40 comprises ridge 94 which engages with hooks 74 of the handle to facilitate connection of blade assembly 14 to housing 12; see paragraph [0025] and fig. 5), wherein the stop is biased to a locked position relative to the handle (see fig. 5), wherein in the locked position, the stop is received in one of the main indentation and the intermediate indentation, to secure the head to the handle (in the locked position, ridge 94 engages hooks 74 to secure blade assembly 14 to housing 12; see fig. 5), wherein when the stop is received in the main indentation, the base of the head is received within the handle in an operational configuration (blade frame 40 is at least partially received within housing 12 during an operational configuration; see fig. 5).
Andis does not explicitly disclose an intermediate indentation; the handle comprises a holding mechanism comprising a moveable stop configured to be received in the intermediate indentation, and when the stop is received in the intermediate indentation, the head is pivoted away from the handle relative to the operational configuration, in an open configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Andis to include an intermediate indentation since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (see St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8). Andis discloses a main indentation which helps secure blade assembly 14 to housing 12 in an operational position. Including an intermediate indentation would allow for the head to be partially opened, which could facilitate cleaning and removal of the head. If only one indentation is provided, even though the head is secured to the handle via the connecting portion (tongue 126, tongue receiving member 130), the head may still be damaged during release since the head is allowed to pivot to such an extent. Thus, it would be advantageous to provide an additional indentation for this purpose as well.
As modified to include an intermediate indentation, Andis further discloses an intermediate indentation (as modified, a second indentation is provided as part of blade frame 40); the handle comprises a holding mechanism comprising a moveable stop configured to be received in the intermediate indentation (as modified, hooks 74 would be received by the intermediate indentation in the same manner as ridge 94; see fig. 5), and when the stop is received in the intermediate indentation, the head is pivoted away from the handle relative to the operational configuration, in an open configuration (as modified to include an intermediate indentation, blade assembly 14 would be pivoted away from housing 12, as in fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Andis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Andis as modified further discloses a release button disposed on the handle (button 66 is positioned on housing 12; see fig. 1), and moveable with respect to the handle from a neutral position to a release position (a downward force F may be applied to button 66; see paragraph [0027] and figs. 5-6), wherein the release button is configured to abut the head when moved towards the release position, to push the head away from the handle (hooks 74 of button 66 abut blade assembly 14 as force F is applied, such that blade assembly 14 is disengaged from housing 12; see paragraph [0027] and fig. 6), to pivot the head about the connecting portion relative to the handle (blade assembly 14 is capable of pivoting about tongue receiving member 130 when ridge 94 has been disengaged with hooks 74; see paragraph [0027] and figs. 5-6).
Regarding claim 6, Andis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 5 as described in the rejection above.
Andis as modified further discloses wherein the release button is disposed on a guide rail describing an arcuate path (the edges of upper housing 22 on either side of button 66; see figs. 5 and 6), such that the release button is configured to move between the neutral position and the release position along the arcuate path (button 66 can be pivoted, moved horizontally, or moved vertically to move from a hold state to a release state; see paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 7, Andis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 5 as described in the rejection above.
Andis as modified further discloses wherein the handle comprises a release block configured to block movement of the release button beyond the release position (extension portion 50 prevents button 66 from moving further than a release position; see fig. 6), wherein when the release button abuts the head at the release position, the stop is received in the intermediate indentation (as modified to include an intermediate indentation, hooks 74 would engage with the intermediate indentation at a release position).
Regarding claim 8, Andis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 7 as described in the rejection above.
Andis as modified further discloses wherein the main indentation and the intermediate indentation define a peak therebetween (as modified to include an intermediate indentation, a peak is positioned between the main and intermediate indentations; see annotated portion of fig. 5 below), wherein the intermediate indentation comprises a continuous surface from the peak to a trough of the intermediate indentation (as modified, the intermediate indentation includes a surface similar to that of ridge 94, such that a trough is positioned between the main and intermediate indentations).
Regarding claim 9, Andis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 7 as described in the rejection above.
Andis as modified further discloses wherein when the release button abuts the head at the release position, the stop is received on the continuous surface between the peak and the trough of the intermediate indentation (as modified, when button 66 is in a release position, hooks 74 will be received at the continuous surface of the intermediate indentation – when button 66 is released, hooks 74 will engage the intermediate indentation to hold blade assembly 14 in a release position), such that a biasing force on the stop to the locked position causes the stop to propel the head away from the handle until the stop is received in the trough of the intermediate indentation (due to the shape of ridge 94, hooks 74 will push ridge 94 away from housing 12 while it is between the main and intermediate indentations; see figs. 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 10, Andis as modified discloses the limitations of claim 5 as described in the rejection above.
Andis as modified further discloses wherein the release button comprises a protrusion configured to interact with the stop (button 66 has extensions connecting it to hooks 74; see annotated portion of fig. 5 above), to push or pull the stop away from the locked position when the release button is moved towards the release position (the extensions linking button 66 and hooks 74 control movement of hooks 74 as button 66 is actuated; see figs. 5 and 6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: DE 102010011783 to Hauser, drawn to a clipper assembly for a hair clipper; US 4694575 to Boerger, drawn to a clipper attachment device; US 3222781 to Luther, drawn to a hair clipper; and US 2542378 to Armbruster, drawn to an electric hair clipper.
/HALEIGH N WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724